We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible Host and Fake lighting”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Aeolos Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Aeolos Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Heidelberg, Germany
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Horrible Host and Fake lighting”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2013

We had a reservation for July 2013. We picked this place based on the pictures and the other reviews. From the moment we arrived, the hosts were horrible. We parked out front which is what most people do until they are checked- in and told where to park, but before we could get out the car, we were yelled at to move our car. Next we walked into the reception area and we were greeted by a chain smoker who lit up and made a phone call instead of saying hello or I will be with you in a moment. Finally, a third lady came and showed us the room and made as if she could not speak English. When we realized that the room; on the ground level right in front of the pool, was nothing like the pictures, she had no problem telling us we would have to pay for the entire stay. she then left the room. As you will notice, all the pictures are taken at night, so they can hide the real version of their hotel. The lot in front of our door was filled with goats and all you could hear we barking dogs. When we went back to talk to the first man, he made the comment that we could talk if we had sometime else than a complaint to speak of. WOW, what an experience. We had been in Greece for 10 days and had not meet anyone like this threesome. Needless to say, we found a better and more hospitable place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mefal04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    10
    1
    1
    3
See reviews for
13
26
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2013

There's not a lot to not like about the Aeolos Resort. We stayed for 4 nights in early June 2013. On arrival we were made to feel like nothing was too much for them. The family run hotel and pool bar is EXACTLY what it shows on the pictures. The rooms have a boutique style, tastful decor and maintenance is continually performed to ensure the place is spotless and working.

There are only about 9 rooms in the hotel which means the pool area is never too crowded as well as giving the staff the ability to really get to know the guests. It's a nice feeling to get back from a day/evening out and on returning being greeted by name.

For those looking for that self-catering type holiday, the kitchen areas in the rooms are more than adequate (rooms 1-5 anyway), however the pool bar also serves traditional food which is cheaper than any of the restaurants in the area... and by far the tastiest... Stathis (Steve) who runs the pool bar with Aphrodite get the BBQ going most evenings (and definitely by request), and if Stathis is making the suckling pig... make sure you pre-order, as several KG of this just melt away in the mouth

On balance this was great little find, and one that we would return to... If you have seen any neutral/negative comments in regards to the atmosphere, then it's usually been down guests not taking part in what is on offer (no silly shows or anything like that)... The hand of friendship will be offered, if you choose to accept it then it'll be hard to keep away from the local buzz... If you don't and treat the staff (family) as if they work for you then don't be surprised if they react negatively.

For those "planning" travellers who noted the hotel is close to the airport (about 2-3 km), don't worry about planes flying overhead... They don't!!!

Room Tip: Rooms 1-5 are the refurbished ones... Well worth the price
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JimB1707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2013

Stayed here just when the resort was first opening, last year. The rooms were ideal and the resort is situated away from the busy part of Kalamaki but only a short walk to the beech and restaurants'. I loved everything about Aeolos: location, friendliness and comfort and its pretty and cared for surroundings.I found the staff were amazing and could not do enough for me. So thank you all at Aeolos. The only thing I would change would be the music that was played, which I found a bit too loud and Disco all the time. I think easy listening, as they have at Antonis is perfect. But as they were just starting up, I guess these things take time. I can definitely recommend Aeolos apartments. Special thanks to Joanna. X

Room Tip: I think any room here would be good
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lovesunshine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2012

We found ourselves needing an emergency one night stay somewhere near the airport but ideally coastal. We had little expectation and were on a tight budget but we were pleasantly surprised by the Aeolos Resort. We booked a small Studio that had basic cooking facilities and a bothroom. It was all very clean and simple. The room was airconditioned, had a telly and doors opening onto a small verandah opposite their pool. The resort also features a Bar which was well stocked and had international satellite tv. We got a very special price of approx 20 Euros for the night which you just can't fault at all. The staff were very friendly and helpful and just across the road is Kalamaki's best restaurant 'Essence'. Well worth a stop if you are on a budget. We really enjoyed Kalamaki beach, a Turtle nature reserve and did some great snorkelling at the left end near the rocks.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RichClarkImages
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kalamaki hotels
0.5 mi away
Venus Hotel & Suites
Venus Hotel & Suites
#1 of 30 in Kalamaki
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,164 reviews
0.8 mi away
Bitzaro Palace Hotel
Bitzaro Palace Hotel
#2 of 30 in Kalamaki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
0.5 mi away
Crystal Beach Hotel
Crystal Beach Hotel
#21 of 30 in Kalamaki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Klelia Beach Hotel
Klelia Beach Hotel
#3 of 30 in Kalamaki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Vanessa
Hotel Vanessa
#18 of 30 in Kalamaki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
0.0 mi away
Daisy Apartments
Daisy Apartments
#25 of 30 in Kalamaki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aeolos Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aeolos Resort

Property: Aeolos Resort
Address: Kalamaki 29100, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Kalamaki
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 20 Speciality Lodging in Kalamaki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Aeolos Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing