We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Murphy's Farmhouse
Nearby Hotels
US$196
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$162
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$118
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bianconi(Killorglin)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Ashe Hotel(Tralee)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (103)
Filter reviews
103 results
Traveller rating
54
33
9
5
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
54
33
9
5
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdingle peninsulasconesring of kerrylarge double bedeach morningfamily pubfull irish breakfastroom was very clean and comfortablesalmonfront of the housecontinental breakfastwithin walking distanceon arrivalstayed one nightfresh fruitnext morningwould definitely stay here again
Filter
Updating list...
59 - 64 of 103 reviews
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

I visited with my partner and parents. We had a large room, which was very nice with a single and double bed and a room with a larger washroom with a double bed. All of us slept well. Breakfast was okay but there was a tour group mini-van staying too (so it felt less intimate than the other b&bs) and our table was hurridly cleaned and we had to ask for more brekkie items that had been devoured by the larger group. Overall, a very friendly place and very comfortable beds. Internet did not work all the time or at all in the evening...possibly because there were many guests using it and there was an internet repairman there fixing something.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
Thank rebeljenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary501, Manager at Murphy's Farmhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2014

Thank you for your review, the internet was repaired
Mary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

On the way to Dingle this farm house sits on a small country road just behind Murphy's pub. Mrs Murphy is the best hostess. She called around town to find us an open restaurant for dinner. The room was large and comfortable. We had a king bed and a twin for my daughter, plus a sitting room, a vanity and en-room suite, there was even a bench for all the suitcases. I could stay here for weeks. It feels like home!

Stayed: March 2014
1  Thank Kathleen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary501, Manager at Murphy's Farmhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2014

Delighted you enjoyed your stay with us, enjoy the rest of the holiday

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Murphys farmhouse was more expensive than other options so we thought it would at least be standard quality.

Food was great, but beds and bathrooms were bad.

We did not get what we were quoted for on the phone and were one bed short.

also the 'double' bed was tiny and rock hard and only suitable for 1. ( 4' 6") not the couple that we asked for on the phone.

the rooms were fine and clean and airy but the shower did not work, only bearly trickled water and bathroom was ridiculously small and you could literally barely wipe your ***.

REALLY disappointed.
Will definitely NOT stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pat f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

Murphy’s Farmhouse is, as its name indicates, a renovated farmhouse, located in a quiet location set back from the highway heading to and from the Dingle Peninsula. Our room was clean, quiet and comfortable with a modern bathroom, but……when I went to take a shower, I could get no water to flow. After running out of ideas about how to get the water flowing, I was about to jeopardize my man card by calling Mrs. Murphy and asking her what the deal was. Fortunately, after exiting the bathroom I found a pair of rocker switches on the wall that just demanded to be pushed. After pushing both, I was able to get the water to flow from what was apparently a tankless water heater for the shower. Similar dual switches guarded other electrical items in the room, but once I had broken the code, they all worked. That included an electric heat unit that could be accessed on demand, a feature that was rare in the B&Bs we stayed in, but was a nice feature in still cool Ireland in June. On the negative side, I could not receive the (free) WiFi in my room but the signal came in loud and clear downstairs in the common living room. Also, dining options in the area are limited to two pubs. (We ate at yet another Murphy enterprise, Murphy’s Bar, which was attractive but served a limited menu of pizza and cold sandwiches.)
After a good night’s sleep, we were fed a delicious Irish breakfast served by one of the Murphy granddaughters. All in all, it was a pleasant stay at a reasonable price in a good location.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trickydnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2013

A lovely homely B&B with 3 generations of the Murphy Family between the Farmhouse and Murphys's Bar. Very helpful and a nice place to base yourself for a couple of days of sightseeing around Kerry.
A freshly prepared breakfast each day, fresh pastries, eggs and bacon stocked us up for the day.
Visit the cows out the back in the dairy for the authentic home stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael_NT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews