We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“family holiday.”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kalamaki
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Carreta Beach Holiday Village
Ranked #12 of 30 Hotels in Kalamaki
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“family holiday.”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

we as a family have just returned from a ten day holiday at the caretta beach.
For families with younger children its facilities as in the water park, slides etc is just fantastic, my two boys were in their element, you really couldnt ask for more.
The rooms are basic , but clean, and the staff work so hard, some alot friendlier than others.
The food is a huge dissapointment, and the childrens buffet cart does not have alot of choice, every night you have onion rings, chips, plain pasta and chicken nuggets if your lucky!! We actually ate out most nights as it was such a dissapointment.
The final straw was last thursday it was like a zoo people scrabbling for tables, snatching things off you, and no tables available for us for dinner as there was just so many people.To me this defeats the object of having a relaxing dinner on holiday.Again we went out for dinner elsewere.
They really need to sort this out, and up there game with the food.
The guy earlier brummy 33 was very true what he said.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,338 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    643
    403
    182
    62
    48
See reviews for
984
112
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (305)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
south wales
1 review
Reviewed 29 July 2014

stayed in carreta beach for a week in block D bottom apartment..very noisy in mornin due to the house keeping staff goin back and fore getting laundry..dog's barking morning and nite and rooster in mornin..rooms were clean bathroom was a bit dated..wifi didnt work half the time..food was good, and waiters were very nice especially Julian very friendly..great for kids with the pools and water parks..not bad holiday

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debsmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

To be honest I read some of the reviews after booking it and was really worried about coming here ... How ever it was nothing like what I read .. We stayed here for 2 weeks in June 2014 .. We have a 8 year old and 5 year old and they cried on our last day(we were also sad to be leaving). The animation team and kids club entrained us every day and are amazing, they certainly are the centre of the whole hotel and work very hard. The chef is totally brilliant and even made out daughter a birthday cake .. He came out every evening to make sure everybody was happy and although he is very busy spends time getting to know you (on more than one occasion he even made us cheese burgers because the kids mentioned they liked them..The chef should get more recognition for what he does though because he really is great at what he does .. and so should the waiters who are also amazing. All the staff are friendly and take the time to talk to you (even though they are all busy).. The water park is great but my kids spent most of the time in the main pool with the animation team... Our holiday was amazing but I have to say if it wasn't for animation team, (so many of them it's hard to name them all.. and Megan and Stephanie from kids club then this review would be different .. We would like to thank you all at caretta hotel for an amazing Hoilday ..

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Harry100000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

As a single parent to one 9 year old this complex was perfect (for him).Non stop fun all day and all night. Thomas Cook service throughout was exemplary, from transfers to the children's club/entertainment/fun park next door/and, for an only child was perfect for him. Water park excellent.
If my child had a good time I am happy......and he loved it.... BUT
.before booking please read on :

All inclusive with no bottled water ?
Had to buy bottled water at supermarket or at the bar as only on tap water available. (Greek tap water)
No tea coffee making facilities in hotel room? For a cup of tea/coffee you have to walk to the resteraunt or main bar? 4 Star ?
Plastic beakers served in main bar?
Polish people wearing budgie smugglers (only) in main bar past 18:00 ???. Everyone else dressed up...
Main pool area had a audible high pitched tone from 13:00 for about 3 hours everyday, it goes right through you.
The stories about the air conditioning units blowing hot air all over the balcony are all true.
Avoid B block if you want sleep before 23:00. Something to think about if tired. Entertainment is deafening in the evening.
I used a soup bowl for coffee and tea in resteraunt as the cups are no bigger than an expresso cup.
I bought pint sized plastic glasses to refill drinks. Only half pint plastic beakers available (top tip).
Buffet restaurant: food is ok, for adults and kids alike... However.. Eastern Europeans ...I've seen flocks of Seagulls behave better. Manors cost nothing and they spend nothing. It's a madhouse !
Mine mine mine mine mine outa FINDING NEMO springs to mind.


If you have kids under I'd say 12 you'll (they) will have a great time. If you spend upto a grand on an adult, all inclusive,I think you can get better elsewhere.




Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
7 Thank Brummie33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billericay, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Rooms nice and clean, food OK at best. Chef does a good job with limited budget, cheap cuts of meat lots of pork. Drinks are probably the worst thing the kids juice is horrible and tastes like there's no fruit in it at all. The beer tastes OK but you can drink it all day and all night and never feel like you have had one. The spirits don't taste right, gin and tonic certainly didn't taste anything like g and t back home. Entertainment is ropey at best, lots of miming to records and dubious dance based entertainment.
The hotel itself is in a good area and the water park kept the kids entertained, you just get the feeling that every possible corner they could cut to reduce costs has been cut and cut some more. I would not recommend this hotel unless you like drinking the worlds worst own brand cola, tartrazine based juice drinks, cakes with so much food colouring they make your kids hyperactive, beer so weak even the kids could drink it all day without noticing any effects. Book somewhere else!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lanark, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

First of all I would like to say , this is a very clean hotel and staff are very friendly, what let it down was the meals, chicken and pork every day for 10 days made to look diff by putting them in diff sauces, with the occasional meat dish (twice) if carrots were on menue that day, you would be sure to have carrot soup next day, there was nothing wasted, as to us it lookedcas though it was recycled next day, but thats my oppinion...sweets were sponge cake and diff coloured creams most days, and jelly although jelly was really nice and rice pud or creme caramel a couple of times...entertainment was great for kids as they were entertained from morning in kids club and at night with mini disco, the animation team were great........BUT..for adults entertainment was terrible, there was only 3 times we enjoyed it ,2 guys with guitars, a woman singer, and the animation team doing Grease the musical was good, the rest was boaring, so for that reason we wont be back, sorry Caretta but for nearly 4, oooo I want good food that has Wow factor and I want to be entertained x......P.S water park is good.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We stayed at the Caretta Beach for a week in July with our 3 year old. We selected this hotel based on it's location (not to far from the airport and the beach) and the amount of pools and slides for our 3 year old to enjoy. The hotel is only a few minutes from the airport which was great (the Thomas Cook coach was waiting for us, no issue there)

The pools and slides are the major selling point for this hotel. Kids can spend hours in there.

There was animation on site, both from the hotel itself (English and Polish), which was great (kid's disco, etc...) and Thomas Cook. The Thomas Cook animation we couldn't use because our son doesn't speak English. We weren't allowed to join simple things like watching a cartoon or drawing even though we suggested we stay with him all the time. I understood that this was (for English people) more like a free daycare 'drop your kids and booze all day' kind of thing instead of giving your kids a nice time deal. A shame...


The staff was very helpful and the restaurant staff was very friendly and entertaining for our son. The food was also good. A nice selection of great greek food and international cuisine. Plenty of things to choose from for everybody.

Cleaning was a bit of an issue as the sheets were only changed twice during the week and if you were in the room when housekeeping was entering, they just left and didn't come back that day.
It was, however, very clean. I did also noticed that all locks of the doors were mounted the wrong way around so there was no way to unlock the door if was locked from the outside. Housekeeping actually locked us in once so I had to climb over the balcony to open the door again from the outside. Good thing we were on the ground floor...

All and all, a great place to stay with your family!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
Helpful?
3 Thank Benny V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kalamaki
0.4 mi away
Bitzaro Palace Hotel
Bitzaro Palace Hotel
#2 of 30 in Kalamaki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
0.2 mi away
Venus Hotel & Suites
Venus Hotel & Suites
#1 of 30 in Kalamaki
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,176 reviews
0.7 mi away
Klelia Beach Hotel
Klelia Beach Hotel
#3 of 30 in Kalamaki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Louis Zante Beach Hotel
0.8 mi away
Crystal Beach Hotel
Crystal Beach Hotel
#21 of 30 in Kalamaki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bitzaro Grande Hotel
Bitzaro Grande Hotel
#4 of 30 in Kalamaki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carreta Beach Holiday Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carreta Beach Holiday Village

Property: Carreta Beach Holiday Village
Address: Kalamaki 291 00, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Kalamaki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Kalamaki
#22 Romantic Hotel in Kalamaki
Hotel Class:4 star — Carreta Beach Holiday Village 4*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Caretta Beach is a modern hotel situated in Kalamaki on the south coast of the most beautiful island in the Ionian Sea, Zakynthos. The hotel is in a private, picturesque area by the main road of Kalamaki, only 4km from the capital city Zakynthos Town and 2km from the International airport of the island. The soft sandy beach is only a 5 minute walk away and is the home of the famous loggerhead turtles, Caretta-Caretta. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Caretta Beach Kalamaki
Hotel Caretta Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing