We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$70
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$68
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casa Armonia(Tlaquepaque)
US$76
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$65
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Villa del Ensueno Hotel(Tlaquepaque)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$104
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$79
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$84
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$82
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$55
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$51
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 25/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$100
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casona Tlaquepaque(Tlaquepaque)
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$70
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$64
Booking.com
View Deal
Auto Hotel Niza(Tlaquepaque)
Free cancellation until 25/07
US$35
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$34
Booking.com
View Deal
Free cancellation until 25/07
US$82
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$79
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (926)
Filter reviews
926 results
Traveller rating
774
110
23
11
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
774
110
23
11
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspool sidethe entire staffthe main hotelan oasisel pariandeluxe roomshort blockssqueezed orange juiceguadalajara areacontinental breakfastsecure parkingfresh fruitwe've stayedsmall hotelthe main squarethe location is perfectlake chapala
Filter
Updating list...
789 - 794 of 926 reviews
Reviewed 19 March 2005

If you are looking for a Oasis in city of 5 million people.....this is it! Unusual, but everything on their website is factual! My wife and I felt very safe, room very nice and clean, Art and Estella and the entire DQJ staff were very helpful with all kinds of information and can make almost any arrangement for you. Breakfast was very good and the grounds well kept. Very good value and we will stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank franklintostarkville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Victoria, British Columbia
12
Reviewed 18 March 2005

A most enjoyable stay in this wonderful oasis in T'laquepaque with gracious hosts and delightful staff. We certainly plan to return.

Diane and John Anderson, Victoria, British Columbia

  • Stayed: February 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2005

This hotel is clean, comfortable and offers a nice breakfast. Beyond that, I have to agree with the reviewer that wrote that QDJ is "not all that." The reviews on this site suggest that there is something special to be found here, but I feel that QDJ was simply ordinary and even had a few significant drawbacks. Some of these included very loud street noise from the room, no telephone in the room, and poor television reception. While the furniture and décor is comfortable, it lacks the charm the tremendous reviews on this site might lead one to expect. I agree with the reviewer that says this is a work in progress. There are clearly good intentions and some of these are met, others still need work.

The main staff member working at the desk during our stay was either rude or simply unaccustomed to customer service. While the owners very kindly picked us up from the bus station, when we asked about a return ride, which their website explains can be arranged at an extra cost, the staff member seemed to chide us for asking for too much, explaining that we had only stayed two nights and had already taken advantage of our one ride. We weren’t looking for anything special---we had the website terms in mind and would have been happy to pay or have him simply call a cab! We then simply asked him to call a cab to take us to the bus station. He began lecturing us that there were two bus stations and he needed to know which one. I later realized that the two bus stations are either for local or long-distance trips. He might have just asked about our travel plans and offered helpful advice. I found this type of service really strange and an exception in an otherwise lovely stay with tremendous service in both Mexico City (at La Casona) and Puerto Vallarta (at Quinta Maria Quartez).

We had hoped to book a room at Casa de las Flores, which is down the street and was unfortunately booked while we were in town. The owner, Stan, invited us to come for drinks even though we were unable to stay. Visiting Casa de las Flores made QDJ pale all the more. Casa de las Flores' gardens were enchanting, Stan was cooking the most AMAZING smelling dish for tomorrow’s breakfast, and Stan presented us with a riveting tour of his collection of local ceramics which made our later visits around the markets much more enjoyable. I would certainly elect to stay at Casa de las Flores over QDJ in the future. Admittedly, my tastes veer to the funkier and Casa de las Flores is in a more "local" neighborhood (but still just two blocks from QDJ and three from the town center), but I felt QDJ does not yet cater to the sophisticated traveler as Casa de las Flores clearly does.

  • Stayed: March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank VRL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
26
Reviewed 13 March 2005

We spent three days at this B&B in March and loved it. The owners, Estelle and Arturo personally picked us up at the bus station and immediately made us feel welcome.We had a deluxe room that was beautiful. The king size bed was comfortable and the room immaculate. The room we were in was very new looking and tastefully decorated as was the whole building.
Breakfasts were good and served in a beautiful courtyard area. We stayed in another B&B in Guadalajara not far from this one but the neighborhood here had a cleaner, newer more upscale feel to it. Quinta Don Jose is within easy walking to the square, shopping and many restaurants. If we ever return to Guadalajara this would be my choice of accomodations.

  • Stayed: March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2005

My wife and I have stayed at Quinta Don Jose several times and each time we are impressed with the quality of the Bed and Breakfast, the beautiful surroundings and their super staff.

Quinta Don Jose's owners, Estella and Arturo, are wonderful and love to share their experiences of life in Guadalajara with their guests. Estella and Arturo have done an admirable job of instilling the best customer service qualities across the entire staff of Quinta Don Jose. Within hours of your arrival you'll feel as though you have this great extended family in the heart of Tlaquepaque.

We're already looking forward to our next visit. Bill and Barbara Kirkwood

  • Stayed: October 2004, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank billknownasmemo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews