We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant place to stay”
Review of Marelen Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Marelen Hotel
Ranked #5 of 30 Hotels in Kalamaki
Certificate of Excellence
Rugeley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Brilliant place to stay”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We've just returned from a brilliant holiday at the Marelen hotel and can honestly say I was impressed with this hotel. The rooms were basic but better than the normal standard 'greek' apartment and were spotlessly clean with a daily maid service and fresh towels provided every other day. The customer service and attention to detail was second to none, all staff could not do enough for you and were friendly and welcoming. The pool side and gardens were well maintained with plenty of sun beds (free of charge) available throughout the day.

I would recommend this hotel for anyone looking at staying in Zante and will be going back again in the future. Many thanks to everyone at the Marelen.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mel1907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marelenhotel, Manager at Marelen Hotel, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.
I have passed on all your positive comments to our staff.
We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,153 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    688
    320
    101
    33
    11
See reviews for
721
243
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

we stayed here as a family of 4 last october (2 adults 2 Children) and just absolutely enjoyed ourselves the food was, staff facilities etc were great we couldn't find anything wrong with this hotel if we tried.

when we first arrived it was early hours in the morning as it was the first flight of the day so everyone was exceptionally tired as the flight left glasgow at 22:55 and when we arrived at the hotel everyone was processed and directed to their room in lets say 10 mins with the help of Louise she told everyone exactly where to go and the basic things you needed to know when you arrive at a hotel.

general Feedback: staff was really friendly and catered to everybodies needs the entertainment team (Cat,Darren and Kerrie) were exceptionally good they always put a smile on everyones face and interacted with all the guests even on their days off. the food was great aswell always something interesting on the specials menu to try and a great selection on the normal dinner menu too, the rooms were basic but still very nice always clean. The one thing that i would recommend you to do is if you are getting a two bedroom apartment and travelling with older or just taller children don't request bunk beds if this is possible as they are quite short but apart from that everything else is fine.

Don't hesistate when booking this hotel just go for it you will most likely thouroghly enjoy your stay at the apartments and in general Zante.

P.S we have rebooked for 2 weeks in October See you then :)

Room Tip: Any room within this hotel is good
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank angela p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cowdenbeath, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

having stayed here in july 2013, I could definately recommend this hotel to anyone. A beautiful complex with fantastic gardens vey well kept by groundsman Stevie, who is also the general handyman around the place.
This is a family run hotel and they are very visible, and approachable, in working to provide the very best experience you can have, from reception right through to pool bar and evening meals, and still there at evening entertainments.
apts for 3 of us were very small, however, there were larger apts available for more money. but still kept very clean with plenty towel changes.
Food was beautiful. we were self catering but still ate here most of the fortnight. meals available for €5-€8 and delicious.
they have thomas cook entertainment team on site and are very good at shows they put on. daytime activities are fantastic too. perhaps we were spoilt last year, as we had the T.C. ents team of the year for the whole company with us ...Cat, Darren, Kerry and Becca.
but if you feel you need to get out, the main strip is only 5/10 mins walk away. loads to do up there with Olive Tree being my favourite.
Swimming pool very clean and not too deep.
I will definately return here, as value for money is fantastic.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank june f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Booking my first holiday away abroad was to Kalamaki, Zante, The Marelen Hotel and what can I say. It was bloody Brilliant.

We arrived late afternoon and where welcomed by such friendly staff both from the hotel and Thomas Cook. Because we arrived in early season check in did not take very long and we where basically shown to the door with a guide of the facilities and times. We where very much impressed and happy with the services. There was a 20€ deposit on the TV remote which was given back at the end.

We upgraded to half board which was a mistake and cost us more in the long run, but the food was lovely not a lot of options on the half board menu but the food was very satisfying for myself, mother and son of 3 years. The chef catered for the needs of the customer as well which was relieving due to my sons fussy moments! There are always cold drinks available throughout the day and fresh foods.

We went for 10 days and the pool was cleaned every day to other day. Very clean which can also be said for the rooms. The rooms where cleaned all the time. We had a brilliant view as we could see all of the planes clearly coming in and out of the airport which my son loved. Due to us arriving at the beginning of the season there was plenty of deck chairs to choose from however I am unsure if this remained the same throughout the season. There where two pools so I am sure that there was enough accommodation for everybody. We stayed near the second pool where the splash activities where unfortunately because it was the start of the season this was only on for a certain amount of time which was a let down because if you went out and came back after it had been on then you've missed it for the day.

The Entertainment from Thomas Cook was brilliant there was no fault what so ever with the entertainment kids and adults alike loved them. People from other hotels made effort to come and see them. Daily activities where fun, all the kids loved it.

There is a lot to see on the Island I would defintly recommend the 4 hour boat trip to see the turtles and if you can afford to hire the boat to go to one of the islands yourself the beach that is visited is amazing as well as the boat trip to see the shipwreck. I would recommend also to hire the car if you can and drive around the island. If you don't know already hire your excursions through the locals!

I don't think I can say much more tbh it was such a good holiday it was cheap for 10 days it was bloody brilliant and I would love to go back again soon. I don't usually visit the same place twice but I would defiantly make an exception for here .

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank Nikki H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Hotel staff very friendly me an the future wife an us boys went to view this hotel as we booked to stay for two weeks an to get married an they couldn't made us more welcome looking forward to the end of June to go see u soon mr kimber

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank mrkimber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

The brochures don't to it justice! this is by far the best hotel in kalamaki! we return year in, year out!!. the staff are always on hand with any problems.. pool is always clean and tidy, linen changed daily, ac is cheap@ 6 euro per day! gardens kept well maintained! check the hotel web site for pictures

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
5 Thank chris t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wirral
Level 5 Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Came back from here at the end of October, last week of the season and on the last flight out of Zante.
Hotel is fabulous, staff helpful and entertainment superb.
Big big thanks to all who made our stay all the better by your superb service and good laughs.
Lovely apartments, always kept clean, and immaculate grounds. Plenty of sunbeds round the pool. Would definitely go back there again. I honestly can't say a bad word about it.
Only downside for me that the hotplates don't keep the cooked breakfast hot enough in the morning.
Hugs going out to Kerrie, Darren and Kat , the Thomas Cook entertainment staff, Lulu in the restaurant, Anna in the snackbar (lovely chips and burgers) Nick behind the bar, Steve the grounds-keeper and the two lovely ladies front of house Vaso and Teresa.
See you all again next year, probably October again.
Hope the complex cats are still there? Wanted to bring that ginger one home with me!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank lorna98663
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kalamaki hotels
0.4 mi away
Venus Hotel & Suites
Venus Hotel & Suites
#1 of 30 in Kalamaki
1,233 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bitzaro Grande Hotel
Bitzaro Grande Hotel
#6 of 30 in Kalamaki
1,427 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bitzaro Palace Hotel
Bitzaro Palace Hotel
#2 of 30 in Kalamaki
710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Kalamaki Beach Hotel
Kalamaki Beach Hotel
#17 of 30 in Kalamaki
247 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ionion Blue Hotel
Ionion Blue Hotel
#12 of 30 in Kalamaki
476 reviews
0.8 mi away
Klelia Beach Hotel
Klelia Beach Hotel
#4 of 30 in Kalamaki
654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marelen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marelen Hotel

Property: Marelen Hotel
Address: 6 Post Box, Kalamaki 291 00, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Kalamaki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Kalamaki
#17 Romantic Hotel in Kalamaki
Hotel Class:3 star — Marelen Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 118
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Marelen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marelen Hotel Kalamaki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing