We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love the place --- love the owners -- love the staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Quinta Don Jose Boutique Hotel
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Tlaquepaque
Certificate of Excellence
San Pancho, Mexico
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Love the place --- love the owners -- love the staff”
Reviewed 16 August 2005

My husband and I are B&B owners and love to visit B&B's during our summer vacation. We just went on a trip around central Mexico and while there are lots of B&B's in Tlaquepaque to choose from, we keep going back to Quinta Don Jose.

Originally, we went there because they were one of the few that would allow us to bring our family dog in Guadalajara. The dog has since passed on, but our wonderful memories of the warm owners, pretty rooms and helpful staff causes us to continue to choose them over and over. They are only a short stroll fromt he best restaurants and shopping and have hooked us up with excellent guides and personal shoppers over the years. They have a free interenet station (taking the stress out of being away from that pesky home computer)

They serve a great breakfast every day and have a full time bartender on hand to make delicious margaritas.

Make sure you meet the owners, Art & Estela -- they are wonderful people, know tons of places to go and things to see and are always willing to help.

If you are looking for a great little B&B close to everthing -- don't miss this one. We've gone back several times and everytime we do they have upgraded again -- the rooms just get nicer and nicer and the grounds are lovely.

Enjoy~
Barbara Kirkwood
San Pancho, Nay, Mexico

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tapdance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

810 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    675
    100
    22
    8
    5
See reviews for
154
257
29
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 16 August 2005

Starting at the Front Desk as you walk in from the noisy street, you are taken with the cool, quiet, restful interior. It is amazing that one can walk off the busy bus route, shut the big wooden door behind you and immediately forget the city is on the other side! The Front Desk staff, especially Leo and Yvonne, are fantastic! They will merrily help you with anything from bus routes and reservations to where to look for artifacts and meals. Both of them are perfectly bilingual, cheerful and more than willing to help you with anything you might be concerned about or interested in!
Beyond the Front Desk, you stroll onto the covered patio, where the most lovely FULL breakfasts are served daily by the terrific kitchen staff. Varied daily, you are offered such delectables as chorizo and eggs, great platter of fruits, fresh squeezed orange juice and coffee all day.
If you don't like the morning menu, there are always two cereals, yogurt, fruit and you can order eggs cooked however you want. :) THAT is an awesome thing.
The Owners have worked hard on the grounds as well and beyond the patio, it opens into a very substantial piece of property in the city with a huge patio, pool, avocado and lime trees, a fountain spilling into a small pond and a full service bar with everything from sparkling mineral water (with lime...YUM) to pina coladas. When sitting at the pool, it is hard to believe you are only two blocks from the very heart of Tlaquepaque.The rooms are being renovated, one at a time by the owners. The rooms we saw are very nice with brick ceilings and big beds.
They can call you a taxi which will arrive in about two seconds and there is a computer across from the Front Desk so you can check your email. :) Buy too much? They can help with shipping options, calls, etc. Want a tour? No problem. We stayed there for five weeks..long enough to really get a sense of a place and any shortcomings. There are NO shortcomings here! I can hardly wait to get back. Thanks to all of you at Quinta Don Jose and Leo and Yvonne..you two are incredible! We miss you! Best wishes and a hearty recommendation to all to stay here. Dakota & Allison from Santa Fe, New Mexico PS. Maybe you could have those scrumptious peanuts more available at the bar when people are there...hehehehe

Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 9 August 2005

- Lovely courtyard with pool
- Friendly staff
- Right accross the street from busstop to Guadalajara
- Quiet at night

Perfect as a base to explore GDL and surroundings.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2005

We were at the Qunita Don Jose the last week of June and could have stayed FOREVER! The staff, the rooms, the atmosphere were beyond all expectations. We stayed in the Master Suite to treat ourselves and couldn't have felt more at home or comfortable. Decorated in true Mexican style with a very comfortable bed besides! I can't say enough about the wonderful staff...so helpful, so fun, so personable! We had a lovely breakfast each morning out on the patio and spent some time in the tiny little bar each evening. The B&B doesn't look like much from the outside (as is the case in Mexico so often), but once inside, it's a little slice of heaven! Beautiful! I loved looking at Arturo and Estella's ceramics collection in the lovely hutch in the lobby area. We actually left toward the end of the week to stay in downtown Guadalajara for a couple of nights (Hotel de Mendoza, which is fine by the way), but decided after the first night to go back to the Quinta! Fortunately for us they were able to accomodate us in the Master Suite again! It felt like coming home, but better!

Helpful?
3 Thank Edward T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2005

From the moment that owners Art and Estela Magana picked us up at the airport upon arrival, staying at the Quinta Don Jose felt like visiting long lost family in Mexico. Art and Estela are fantastic people, working contantly to make their inn a home for travelers from around the world. They really go the extra mile - we had mentioned wanting to find out information for the National Ceramics Awards - next thing you knew we all had tickets to attend this wonderful event! Now that is what you call hospitality! I think it would be virtually impossible to find another inn anywhere in the world that would leave you with such a very pleasant experience! We will definitely be back! The bed and breakfast atmosphere allowed us to get to know other guests and make new friends, a great added bonus! QDJ also has a extra computer set up for guest use, complete with high speed internet! Wow! Our 2 bedroom 2 bath suite by the wonderful pool, was huge and very comfortable - complete with airconditioning in the master bedroom and even a kitchen. My friends really enjoyed the pool, and the grounds were very pleasantly decorated. Although we speak Spanish, there are so many people on staff who speak excellent English that it is not a neccesity.

The welcoming spirit of the owners definitely carries over to all the employees as well. The kitchen/housekeeping staff are so warm and kind that we felt like somehow our very own mothers were here taking care of us! One morning a guest at the next table remarked about how wonderful the breakfast chilaquiles were. Next thing you knew, the wonderful cook had brought over the recipe and someone to translate everything into english for her! It just struck me that these beautiful ladies are so eager to please, they could give lessons to staff around the world! QDJ is also lucky to have another wonderful goodwill ambassador in there own bartender Charlie! Not only does he make great Margaritas and Pina Coladas, but he is probably one of the most genuinely friendly people in the world! We really enjoyed talking to him! Everyone in reception was great too, offering terrific recommendations with a friendly smile and genuine interest in making your stay comfortable. Right down to the maintenance workers, everyone seemed like the perfect host! Please show a little interest in these wonderful people, offer kind words and pleasant smiles -- your efforts will be rewarded tenfold! They really do want to make this a great experience for you! It is not often that you stay at a hotel, and upon departure end up getting hugs from the people who work there!

We will definitely be back -- just as soon as we can!!

Steve Thompson, Louis Rodriguez and Sherrie Carr

  • Stayed June 2005, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank scthom1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 12 July 2005

My family of three along with my parents stayed at Quinta Don Jose in early June. We were travelling with our five year old daughter and we were so lucky to have chosen this hotel for a 3 nights stay. I have travelled all over Mexico and this hotel is the best. The rooms are large and comfortable, plenty of bottled water is provided, the grounds are beautiful and the breakfast is delicioso. The ladies on staff that cook the breakfast are such good cooks and they are so sweet. Their breakfast is the perfect way to start off a day of shopping in Tlaquepaque. Everyone at the hotel was nice. Leo was always helpful and Charlie was too. The public use computer in the lobby was really nice to have when we needed to check email. The minute we left the hotel we were so sad and felt, as other guests have reported, that we had left family behind. I would go back to Tlaquepaque just to stay at this sweet hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 10 July 2005

We have traveled to several European countries, the Carribbean, Canada and many of the 50 states and have never encountered a more helpful, friendly and gracious staff than the one at Quinta Don Jose. Art and Estela, the owners of the wonderful Bed & Breakfast, are in the forefront of Tlaquepaque's civic and cultural leadership and can provide knowledgeable expertise in the many variouys special events that may be occuring during your stay. Quinta Don Jose is the most centrally located B & B that we are aware of as it is only two short blocks to the heart of Tlaquepaque's renowned shopping and dining district. We have stayed at QDJ three times in the past year and will definitely stay there again on subsequent visits.

Byron & Becky Kibby

Stayed June 2005
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tlaquepaque
0.5 mi away
La Villa del Ensueno Hotel
La Villa del Ensueno Hotel
#2 of 11 in Tlaquepaque
4.5 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Armonia
Casa Armonia
#7 of 11 in Tlaquepaque
4.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rosa Morada Hotel Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core
3.5 mi away
NH Collection Guadalajara Centro Historico
1.9 mi away
Hotel El Tapatio & Resort
Hotel El Tapatio & Resort
#8 of 11 in Tlaquepaque
3.0 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quinta Don Jose Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quinta Don Jose Boutique Hotel

Property: Quinta Don Jose Boutique Hotel
Address: Calle Reforma # 139 | Guadalajara Metropolitan Area, Tlaquepaque 45500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Jalisco > Guadalajara Metropolitan Area > Tlaquepaque
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tlaquepaque
#2 Business Hotel in Tlaquepaque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Quinta Don Jose Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether on business or vacation, "QDJ" offers you a beautiful setting and unique personal service! We're located in Tlaquepaque, Mexico's Arts & Crafts Capital, which is in the greater Guadalajara Metro. QDJ puts you only steps away from superb shopping, exquisite galleries, and inviting restaurants. Also, Guadalajara's Historical Downtown is only a 15 minute drive from QDJ.Our rooms offer private baths, air-conditioning, cable TV & phone. We also have an intimate bar, tiled pool, complimentary airport/bus station Greeting Service (3 night min), free Wi-Fi, and much more. Enjoy a delicious dinner at TlaquePasta, our top-rated Gourmet Restaurant with a Mexican and Italian menu! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Quinta Don Jose Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Quinta Don Jose Boutique

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing