We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful outdoor patio lantern restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Casa Luna

Casa Luna
Ranked #3 of 80 Restaurants in Tlaquepaque
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Brunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Vernon, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful outdoor patio lantern restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014 via mobile

Gorgeous restaurant with open skies and seems like hundreds of lanterns in the trees overhead. Estrella is a wonderful server and super friendly. She asked if we wanted service in English or Spanish and because we had both languages covered we asked her to pick and she chose Chinese. Very cute way to start our evening. I had the filet mignon with Gorgonzola cheese sauce, it was amazing. Don't ask for medium rare as that means raw so order one above what you usually do. Estrella's drink recommendation if a gin mohito with cucumber, spearmint and pepper corns, tonic and soda was wonderful and refreshing. Also had the spring rolls for an appetizer and they were rolled in sesame seeds and were delicious. My wife had a casa luna salad which was equally delicious and sangria. Prices are reasonable for the food quality and the very attentive service.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank RonnieGold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    222
    100
    23
    16
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fruita, Colorado
Level Contributor
103 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Attentive service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

I have eaten here a few times over the past few months. Service is relaxed but fairly reliable. Margaritas are good; pizzas are a generous size without being over the top. Sometimes your wait-person changes mid-meal, so you aren't always sure if your order will be completed. The patio has a nice, cosy feel, while you are still eating outside. The lanterns are a nice touch at night. The sounds of the town are hidden with water features and high surrounding walls. Probably my favorite Tlaquepaque restaurant.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LeeSQL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomfield Hills
Level Contributor
219 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Mixed Review by Four Eaters”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

Four of us (two couples) at here. Two were very pleased - a filet and salmon. The other two (my wife and I unfortunately) were less happy with a boring salad and molcajete with tough tasteless beef. Our waitress was lovely and helpful. Service very good. I would try again, but different choices next time!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Caslin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Taste Sensation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013

The food was outstanding at Casa Luna- a real taste sensation! A beautiful setting and an interesting menu- even has live music several nights a week.
I believe there is a Cooking School attached- with a great reputation. Has been operating for over 20 years.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jenny Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, BC
Level Contributor
172 reviews
149 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Slow service, lukewarm food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013

Four of us just had lunch here and it took forever to get served. Nothing was hot when we got it, but it was all very tasty and nicely prepared...but it would have been amazing if it had been more than room temperature. The filet mignon was the most tender we have ever tasted (beware - ordering it "rare" means your steak will be "blue"!). The cream of coriander soup was delicious (the one thing that came hot), salads were nice, and the tortilla soup good. The prices were fair.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bucerias_Homeowner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Casa Luna also viewed

Tlaquepaque, Guadalajara Metropolitan Area
Tlaquepaque, Guadalajara Metropolitan Area
 
Tlaquepaque, Guadalajara Metropolitan Area
Tlaquepaque, Guadalajara Metropolitan Area
 
Tlaquepaque, Guadalajara Metropolitan Area
Tlaquepaque, Guadalajara Metropolitan Area
 

Been to Casa Luna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing