We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hotel- ideally placed for the beach” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marelen Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Marelen Hotel
Ranked #5 of 30 Hotels in Kalamaki
Certificate of Excellence
northumberland
Level Contributor
135 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel- ideally placed for the beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2012

Decent rooms, small but ok for used for sleeping in!
Excellent splash pool fun play area for small kids, with a nice snack bar there.
Decent large pool with seperate kids pool. Hotel was not full, and mainly English folk there.
Loud entertainment on an evening till about mid night, als Thomas cook team providing activities during the day.
Excellent position for the beach, and pedlows can be hired here (10 Euro for an hour)- get one about 4pm and look for the turtles!
Hotel does optional breakfasts and evening meals you can book the day before.
Clean, rooms tidied up daily- to a high standard.
Excellent english staff at reception and on snack bar in splash pool- couldnt do enough for you!
I would have no hessitation in recomending this hotel.

Room Tip: When booking ask for a room with afternoon sun on the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank starpyrowhittle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,011 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    589
    287
    94
    31
    10
See reviews for
618
216
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2012

Would highly recommend this hotel to all. Pool and fun pool are great for kids. It is only 100 yards to the beautiful kalamaki beach and 10 minute walk to nearest shops and restaurants. Rooms at the hotel are basic but clean and to a nice standard. Would recommend booking self catering if you want breakfast or half board you can buy on arrival which works out cheaper than paying when booking.breakfast is buffet style which caters for all tastes from full English to croissants. There is a poolside bar that serves food all day, burgers, pizzas,sandwiches, ice creams, crisps etc all at very reasonable prices. Rooms are cleaned 6 days a week and you get fresh towels everyday. Can't really comment on the night entertainment as we were out every evening at the array of restaurants and bars along kalamaki road. Would highly recommend the Artemis restaurant and the Olive Tree both fantastic and good value. The hotel overall was great - friendly and very well maintained. The gardens around the hotel were beautiful. You will be very well looked after by Theresa and Julie on reception, nothing is a problem for them we hope to return soon.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marknicdecgrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrexham
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2012

Me my partner and our 3 yr old stayed here 3 may 2012 for 2 weeks. Excellant time we had, we are returning september for 2 weeks it was that good! Kids club staff Sophie,Jade,Barry,Sian and Steve were fantastic fun and my little boy and monkey moo had a fab time!!! Hotel is very clean and pool is lovely, Teresa and Julie are always avaliable if you have any problems and are really helpful and nice, Maids work very hard keeping all the rooms clean daily and towels are changed every 2 to 3 days, Also Lee,Charlotte,Leila and Charlie were brill keeping everyone entertained! Nikki our rep was lovely too! We hired a car for 11 days and went around the island and its soooo pretty some lovely traditional villages and lovely beaches etc, Overall fab holiday!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank angelinano7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2012

Its the third time ive visited this hotel and it gets better every time. The hotel itself had undergone renovations over the winter months and was looking good. Now has a little stage, a splash pool for the kids and mulitisport courts. The rooms are very clean and there is maid service every day. The pool area and beautiful gardens are well maintained and a lovely setting for a relaxing chilled out holiday. There is also a little chapel on the hotel grounds again in a beautiful setting. The food is also very good and there is now an evening meal menu of which is new from our last visit. The staff are so friendly and helpful. If i had been looking for faults i wouldnt have been able to find any. The beach is only five minutes walk away(turn left outside hotel) and the strip of shops and eating places(turn right) is 10 to fifteen minute walk. there are also taxis outside if you prefer. There are many eating places. our favourite were the Olive Tree and Milos. Cant think of one negative thing about this Hotel or beautiful Kalamaki.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gillietom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2012

Me and my friend stayed at the Marelen Hotel from 17th-24th May. For us, it was absolutely fine - friendly staff, pool was a good size (very cold though!) public areas were nice and the room was good and kept clean/tidy by the maids. We stayed in room 205 which was good because it was right near to the pool.The only bad things about the room were; quite small for 2 people self catering - no table inside to sit and eat at. And the fridge made a VERY loud noise at intervals throughout the day/night! We did mention this but were told there wasn't anything wrong with it (there definitely was, unless all fridges make that noise but I'm pretty sure I've never heard my fridge do that). But it didn't bother us too much (I had my ear plugs) but if you're a light sleeper it might be a problem. It might of just been our particular fridge though. The safe cost £25.

I really liked Kalamaki - not too loud, beach 2 min walk and you can walk to Laganas along the beach in about 15mins. Everyone was friendly and welcoming (although it could get a bit annoying getting blagged by all the restaurants on the strip). We also got the bus (about 1 euro 60) to Zakynthos and there is a free bus to St Nicolas beach which runs from the excursion shop next to the Olive Tree restaurant. Would HIGHLY recommend the jeep safari - we paid 30 euro (as opposed to 50 from Thomas Cook) and you go around the whole island, the best part was lunch at a tarverna with amaaazing views and on the way back we stopped a little pebble beach which was so nice and the water was crystal clear!

We ate at some really good restaurants. The best was the Italian (upstairs on the corner) Buon Amici. Other good ones were The Olive Tree, Heavens Kitchen and Paolos. If you are after something cheap at lunch time they do Gyros in a pitta with chips and salad at lots of places for 2-3 euros. The only bad meal we had was at Maharaja (indian and chinese) - I like my curries and this was honestly the worst indian meal I have ever eaten. Would not recommend. Ever.

Overall an amazing holiday, would definitely go back. Not sure what it is like in peak season but it was definitely a good place to go in May as it wasn't too rowdy so would be fine for families or young people/couples just wanting to chill. The Thomas cook rep Nicki was also lovely.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Natalie111111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2012

We arrived on 10th May 2012, for a 2 week stay. We had 4 Children with us in our party ages 3, 4, 9 & 9, they had an amazing time. They loved the splash Zone area and the kids entertainers are amazing.. My kids were begging to go to kids club every day, big thanks to Barry, sophie, Jade and Steve!! The reception staff are sooo friendly as are the owners. The entertainment team based at the Marelen were also fantastic, thanks to Charlotte, Lee, Leila and Charlie for keeping us busy with their games/activities. The rooms are kept very clean by the maids. We also upgraded from self-catering to half board for a very reasonable price and the food was great, we didnt have a bad meal in the whole 2 weeks. We could either eat from the main menu or they had a bar menu we could order from earlier if we had plans for the evening. We walked into Laganas on the beach for a couple of days and its really nice there too. All in all had a wonderful trip and would definately recommend to all, particularly if you have young children!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Louisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
home
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2012

Just back from the Marelen, Our holiday was fantastic, rooms,hotel and pool spotless, food great! wow the thomas cook reps were brilliant so entertaining! Julie couldn't do enough for you, nothing was too much trouble, all staff were great! Great Location just minutes from the beach. I would highly recommend the Marelen!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank linda66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kalamaki hotels
0.4 mi away
Venus Hotel & Suites
Venus Hotel & Suites
#1 of 30 in Kalamaki
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,161 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bitzaro Palace Hotel
Bitzaro Palace Hotel
#2 of 30 in Kalamaki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
0.8 mi away
Klelia Beach Hotel
Klelia Beach Hotel
#3 of 30 in Kalamaki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Meandros Boutique Hotel
Meandros Boutique Hotel
#6 of 30 in Kalamaki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bitzaro Grande Hotel
Bitzaro Grande Hotel
#4 of 30 in Kalamaki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,306 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kalamaki Beach Hotel
Kalamaki Beach Hotel
#17 of 30 in Kalamaki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marelen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marelen Hotel

Property: Marelen Hotel
Address: 6 Post Box, Kalamaki 291 00, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Kalamaki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Kalamaki
#17 Romantic Hotel in Kalamaki
Hotel Class:3 star — Marelen Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 118
Also Known As:
Marelen Hotel Kalamaki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing