We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Quinta Don Jose Boutique Hotel
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Tlaquepaque
Certificate of Excellence
Ajijic, Mexico
Level Contributor
65 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Outstanding experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2010

We wanted an easy and reasonably priced experience. The package provided by Quinta Don Jose was simply perfect beginning to end. The staff is the worldwide benchmark for travelers: pleasant, knowledgeable, adaptable, helpful. The setting, location, room [a bit unique, but fun], drivers - all a delight.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyWanderer045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

801 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    667
    99
    22
    8
    5
See reviews for
152
253
28
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Port Orchard, WA
Level Contributor
61 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2010

Sometimes lodging lives up to the hype and reviews, and this is one of those. We stayed two nights after a short week in Mazamitla in a "rustic" cabin that wasn't as portrayed on that property's web site. What a difference when we finished our vacation at Quinta Don Jose! Firstly, we must comment on the excellent communication both by toll-free phone and email. The call was answered by a staff who spoke excellenct English and emails were answered within the day. On the afternoon of our arrival by rental car, we did experience a short span of uncertainty as we tried to find the hotel. We had an aerial photo from Google Earth with the hotel location marked. We drove right to the block and then drove AROUND the block twice looking for the hotel -- it's entrance sign and facade are very low-key, and we just kept missing them. When we found the entrance the third pass, the staff quickly got us into their parking compound and checked us in within minutes. There were fresh apples on the counter. Note that bringing your AAA card nets a 5% discount on the rate. Our second floor room was above the bar overlooking the dining and pool with strings of colorful "papelitos" adding to the charm. The room, like the entire facility, was spotless. The king bed was much more comfortable than the traditional beds in Mexican resorts, and there was enough space for a desk as well as tables and wardrobe -- very generous for the price. The bath was finished in traditional tile, consistent with the detailing throughout the premises. Walking through the hotel interior on both levels reveals a great attention to things big and small. Art and native crafts adorn nearly every wall, and they are of very high quality. A display case in the lobby offers an array of things for sale at prices comparable to what you find on Independencia, the pedestrian shopping mall just two blocks away. That brings up the location. You can't do much better if your destination is Tlaquepaque's center. We seniors easily walked throughout the historic district from the hotel and felt entirely secure even when the sun went down. We started our first full day with a continental breakfast that was a little more than we anticipated -- a full plate of fruit with fruit yougurt and granola toppings, several sweet breads, juice and coffee. Fully adequate to start a full day of sight-seeing. The pretty patio setting of the restaurant was complemented by the fast, friendly service. At the end of that long day, we dropped into the bar for happy hour cervezas and met some of the few English-speaking tourists of our 8-day vacation. Charlie the bartender contributed actively to the banter and offered insect repellent to keep the mosqitoes at bay (yes, even in the middle of the city) as the sun set. Based on Trip Advisor ratings, we returned to the main floor later to eat at TlaquePasta. In service, value and quality, we couldn't have picked a better restaurant. My wife's squash-blossom pizza was a piece of art, and my chicken marsala was as good as I make at home (something I've worked at for decades). The decor and ambiance were terrific. When we left Quinta Don Jose at 5:30AM for the airport, the staff who opened the large exit door to the street also escorted our car safely onto the arterial (short sight distances) and waved a smiling goodbye. Although we were ready to head home, we also commented how wonderful our short stay was at this special hotel. As travelers to over 20 countries the past 25 years, we've never stayed at a more welcoming, comfortable hotel. Be sure to check out the attached photos!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spyder3010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
weston, ct
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2010

We started our trip in Guadalajara and after taking a tour to Tlaquepaque decided we would end our trip in this charming city. Needed a bigger place because our daughter was joining us and from the TripAdvisor reviews, chose Quinta Don Jose Boutique Hotel. It lived up to the sterling reputation and then some. Only two blocks from the main shopping street, the unassuming entrance gives way to an enchanting patio and restaurant around which are many of the rooms. There is a lovely pool in this garden with a fountain, hammock and beautiful plantings. There was a power outage when we arrived (they should consider buying a generator), but we managed quite well with candlelight until the power came back on in the morning (we took our breakfast at El Patio, highly recommend it). They include shuttle transport into town (25 minutes) and to the airport (15 minutes). This is quite a savings and very convenient as they were available anytime (even at 5am!) We were staying in much fancier bigger hotels before this, but did not feel like we came down in quality at all. We particularly enjoyed meeting their neighbors, transplanted Americans who frequented Tlaquepasta often and couldn't have been nicer or more interesting (they even offered us showers during the power outage!) You can tell that people love this place. We will be back.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cindyvWeston_Ct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2010

We are frequent travelers and were worried about safety in Mexico, but believe me we were very well surprise with this adventure in Guadalajara for 25 days. In this little amazing town you can go everywhere at anytime without any concern. You can do everything you want... walk among mexicans on the streets, listen mariachis and see folklore dance performances twice a day in The Parian - Restaurants Plaza-, enjoy artesans, rich culture, excellent gastronomy, visit nearby towns like Downtown Guadalajara, Comala, Chapala, or Tequila by taxi or public transportation, beautiful people and excellent service at QDJ. The hotel location is perfect to enjoy all the richness of Tlaquepaque. But, most of all, it gives you a different perspective of what being in Mexico is... perfectly amazing!.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanetteG100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2010

Beautiful grounds, excellent service, great location, loved the daily breakfast. ALL of their staff are friendly, curteous and helpful. My 4-year old is a picky eater and he ate everything we ordered for breakfast and dinner at their restaurant, Tlaquepasta. Great pool area, fully stocked bar with the best mango margaritas!! Stayed 9 days in Villa #1 which is best described as a small 1 bedroom apartment, fully furnished. Their kitchenette included all appliances, real plates, cups, utensils which came in real handy with 2 children. It is a block down the street from the main hotel area, can be a little noisy on Saturday nights, but nothing that kept us awake too long. Was a little nervous about family visitng me there due to it being a small hotel, but the staff graciously allowed them to visit me and were just as curteous to them. For late night snack, there is a churro stand right at the corner, had the best "churros rellenos" I had ever eaten. My son became their best customer. Close to "El Parian," shopping, restaurants. Staff recommended "Mata Tinta" cafe/bar, great place for late night drinks and light eating. Will be defintiely returning to Quinta Don Jose next time we return to the Tlaquepaque / Guadalajara area.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moni_987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2010

Warm and helpful staff, our son loved the pool and and the hotel gardens. Very relaxing atmosphere, yet perfect for exploring Tlaquepaque and Guadalajara

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Xola26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ajijic
Level Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2010

We went in from Ajijic for a day-long medical visit. A driver from the hotel picked us up and took us in Tlaquepaque. Took us to our medical visit. Picked us up and drove us back to Ajijic the next day in the afternoon. I was expecting a "hotel meal" but the dinner was fabulous, the chef very talented, the maitre'd, Salvador as nice as ever (I had known him from Adobe), the front desk staff and all the people I encountered were pleasant, helpful. and knowledgeable. We are going in for one month of intensive Spanish in September and will stay there definitely. What a treat to find such a lovely hotel so close to our house! I am telling everyone about it by email. Thank you again for such a lovely stay and hello to Cabot, the cat. Penelope and Keith

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ksofka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tlaquepaque
0.5 mi away
La Villa del Ensueno Hotel
La Villa del Ensueno Hotel
#2 of 11 in Tlaquepaque
4.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Armonia
Casa Armonia
#7 of 11 in Tlaquepaque
4.5 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rosa Morada Hotel Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core
3.5 mi away
NH Collection Guadalajara Centro Historico
1.9 mi away
Hotel El Tapatio & Resort
Hotel El Tapatio & Resort
#8 of 11 in Tlaquepaque
3.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quinta Don Jose Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quinta Don Jose Boutique Hotel

Property: Quinta Don Jose Boutique Hotel
Address: Calle Reforma # 139 | Guadalajara Metropolitan Area, Tlaquepaque 45500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Jalisco > Guadalajara Metropolitan Area > Tlaquepaque
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tlaquepaque
#2 Business Hotel in Tlaquepaque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Quinta Don Jose Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether on business or vacation, "QDJ" offers you a beautiful setting and unique personal service! We're located in Tlaquepaque, Mexico's Arts & Crafts Capital, which is in the greater Guadalajara Metro. QDJ puts you only steps away from superb shopping, exquisite galleries, and inviting restaurants. Also, Guadalajara's Historical Downtown is only a 15 minute drive from QDJ.Our rooms offer private baths, air-conditioning, cable TV & phone. We also have an intimate bar, tiled pool, complimentary airport/bus station Greeting Service (3 night min), free Wi-Fi, and much more. Enjoy a delicious dinner at TlaquePasta, our top-rated Gourmet Restaurant with a Mexican and Italian menu! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Booking.com so you can book your Quinta Don Jose Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Quinta Don Jose Boutique

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing