We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Never Again !”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Marelen Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Marelen Hotel
Ranked #5 of 30 Hotels in Kalamaki
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Never Again !”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

On the first night our family room was burgled - and wallet gone !
Admittedly, we had left our first floor balcony door open to let some air in as we slept. Losing cash and credit cards' was bad enough, but hotel management especially andThomas Cook rep's attitude was worse still.
There was no proof we'd been burgled, she claimed - despite the muddy footprints on the pristine white walls outside the balcony.
Maybe we had been drinking too much and lost the wallet. Or perhaps just lost it ?
Despite explaining it was on a chain attached to my belt and that we had only been on the property a few hours with a six-year-old in tow, she refused to contact the police.
'They don't speak English,' was her exact response.
Away from this tired, jaded, ill-managed hotel, which only offers booze, bingo and bedlam,Greece and the Greeks were great.
Such a pity Thomas Cook is there to spoil it all.

Room Tip: Avoid it !
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DSB777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marelenhotel, Manager at Marelen Hotel, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.
Our records show that you reported that your wallet was missing on the morning after your second night in the hotel, so you had been in the hotel more than "a few hours". When you spoke to the hotel staff about this, it was suggested that if you were not happy you could come back later to speak to the manager, but you did not do this so we have to assume you were satisfied with the help you were given.
We have never had a problem with burglaries at the Marelen, which is possibly why our staff were so surprised. When on holiday wherever you are in the world you should take the same security measures that you would at home, eg not sleeping with your doors open.
We do have a record of you losing your mobile phone the following day, and this was found by a staff member and handed back to you.
The police will not come out to a hotel where there is no evidence of a break-in (ie where doors are left open it is not classed as a breakin), and the rep gave you the correct information when she said the police do not speak English.
I find it strange that you cannot find anything positive to say about the hotel, in particular the comments about the bingo, you did not complain about this while you were here, especailly when you won 200 euro!
It would have been better for all if you would have brought up your grievances with the manager whilst you were here, we hope that this does not deter you from returning some time in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,012 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    590
    287
    94
    31
    10
See reviews for
619
216
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rugeley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

this is the second time we have been to the marelen hotel its got to be in the top 5 in Europe the staff r excellent and so friendly the pool is top notch the hotel facilities from games room yo restrant exceptional tennis court basketball pool the whole set up of the complex is ideal for families close to center of town a special mention must go to therese on reception she is a credit to the hotel thre breakfast r first class the snak bar is very good and very reasonably priced shall definety go bak next year the morning activities by the t cook reps and afternoon activities by thre reps they to r a credit to Thomas cook thanks guys

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sparkes22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marelenhotel, Manager at Marelen Hotel, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Thank you once again for your lovely review.
Please let us know when you have rebooked for next year so we can block off your favourite room!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kalamaki, Greece
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

This hotel is in my top 3 for cleanliness,and location the staff are so friendly make you feel welcome our room was 113 which was great for the sun late afternoon and the planes landing pool bar food was brilliant and reasonable cannot fault this hotel keep up the good work!!

Room Tip: 113 you can see the world come and go
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bairdie73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marelenhotel, Manager at Marelen Hotel, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Thank you for your review, we get many request for the rooms which are best for plane spotting!
We hope to see you again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

We will definitely want to stay at this hotel again. The breakfast is the very best you could possibly wish for. The hotel staff excellent ,entertainment staff likewise.Lucy our rep very happy and helpful young lady.thank you everybody hope to see you soon.

Room Tip: Choose room 101upwards
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marelenhotel, Manager at Marelen Hotel, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Thank you for your lovely review, we hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013

Just returned after two weeks at the marelen , family of 4.
We stayed B and B .
Loved this hotel! Clean, smart, well maintained !
Yes it's basic but Zante is a small island and it's the Greek way to live, rooms are cleaned everyday , new towels, beds cleaned !
Entertainment at first was not my cup of tea, but after a few days we all loved it! Weather was hot hot hot ! The beach is minutes away! Walked a few times to the next town laganas which took 40 mins along the beach front , also visited arggasi twice to visit a restaurant called the peppermint! It's a must try! Tried lots of different restaurants and most restaurants had superb offers on! Try the olive tree! If you walk along the main strip of kalamaki try and avoid the first few restaurants as they were not the best ! But paolos was good also!
The kids club was excellent, my little girl went in several times and did the night parties too, and she loved it and cried to go in everyday ! Also the waterpark is very well maintained too! Was lucky enough to see a wedding there too! The chapel / church is small and stunning! Breathtakingly beautiful .
Never struggled to get a sunbed here either as there was plenty space and room!
I'd defiantly return and will do so next year !
Please do try Zante and the marelen as you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Aimeesmummmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marelenhotel, Manager at Marelen Hotel, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Thank you for such a positive review.
Please let us know your booking details once you have rebooked for next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matlock, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013

brilliant holiday, great service, friendly staff, lovely weather. What else can you say. Will be back next year. We had the grandkids with us for the first time and they were fully entertained by the entertainment staff at both the kids club and the evening entertainment. They loved the splash pool and the main pool and we found we had very little to do to keep them entertained. We fully recomend this hotel for both families and couples

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paul26326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marelenhotel, Manager at Marelen Hotel, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.
Please contact us should you have any special requests for your next holiday here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed b&b for 2 weeks, 1 adult with 2 kids. Having asked for a room near the pool we got just that. Ideally located between the two pools. A little noisy in the evenings but didn't go on too late. Only issue we had was a sticky bathroom door but after managing to get out the first time it stuck we just left it open. Room was clean and serviced nearly every day. Staff were really friendly and was lovely to see all generations involved. My two loved the kids club with Nutty Nattie, Holly, Jungle Joe and flowerpot.
Buffet breakfast had a good choice and kids loved the waffles.
Nicely situated close to the beach. A little further to the main strip but OK with kids if timed right avoiding hottest times of day.
Rooms were pretty basic but quite acceptable. Would not hesitate to recommend or indeed return to visit again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 16RJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marelenhotel, Manager at Marelen Hotel, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Thank you for your lovely review.
We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kalamaki hotels
0.4 mi away
Venus Hotel & Suites
Venus Hotel & Suites
#1 of 30 in Kalamaki
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,164 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bitzaro Palace Hotel
Bitzaro Palace Hotel
#2 of 30 in Kalamaki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
0.8 mi away
Klelia Beach Hotel
Klelia Beach Hotel
#3 of 30 in Kalamaki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Kalamaki Beach Hotel
Kalamaki Beach Hotel
#17 of 30 in Kalamaki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bitzaro Grande Hotel
Bitzaro Grande Hotel
#4 of 30 in Kalamaki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,307 reviews
0.8 mi away
Crystal Beach Hotel
Crystal Beach Hotel
#21 of 30 in Kalamaki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marelen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marelen Hotel

Property: Marelen Hotel
Address: 6 Post Box, Kalamaki 291 00, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Kalamaki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Kalamaki
#17 Romantic Hotel in Kalamaki
Hotel Class:3 star — Marelen Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 118
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Marelen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marelen Hotel Kalamaki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing