We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly and mean very well”
Review of La Casa del Retono

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
La Casa del Retono
Ranked #3 of 8 Tlaquepaque B&B and Inns
bermuda
Level Contributor
176 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“Very friendly and mean very well”
Reviewed 5 March 2012

we stayed for 2 nights in 2 rooms. The place is very primitave in accomodations and the rooms are rather creepy for the price of about $85.00 per night. but the host is very very nice and tried very hard to make things pleasant and is very helpfull. I dont usually write a review with so many "very's" but she did want to do as good a job as possible and does go beyond. But the rooms are just like a motel from 40 years ago thats not in good shape....

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janisc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    18
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
9
21
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland
1 review
Reviewed 2 June 2011

A lovely, peaceful B & B that was recommended by friends and did not disappoint! Stayed for a week, partly with my family, and a few days on my own - both were very comfortable. Room off of garden was cool at night, even in May when we visited. Walking distance from town center, market and language school. Family that runs the hotel is helpful and gracious. They communicate easily in both Spanish and English. Courtyard, gardens, and breakfast area are especially nice. I would return both to Tlaquepaque and the Casa del Rontono in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeriPortland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vancouver
Level Contributor
103 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2011

Nice place to base a stay in Telaquepaque. Stayed two nights and was pleased with the room, breakfast and location. All in all good value in a tourist location.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blanca10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coppell,
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2010

La Casa del Retoño is a wonderful place to base your trip to Guadalajara. It is located in the upscale artisan area of Tlaquepaque, a short 15 minute bus ride into the center of Guadalajara. It is a family run operation which provides a very family friendly and very safe lodging choice for those who are a bit nervous about coming to Mexico. The B&B is really a very private, secure small hotel that is located just a few blocks from the Parian and all of the artisan shops that Tlaquepaque is famous for. A bus stop is on the corner to provide access to all areas of Guadalajara. For those coming to learn Spanish, you are only 7 blocks from the Guadalajara Language Center. As a photographer and female, I have several thousands of dollars of equipment that travels with me and I did not hesitate to leave everything in the room when needed as Luis' mother in law is the one who cooks and cleans!

The rooms are charming and are decorated with hand-painted tiles and linens made by local artisans. All of the rooms are very clean and have screened windows that open into the courtyard or garden. These outdoor areas are heavily planted with tropical plants and fruit and avocado trees. There is also a small basketball court and playground for those traveling with families. For the money, you can't beat the price for what you get!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cvcoppelltexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berthoud, Colorado
Level Contributor
56 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2009

We stayed 4 nights in Nov '09 (3 nights in a double standard room and 1 night in a suite). The owner is a wonderful man, very kind and tremendously helpful. When we arrived at 1am he waited up, met us in the street and even help carry our bags. Our little dog was welcomed too! The rooms are very authentic; cute and colorful with Mexican furniture and pictures. The location can't be beat, just a few short blocks to the center of Tlaquapaque. We had a rental car and always found a space to park in the street just in front of the hotel. The breakfast included coffee, fresh squeezed orange juice, fresh fruit, cereals, toast and eggs (we always chose the huevos rancheros and loved the sauce). Wif-fi is in all the rooms too! We will definitely stay at La Casa del Retono the next time we visit Tlaquepaque.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyMango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawaii
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2009

La Casa del Retono provides a peaceful and authentic taste of Mexico. Four minute walk to the center of town and half a block from the bus stop to Guadalahara, which is a ten minute ride. The B&B is clean, quite, safe, inexpensive, and decorated with colorful Mexican furnishings. Breakfast is plentiful with eggs to order. The owners are always available to assist with any of your needs - with a smile! All of the guests said they return. The two upper back rooms facing the garden with balcony were my favorite.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nap1hawaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
97 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2009

I was a little sceptical of booking this B&B after visiting their website. The pictures on the web made the rooms look VERY small and drab, but the price was the best in town. I showed up without a reservation and was warmly greeted and shown my choice of rooms. What a pleasant surprise! The rooms were more than adequate, clean, and with authentic Mexican decor. Yes, the walls were lime green and the furniture was hand painted, but after all, this is the artistic area of Guadalajara. The hotel was about 3 to 4 easy blocks from the main square and shopping area. The breakfast (included in the price) was fruit, yoghurt, cereal, toast with jam, coffee and juice. The owner was very helpful with information and supplied maps, menus, and information on walking tours and shopping. In fact, he got up at 4:15 to make sure my taxi for the airport arrived as scheduled. I can honestly say that my stay exceeded my expectations, and again, at the best price in town. I would definitely return. Muchos gracias Luis!

  • Liked — Location, Price
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank KYMary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tlaquepaque hotels
0.1 mi away
Quinta Don Jose Boutique Hotel
0.5 mi away
La Villa del Ensueno Hotel
La Villa del Ensueno Hotel
#2 of 10 in Tlaquepaque
244 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Armonia
Casa Armonia
#7 of 10 in Tlaquepaque
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Rosa Morada Hotel Bed & Breakfast
3.8 mi away
City Express Junior Guadalajara Periferico Sur
1.8 mi away
Hotel El Tapatio & Resort
Hotel El Tapatio & Resort
#8 of 10 in Tlaquepaque
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Casa del Retono? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa del Retono

Property: La Casa del Retono
Address: Calle Matamoros 182 | Col. Centro, Tlaquepaque 45500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Jalisco > Guadalajara Metropolitan Area > Tlaquepaque
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Tlaquepaque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — La Casa del Retono 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Casa del Retoño B&B, you will enjoy of the comfort, tranquility and warmth of a Mexican family house built with typical Mexican materials which guarantee you an unforgettable stay.La Casa del Retoño has 8 rooms, each one with full bathroom, color tv with satellite tv programming and one suite with full bathroom, kitchenette with fridge and color TV set with cable tv channels.Additionally every room and suite has a radio alarm clock, fan, heater and telephone.You will also find a charming terrace and a big garden with big fruit trees, both exclusive for our guests where you can try your favorite seasonal fruit or rest while listening to the song birds and have the benefit of the peace and quiet that can only be offered by a typical Mexican house. It is the ideal place for reading your favorite book, meditate and get in touch with yourself. Courtesy breakfast includes a buffet with fresh sliced fruit, orange juice, cereals, yogurt, peanut butter, strawberry marmalade, toast bread, coffee, tea & milk. Additionally we can prepare for you egg dishes for a small fee.As an extra courtesy now we can offer you secure parking in a parking lot located just two blocks away from our B&B.A secure wireless private network will provide you courtesy high speed internet connection in your room and common areas of our B&B (even in part of the garden), a courtesy internet desk computer with high speed internet in reception office is also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and HRS so you can book your La Casa del Retono reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing