We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great base however nothing special.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bitzaro Grande Hotel
Ranked #6 of 30 Hotels in Kalamaki
Certificate of Excellence
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great base however nothing special.”
Reviewed 14 September 2012

Just returned 13th Sep. Fantastic location a really nice walk to the beach and very friendly local bars and restaurants especially the local bakery. Easy to get around I used taxis as they are quicker and the bus can be a little busy.
Rooms are very clean basic but absolutley fine, however switching off the aircon spoilt my holiday as i was way too hot, getting dressed in the evening was impossible with the heat in the room.
The barman in the main lobby is a pleasure to see each evening very friendly poilite and of course very good looking too ha ha.
The girl on the pool bar only makes an effort for the return guests who all seem to be having a fantastic time. The entertainment was not for me and i did not join in however a lot of people really enjoyed it and were all making friends sitting around the pool all day getting to know each other.
The chef does a good job with good quality food most of the food is geared to the British a little dissapointing when i was in Greece. However i must admit the breakfast has to be the best i have had in many hotels. Fresh pastry bread rolls greek cheese etc but the full English breakfast was to die for.
I travel three times a year as i work in travel and i enjoy visiting different places and see what people look for in a holiday. I did meet some really nice people too..all in all a good holiday.
I would recommend the hotel however i would not return to Zante.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yvonne333666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,430 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    986
    309
    96
    20
    19
See reviews for
432
674
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (310)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2012

Have just returned from The Bitzaro grande,stayed from 6th -13th sept..Excellent hotel,spotlessly clean,around the whole of the hotel,including the very inviting pool..As previous folks have stated the staff are great and always helpful..thoroughly recommend this hotel and definatly intend to return..

Room Tip: try for a room overlooking the pool..perfect!..preferably 2nd floor ..
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank glyn l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2012

Just returned home on 10th September after staying here for the the 4th time. As usual the holiday was great. The staff are brilliant, the quality of the food is excellent. The rooms are spotless. The location is perfect. You couldn't ask for more in a holiday. Looking forward to next June for our 5th visit.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leigh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2012

Me and my girlfriend have just returned from a 6 night stay at the Bitzaro Grande Hotel. It would have been 7 nights but the ridiculous flight times from Thomas Cook meant we arrived there on Monday morning at 9.15am completely missing out a night's stay.

Our first impressions of the hotel were very good. It is immaculate, neat and modern. The rooms are a little bit basic but again very clean. The walls on the outside and inside all look freshly painted they are that clean. The cleaners themselves are very pleasant and cleaned our room daily and folded up our bed tops so that they somehow looked like they'd been freshly ironed!

One issue we did have which could easily be resolved is the bags in the bins were a little bit small so if you put something in the bin, the whole bag slipped into the bin. This was more of an issue in the bathroom where it was quite difficult to push toilet paper into the small bin bag which meant you had to put your hand inside a bit further than you'd like.

The food choice at meals is very limited. Most of what is there is cooked and presented nicely but because there aren't many trays to choose from, if a few things weren't to our taste, it was difficult to make up a meal. My girlfriend is quite fussy so we ended up eating out on 4 occassions. Breakfast was always the same - Full English. There was also a choice of cereals but I didn't try any as the bowls were metal so I didn't fancy eating out of them. I don't have any children but I noticed that the choice of food in 'kid's corner' was pathetic. It was usually fish fingers, chips, some form of pasta and something else. I was a little bit disappointed with the salad. Greece is knowns for its salads but this hotel just had a few trays of lettuce and a tray of feta at lunch if you were lucky. There was also very little fruit and veg to choose from. A few slices of melon and grapes was the choice when it came to fruit. I expected a lot more.

All the drinks available were terrible and watery. The cola was cheap and horrible, the "fresh orange juice" was watery cordeal and I didn't even bother trying the water after reading some of the reviews on here. The alcohol was also cheap. We could just about manage the lemonade. We were very surprised that bottles of water weren't included in the all inclusive as they have been in our past holidays in other hotels. They didn't even sell bottles of water or snacks such as crisps so we had to make a lot of trips to the shop down the road.

The 'packed lunch' we ordered from reception for one of our trips consisted of just a sandwich.

Free air conditioning is supposed to be switched off on September 1st but due to the heatwave, was kept on for our stay between September 3rd and 9th. It is only on between certain hours though which I find a bit insulting when staying in a 4 star hotel. I woke up every morning at 7am when the air con clicked off and found the room warmed very quickly so couldn't get back to sleep. It was on between 2pm and 7pm and back on again at 10pm until 7am.

The entertainment in the hotel isn't to my taste. I found it to be very tacky. Bingo everyday, nothing for children, nothing for me either! One of the games during the day was called 'ice spitting'. This was done in the pool bar area and consisted of men trying to spit ice cubes as far as they could. Not really what you want when you're having a drink a few metres away. Night time entertainment was a bit loud at times and could be heard clearly and loudly at 11pm even with the doors firmly closed. The music itself was terrible in our opinion. There was nothing modern played for younger people. It would be nice to have a mix. Songs like Jolene, Sweet Caroline, Suspicious Minds and Superstitious were repeated time and time again. It was so frustrating.

The bar man inside is the friendliest person you could meet and has a chat with you and tries to remember your drink.

I do feel as if some of the staff are more friendly and chatty with the older people staying in the hotel. The receptionists shouted bye and said have a safe flight to a couple who were wheeling their suitcases out. We were literally 2 seconds behind them with our suitcases and nothing was said to us. It was quite awkward really.

Due to terrible flight times from Thomas Cook, we were only picked up from the hotel at 5am Monday morning but had to check out of the Bitzaro Grande at 12pm on Sunday so we had no where to stay on Sunday night. The whole thing was a bit odd. There was a note on the notice board to say ask can we keep our room if the flight times are later than the check out time. We did this and the girl at reception put our room number on a list and asked if we would be willing to stay at the Bitzaro Palace for 40 euros if we couldn't keep our room a bit longer. We said we would and she said said she'd know about the room the day after. We were really given the impression that it would all be sorted for us. When we checked the next day, a different girl on reception seemed uninterested in our situation and didn't even look at the list of rooms. She just said "no. You can't keep your room. We're full". She said she'd talk to her manager to see if they could fix it. We gave her half and hour and she said there's nothing they could do so we could either hire a room with a shower or see if the hotel opposite had any rooms or the Bitzaro Palace. Seeming as the Bitzaro Palace is the sister hotel, you'd think they could have tried to sort something out for us beforehand. She did then ring the Palace and said they had rooms there but it was all a bit short and didn't feel very helpful the way it was dealt with. We then stayed in the Bitzaro Palace on the Sunday night for the same price as a room in the Grande and the room we were given was awful and grotty.

Overall, I did have a good holiday and the hotel is nice, clean, in a good location and better looking than other hotels in the area but it isn't perfect and both me and my girlfriend were expecting a lot more from a 4 star hotel after seeing so many 5 star reviews. I think really it's more of a 3.5*.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghelly_Polychroniadi, Manager at Bitzaro Grande Hotel, responded to this review, 17 September 2012
Thank you for your review, also thank you for your nice comments on our hotel and our staff members. Yiannis, the barman, was happy to read your comment and the fact that you appreciated his effort. We do try our best to work as a team and offer our guests our best.
Your comments on the bin bag and the animation will be forwarded to the relevant staff members and used for improvement.
On your recommendations for improvement I have also noticed your comments on the choice of food. We hope in the future we will have the chance to expand our buffets and increase the selection. Allow me to present some numbers though, in our salad buffet guests can find 6 different fresh vegetables, 2 different types of olives, 2 different cheeses, 4 different sauces and some extra things, that would be for lunch while on dinner in addition to this we offer 4 different mixed salads and a wider selection of cheeses. Also during Lunch we have 2 different fresh fruits and during dinner at least 4 different ones.
I would also like to answer specifically for the comment on the drinks quality. It is true that we have faced a problem with our soft drinks, especially the ones served in the snack bar, we did try to solve it with our supplier and we will bring this to his attention again. We are thinking of changing our supplier if this is not solved.
Finally I’m sorry you were not properly informed on the late check out issue, although this is not an issue to be solved by the hotel we do make sure we provide all our late check in guests with a special information paper on this problem, also we have an announcement for this on our reception desk, thus I’m sorry you feel this negative comment should be posted on your hotel review.
Thank you once more for your review and also thank you for choosing to spend your holidays with us. We will be happy to have the chance to offer our services to you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hatfield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2012

Excellent all round hotel. Quite small in size compared to many Thomson/Thomas Cook hotels, but that is a huge benefit to the service you receive. The food is far better than your normal all inclusive, rooms and pool areas are clean and with sun beds in plentiful supply.

Like many all inclusive hotels, it can feel a little short staffed at times, with only one worker on the pool bar 99% of the time, but you don't normally need to queue.

Transfers only five minutes, but the aircraft noise was so infrequent that it makes no difference, and there are no night flights.

Staff friendly and very helpful.

This hotel is far enough away from Laganas if you don't want that kind of thing, yet close enough for an 8euro taxi ride for 5-10 mins if you do.

You will not be disappointed with a stay at the Bitzaro Grande!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank asnicho44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2012

First of all, this is not a family orientated hotel, the entertainment is aimed primarily at adults or families with older teenagers, so anyone commenting or giving bad reviews about the Bitzaro based upon this, must have previously read prior to choosing this hotel, that it is not child friendly!
In order to enjoy this hotel to the max, a bit of advice...get involved with the daily activities, they are brill, and so original, especially the one minute games. This was our third time here and year after year they have never repeated the same games, nor evening entertainment. If you get involved in the day activities with everyone else, you are sure to enjoy your stay even more as everyone is so friendly and get together at night time. We met some lovely families and had some great laughs there, so much so we're all planning a two year reunion!!!

This was our first time going in late August/Sept and it was hotter than I've ever experienced, mid 40's, but there was always some breeze, the air con offered is on between 10pm-7am and 2pm-7pm and it isn't the most powerful, so we pulled our bed underneath the aircon every night to get the full effect, obviously putting it back in its place so the cleaners could get around the bedroom!

Regarding the cleanliness of the hotel...superb! Maids are very polite and have daily service, the reception staff, mainly the owners two daughters are very comical and polite, they jump at the chance to say hello, which makes you feel very welcome.

As already mentioned, the entertainment is next to none, very original, the staff are fab too, such a laugh, It shines through, that they actually enjoy their job, which is enjoyable to see. Because we got together with a few other groups and stayed together in the evenings, we continued our ow entertainment following the night time show, and many a night, the entertainment team would join in with us. one night we even went down to 'The Venue', the karaoke bar on Kalamaki strip. Great night and so much fun!

Many people forget to praise the chef with his fantastic food for both breakfast, lunch and dinner, always a great selection and the best ever food for a hotel, even more so with it being an all inclusive, no corners were cut. The bar man that works solid for 7 days a week for 6 months is also a charm, always smiling and wierdly always remembers what drink your going to ask for, often he had it pouring before I even moved my lips! Thats customer service!

Nikki on the pool bar is a pleasure to see in the day, with it being our 3rd trip back, she always remembers your face and name and comes round from the bar and gives you a hug and kiss and always makes a fuss. I can't believe she can keep a smile on her face in that heat and especially when she'd none stop looking after a bar on her tod!

I'd have to agree with Georgie though, the drinks are weak, i don't drink alcohol so I can't comment on that, however i do rely heavily on soft drinks and cordial, and every day i bought a large Fanta lemon bottle from the shops for 1.6 Euro. The shops on the stip are pretty cheap as they struggle for custom with many of the hotels in the resort being all inclusive. The other thing that could vary is the drinks. Often they'd be more tasty and juicier from the inside bar than the pool bar, so the machines were temperamental as to how strong the juice was!

Regarding sun lounger reserving, I can't really comment as we usually go low peak, the first two days were pretty busy with people putting towels down, but following these two days, it all calmed down and there was no real need to reserve, but it is recommended if you are a sun worshipper!

We went to the beach once during our stay and it is a lovely beach, but the turtles take priority..be warned :) The water is warmer than the pool and is so clear, nice to lie on the lilo and just float out. They also have little pedal boats to hire for an hour for 10 Euro too, well worth it. If you visit around 10am your more than likely to see a few turtles hatch, we saw three hatch in a matter of 5 minutes...head for the crowds if your unsure! A few of us got sun stroke that day as the breeze from the beach is really deceiving as with any beach so be careful.

To summarise, one of the most fun-filled holidays we've ever been on, you make of it what you want, but highly recommend you get involved to enjoy it to the max, everyone is so polite and everyone is game for a laugh. This is the only all inclusive holiday resort we return to purely due to all of the above, you know you won't be dissapointed, fantastic customer service, and always with a smile :)

Room Tip: The main block of the hotel which the reception is in has air conditioning on all day, the other two...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fonzie61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2012

We have just got back home after 2 fantastic weeks staying at the bitzaro,Which was our 3rd time,and it just gets better and better,the staff r fab cannot do another 4 u.will b going back 4 our 4th time cannot waite

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Eileen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kalamaki
0.1 mi away
Bitzaro Palace Hotel
Bitzaro Palace Hotel
#2 of 30 in Kalamaki
710 reviews
0.3 mi away
Venus Hotel & Suites
Venus Hotel & Suites
#1 of 30 in Kalamaki
1,233 reviews
0.7 mi away
Klelia Beach Hotel
Klelia Beach Hotel
#4 of 30 in Kalamaki
655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ionion Blue Hotel
Ionion Blue Hotel
#12 of 30 in Kalamaki
476 reviews
11.8 mi away
Mabely Grand Hotel
Mabely Grand Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kampi
684 reviews
0.1 mi away
Amaryllis Hotel
Amaryllis Hotel
#21 of 30 in Kalamaki
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bitzaro Grande Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bitzaro Grande Hotel

Property: Bitzaro Grande Hotel
Address: CL Zante, Kalamaki 291 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Kalamaki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kalamaki
#5 Family Hotel in Kalamaki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Bitzaro Grande Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and Hotels.com so you can book your Bitzaro Grande Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Bitzaro Grande
Bitzaro Grande Kalamaki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing