We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“magic...magic..” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hakusembe River Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hakusembe River Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rundu
Certificate of Excellence
Windhoek, Namibia
1 review
“magic...magic..”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

as always, an excellent and pleasant stay...
great Lodge...friendly staff.
I recommend this venue to all. take time to go fishing on one of the boats...their guides are competent & friendly.
don't' miss the sunset...awesome !!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Francois R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    172
    165
    31
    8
    0
See reviews for
98
164
5
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Davidson, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

Hakusembe River Lodge was a perfect place to stop over on our way to the Caprivi. The bungalows are luxurious actually and quite spacious and comfortable. Food was very good and the deck over the river is a perfect place for a cocktail and sunset viewing. I would definitely stay here again if I am traveling through Rundu.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Nancy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

The resort has been completely renovated so the accommodation was much better than expected. They need to update their websites. We were warmly received with iced tea and showed around the lodge. All activities and prices were explained on our arrival. There is lots to do. The chalets are beautiful, spacious and luxurious. It was a pleasure staying there.

Room Tip: There are two rows of chalets - ask for one one the first row with river frontage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PetalCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

Good signage to get you there, bumpy road - preferably use a 4X4. Very friendly reception, efficient booking.

Quality chalets, with excellent facilities.

Coffee delivered in flask at six am was cold when we poured it an hour later. How about coffee making facilities in the chalet?

Dinner and breakfast excellent. New dining facility and viewing platform wonderful.

Super staff, especially Raulinda, who took special care of us.

Booking my next trip there.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wennesseinmuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swakopmund, Namibia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

Gondwana hospitality - those who have stayed with Gondwana Lodges would know exactly what I mean! Very, very friendly reception and wonderful staff. Edison, Yvonne and their team made our 3-day stay an exceptional experience.
The fishermen in our group thoroughly enjoyed the boat trip, caught a number of Tiger Fish (catch-and-release policy supported by Gondwana), and after dinner they were invited to spotlight fishing from the river bank. This was as exciting for the spectators as for the anglers!
The dining area is being upgraded - expect breathtaking views of the Kavango River from the deck ! At dinner, travelers should prepare themselves to a duel for attention between the stunning sunsets and the legendary dinner buffet abundance. Keep cameras handy.
I couldn't wait for the coffee-and-rusks to arrive on our porch at about 6 every morning. Sipping coffee, surrendering blissfully to birdsong, the morning mist slowly rising from the cold river - a sight to long for days after you've left.
Accommodation in cabins under the trees or villas along the river bank - squeaking clean linen, hot showers, all the nice things you would expect from high grade hotels. Do try the complementary shampoo-cum-conditioner.
Timber platforms floating on the river, reachable by short timber walkways, provides pleasant areas for reading, fishing and watching the Angolans on the other side going about their daily activities along the river bank.
The shop stocks all kinds of good quality souvenirs and even well-known makes of fishing tackle, in case you would like to try your hand at Tiger fishing.
ps - we were there when the boat left with the Gin-n-tonic as described by reviewer "snowybennett" !

Room Tip: Choose cabins under trees - closer to dining room/bar. Villas on river bank bit further away, but no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 10Weltenbumler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
265 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

We camped and had a lovely campsite overlooking the river with private ablutions all clean, only 4 sites would recommend. We decided to have dinner as the shops in Rundu did not have much fresh meat to offer.
They have obviously done lots of new building and are building a new dining room and have completed new accommodation which looks great, unfortunately building noise but its soon to finish.
The evening meal was served on the riverside and was a wonderful location friendly service, but the food was a luke warm buffet served on cold plates such a shame as it could have been great, I hope this is just a reflection of a temporary kitchen.

Room Tip: Great campsite only 4 with private ablutions
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CGSFormby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windhoek, Namibia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

Such a beautiful place to relax. Staff was very friendly and the boot cruise stunning. Everybody of our group enjoyed it a lot. Rooms clean and nicely decorated. Restaurant wasn't finished yet, but we had a great dinner under the tent.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank konnifriedrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rundu
0.0 mi away
Mukuku Rest Camp
Mukuku Rest Camp
#4 of 10 in Rundu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
6.1 mi away
Gondwana Hakusembe River Lodge
0.0 mi away
Mobola Lodge
Mobola Lodge
#3 of 8 in Divundu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Harnas Wildlife Foundation and Guest Lodge
0.0 mi away
Ndhovu Safari Lodge
Ndhovu Safari Lodge
#4 of 8 in Divundu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Divundu Guest House
#7 of 8 in Divundu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hakusembe River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hakusembe River Lodge

Property: Hakusembe River Lodge
Address: Rundu, Namibia
Region: Namibia > Kavango Region > Rundu
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rundu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hakusembe River Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Hakusembe River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing