We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, location spot on”
Review of Marelen Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Marelen Hotel
Ranked #4 of 30 Hotels in Kalamaki
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 June 2011

Really impressed with the hotel from the minute we turned up. Julie, who seems to organise everything in the hotel, welcomed us when the coach dropped us off. She told us that there was a BBQ that evening and that she had put tickets aside for us if we wanted to go. We thought that was great, and the BBQ was lovely and great value. They also did free pizza night on the Friday, and yes it was free!!

The swimming pool was brilliant, very clean and not as cold as you’d expect. Perfect to cool off in. There are loads of sunbeds so we didn’t have a problem getting one all week.

The hotel is 2 minutes away from the beach and about 10 minutes walk to the main street in Kalamaki. This was the perfect location for us as it was quite quiet, but very convenient for everything. We ate in the restaurants in Kalamaki most nights and would thoroughly recommend Parthenon. It is the further end away from the hotel so it does mean to get there you have to walk passed all the other restaurants who try and get you in there, but it’s worth it!! The waiters are really friendly, the food was lovely and good value for money. If you are lucky there will be some Greek dancing too. Drunk Corner is a must. We were lured in by the promise of cheap cocktails and beer. The cocktails were very nice and it’s a really nice place to relax.

Overall we had a great holiday and were very pleased with the hotel and the resort. The hotel room was very basic, however we were not in there much. We booked bed and breakfast but in hindsight we would have gone for self catering as we wanted to make packed lunches on some days and there were no provisions for this in our room. We did have a little fridge and kettle and cups though. All the public areas of the hotel were very clean. Our room was not spotless, although it wasn’t bad enough to complain/move rooms. I think this was a one off because talking to some other people staying in the hotels their rooms were very clean.

We recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank yesplease2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,267)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,120 - 1,126 of 1,267 reviews

Reviewed 21 June 2011

amazing hotel amazing staff amazing rooms sums it up in one word amazing this hotel just gets better must also mention a new restaurant on the kalamaki road called Yamas lovely food and lovley staff great service and very reasonable prices book all your trips with pat english lady no hassle also on main street car hire book through hotel Jimny jeep 180 euro for a week cheapest we have ever paid in 10 yrs julie the hotel pr is great and will do anything for you you only have to ask and its done missing it already and booked already for next yr so nick get the drinks in cant stress this hotel is the best for families and couples of all ages alike hope this helps

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank loulabelle68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2011

What a fantastic holiday at the Marelen! We booked our holiday in Zante last august, and it was more than worth the wait.
On arrival at the hotel (after a mere 5 minute coach transfer from the airport) we were greeted by Julie, the hotel PR, who was very welcoming and showed us to our rooms. My husband and I traveled with our 4 young children and the 2 bed apartment had more than enough space for us all - including 4 suitcases and 2 pushchairs. The rooms are spotlessly clean, and the gardens beautifully maintained.
There are two separate pools, in different areas of grounds, a main pool with a small childrens paddling pool, and the fun splash pool which our children adored. The pool bar sells anything from a full english to a greek salad and the staff are very friendly and helpful. The evening entertainment was very good and the drinks were reasonably priced.
All in all we had a fab holiday at the marelen and I would recommend this hotel to anyone who is after a fun-filled family holiday, in a friendly, clean and relaxed environment.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Holly2709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2011

We had a last minute holiday. This hotel was perfect for what we wanted.. simply to chill out on the beach. The room was basic, with a small kitchenette area. During the week the linen was changed twice, and the room cleaned daily. The pool was large and not too busy,all the staff were very friendly. The entertainment may not be to everyones liking, but it is optional!
Try to get a room on the 2nd/3rd floor for views and nice breeze. We were on the 2nd floor and the room below ours looked out on a brick wall about 2 meters away! We had a great time and would go to this hotel again.

Room Tip: Ask for 2nd/3rd floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ellenj7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2011

We stayed in the Marelen for one week only returning home to Dublin yesterday and we will definitely be back not just to Kalamaki but to the Marelen.

The hotel is only about 5/10min drive from the airport so a very short trip, you will here planes coming and going during the day mainly thursday and friday but flights stop at 9pm and to be honest after the first day you tend to not notice them.

Hotel is only a short 5 min walk to the nearest beach, sunbed rental for two with parasol was Eur7.50 for the day which was reasonable. There is a taverna on the beach which is very handy, food a little more expensive than poolside but that's to be expected. Greek Salad cost Eur5 not a huge portion but ok for lunch and a fiver isnt too bad.

We were greated warmly on arrival by Julie, a lovely lady from newcastle, reception had orange juice and water available to guests on arrival which i thought was a nice touch. Julie then guided everyone to where they were staying making sure everyone knew exactly where to go.

As we stayed B&B our room only came with a fridge, kettle and cups but that suited us fine. The room was fairly standard but spotlessly clean, i see some people complained about ants, at the end of the day its a hot country and if you leave your door open and food out thats what you'll get. we had no problems. Only thing the bed which was a double... was very hard howvere each room has a duvet stored in the wardrobe, i placed this on the bed and it made a world of difference.

Grounds are maintained very well, landscaped well maintained gardens and large pool area. Pool bar served all manner of things from 10.30 am to 6, food was actually very nice salads where lovely and very generous.

Hotel bar well stocked with two very friendly barmen Nick and Visci (excuse the spellings).

Eating out in kalamaki our favorite restaurant was The Olive Tree, absolutly gorgeous food id highly recommend any of the fish dishes and the house lamb dish...yuuummm.

We booked a rented car for three days from Eurocar on the main road a Hyundi i10 Eur90 for three days, well worth it, although petrol is expensive.




We stayed as bed and breakfast, as previous posters have mentioned breakfast includes a wide range of foods. Fresh fruit was only available in apples or oranges, would love to see a wider range availabe.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank frillynickers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2011

We have just returned from a self catering holiday in kalamaki and the marelen had everything for a perfect holiday.A warm welcome from julie started our holiday off with a good vibe.The hotel was clean the room (416) was equiped with everything you needed,kettle, toaster,microwave,fridge,pots pans etc etc.The sheets and towels were cleaned regularly and the whole setting was clean and tidy.The first time we heard the planes flying in and going out it was quite exciting but didnt take much notice of them after that and they didnt fly in the night so no sleep disurbed. We hired a quad bike for 15euros a day from pat on the main road where you could also get trips much cheaper than through the rep. We ate out every night and used the mermaid, the parthanon,but the dias was the best and we went back there a few times and the only meal that was not good was at the ambrosia.(meal prices starters about 3-5euros and mains about 6-9euros everywhere we went).we popped in to a few other hotels close by just to compare and were glad we chose the marelen. if i had to be very critical i would say the hair dryer in the room was not very good and wished i had taken my own,but the weather was so hot i just wore hair up the whole week!! A great lunch at the taverna right on the beach that is just a few minutes from the hotel shame its not open at night because of the turtles We didnt eat at all in the maralen but only because we like to explore.We could have had a breakfast for 5euros a day. the safe was 25euros a week and 20 euros deposit on the tv control which was returned when we left. if we ever return to kalamaki we would have no hesitation on using the maralen...hope this helps others..ENJOY!!!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank mg57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2011

The Marelen was great - perfect for what we wanted, which was a chilled week by a pool - the pool area was really nicely done, plenty of sun beds and the snack bar was good value for money for lunch - my only gripe about the pool area was that I'd have liked to have seen a 'smoking' area as, as a non-smoker, I don't particularly like breathing in other people's smoke!

Breakfast was excellent, plenty of choice from cooked breakfast to yoghurt, fruit (although only tinned peaches - fresh fruit would've been nicer) to pastries, waffles, cake etc. The rooms may be a little dated but were cleaned every day and the shower was great - couldn't complain at all.

We didn't bother with the 'entertainment' in the hotel - as we're not quiz or bingo night fans - but other people seemed to enjoy them!

Would definitely go back here and to Kalamaki - fab place overall.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Garda_fan_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kalamaki hotels
0.4 mi away
Venus Hotel & Suites
Venus Hotel & Suites
#1 of 30 in Kalamaki
1,277 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bitzaro Palace Hotel
Bitzaro Palace Hotel
#2 of 30 in Kalamaki
768 reviews
0.8 mi away
Klelia Beach Hotel
Klelia Beach Hotel
#5 of 30 in Kalamaki
744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Vanessa
Hotel Vanessa
#17 of 30 in Kalamaki
199 reviews
0.8 mi away
Meandros Boutique Hotel
Meandros Boutique Hotel
#3 of 30 in Kalamaki
587 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Macedonia
Hotel Macedonia
#23 of 30 in Kalamaki
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marelen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marelen Hotel

Address: 6 Post Box, Kalamaki 291 00, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Kalamaki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Kalamaki
#17 Romantic Hotel in Kalamaki
Hotel Class:3 star — Marelen Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 118
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK) and Cancelon so you can book your Marelen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marelen Hotel Kalamaki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing