We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel and great for the kids”
Review of Marelen Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Marelen Hotel
Ranked #5 of 30 Hotels in Kalamaki
Certificate of Excellence
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel and great for the kids”
Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

Can't recommend the marelen enough, it's a great hotel with loads of entertainment for adults and kids. The staff are all so friendly and willing to help and the Thomas cook entertainment team and kids club are great too. The rooms are basic but very clean and at the end of the day you only sleep there, who goes on holiday to stay in their room all day

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Karen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marelenhotel, Manager at Marelen Hotel, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Thank you for your lovely review, I have passed on all your comments to the staff and Thomas Cook team. We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,153 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    688
    320
    101
    33
    11
See reviews for
721
243
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
uk
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

we went to the marelen the 22nd may for 2 weeks we really enjoyed our stay so much that we have rebooked for the end of july .we had a studio on the ground floor which was very clean and nice. The hotel is very close to a lovely safe beach that has a bar come restaurant also just a short stroll to all the bars and shops of kalamaki.We booked this hotel as we love Greece and we wanted a kids club for our 8 yr old the group of people who run this are lovely friendly and so good with the children Thomas cook also have an entertainment team there they have different things going on through out the day and then again in the evening all very good. The hotel has a lovely snack bar where the prices are very good we didn't go bed a breakfast so we had a full English from the snackbar . We loved the resort and the hotel theres a lovely splash park onsite which is great for the kids we really could not find fault with anything . any questions just ask

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bubbles017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marelenhotel, Manager at Marelen Hotel, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.
I have passed on your comments to all our staff and we will see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exmouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We have been going to this hotel for the past ten years, that should say it all! All the staff are friendly and nothing is too much trouble. It is 99% perfect; the only disappointment is the orange juice at breakfast.

Room Tip: Upstairs overlooking the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marelenhotel, Manager at Marelen Hotel, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thank you for your positive review.
I have passed on all your comments to our team, and we will see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We enjoyed our initial stay at Marelen so much that we have returned a couple of times, we first visited in September 2013, went again in May 2014 and have already booked for this September too.

The Marelen is a great family run hotel, fantastic value for money and just a short walk from the beach. The staff and entertainment team at the Marelen made our holiday! They are all friendly, helpful .... and just like family. They really go out of their way to ensure all aspects of your holiday are enjoyable!

The rooms are basic but clean, they have all the amenities needed and the hotel facilities are excellent! The breakfast is wonderful serving a good array items- real value for money! and the pool bar serves a good selection of foods throughout the day. The entertainment team are wonderful and host a variety of activities and the pool, children's splash pool and games room are all well equipped. During our first stay at Marelen our daughter, son in law and grandchildren came too, the 3 year old still talks about the holiday and the parties that the children's entertainment held, 9 months on- obviously a real hit!

Outside of the hotel - it is only a 5 minute walk to a good variety of shops, restaurants and bars, The beach is close, sandy and runs all the way to the next village of Laganas. There is also a crazy golf within 10 minutes walk which is great fun and well worth a visit. Although the hotel is close to the flight path the planes do stop at 10pm and the noise/planes did not disturb us (we quite enjoyed watching them). Zante town it only a short taxi ride away (costing about 10E) and the Thomas cook team run lots of different trips and excursions including a visit to the shipwreck cove.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to people looking for a quiet holiday, at a family run place, close to the beach, the airport and all other amenities, with an excellent team of staff who will do everything they can to make your holiday wonderful! Maybe we will see you there ... as we plan on returning regularly! :)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
8 Thank Peter_and_Annette007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marelenhotel, Manager at Marelen Hotel, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thank you for your lovely review.
It is always nice to see reviews from repeat guests.
I have passed on all your comments to our staff, and we will see you later on in the summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We stayed at the Marelen for 2 weeks from 17th May- 2nd June. It was out third year in a row at this hotel.
We like the staff here, especially Nic behind the bar, he's a really laid back man with a good sense of humour. There were new staff at the splash pool bar and though we were disappointed not to see the lovely Geri, this couple (a Greek lady and English Man- sorry didn't get your names!) were lovely, really friendly and great with the kids.
The kids club staff were really good this year, my son didn't go on previous holidays but he really enjoyed the clubs this year ,especially the chocolate party. Also as there were some evening activities for the children (3 hours for 10 euro) it gave myself and my husband a chance to have some time alone for a drink and a meal.
The Panto that the entertainment team put on was sooo funny, I have been to many professional panto's and this is the best I have seen, I am still chuckling now remembering it!
I would really like to thank Chris and Sinead for making my son's holiday very special. #TEAM CHRIS!!! xx
Yes if you wanted to pick you could find fault somewhere I am sure but the rooms (although basic) are clean, the maids do a great job, the bedding and towels are changed regularly etc.
The swimming pool, splash pool, sunbed areas etc are also well maintained.
Steve deserves a mention as he keeps the gardens beautifully and you see him working from sunrise to sunset.
The food in the evening and at the snack bar is very good value and if you don't want to be in the restaurant whilst the kids club is going on then you can ask for a table outside.
All in all I would really recommend the Marelen and Zante for a great value family holiday. We are going somewhere different next year as it is a special anniversary but we would never hesitate to return to the Marelen and I am sure we will return again in the future.

Room Tip: We stayed in 328 - it was plenty big enough with twin beds and bunk beds and the balcony was sunny f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CheshireTraveller77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marelenhotel, Manager at Marelen Hotel, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thank you for your review.
The Thomas Cook kids club are getting lots of very positive reviews this year, I have passed your comments onto them.
The panto that you saw was there first one ever, so it's great to see that you enjoyed it so much.
Please email us when you next book in the future, and we hope you enjoy your special holiday next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Stayed here between 15th May - 22nd, with my family and children, on the half board basis. The hotel and grounds are very nice , nicely decorated.and our room was just what we wanted, apart from having to push 2 singles together! Basic but clean an tidy.
You have to pay for wifi, 1 euro for 15 minutes.I wouldn't bother was most of the restaurants and bars on the strip have free wifi.
The staff were all great, helpful and polite.
The first few days wasn't very good weather, but we managed to get out and about, and visit the Kalamaki strip and Zakynthos town which was lovely and only a short taxi journey not costing much. There wasn't much to do in the hotel in bad weather.
Children enjoyed the pool and splash pool, although they were very cold, and the kids club entertainment was very good too. My children really enjoyed themselves!
The evening entertainment was more aimed at children which was ok for us, the adult entertainment didnt start till 10pm which was too late for us to stay up for with small children so we missed it every night.
At breakfast there was a lot of choice, so something for everyone.
The snack bar menu was ok and just what we expected, and not too much dearer then eating out.
The evening dinner menu was very basic with limited choice, but they did do a pizza night, Greek night and bbq night whiles we were there which was really good food. On the other nights we ate out along the strip. We particularly liked The Olive Tree, and Pandesia which do a very good Greek night twice a week, with smashing plates and get you up dancing.

We did an excursion with the Thomas Cook rep to see the turtles & caves and it was good value for money and a nice half a day out. We had children aged 4 & 8 and this trip was just enough for them. I previously have done Smugglers Cove before and its a very long day for children.
Overall all we enjoyed our holiday.
Would recommend and possibly go again, but we like to visit different places.

Room Tip: Room 313/314 were great! balconey had no sun am, but it came round in the afternoon/evening when we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank RachelChilcott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marelenhotel, Manager at Marelen Hotel, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thank you for your detailed review and lovely photos.
It is a shame the weather wasn't better while you were here, it was very unusual for it to be so unsettled at that time of year.
The main evening entertainment for adults is now starting slightly earlier most nights as we realise that families with young children were missing out.
For the half board as well as having the main half board menu we also have daily specials which are included in the half board package. This is to offer more choice as it is a 14 day menu with different starters and main courses daily (choice of two starters and two main courses daily). As these are all freshly cooked to order they need to be prebooked by 1pm daily..
It was good that you managed to get out and about and see some of the island and Zakynthos town while you were here.
We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the end of May/beginning of June, stayed self-catering. Decent hotel, nice gardens, handy location for the beach and the Kalamaki strip. Adequate facilities in the room, fridge, kettle, toaster and a couple of electric rings (which we didn't use). Paid for the air conditioning which was definitely worth it, and 'rented' a TV remote control for the week for a refundable €20. Not a lot available in English but watched some amusing Greek soaps! Maid service 6 times in a week, all friendly and decent service, room was always kept clean. Stayed in room 413, good location away from the main block, facing the garden, shade in the morning, sunny later on - email them with preferences beforehand and they will do their best to accommodate. Wouldn't bother with free pizza night if you are not the sort of person who enjoys hotel entertainment, seemed to be a kids disco on at the same time and the place was manic. They were nice enough to give us back the money we had paid for the side dishes (chips and Greek salad) and we went elsewhere. The Olive Tree and Paolo's on the main strip were good as was the Kalamaki Beach taverna just down the road from the hotel, very good food, cheap and good service. Accidentally stumbled upon Greek night at the Pandesia restaurant, which was fun, plate smashing, Greek dancing, setting fire to the floor and decent food, best service we had as well. There are a number of decent, small supermarkets on the main strip, a 5-10 minute walk from the hotel. Worth taking a boat out round the blue caves in the north of the island, try to go to one of the guys who will take your party out on their own rather than as part of a bigger group. Roads on the island are terrible, if you are hiring a car suggest getting 4x4, more for the height but a lot of the roads a described as 'dirt tracks' which is pretty accurate!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Lyndsey I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marelenhotel, Manager at Marelen Hotel, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.
I am glad you were happy with the room location as it is often difficult to give 3 rooms together in guests' chosen area.
We are sorry you were not aware that the kids disco takes place at 8pm every night.
We also have our own Greek night every second Friday which includes fire show and plate smashing.
Good to hear that you explored some of our beautiful island, we hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kalamaki hotels
0.4 mi away
Venus Hotel & Suites
Venus Hotel & Suites
#1 of 30 in Kalamaki
1,233 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bitzaro Grande Hotel
Bitzaro Grande Hotel
#6 of 30 in Kalamaki
1,429 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bitzaro Palace Hotel
Bitzaro Palace Hotel
#2 of 30 in Kalamaki
710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Kalamaki Beach Hotel
Kalamaki Beach Hotel
#17 of 30 in Kalamaki
247 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ionion Blue Hotel
Ionion Blue Hotel
#12 of 30 in Kalamaki
476 reviews
0.8 mi away
Klelia Beach Hotel
Klelia Beach Hotel
#4 of 30 in Kalamaki
654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marelen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marelen Hotel

Property: Marelen Hotel
Address: 6 Post Box, Kalamaki 291 00, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Kalamaki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Kalamaki
#17 Romantic Hotel in Kalamaki
Hotel Class:3 star — Marelen Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 118
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Marelen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marelen Hotel Kalamaki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing