We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointed” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Nahual - CLOSED

El Nahual
Price range: US$10 - US$20
Cuisines: Mexican, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Buffet, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Castlegar, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2012

Went for lunch, two of the meals came cold...we mentioned it and they were taken away but returned, still cold. Not warm, cold!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank KootenayFosters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    7
    3
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wow! What a fabulous place.........unique and wonderful. A must go to.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2011

This is the most amazing fine Mexican food restaurant I have ever been to. Living in Mexico for 6 years, you can trust that it is worth the visit, I can't wait to get back to Guadalajara to try more dishes from the menu. It is rare to find a restaurant I want to try most EVERYTHING they serve. I had pork tenderloin stuffed with ricotta cheese, corn and a green herb , served smothered in a fresh plum/cinnamon sauce. Over-the-top delicious. Appetizer was a piece of Panella cheese that had been rolled in Oregano and basil and then baked until light crispy and served drizzled in olive oil. The soup was called "2 colors". It was 2 different soups poured side-by-side in the bowl. One side was a homemade light cream tomato soup and other side was a light cream Huitlacoche soup.Huitlacoche is the black fungus that grows on corn, considered a delicacy. Not only was everything scrumptious, it was a beautiful presentation.
My husband and I shared the cheese, each had a bowl of soup and then shared the main course because we were so full from the appetizer and soup, we couldn't dream of eating a full meal each. We walked out stuffed to the gills and happy we stopped in. After having 2 beers each our bill came to under $50, including tip. Well worth every penny spent.
The restaurant is fabulous in every way.......... the food, the live music, the staff and the decor is perfect in every way. I HIGHLY recommend El Nahual.

  • Visited January 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lovinvallarta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Superb Mexican-Italian food, emphasizing local ingredients, in delightful surroundings”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2011

Nahual was an unexpected delight in every way, from the excellent service (in serviceable English) to the attractive surroundings, to the well-chosen menu, to the extraordinarily good kitchen.
I had a salmon filet prepared with leeks and white wine that still, two days later, sets my mouth to watering as I think of it. I don't know what the magic touch entailed -- probably just the exactly correct amount of, what, cilantro? -- but it was the finest salmon preparation I have ever had, and I've been a salmonizer for about forty years, on four continents.
I'm not sure why this place isn't rated more highly on Trip Advisor. It's fully the equal of Tlaquepasta, in every respect, and Tlaquepasta is my other all-time favorite. It's also very different, in decor, ambience, and general feeling. They both get my highest recommendation.

  • Visited January 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Adox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ajijic, Mexico
Level Contributor
158 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Wish there were more people”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2010

Had dinner here. I had the duck in mole. Food was ok but not exceptional and was a bit pricey. The setting was lovely but only two tables occupied.

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tomgyakima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seattle, wa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Elegant fare with traditional flavors and beautiful presentation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2010

After a dozen meals at this beautiful restaurant I can honestly say that there hasn't been anything less than a delightful experience. Traditional mole sauces in various styles from the deepest Oaxacan style black mix to lighter and richly flavorful mole are slathered onto cornish game hen and other poultry. There is a citrusy, delicious leg of pork, lamb cooked as you wish (even very rare!) and a variety of fish and seafood. Soups and salad include exotic ingredients like the flavorful of cuitlacoche and heart of palm. There is a nice selection of wines by the bottle or glass and some of the best margaritas in Jalisco! The restaurant space is very ample, beautifully decorated and clean white linens add an extra element of elegance.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mahadam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Nahual also viewed

Guadalajara, Guadalajara Metropolitan Area
Tlaquepaque, Guadalajara Metropolitan Area
 
Tlaquepaque, Guadalajara Metropolitan Area
Tlaquepaque, Guadalajara Metropolitan Area
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing