We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely bitzaro”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bitzaro Palace Hotel
Ranked #2 of 30 Hotels in Kalamaki
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 March 2014

After never going back to the same place twice we are returning here for our 3rd visit in 3 years! Having only originally booked to keep partner happy with the 10min transfer time we just can't stay away!we returned with friends last year who also loved it. A couple of the restaurant staff even remembered us from year before which we were amazed by seeing as we went the beginning of that season and September last year!
Hotel is situated about a 5 min walk from beginning of strip of restaurants tourist shops and 10 walk in opposite direction to the beach. Also from the beach a nice walk (30 to 40 mins) leads you to laganas, which is a much busier resort and home to all the clubs and McDonald's and pizza hut if that's what you want (we didn't!) much prefered the quieter resort of Kalamaki. Which still has a good selection of restaurants and bars.
Rooms are quite basic but comfortable with a small bathroom & a balcony with a table & 2 chairs which we found perfectly adequate as out all day anyway.
The pool is a nice size though quite deep but I'm only 5"2! Plenty of sunloungers though people still get up early to reserve them! In September it was a lot busier & as there were 4 of us sometimes struggled to get beds by the pool, but there are sunbeds on the grass near the pool so not a real problem.
For breakfast there was a good fry up on offer or cereals or continental meats and cheese and a coffee machine for your hot drinks. Lunch was various hot meals from buffet. They put a list up for what the evening meal will be so you can chose whether to eat out or not. Evening meals where very nice when you sat down waiter would come and get your drinks order and another would offer you soup then if was hot buffet again & if your still not full there's always desert!
If you are booking trips I'd either book before or use one of the travel shops on the main road we found first choice trips to expensive. We booked shipwreck tour before we went for £26 each and was perfect went all the way around the island just a shame was a bit rough that day so couldn't get off at the ship wreck. Also went to Zante town by the train bus was €5 each return in the evening which made a nice change which we booked on the strip.
We can't wait to come back on 2nd may

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank Littlelisax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (753)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

405 - 411 of 754 reviews

Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

I and my husband will be returning to this hotel this May, we just love it! Yes the hotel needs a refurb but the staff make up for it :-) they are all so polite and friendly and will go that extra mile for you. Roll on May 2nd that's all i can say. If you want a quiet relaxing holiday with your husband or partner this is the place for you both. Food fab and i don't agree that its repetative.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
11  Thank Jan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013 via mobile

The bitzaro is a quiet friendly hotel. It has very friendly staff. The food was good and varied each day. There is no entertainment but you can use the bitzaro grande for its entertainment. The hotel is about 500 yards from the strip which has restaurants and bars also there is a travel company which we used at the top of the road to the hotel and we found it value for money.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
7  Thank Geoff R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

We've just returned from 2 weeks in the Bitzaro and feel we got what we paid for (we paid end of season prices). The Hotel is well located, only 3km from the not too busy airport. A 10 minutes walk from the decent beach.
Hotel staff were extremely friendly and efficient. The room was JUST about OK, but as is the rest of the hotel, badly in need of closed season refurb. The bathroom was awful and the bath difficult to stand in for a shower due to its shape (V) instead of (U) shaped. There was black mould in many parts of the bathroom. More drawer storage space is required.Our 1st floor room overlooked the pool and was very quiet at nights.
The menu in the restaurant is very repetitive.
Guests should be discouraged from feeding cats and birds in the restaurant. Food such as cakes, biscuits etc should be covered by an anti-fly/bird net. Ideally, cats should be kept OUT of the restaurant.
There was a problem with biting insects (mainly mosquitoes and midges) in all public areas and in our room. When we asked if the hotel had any sprays, we were advised to buy a "plug in". Perhaps the hotel could start a regular inspect spray programme?
A good pool but due to its depth, only designed for swimmers or people over 5 feet tall. A decent paddling area for toddlers. No gym/fitness suite. Evening entertainment (5 nights a week bingo followed by a quiz and 1 night a week karaoke), not our cup of tea. Definitely not a 4 star hotel in our opinion (max 3 star).

Room Tip: In order to avoid roaming cats, suggest you ask for 1st or 2nd floor room. Take a "plug in&quo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank RayDPenmaenmawr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

we have just come back from 2 weeks at Bitzaro Palace. the staff (theres not many of them) were all very welcoming and helpful you could not fault them. they made many a holiday, but the hotel itself was end of season tired. it needs a deep clean and the bathrooms need a really good update. black mould round the small pool was not nice. guests were also feeds cats with food from the buffet!! this is a nice place and hopefully when it reopens in May it will be better but his this not a 4* hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank granniesue595
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

e arrived on 18 th October .very good welcome .during that night my husband was taken ill and had to go to hospital .he remained there for 5 days during this time the staff made my brother and myself very welcome always asking how he was if there was anything they could do they made a very difficult time for us easier nice not to feel alone in a foreign country thank you so much all of you at the bitzaro

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Roger M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We arrived at the Bitzaro Palace Hotel after a 10 minute drive in a taxi from the airport - no hassle there. There was a power cut when we checked in and the lift didn't work (our room was on the first floor). Petra in reception checked us in without any fuss and insisted on having our luggage taken to the room for us. There was a problem with the shower which she had rectified within a couple of hours without any fuss. We had a lovely first floor room with a sitting room overlooking the gardens and pool, rather dated but quite adequate. Our biggest criticism was the very cramped bathroom which had a shower over the bath and a very oversized wash-hand basin which left very little room for movement (and we are not big people by any means!). The public areas around the bar and outside were comfortable and always somewhere to sit, either inside or out. There was not any evening entertainment which was quite refreshing really as we met some lovely people and actually made our own entertainment! Yes, we were two of the magnificent seven - hello Sutton Coldfield girls!!!

The food was good, plenty of selection and lots of lovely salads. The drinks left a bit to be desired, only drank the red wine which was passable but far from great and gin that seemed to have the gin missing!! The staff were excellent - very friendly and went out of their way to chat and showed a genuine interest in the guests.

We hired a car and got about the island a bit - there are some lovely little coves etc to explore and overall we thought Xante was very pleasant, quiet retreat and thoroughly enjoyed our 10 day stay.

Room Tip: First floor rooms in the main building are very good and more spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AnneMarieF906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kalamaki
0.1 mi away
Bitzaro Grande Hotel
Bitzaro Grande Hotel
#8 of 30 in Kalamaki
1,502 reviews
0.3 mi away
Venus Hotel & Suites
Venus Hotel & Suites
#1 of 30 in Kalamaki
1,273 reviews
0.7 mi away
Klelia Beach Hotel
Klelia Beach Hotel
#6 of 30 in Kalamaki
738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Meandros Boutique Hotel
Meandros Boutique Hotel
#3 of 30 in Kalamaki
584 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Bay Hotel & Suites
The Bay Hotel & Suites
#1 of 18 in Vasilikos
640 reviews
0.1 mi away
Amaryllis Hotel
Amaryllis Hotel
#20 of 30 in Kalamaki
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bitzaro Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bitzaro Palace Hotel

Address: Kalamaki 2 9100, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Kalamaki
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Kalamaki
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kalamaki
Price Range: £89 - £348 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bitzaro Palace Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by its gorgeous gardens and within easy reach of the sands, Bitzaro Palace Hotel in Zakynthos combines elegance and comfort with respect to the traditional Ionian style. The outdoor pool and the hot tub are surrounded by a unique wooden deck, where relaxation is inevitable. The loosening experience can only be enhanced by the all-inclusive buffets with Mediterranean flavors made by fresh local products. All the hotel rooms are overlooking the pool and the garden and are elegantly decorated, offering all the facilities for a comfortable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bitzaro Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Bitzaro Palace
Bitzaro Palace Kalamaki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing