We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“is everything they promised on their website and more”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Quinta Don Jose Boutique Hotel
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Tlaquepaque
Certificate of Excellence
utrecht
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“is everything they promised on their website and more”
Reviewed 23 March 2009

We had a really good time at the hotel, it was very relaxing hanging out there after visiting the busy and loud centre of Guadalajara. Tlaquepaque is a fine part of town and the quinta made our visit a real holiday. Its only 15 a 20 minutes by taxi to downtown for not even 4 euro. The pool with a great bartender did not make you long for the beach!
Alette, Utrecht The Netherlands

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank appppe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

818 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    683
    100
    22
    8
    5
See reviews for
156
261
29
74
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2009

We stayed here with our 9 year old daughter for two nights. I booked this hotel based on reviews I found on Trip Advisor and it definitely lived up to the hype. The hotel grounds are absolutely lovely and our room was just perfect for us (room 5). The bathroom was especially beautiful with all the blue and white tile and skylight. The location can't be beat and the staff are just wonderfully helpful. We had a 7:00 a.m. flight and the hotel arranged for Jaime, the bartender, to come in early and drive us to the airport. We so appreciated this level of service. We will be back!!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dmgehring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem, Oregon
Level Contributor
67 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2009

Two couples in our 60's, traveling together, stayed at this property for 4 nights. The first three were in the poolside loft suite. The last night we stayed in unit 7. Our arrival was in the early AM. Upon being greeted the tone for the stay was set. This staff is amazing! Everyone is helpful and cheerful. No question not answered. We were even assisted booking ETN bus tickets. The poolside loft suite was adequate. We thought a kitchenette might be nice, but it was very limited, and we actually did NOT need it all. The spiral stairs to the twin beds would be fun for kids. The seating area is not really that comfortable. We would have enjoyed it more with comfy seating. The property is close to shopping and eating out. The courtyard is a relaxing place to read or visit with guests. We didn't take a dip in the beautiful pool. Breakfasts here were served by excellent hostesses. The choices were many and everything we ate was excellent. We ate an outstanding dinner at the restaurant here and had the best salad ever! Pizza one late evening was also very tasty. Fun times were also had at the bar with Charley. We also spent one night in Room 7. We liked that also. Only one bath. This room has a very nice seating area outside the room that overlooks the courtyard.

We took two tours with Jose and would highly recommend his services. Overall a great stay. The staff makes this place a step above many.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Btrtrvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 March 2009

Our quest was to purchase furniture for two new condos in Southern Mexico. The location of Quinta Don Jose was perfect. Close to retail outlets and a short distance to the furniture manufacturing areas. First of all, the rooms are very nice, clean and very comfortable and the meals are great, however what made the trip was the furniture viewing service that the Inn offers. We booked time with Jose'Orozco and he took us around to various furniture manufactures. Jose is from the furniture business so what every you want he knows where to take you to get the style and quality you are looking for. He also took us to Sam's club where we made additional purchase and Jose made arrangements for storage while the furniture was being manufactured. We found what we purchased was of the highest quality and at prices that were half of what we see in Canada and much lower than what is available from the local retail shops. We ended up purchasing from 3 different suppliers and for a very reasonable fee we had Jose coordinate the gathering and shipping of our purchases. Jose made the furniture buy a comfortable stress free experience.
Note; The manufacturing lead times in this trouble economy are running 4 to 5 weeks. You may find you need three days of shopping. A day to view, a day to buy, and a day to gather other purchased items.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chefboy59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2009

This was our best hotel experience. The innkeeper Arturo, his staff and the inn's cat were all so friendly and accommodating. They picked us up at the bus station which was included. The staff was very friendly and worked to accommodate our interests in private tours/classes,etc. The offered excellent recommendations for attractions and food in the area. The hotel is only two blocks south of the main pedestrian zone-- we felt very safe walking to and from the hotel at night. The breakfast was delicious-- the fresh OJ was the best. We especially liked the peaceful courtyard where we had breakfast or a margarita made by the barkeep Charlie. Be sure to ask Charlie about regional tequila recommendations.

The big bonus was our room had a water dispenser in our room, didn't have to buy bottled water the whole trip. The bed was okay but not fantastic, but I picked this hotel for it's atmosphere and friendly staff not the bed. Hope to plan a trip back to the area with my mother for a girls shopping trip and I would definitely stay at Quinta Don Jose again.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RichardsonGoldberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coffs Harbour
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 March 2009

This was our third time staying at the Quinta Don Jose so we have experienced just about everything that Tlaquepaque, Guadalajara and the town of Tequila has to offer but one of the reasons we keep coming back here is this beautiful little B&B.

Tlaquepaque has some of the finest restaurants you will find anywhere in Mexico and the Quinta Don Jose can now boast that it has one of the best in Tlaquepaque. It may even be the best. Try the three pepper steak.

The owners Art and Estela seem to have a flair for hand picking the best staff possible in their respective roles. Guests at the Quinta Don Jose are made to feel as though they are friends not just visitors.

Carlos “Charlie” at the bar is always ready with a cold cerveza and a warm greeting for all on arrival.

We will return here every time we trek to Mexico to see our friends nay our Mexican family to see how they are looking after our Mexican Home Sweet Home away from Home.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tijuana_Tony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 18 February 2009

Friendly oasis in a beautiful town. Well worth visiting and staying at this most friendly and comfortable inn. It encompases modern luxury with historic beauty.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tlaquepaque
0.5 mi away
La Villa del Ensueno Hotel
La Villa del Ensueno Hotel
#2 of 10 in Tlaquepaque
244 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Armonia
Casa Armonia
#7 of 10 in Tlaquepaque
88 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Rosa Morada Hotel Bed & Breakfast
23.6 mi away
Hacienda del Lago
Hacienda del Lago
#4 of 7 in Ajijic
5 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel El Tapatio & Resort
Hotel El Tapatio & Resort
#8 of 10 in Tlaquepaque
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quinta Don Jose Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quinta Don Jose Boutique Hotel

Property: Quinta Don Jose Boutique Hotel
Address: Calle Reforma # 139 | Guadalajara Metropolitan Area, Tlaquepaque 45500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Jalisco > Guadalajara Metropolitan Area > Tlaquepaque
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tlaquepaque
#2 Business Hotel in Tlaquepaque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Quinta Don Jose Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether on business or vacation, "QDJ" offers you a beautiful setting and unique personal service! We're located in Tlaquepaque, Mexico's Arts & Crafts Capital, which is in the greater Guadalajara Metro. QDJ puts you only steps away from superb shopping, exquisite galleries, and inviting restaurants. Also, Guadalajara's Historical Downtown is only a 15 minute drive from QDJ.Our rooms offer private baths, air-conditioning, cable TV & phone. We also have an intimate bar, tiled pool, complimentary airport/bus station Greeting Service (3 night min), free Wi-Fi, and much more. Enjoy a delicious dinner at TlaquePasta, our top-rated Gourmet Restaurant with a Mexican and Italian menu! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Quinta Don Jose Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Quinta Don Jose Boutique

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing