We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely friendly place to stay, an ideal family run hotel for fun family holidays.”
Review of Marelen Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Marelen Hotel
Ranked #4 of 30 Hotels in Kalamaki
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed b&b for 2 weeks, 1 adult with 2 kids. Having asked for a room near the pool we got just that. Ideally located between the two pools. A little noisy in the evenings but didn't go on too late. Only issue we had was a sticky bathroom door but after managing to get out the first time it stuck we just left it open. Room was clean and serviced nearly every day. Staff were really friendly and was lovely to see all generations involved. My two loved the kids club with Nutty Nattie, Holly, Jungle Joe and flowerpot.
Buffet breakfast had a good choice and kids loved the waffles.
Nicely situated close to the beach. A little further to the main strip but OK with kids if timed right avoiding hottest times of day.
Rooms were pretty basic but quite acceptable. Would not hesitate to recommend or indeed return to visit again.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 16RJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marelenhotel, Manager at Marelen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2013

Thank you for your lovely review.
We hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,266)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

874 - 880 of 1,267 reviews

Reviewed 8 October 2013

My family and I got back from zante last week we stayed at the marelen hotel for 2 weeks,, well what can I say apart from a massive thank you to everyone who works at this hotel, my family and I had such a fantastic first holiday to zante but made better by the marelen hotel staff.

We had our 2 year old son with us who loved the kids splash pool it was very safe and secure kids cant get out it has a high gate so you can relax a little more,, plenty of thing for kids to play with by the pool, a nice sized kids park next to the splash pool my son loved it,
Food at the hotel was lovely we stayed self catering but had breakfast every morning at the hotel it cost 5 € and you got the best breakfast in zante!
We hired a car for the 2 weeks and explored zante and I personally think if you really want to make the most of your time in zante a car is a must it cost us 230 € for 2 weeks for a small car which was just what we needed and we had a blast. I recommend a car.

I paid £1120 for 2 weeks with all my extras included and its one of my best holidays to date so much so im in the process of booking again for next year but friends are joining us on the next trip.

Only downside to some people but didnt bother us in fact my son loved it was the airport is very close and the hotel is on the flight path and can be noisy but only in the day no flights come in at night, I would say a flight every 45mins.

All in all I would definitely recommend this hotel its excellent value for money friendly and pleasent staff, lovely food lovely rooms for what you pay, its a win win holiday.

A massi thank you to all at marelen we loved it, hopefully see you next year!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jenna j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marelenhotel, Manager at Marelen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review.
It is always a great boost for us to get 5 stars in all categories,
We are glad you managed to get out and about and see other parts of our beautiful island.
I have passed on your comments to all our staff, please let us know if you book for next year or in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

This hotel has so much going for it.A very short stroll to the beach and only a bit further to the main road with its plethora of restaurants,bars and supermarkets.The staff,both local and Thomas Cook's ,could not be more helpful.The standard of room cleaning was exceptionally good with clean sheets and towels every day.Breakfasts were wholesome and filling.So why only 3 stars? My abiding memory of this hotel is the foul smell of stale cigarette smoke.Everybody smoked everywhere.In the Airtours brochure a feature is made of the Kiddies Club.The Thomas Cook staff were superb at organising and entertaining the kids.The question must be asked:are a Kiddies Club and a cigarette smoke-laden atmosphere actually compatable?
If you are a cigarette smoker this is definitely the place for you.If you are not a cigarette smoker stear well clear.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oldernwiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marelenhotel, Manager at Marelen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.
It is great to get such positive feedback on our staff, cleaning and breakfast.
We do not understand your comment "Everybody smoked everywhere" as smoking is only permitted in the outside areas, and the external section of the bar. Smoking is strictly forbidden in the lounge bar and certainly is not allowed in the kids club!
Maybe a particularly high number of guests were smokers when you were staying here, but this is not something we have any control over..
We hope you will consider returning to the Marelen in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We read other people's comments before coming here and all I can say is make your own mind up, we stay'd in room 213, we had a great stay here everything was perfect, the entertainment staff was great, i won 2 prizes on the cube game 1) a bingo ticket 2) a full on dinner date with the one and only DAZ yes 2 males on a date but he was a gent (lol) walked me home after the date, the owners of the hotel live on site, his wife works in the pool bar area and she serves a really good chicken mayo sandwich oh and a cheeky smile, Louise delt with anything we needed or wanted and made our holiday perfect, we will be coming back next year, thank you so much!

Room Tip: No advise to give, just turn up and enjoy your holiday, and make your own mind up
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jason M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marelenhotel, Manager at Marelen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2013

Thank you for your lovely review.
We hope you have now managed to book for next year, and we all look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

What can we say?? Brilliant, simple as that. The rooms were lovely and clean and the gardens are really lovely and well kept. The reception, lounge and dining area are very contempory with a nice feel about them. The pool is nice enough and very well maintained. The staff, from the Manager Theresa to the housemaids and garden keeper were all very very friendly. Always happy to attend to any query or problem we had, which was only one, but was dealt with promptly. The palm tree in front of our balcony had slightly overgrown and was blocking out the light a little. We mentioned this to Theresa and she said 'no problem, I'll get it sorted'. Sure enough, within half an hour the gardener was there cutting it back so we had light and a view from the balcony. Great for families as well (even though we were a couple) the entertainment crew were fantastic and kept us adults entertained as well as the kids with the shows they put on. We thoroughly, thoroughly recommend this hotel. from Carl Darbyshire and Susan Hayes.

Thank CarlD500
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
marelenhotel, Manager at Marelen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review.
We hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Just back from a wonderful 2 weeks holiday in this hotel, I traveled with my husband and my 6yr old daughter, on our arrival 5am in the morn, we had a very relaxed and cheerful welcome, from Louise, who showed us where to check in and also took us to our apartment room, the room was basic, exceptionally clean, we were on the top floor, which we had requested, maids were in everyday with fresh towels and every 2nd day we had clean sheets. Food was amazing and very reasonable, we ended up eating in the hotel most of the time, I don't know how anyone can complain about the food. It was a relaxed holiday, didn't have to fight for sun loungers, 2 pools, the splash pool was amazing for the kids. entertainment was excellent and amazing, I would like to thank Darren, Kat and Cherrie for making our holiday special, they were very welcoming and got personally involved with everyone, especially the bingo which was such a great night. The Thomas Cook Kids club was also excellent, the girls were fantastic with the kids, on a mon and tues they could go into the club from 7pm till 10pm and they had fantastic party games for the kids, also gave us a break. we also got to know Steve the gardener, who was such a character, plodded along and made our holiday fun and relaxing, Louise was an excellent host for the hotel, nothing was any bother and also the waiter whom sadly we forgot his name, but he worked so hard too, but we got to know him going out and about, The gardens were beautiful, well kept, hotel overall was spotless, everyone we spoke to had been there about 4 or 5 times, we never go back to the same hotel, but this is an exception, we will be contacting Theresa, who was a delightful receptionist and very friendly, & and will be booking for next yr, I was delighted also with the night watchman, when we left the hotel at 4am, he escorted us out of the hotel and shook our hands and had a lovely conversation about the hotel, in all I would recommend this Hotel to everyone.Its the people who make the hotel and ones mentioned above plus all other staff made this an extra special holiday.Thanks the happy Ramsay's.

Room Tip: middle or top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fionaramsay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marelenhotel, Manager at Marelen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review.
It is always good to hear such positive feedback on our food as the evening menu is relatively new to us.
I have passed on your comments to the staff, please let us know your booking details when you have rebooked for next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013 via mobile

Had two week stay with extended family at this lovely family run hotel only 4 mins wak from the beach. Kids 9 & 4 really enjoyed the entertainment layed in for them and were sad to be leaving. Gerry at th splash pool bar really made the hoil for our family, lovely lady so deserves a special mention. Food was good. Air con for 2 weeks was €100.. Stayed in room 115-116 with great view to the front of the hotel and the planes landing. ! About 10min walk to the main strip. Over all very happy stay and would recommend for family or quiet couple break...

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KennyMayo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marelenhotel, Manager at Marelen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write your lovely review.
We hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kalamaki hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Vanessa
Hotel Vanessa
#18 of 30 in Kalamaki
199 reviews
0.4 mi away
Venus Hotel & Suites
Venus Hotel & Suites
#1 of 30 in Kalamaki
1,276 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bitzaro Palace Hotel
Bitzaro Palace Hotel
#2 of 30 in Kalamaki
768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Klelia Beach Hotel
Klelia Beach Hotel
#5 of 30 in Kalamaki
742 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bitzaro Grande Hotel
Bitzaro Grande Hotel
#7 of 30 in Kalamaki
1,511 reviews
0.8 mi away
Meandros Boutique Hotel
Meandros Boutique Hotel
#3 of 30 in Kalamaki
586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marelen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marelen Hotel

Address: 6 Post Box, Kalamaki 291 00, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Kalamaki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Kalamaki
#17 Romantic Hotel in Kalamaki
Hotel Class:3 star — Marelen Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 118
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Marelen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marelen Hotel Kalamaki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing