We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best hotel in kalamaki”
Review of Marelen Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Marelen Hotel
Ranked #5 of 30 Hotels in Kalamaki
Certificate of Excellence
Rugeley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“best hotel in kalamaki”
Reviewed 16 October 2013

this is the second time we have been to the marelen hotel its got to be in the top 5 in Europe the staff r excellent and so friendly the pool is top notch the hotel facilities from games room yo restrant exceptional tennis court basketball pool the whole set up of the complex is ideal for families close to center of town a special mention must go to therese on reception she is a credit to the hotel thre breakfast r first class the snak bar is very good and very reasonably priced shall definety go bak next year the morning activities by the t cook reps and afternoon activities by thre reps they to r a credit to Thomas cook thanks guys

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sparkes22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marelenhotel, Manager at Marelen Hotel, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Thank you once again for your lovely review.
Please let us know when you have rebooked for next year so we can block off your favourite room!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,070 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    633
    297
    98
    32
    10
See reviews for
652
235
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kalamaki, Greece
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

This hotel is in my top 3 for cleanliness,and location the staff are so friendly make you feel welcome our room was 113 which was great for the sun late afternoon and the planes landing pool bar food was brilliant and reasonable cannot fault this hotel keep up the good work!!

Room Tip: 113 you can see the world come and go
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bairdie73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marelenhotel, Manager at Marelen Hotel, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Thank you for your review, we get many request for the rooms which are best for plane spotting!
We hope to see you again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We will definitely want to stay at this hotel again. The breakfast is the very best you could possibly wish for. The hotel staff excellent ,entertainment staff likewise.Lucy our rep very happy and helpful young lady.thank you everybody hope to see you soon.

Room Tip: Choose room 101upwards
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marelenhotel, Manager at Marelen Hotel, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Thank you for your lovely review, we hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Just returned after two weeks at the marelen , family of 4.
We stayed B and B .
Loved this hotel! Clean, smart, well maintained !
Yes it's basic but Zante is a small island and it's the Greek way to live, rooms are cleaned everyday , new towels, beds cleaned !
Entertainment at first was not my cup of tea, but after a few days we all loved it! Weather was hot hot hot ! The beach is minutes away! Walked a few times to the next town laganas which took 40 mins along the beach front , also visited arggasi twice to visit a restaurant called the peppermint! It's a must try! Tried lots of different restaurants and most restaurants had superb offers on! Try the olive tree! If you walk along the main strip of kalamaki try and avoid the first few restaurants as they were not the best ! But paolos was good also!
The kids club was excellent, my little girl went in several times and did the night parties too, and she loved it and cried to go in everyday ! Also the waterpark is very well maintained too! Was lucky enough to see a wedding there too! The chapel / church is small and stunning! Breathtakingly beautiful .
Never struggled to get a sunbed here either as there was plenty space and room!
I'd defiantly return and will do so next year !
Please do try Zante and the marelen as you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Aimeesmummmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marelenhotel, Manager at Marelen Hotel, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Thank you for such a positive review.
Please let us know your booking details once you have rebooked for next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matlock, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

brilliant holiday, great service, friendly staff, lovely weather. What else can you say. Will be back next year. We had the grandkids with us for the first time and they were fully entertained by the entertainment staff at both the kids club and the evening entertainment. They loved the splash pool and the main pool and we found we had very little to do to keep them entertained. We fully recomend this hotel for both families and couples

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paul26326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marelenhotel, Manager at Marelen Hotel, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.
Please contact us should you have any special requests for your next holiday here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed b&b for 2 weeks, 1 adult with 2 kids. Having asked for a room near the pool we got just that. Ideally located between the two pools. A little noisy in the evenings but didn't go on too late. Only issue we had was a sticky bathroom door but after managing to get out the first time it stuck we just left it open. Room was clean and serviced nearly every day. Staff were really friendly and was lovely to see all generations involved. My two loved the kids club with Nutty Nattie, Holly, Jungle Joe and flowerpot.
Buffet breakfast had a good choice and kids loved the waffles.
Nicely situated close to the beach. A little further to the main strip but OK with kids if timed right avoiding hottest times of day.
Rooms were pretty basic but quite acceptable. Would not hesitate to recommend or indeed return to visit again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 16RJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marelenhotel, Manager at Marelen Hotel, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Thank you for your lovely review.
We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dudley, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

My family and I got back from zante last week we stayed at the marelen hotel for 2 weeks,, well what can I say apart from a massive thank you to everyone who works at this hotel, my family and I had such a fantastic first holiday to zante but made better by the marelen hotel staff.

We had our 2 year old son with us who loved the kids splash pool it was very safe and secure kids cant get out it has a high gate so you can relax a little more,, plenty of thing for kids to play with by the pool, a nice sized kids park next to the splash pool my son loved it,
Food at the hotel was lovely we stayed self catering but had breakfast every morning at the hotel it cost 5 € and you got the best breakfast in zante!
We hired a car for the 2 weeks and explored zante and I personally think if you really want to make the most of your time in zante a car is a must it cost us 230 € for 2 weeks for a small car which was just what we needed and we had a blast. I recommend a car.

I paid £1120 for 2 weeks with all my extras included and its one of my best holidays to date so much so im in the process of booking again for next year but friends are joining us on the next trip.

Only downside to some people but didnt bother us in fact my son loved it was the airport is very close and the hotel is on the flight path and can be noisy but only in the day no flights come in at night, I would say a flight every 45mins.

All in all I would definitely recommend this hotel its excellent value for money friendly and pleasent staff, lovely food lovely rooms for what you pay, its a win win holiday.

A massi thank you to all at marelen we loved it, hopefully see you next year!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jenna j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marelenhotel, Manager at Marelen Hotel, responded to this review, 13 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review.
It is always a great boost for us to get 5 stars in all categories,
We are glad you managed to get out and about and see other parts of our beautiful island.
I have passed on your comments to all our staff, please let us know if you book for next year or in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kalamaki hotels
0.4 mi away
Venus Hotel & Suites
Venus Hotel & Suites
#1 of 30 in Kalamaki
1,192 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bitzaro Palace Hotel
Bitzaro Palace Hotel
#2 of 30 in Kalamaki
671 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kalamaki Beach Hotel
Kalamaki Beach Hotel
#15 of 30 in Kalamaki
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Bitzaro Grande Hotel
Bitzaro Grande Hotel
#6 of 30 in Kalamaki
1,363 reviews
0.8 mi away
Klelia Beach Hotel
Klelia Beach Hotel
#3 of 30 in Kalamaki
612 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Macedonia
Hotel Macedonia
#25 of 30 in Kalamaki
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marelen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marelen Hotel

Property: Marelen Hotel
Address: 6 Post Box, Kalamaki 291 00, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Kalamaki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Kalamaki
#17 Romantic Hotel in Kalamaki
Hotel Class:3 star — Marelen Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 118
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Marelen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marelen Hotel Kalamaki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing