We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nearly great...”
Review of Murphy's Farmhouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Murphy's Farmhouse
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Boolteens
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 June 2013

Our stay at Murphy's was almost fantastic. The room was comfortable, the breakfast was delicious, and the staff was very friendly. Unfortunately, a couple of key things went awry and made our stay much less than it could have been. First, the wireless internet was unreliable at best, and was not working for the entirety of one evening/night. While this may seem like a small thing, it was our only way of keeping in touch with family while on a long vacation, and we were relying on the connection to make further plans for our trip. Second, the water in our bathroom was problematic. The temperature swung dramatically over the course of the day, and even from minute to minute. One morning, my shower was completely cold (as was all the water running from the sink). The next morning, my shower went from comfortable to--literally, painfully--scalding within seconds, and the water continued to be excessively hot for the rest of the morning. When we brought this up with the host, as we were leaving, her only response was that I might go finish my shower in another room. I understand that when staying in an old farmhouse one must expect some quirks, but this seems like a serious issue that needs to be resolved. In short, apart from being scalded and cut off from our main method of communication, our stay was lovely.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bethany M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary501, Manager at Murphy's Farmhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2013

Glad you enjoyed your stay with us! It's a shame you didn't tell us about the Internet connection until you put it on trip advisor we didn't know about it, I have asked all the other guests about it and they're all happy with it. Re- shower, there was nothing I could do about it at the time but offer you a different shower and again you didnt let us know about the water until you were leaving on the second day. The plumber would have been asked to look at it sooner had we known... Hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (99)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 99 reviews

Reviewed 25 February 2013

We stayed at Murphy's Farmhouse during a recent trip through Ireland. WE found it to be an awesome experience for us and for our teenaged kids. The Farmhouse was clean, comfortable and had a lot of charm. The heat worked very well and the showers were excellent. It was one of the most comfortable B&Bs that we stayed at in Ireland. We were greeted by Mrs. Murphy who is a lovely woman with great Irish hospitality. She served us tea and fresh scones upon arrival and spent time chatting with us. Her Irish breakfast was also excellent. We also spent time watching her son milk their many dairy cows on the premises and he was more than willing to explain the process and discuss life on the farm. They Farmhouse is within walking distance of Murphy's Pub which was a lovely local pub with lots of atmosphere and friendly service. The location of Murphy's farm house was also excellent for anyone wishing to tour Dingle Peninsula. We would definitely return to this one!!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KKC1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2012

Nice B & B on the way to the airport from Dingle. Great location, clean, and comfortable. Just off the main road, it is quiet and makes for relaxed setting. Warm breakfast menu had several choices and was cooked to order. Petrol station was just up the way, so we could fill before returning rental car.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DanainDenver W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary501, Manager at Murphy's Farmhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2012

Thank you for your comments, glad you enjoyed your stay!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2012

Mary Murphy met us at the door with a great smile and offer for tea and conversation. She listened graciously as we responded to her inquiry about what we had planned for our trip. We decided to eat close by, and had a very nice/quiet dinner at the Anchor Inn / Pub which was only 2 minutes away. Mary could accommodate a number of guests, however, there were only 2 other rooms occupied when we were there, so it was very quiet. Breakfast was very nice in the morning. We would highly recommend Murphy's B&B as a great value and excellent location for traveling to or from the Dingle Peninsula and the Ring of Kerry area. It reminded us somewhat of the Agriturismo where we stayed in Italy for our son's wedding.

Room Tip: We chose a triple room (for 2 persons), which gave us plenty of space and comfort. All rooms should...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeeandKarenK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary501, Manager at Murphy's Farmhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2012

Hi Thank you for your comments. I love the photo of the room

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2012

The farmhouse is wonderful, the decore is superb, and Mary Murphy is a very charming lady :) She gave us tips on where to eat, what to see, and we appreciated it very much. The location is excellent for exploring the Dingle peninsula, and there is a wonderful beach only 15 minutes drive away. Would recommend! :)

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PetraB92Zg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary501, Manager at Murphy's Farmhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2012

Thank you for your comments!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

We stayed in a family room (parents and 2 teenage sons) on our first night in Ireland. It was basic but very comfortable with a beautiful view. Mary was lovely and gave good tips on locating nearby townland. Breakfast was perfect and we were very happy with our stay. We would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KellyMcCabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary501, Manager at Murphy's Farmhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2012

Thank you for your lovely comments, delighted you all enjoyed your stay,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2012

Mary Murphy has been fantastic from the first time we made contact. She has made us feel welcome and looked after us extremely well. The first night we were on our own and started with tea or coffee and cakes on arrival. We had a great dinner and conversation and help on travel plans. The location is fantastic for the Dingle Peninsula or/and the Ring of Kerry. We did both while here. The location is quiet but as said there are two pubs down the lane. It is a working dairy farm so has atmosphere. It was the best decision we made to stay here and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SanMijas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boolteens
12.7 mi away
Manor West Hotel
Manor West Hotel
#4 of 14 in Tralee
798 reviews
16.4 mi away
Caitins
Caitins
#2 of 2 in Cahersiveen
45 reviews
6.5 mi away
Tralee Townhouse
Tralee Townhouse
#12 of 14 in Tralee
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
The Ashe Hotel
The Ashe Hotel
#2 of 14 in Tralee
734 reviews
6.3 mi away
The Rose Hotel
The Rose Hotel
#7 of 14 in Tralee
711 reviews
6.6 mi away
Tralee Benners Hotel
Tralee Benners Hotel
#9 of 14 in Tralee
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Murphy's Farmhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Murphy's Farmhouse

Address: Boolteens | Castlemaine, Boolteens, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Boolteens
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Boolteens
Price Range: £55 - £71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Murphy's Farmhouse 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Description: Murphy's Farmhouse is a sixth generation dairy farm nestling at the foot of the Slieve Mish Mountains on the Dingle Peninsula. The farmhouse is ideally located for touring the Ring of Kerry and the Dingle Peninsula, as Castlemaine village is the gateway between both areas. This traditional and comfortable farmhouse is renowned for its friendly welcome and excellent cuisine providing an extensive range of breakfasts to choose from which will satisfy the most discerning of food lovers. You can look forward to refreshments on arrival. Murphys Farmhouse has 14 en-suite bedrooms with television, tea/coffee making facilities, electric blankets and king size beds. It is ideally located for organised tours. Transport is also available. Location: Murphy's Farmhouse is located 150 metres from Boolteens village where guests can enjoy the local entertainment and music in Murphy's Bar. Boolteens is located along the Dingle Peninsula road 1km from Castlemaine village. For the golfing enthusiast Murphy's Farmhouse is ideally located as it is within a 30 minute drive from the following world renowned golf courses, Killarney, Ballybunion, Barrow, and Dooks. Walking is another activity that the area is proud to offer, Murphy's Farmhouse is perfectly situated for the Kerry Way and the Dingle Way walking routes. For the visitor seeking a more leisurely holiday, Inch Beach - Blue Flag Awarded - provides over 3 miles of safe sandy beach. Kerry Airport - 7 miles. Shannon and Cork Airport - 2 hours drive. Tralee and Killarney provide train services - 20 minutes drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Murphy's Farmhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Murphys Farmhouse Boolteens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing