We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Maralen” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marelen Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Marelen Hotel
Ranked #5 of 30 Hotels in Kalamaki
Certificate of Excellence
manchester
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Maralen”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at the Marelen Hotel. The rooms were a good size and most of the staff were friendly. The pool bar was very reasonable and the pool area itself always had enough beds.

I understand that it is quite close to the airport and it could get quite noisy but we were aware of that before we booked it as it does tell you that in the advertisement, we just got used to it and in the end didn't even notice. Its the price you pay for a really good transfer time.

It was a short walk from the main street with all the bars and restaurants and an equal distance in the opposite direction to the beach. We went bed and breakfast but generally didn't get up for the breakfast, it is the same as it is in most hotels really, with chipolata sausages instead of real ones but that is to be expected. Everything was cheap enough to buy that it didn't bother us about breakfast. All in all we had a lovely stay and would definitely go back again as I had a wonderful holiday.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Laurz247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,011 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    589
    287
    94
    31
    10
See reviews for
618
216
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

Stayed at this hotel for 10 days in October, 2013. Arrival was quick and competent and straight to our room. We asked for a double room but were given a room with a bunk bed as well as two singles, taking up a lot of space. Rooms are very basic. Once we were settled in back to reception to inquire about keeping room on last day, as our return flight pick up was at 3.45am inthe morning, having to vacate at 12noon, would have meany hanging around for 16 hours. we were told that we would that we would have to return 2 days prior to departing date, to see if rooms were available and told cost would be 50 Euros. No mention of how it could be paid. Had to leave a deposit of 20 Euros which would be returned at end of holiday.( who would want to keep a remote that only worked a TV in your room). Other than that holiday was good due to weather being fantastic. Only downside was the it was end of season and the majority of the resort was closing down for winter, so eating choices were restricted, but what we did find in the restaurants food was excellent.

Now 2 day before departure we called at reception to arrange to keep room, which was confirmed but cost 50 euros. I accepted and produced my Visa card to pay and was told 'sorry this hotel does not take credit cards' which I find is ridiculous. 'We only accept cash'. This was the first we had heard of this. When we argued with reception we were told it was a Thomas Cook decision, which after checking with rep found out it was Hotel decision. So who is telling truth here. As it is cash payment, I would like to have Greek Inland Revenue check this hotels book to ascertain if this 'cash' is being recorded. For this extra charge we had to make do with 3 day old towels,uncleaned room,beds just covered up with blanket to cover them not having been made up, and absolutely no hot water to wash before departure.

So be warned if you are on an awkward departure flight be prepared to hand over this amount of CASH to keep your room.

Other than this complaint the holiday was OK and value for money that we paid. But Hotel was certainly ripping guests off with this room charge and not supplying the daily clean and make up of room, (bins being the only thing emptied).

Be aware when booking we were charged £50 by tour operator for transfer cost, for 2 of us and when in resort we checked with taxis and found that the taxi airport charge is 13 Euros each way. (The difference was refunded after I made a complaint to Thoma Cook by way of a voucher)

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tonto5uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marelenhotel, Manager at Marelen Hotel, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review.
I would like to respond to a few of your points.
The room type you booked was a 4 bedded hotel room, which is what you were allocated. We don't have many rooms with double beds, so any specifically requiring one is welcome to email us to request it, as we only receive the lists from the tour operators a few days before arrival we can only use the rooms that are available on that day.
The 20 euro deposit for the TV remote is just a deposit which is refundable, unfortunately there have been instances of people taking them, and even taking the batteries out of them, which is why a decision was made to charge a deposit.
The reason we do not accept credit cards for late checkout payments is that the bank here charges us a commission for credit card payments, so this would then have to be added on to the cost. This is in the General Information which is in every room. You were given a legal receipt for the money you paid, so you are welcome to contact the "Greek Inland Revenue" if you wish to do so.
The sheets and towels are changed twice per week as per the tour operators brochure. We are on a Sustainable Tourism project and have received an award for this, but anyone who finds they cannot manage with a twice-weekly change is welcome to ask at reception for clean towels.
I'm not sure about your comment about why you had no hot water, we have no record of you or any other guests reporting this, if you had we would have had the chance to look into this immediately.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kalamatas, Messinia, Greece
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

Staff were excellent, friendly and helpful. A full coach of people were in their rooms within 5 minutes of arrival. It was quite impressive. Bedrooms were typical Greek ie very basic but very clean. The cleaners cleaned rooms every day and changed all linen every other day. The mattresses were soft and the pillows a foot high and rock hard. There was a bath with a shower above it. You are not allowed to use the baths because of the Greek plumbing. The shower was hot and quite powerful, but the curtain was clingy!! The plumbing was poor and the wall thin.

Breakfast was buffet with a wide variety of food repeated every day. The quality of the food was very poor eg cold, greasy rubbery eggs, hard stringy bacon, tinned tomatoes, tinned mushrooms and processed cheese and ham all cold and cold tea and coffee. The position of the hotel was excellent, near the sea and excellent restaurants, and the gardens and pool area were well maintained but We wouldn't stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greek H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marelenhotel, Manager at Marelen Hotel, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, your feedback is important to us and we have noted both your positive and negative comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013 via mobile

The Marelen, stayed here for two weeks with our granddaughter who was 5yrs old. My hubby could not arrive until a day later, and they made sure I was safe and ok. Allocated a room above the splash pool, nice and quiet. Yes the rooms are basic and I have mentioned this in my comment card, and the cleaning was a bit slap dash, but again, have said this too the hotel, which I am sure they will take on board. However, what a fantastic holiday we had, the Thomas Cook staff from the kids club to the amazing entertainment staff made our holiday, Natalie, Cat, Darren and Kerri and many more, the hotel staff, Louise, Nick ,Steve and all the bar snack staff and hotel management , we Thank You. A holiday is what you make of it, sit back and enjoy the positive atmosphere the Marelen offers. We honestly loved our stay, the food is not 5* but good, if that's what you want pop up the street and there's plenty restaurants to choose from. We will defo be back, and hope the entertainment is as good, they have a lot to live up too.!!! Well Done Marelen, keep it up. What a fab family run hotel.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank trinx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marelenhotel, Manager at Marelen Hotel, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Thank you for writing your lovely review. We are glad you enjoyed yourselves and it was good that your husband managed to get here.
I have passed on your comments to all the staff, please let us know if you rebook again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Motherwell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

I have never wrote a review about a Hotel before after this debacle , I feel I have to warn others about this Hotel, me and wife were booked on a 10 day break from Glasgow but cut it short after 5 days and flew home to Manchester we were desperate to get home , the breakfast was disgusting , everybody complained about it, 20 euros deposit for a remote, 38 euros for a safety deposit box, , the people were money mad, We did not go to the Barbecue as some other guests advised us the food was rank rotten, On a Tuesday they have a free Pizza nite , as much Pizza as you can eat for free, but it's just a con to get you in to buy drink, the pool snack bar was ok but that was as good as it gets, The rooms were disgusting and badly needed upgraded, give this place a wide berth , Gerry & Mary Coll Scotland

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank gerry1916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marelenhotel, Manager at Marelen Hotel, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review.
We were under the impression from the rep and reception staff that you had to leave urgently due to a bereavement in the UK, we certainly have no record of any issues being reported to us.
We note that you emailed the hotel several times before your arrival with various questions and requests, and we also note that we upgraded you to a room with additional self catering facilities due to it being the end of season and having rooms available.
The 20 euro deposit for the television remote is just that - a deposit which is refundable.
The safety deposit bos is a chargeable extra as outlined in your tour operators booking conditions.
Both our BBQ and Free Pizza night have proved very popular over the years, we note that you did not try either so are not really in a position to comment? The BBQ is the evening with "all you can eat", the pizza is half a free pizza per person, with the option to add on salad and chips to make it up to a main meal. There is no obligation to add these, nor to buy drinks.
We really wish that you had reported any issues whilst you were here so we could have discussed them with you., we are sorry for your bereavement and send our condolences to you and your family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elgin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

We have never returned to the same hotel but after a fantastic holiday in October 2012 we decided to rebook for this October and were not disappointed. Therese was fantastic and allocated our previous apartment and advised us about getting a taxi from airport. This is much quicker and cheaper than package transfer - 13 euros. The food was even better this year and nothing was too much trouble for Louise. Our apartment was cleaned daily by very friendly cleaners and the pool and gardens were very well kept. Jerry at the Splash Pool did a great job of making sure that all of the kids were playing safely. A very big thank you to Natalie, Cat, Kerry and Darren for keeping DJ Andrew entertained. He just loved helping Darren to do the lights and music. The kids club was very well organised.

My only gripe this year was the amount of chain smokers in the eating area. One evening we found ourselves moving tables several times to avoid the smoke. Perhaps stronger reinforcement of where smoking is permitted from the staff or reminder signs would be a good idea.

I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone with a young family. We are already planning to return for a fortnight next October. Thank you to everyone at the Marlene from the Thompson family for another great holiday.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Audrey T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marelenhotel, Manager at Marelen Hotel, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review again.
I have passed on your comments to all the staff.
We do seem to have had a higher number of guests who smoke this year, so we have taken your comments on board regarding the smoking and are planning on having designated areas in the outside restaurant area for next year.
Please let us know when you have rebooked for next year so we can block your favourite room for you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Lanarkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

Well what can I say about this hotel. Just back from a week their , with my husband and daughter, and from the min I got off the plane to the hotel the people made it the best ever, the hotel staff were brill, Thomas cook staff really go out their way for the kids and family's , their is something all day for the kids, clubs are from 10-1.00 then another kids club is from 2.00 until 5.00 and if you want another club from 6.00 until 8.00. The room are just as it says in the holiday book, they are clean you have tv , fridge and beds are always clean, the staff go out their way for you. Food is good also it is cheap so you can eat out their is a pool side snack bar which is also really good with the prices, breakfast really good too. Thomas cooks reps are their all the time . . One thing I can say is I felt really safe at this hotel with the kids , so if you were wanting to come on your own or with your family the Marlene is the place , just 1min is the beach , you can't ask for any better, the full complex is for families and they have if spot on. I and my family will be back for next year. Please don't hesitate to book this hotel , it's what you see is what you get, fun all the way xxxxxx

Room Tip: All the rooms are good . It depends on what time of the year you book, but thats the same know matte...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank margaretmassey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marelenhotel, Manager at Marelen Hotel, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review.
Please let us know when you have rebooked for next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kalamaki hotels
0.4 mi away
Venus Hotel & Suites
Venus Hotel & Suites
#1 of 30 in Kalamaki
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,160 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bitzaro Palace Hotel
Bitzaro Palace Hotel
#2 of 30 in Kalamaki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
0.8 mi away
Klelia Beach Hotel
Klelia Beach Hotel
#3 of 30 in Kalamaki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Golden Sun Hotel
Golden Sun Hotel
#9 of 30 in Kalamaki
4.0 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
0.8 mi away
Meandros Boutique Hotel
Meandros Boutique Hotel
#6 of 30 in Kalamaki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kalamaki Beach Hotel
Kalamaki Beach Hotel
#17 of 30 in Kalamaki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marelen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marelen Hotel

Property: Marelen Hotel
Address: 6 Post Box, Kalamaki 291 00, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Kalamaki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Kalamaki
#17 Romantic Hotel in Kalamaki
Hotel Class:3 star — Marelen Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 118
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Marelen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marelen Hotel Kalamaki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing