We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Marelen Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$167
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$145
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cronulla Hotel(Kalamaki)(Great Value!)
US$90
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$87
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Vanessa(Kalamaki)(Great Value!)
US$55
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$141
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$126
bedfinder
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Kalamaki Beach Hotel(Kalamaki)(Great Value!)
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Anagenessis Village Hotel(Kalamaki)(Great Value!)
US$39
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Venus Hotel & Suites(Kalamaki)(Great Value!)
US$36
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Sirocco Hotel(Kalamaki)
US$107
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel Macedonia(Kalamaki)(Great Value!)
US$50
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$231
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (1,284)
Filter reviews
1,284 results
Traveller rating
788
339
110
34
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
788
339
110
34
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssplash poolkids clubfree pizza nightsnack barmain poolbunk bedsthe thomas cook entertainment teamself cateringnext yearair contv remotegreat holidayfamily poolthe main stripgreat family hotelb and bfamily holiday
Filter
Updating list...
877 - 882 of 1,284 reviews
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Staff were excellent, friendly and helpful. A full coach of people were in their rooms within 5 minutes of arrival. It was quite impressive. Bedrooms were typical Greek ie very basic but very clean. The cleaners cleaned rooms every day and changed all linen every other day. The mattresses were soft and the pillows a foot high and rock hard. There was a bath with a shower above it. You are not allowed to use the baths because of the Greek plumbing. The shower was hot and quite powerful, but the curtain was clingy!! The plumbing was poor and the wall thin.

Breakfast was buffet with a wide variety of food repeated every day. The quality of the food was very poor eg cold, greasy rubbery eggs, hard stringy bacon, tinned tomatoes, tinned mushrooms and processed cheese and ham all cold and cold tea and coffee. The position of the hotel was excellent, near the sea and excellent restaurants, and the gardens and pool area were well maintained but We wouldn't stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Greek H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marelenhotel, Manager at Marelen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, your feedback is important to us and we have noted both your positive and negative comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

The Marelen, stayed here for two weeks with our granddaughter who was 5yrs old. My hubby could not arrive until a day later, and they made sure I was safe and ok. Allocated a room above the splash pool, nice and quiet. Yes the rooms are basic and I have mentioned this in my comment card, and the cleaning was a bit slap dash, but again, have said this too the hotel, which I am sure they will take on board. However, what a fantastic holiday we had, the Thomas Cook staff from the kids club to the amazing entertainment staff made our holiday, Natalie, Cat, Darren and Kerri and many more, the hotel staff, Louise, Nick ,Steve and all the bar snack staff and hotel management , we Thank You. A holiday is what you make of it, sit back and enjoy the positive atmosphere the Marelen offers. We honestly loved our stay, the food is not 5* but good, if that's what you want pop up the street and there's plenty restaurants to choose from. We will defo be back, and hope the entertainment is as good, they have a lot to live up too.!!! Well Done Marelen, keep it up. What a fab family run hotel.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
Thank trinx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marelenhotel, Manager at Marelen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2013

Thank you for writing your lovely review. We are glad you enjoyed yourselves and it was good that your husband managed to get here.
I have passed on your comments to all the staff, please let us know if you rebook again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

I have never wrote a review about a Hotel before after this debacle , I feel I have to warn others about this Hotel, me and wife were booked on a 10 day break from Glasgow but cut it short after 5 days and flew home to Manchester we were desperate to get home , the breakfast was disgusting , everybody complained about it, 20 euros deposit for a remote, 38 euros for a safety deposit box, , the people were money mad, We did not go to the Barbecue as some other guests advised us the food was rank rotten, On a Tuesday they have a free Pizza nite , as much Pizza as you can eat for free, but it's just a con to get you in to buy drink, the pool snack bar was ok but that was as good as it gets, The rooms were disgusting and badly needed upgraded, give this place a wide berth , Gerry & Mary Coll Scotland

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank gerry1916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marelenhotel, Manager at Marelen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.
We were under the impression from the rep and reception staff that you had to leave urgently due to a bereavement in the UK, we certainly have no record of any issues being reported to us.
We note that you emailed the hotel several times before your arrival with various questions and requests, and we also note that we upgraded you to a room with additional self catering facilities due to it being the end of season and having rooms available.
The 20 euro deposit for the television remote is just that - a deposit which is refundable.
The safety deposit bos is a chargeable extra as outlined in your tour operators booking conditions.
Both our BBQ and Free Pizza night have proved very popular over the years, we note that you did not try either so are not really in a position to comment? The BBQ is the evening with "all you can eat", the pizza is half a free pizza per person, with the option to add on salad and chips to make it up to a main meal. There is no obligation to add these, nor to buy drinks.
We really wish that you had reported any issues whilst you were here so we could have discussed them with you., we are sorry for your bereavement and send our condolences to you and your family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We have never returned to the same hotel but after a fantastic holiday in October 2012 we decided to rebook for this October and were not disappointed. Therese was fantastic and allocated our previous apartment and advised us about getting a taxi from airport. This is much quicker and cheaper than package transfer - 13 euros. The food was even better this year and nothing was too much trouble for Louise. Our apartment was cleaned daily by very friendly cleaners and the pool and gardens were very well kept. Jerry at the Splash Pool did a great job of making sure that all of the kids were playing safely. A very big thank you to Natalie, Cat, Kerry and Darren for keeping DJ Andrew entertained. He just loved helping Darren to do the lights and music. The kids club was very well organised.

My only gripe this year was the amount of chain smokers in the eating area. One evening we found ourselves moving tables several times to avoid the smoke. Perhaps stronger reinforcement of where smoking is permitted from the staff or reminder signs would be a good idea.

I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone with a young family. We are already planning to return for a fortnight next October. Thank you to everyone at the Marlene from the Thompson family for another great holiday.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Audrey T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marelenhotel, Manager at Marelen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review again.
I have passed on your comments to all the staff.
We do seem to have had a higher number of guests who smoke this year, so we have taken your comments on board regarding the smoking and are planning on having designated areas in the outside restaurant area for next year.
Please let us know when you have rebooked for next year so we can block your favourite room for you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Well what can I say about this hotel. Just back from a week their , with my husband and daughter, and from the min I got off the plane to the hotel the people made it the best ever, the hotel staff were brill, Thomas cook staff really go out their way for the kids and family's , their is something all day for the kids, clubs are from 10-1.00 then another kids club is from 2.00 until 5.00 and if you want another club from 6.00 until 8.00. The room are just as it says in the holiday book, they are clean you have tv , fridge and beds are always clean, the staff go out their way for you. Food is good also it is cheap so you can eat out their is a pool side snack bar which is also really good with the prices, breakfast really good too. Thomas cooks reps are their all the time . . One thing I can say is I felt really safe at this hotel with the kids , so if you were wanting to come on your own or with your family the Marlene is the place , just 1min is the beach , you can't ask for any better, the full complex is for families and they have if spot on. I and my family will be back for next year. Please don't hesitate to book this hotel , it's what you see is what you get, fun all the way xxxxxx

Room Tip: All the rooms are good . It depends on what time of the year you book, but thats the same know matter were you go .......
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank margaretmassey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marelenhotel, Manager at Marelen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review.
Please let us know when you have rebooked for next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews