We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Brilliant Girls holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bitzaro Grande Hotel
Ranked #7 of 30 Hotels in Kalamaki
Certificate of Excellence
Staffordshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A Brilliant Girls holiday”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

As a group of three 18 year old girls who had never been on a girls holiday before we were very sceptical about what our hotel would be like. We had come to Zante for a party holiday but did not want the club 18-30's experience and instead wanted to relax in the day time while still being able to enjoy the busy night life that Laganas had to offer. We would highly reccomend this hotel to young girls who have never been on holiday by themselves before as the bitzaro grande is perfectly catered for just that as well as family and couples holidays.

The staff were amazing. They could not help us enough giving us a very warm welcome as soon as we walked through the door and a very heartfelt goodbye as we boarded our coach to leave for the airport. There were 24 hr receptionist staff all of which knew us on a first name basis and kept our room keys safe so as we wouldn't have them lost or stolen on the strip. Takis and Pavlos (reception) were very friendly and helpful with anything we needed, be that taxi's, wifi, recomendations anything at all was never a problem. As we are quite young they went out of their way to make sure our stay was pleasant even when we walking in from a late night on the strip they constantly looked out for us. it was very comforting and of course extremely helpful. The dining staff were also very helpful informing us what certain dishes were giving us recommendations and generally being very friendly. Ionut and Theodore (the grill man) always spoke to us, asked how we were and helped us with anything we needed. Then there was the bar staff Nicky, Christian and Costas who we became good friends with needless to say over the week. it was genuinely upsetting when we left Nicky who gave us a big hug before we went, she learnt all of our names and was very understanding when we were a little hungover and in need of a frappe and a toastie. Costas too was so lovely towards all three of us always having a joke and smiling asking us about our nights out in Laganas, plus he poured some pretty heavy measures of vodka lemonades which is never a bad thing!

the hotel rooms felt very secure, there was a regular maid service and they were very well equipped and clean. It was my friends 18th birthday party a few days before we arrived, and when we got into the room we found a card and a plate of cupcakes waiting for us which was really sweet of them. there was plenty of room to put all of our clothes and bits and pieces (which we had a lot of) and there was a safe to put all of our valuables in at the cost of just 15 euros per week.

The all inclusive was brilliant! is you are going on a girls holiday i strongly recommend going all inclusive because if we hadn't we would either have run out of cash or not eaten. there was food whenever we wanted which was so convenient considering some days we didn't get up till early afternoon. The variety was great there was so much to choose from and it was different every night. in the say if we didn't want a full meal, burgers, toasties and the fresh Greek salad i have ever had was all available at the bar along with a variety of drinks including lots of yummy cocktails. there was also help yourself ice cream whenever you wanted it and an selection of cakes and biscuits at the pool bar too. every evening along with the main dishes there was an option that was fresh from the grill and our favourite was the fresh cooked pasta which they cook in front of you with your choice of topping and sauces etc. plus a similar option at breakfast but rather with crepes/pancakes and waffles.

There was always entertainment and things to do so we were never bored. Vlad, Ollie and Laura always got us involved in the different events they had on which introduced us to the other guests and were actually a lot of fun. Things such as water polo and killer pool were always a winner but there were other things to do such as Go Karting, hockey, tennis, darts, brain teasers and competitions. We would also see some of them outside of the hotel along the strip too and they would never hesitate to chat to us and be really friendly so it was nice having that kind of relationship with the staff.

What was perfect for us was that our hotel was a 5 minute taxi ride at just seven euros from the main strip. being young girls we wanted to go out every night and with it being fairly close and reasonably priced to get to we could do that. We aren't 24/7 party people so when we had had enough we could leave the strip and come back to the calmness of our lovely and relaxed hotel where we could recover from the night before.

We had an absolutely excellent stay and if we were to return to Zante for any kind of holiday be that a family.girls or couples holiday i would always choose the Bitzaro grande. Friendly, beautiful, clean and relaxing are just some ways to describe the hotel and its certain that we would not hesitate to return. we didn't want to leave at all! Beautiful hotel, amazing holiday.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Emily L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,398 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    960
    304
    95
    20
    19
See reviews for
421
660
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (305)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We have recently returned from our 8th visit at this wonderful hotel, where we now feel more like family than friends.

ROOMS: The rooms are cleaned daily by the maids, the majority of them have pool views. In most rooms there is a double and a single bed, some rooms double only. There are also larger family room with 2 bedrooms. There is a bath and a shower en suite. There is a fridge, kettle and cups, TV, hair drier and balcony, plenty of storage space. There is air conditioning and a safety deposit box. The rooms are on 3 floors, we have stayed in 8 different rooms and have never had any issues.

FOOD: Is amaaaazing!! BREAKFAST comprises of fully cooked, continental, cold meats and cheeses, toast, cereal, yoghurt, fruit, even porridge! There is a hot and cold drink machine. Breakfast is served until 10am. LUNCH there is a buffet in the restaurant of hot foods and salads, this is served until around 2pm. DINNER is a good selection of hot food and salads, with a great selection of desserts including cheeses. If you're hungry through the day the pool bar is open from 10am till 6pm and serves a selection of sandwiches, salads, toasties, and a small hot and cold buffet at peak lunchtime. I've never had a bad meal in this hotel, the quality is superb.

ENTERTAINMENT: There is a team headed by Thomas, the most lovely man. They work hard through the day organising activities for the guest to join in, including water aerobics, French boules, quizzes and silly games. The staff will come around the pool and ask if you'd like to join in, there is NO PRESSURE to do so, however we find it good fun and have met and made friends with many people during these activities. There is a different theme of entertainment every night including the Bitzaro show, karaoke and quiz nights.

DRINK: The pool bar is open from 10am to 6pm and serves a variety of hot and cold beverages, the main bar in the lobby is open from 7pm till midnight. There is an excellent choice of drinks including cocktails. There is only one member of staff on each bar, so there is sometimes a little wait, but never too long, these guys work so hard.

THE POOL: Is immaculately clean, as are the surrounding gardens, there are more than enough loungers and parasols to go around, although I'm still saddened to say there are those who still feel the need to put towels out, seriously, it's not necessary!! There is no lifeguard around the pool, however the deep and shallow areas are clearly marked out. There is a separate child's pool and a Jacuzzi. There is also a children's play area and tennis court.

THE STAFF: They have got to be the most friendly, helpful bunch of people you will ever meet, with the thousands of guests they must get through their doors every year they still remember us by name! They can't do enough to help you, and they work so hard, from reception, to restaurant staff, the maids, the gardener, bar staff and the management, I can't find a negative thing to say about any of them.

LOCATION: The hotel is not far off the end of the runway, so you do get planes coming in and out, we find it fascinating to watch, and they're literally gone in about 20 seconds, so they don't bother you. We generally get a taxi from the airport as it takes only a few minutes, this costs 13 euros. There is a 'supermarket' around 200 metres away and the main street is minutes away with a good selection of shops, bars and restaurants (although I doubt you'd eat out much!) We do enjoy visiting the Maharaja Indian/Chinese restaurant. The beach is around a 10 minute stroll away, we tend not to go as I personally can't stand sand (!), but it is very clean.

OTHER STUFF: There is a gym and children's play room, neither of which we have used so I'm unable to comment on them. The entertainment finishes at 11pm and the lobby bar at midnight, we have NEVER had an issue with noise, even when we stayed in a room directly above the lobby bar. The island is beautiful, we take at least one day to get out and about to have a look around, either by car or on quad bikes, the roads are actually remarkably quiet, and the scenery is stunning.

I can not recommend this hotel highly enough, if you have found my review helpful please do indicate this, and if you have any questions about anything I may have missed out then please do message me.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
24 Thank sherleen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

I stayed here for 3 days due to an emergency with my mother who was rushed to hospital and the staff were so caring and helpful with both my father and I. Nothing was too much trouble and it was very such a breath of fresh air to receive this service.
The food and service was outstanding with such a wide range of options through out the day.
Entertainment was good and created a great atmosphere by the pool bar.
Rooms were also spacious and cleaned daily which was good.

THANK YOU AGAIN FOR YOU HELP AND LOVE

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank IanSolihull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Just returned from another great holiday with my bitzaro family. The moment you enter the hotel you are made to feel welcome even if you have never been there before. From staff on reception to Nikki in pool bar, all staff in the restaurant who always have a smile, to Kostas on top bar who is new but made you feel welcome. Entertainment - Laura and Oli are brilliant Thomas has taught them well Oli fits right in and Laura has a more laid back approach, you can join in the entertainment or lie back on you sunbed but joining in is a lot of fun and a good way to meet people, live band Gutter Case and Black Mumba were fab well done Thomas for finding these guys. Food this year was a lot better than last year with the addition of a new chef plus a chef cooking outside. Hello to Karin who remembers everyones room number and always has a smile. All the staff work really hard at this hotel. Met lots of people who are returners and it is always nice to catch up. Taxis around kalamaki cost 6 euro no matter how far you go, we hired quads from Hermes for 50 euro a day and they were brilliant, Taxi from airport is 13 euro fixed rate. Walk to Laganas takes around 30 minutes via the beach stop off and have a gyros and a pint for 5 euro and a sun tan on the way back

Room Tip: stayed on ground floor, 1st and 2nd floor all rooms are good and nearly all have a pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank LiverpoolLamby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Fantastic hotel, very clean and staff are brilliant, can't do enough for you. Being there is like one big family,you make many friends and keep in touch. Been 4 times, were always remembered. Go every year now in May.
Susan Letts and Richard Pearce

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank susanLetts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

All staff were lovely hotel great we had a fantastic time .we will return our room was on a low floor facing the pool that was cleaned every day all areas were spotless.we would have liked to stayed longer .Entertainment a lot of bingo .didn't stay in the hotel at night like to explore another pups the Cave Bar is a must if you are looking for somewhere quite and there is a small golf cart that can take you up and down the hill.

Room Tip: We did the round the Island trip .we felt it was a bit long on the of the bus for 10hrs but that did...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank josiemum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitstable
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Me and my boyfriend have just got back from an 11 night stay (15th June - 26th June) in bitzaro grande. We had never been before so we were unsure what to expect, and we were pleasantly surprised! Our there stay flew by, we had such a fantastic time and we felt like we could have stayed longer than 11 days which we don't often say about hotels.

The transfer time was super quick, all of 5/10 minutes! On arrival we were greeted with a friendly warm welcome from the receptionist. Our first few days there had mixed weather so we used this time to visit Zakynthos town which was only €9 in the taxi each way. There's lots of nice shops and restaurants there aswell as a nice walk along the harbour. The rest of our holiday was fantastic weather with 30+ degree heat and clear blue skies!

My boyfriend is a fussy eater, yet he found plenty to eat in the dinner hall for breakfast lunch and dinner! We especially liked the pool bar food at lunch which included burgers, pizza, chips, Greek salad and several types of sandwiches with different fillings. There is also a wide range of different soft and alcoholic beverages to have. Be aware of the strength of the cocktails, especially in the lobby bar as they have no limit on their measures!

During the day there is plenty of activities to participate in. The animation team are very polite and friendly, they always offer you to join in but it's never a problem if not. Oli particularly is popular with all the guests! We enjoyed the activities particularly water polo and water volley ball.

The pool area is surrounded by lots of beautiful flowers! We loved the fact that we never had to get up early to reserve a sunbed like we have in other all inclusive hotels. However we did go earlier in the season so may be a different story later in the summer. Although the airport is nearby and there are planes that fly over it never bothered us or any other hotel guests.

The evening entertainment could be improved but we still enjoyed ourselves. There is bingo every night and me and my boyfriend participated in the Greek dancing one night and also the couples dance off which we come runners up in which was a laugh.

There is a supermarket literally 2 minute walk up the road to get any essentials that you need and a souvenir shop.

The thing we liked most about the hotel was because it was smaller than others everyone got the chance to know each other which made the stay more enjoyable. We even went out several nights with other hotel guests to some bars. We particularly like the venue bar and the iguana bar.

Overall, we would recommend this hotel to anyone. We can see why the reviews are always excellent and we may be back soon :)

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank BeccaB95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kalamaki
0.1 mi away
Bitzaro Palace Hotel
Bitzaro Palace Hotel
#2 of 30 in Kalamaki
692 reviews
0.3 mi away
Venus Hotel & Suites
Venus Hotel & Suites
#1 of 30 in Kalamaki
1,207 reviews
0.7 mi away
Klelia Beach Hotel
Klelia Beach Hotel
#4 of 30 in Kalamaki
640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.8 mi away
Mabely Grand Hotel
Mabely Grand Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kampi
662 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ionion Blue Hotel
Ionion Blue Hotel
#12 of 30 in Kalamaki
462 reviews
1.2 mi away
Louis Zante Beach
Louis Zante Beach
#1 of 74 in Laganas
1,619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bitzaro Grande Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bitzaro Grande Hotel

Property: Bitzaro Grande Hotel
Address: CL Zante, Kalamaki 291 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Kalamaki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kalamaki
#5 Family Hotel in Kalamaki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Bitzaro Grande Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bitzaro Grande Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Bitzaro Grande
Bitzaro Grande Kalamaki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing