We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home from Home”
Review of Daniel Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Daniel Hotel
Ranked #18 of 30 Hotels in Kalamaki
Certificate of Excellence
Burnley, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Home from Home”
Reviewed 17 June 2012

The first time we went to this hotel I was six months pregnant my son is now nearly six. It is the best
hotel in Kalamaki and every time you go you meet the most amazing people old and new. Its is very quiet and remote and a lovely walk to the many bars and shops. The bbq was for everyone in the hotel some people chose not to attend and complained about the noise level til 2.30am. As the previous posts said it was a one off celebration, and when it gets late with respect to other people Gus and Vicky shut double glazed doors all around the bar area to lessen the noise level. Some people who dont want to mingle should maybe take a holiday in a villa where there is no one else.
Also where ever you go on a Greek Island you have to put tissue in the bin provided for the drainage issues.

Tell u how good it is we are returning again in August !!!!!
Mel & Craig from Burnley.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Craig J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    102
    25
    9
    0
    1
See reviews for
22
94
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 June 2012

re dont go there -vinny gordon i also must very strongly put the record straight as the party mentioned in the report did go ahead but the owners informed everbody of the event and the noise was at a acceptable level and ended untill 0230hrs as 90 per cent of the guests were residents at the hotel and they were also invited to the barbucue and drinks as it was a joint party with vicky the hotel owner this was a one off event as the residents were celebrating a 40th birthday and anniversary including my wifes 40th 'regarding the cleaning of the hotel i have never seen any untidyness all the years we have been going to the daniel and far as we are concerned gus /vicky cannot do enough for you and always make you very welcome thats why we go to the hotel every year for the past ten years june and september it truly is a very nice place to unwind heaven to me and my wife regards mel steve roughley york

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melanie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2012

Re: Don't go there - Vinny Gordon
I have never read such rubbish in my life. This couple started complaining before they were shown to their room. They took one look at the pool area andd complained about the number and quality of sunbeds. The comment about their rooms not being swept or mopped all week is rubbish as rooms are cleaned every day and the bins are emptied every day. Do they not understand that toilet paper is put in buins for one reason so the plumbing system does not get blocked and does not flushed out to sea. Re broken shower head did they report this to the owners as I am sure something would have been done about it. Re the noisy party the couple was advised of this and were invited to join everyone. People were not sat around the pool but were inside the pool bar with a couple windows open-nobody else complained about the noise including people who did not attend. People go on holiday to enjoy themselves. Many of we returners were people in their 50's and 60's not teenagers. Re breakfast you don't have to eat there.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lily W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Croydon
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2012

This hotel was described as quite and peaceful in the Monarch blurb and as pensioners we decided this was for us. The hotel does have great potential and we had one of the best rooms looking out over the pool and to the distant mountains, it is in a very rural and quiet area of Kalamaki including a cockerel that crowed most of the night, but that is where it ends as far as we are concerned. The rooms are adequate plenty of storage and wardrobe space but there is a charge for fridge, safe which is only placed in the wardrobe not fixed, and air conditioning, €25, €10 and €25 respectively per week. What spoilt it for us was the standard of the room and balcony itself, the shower tray had black mould around it and the shower head was split, no curtain or doors to stop the water wetting the floor and running out in to the hallway. Also the room was not swept during our stay and when the bedding was changed the bottom sheet was put on the bed and you had to make the rest of it yourself, the balcony railings had bird droppings on them for days before we removed it ourselves.
Something else we were not prepared for was the fact that you should not put your toilet paper in the pan but in the bin provided. The owners have a policy of no rules and anything goes including no pool safety rules or depth markings, there was also a distinct lack of adequate sun beds and shade. We think the hotel had a lot of returners and these were pandered to because they were the sort of people who sat around the pool all day drinking, therefore spending money in the bar, and smoking and taking over the pool which was not really big enough. Noisy party in pool bar until 03 00 am one night, the following night music being played until about the same time and on a third succesive night people talking and drinking around the pool until the early hours, without any consideration for the other guests. Another gripe is the lack of variety at breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VinnyCroydon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

This hotel is superb, provided that you like a quiet setting. It is typically Greek,small, nice well kept grounds, simple rooms and accommodation, a good pool. Your hosts, Vicky and Augustine, go out of their way to make sure that you have a wonderful time. This hotel is always full of "returners", a wonderful endorsement in itself. We have been going for years, and will certainly be going back.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ColchesterCch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
186 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2011

For the first time ever we have retutrned to the same resort two years in succession (see first review). The main reason for this is this hotel. Vicki and Gus are the most welcoming hosts you could ever want. They organised a Barbeque for one of the guests who was going home and everyone attended and a great night was had by all. Dutch, English and Scottish. nothing is too much trouble for this amazing couple. We met people from the previous year and people for whom it was their first visit. Nobody had anything but praise for this hotel. A short walk to the restaurants and bars, yet far enough for peace and quiet day and night. Lovely poolside and surroundings. Rooms are basic, but clean and comfortable. Great value for money, would not hesitate to recomend to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2011

lovely small and quiet hotel, really friendly and helpful owners. suitable for all ages (not a 18-25 holiday) close to shops, restraunts and beach but far enough away not to be disturbed. nice pool and basic rooms. not far from airport, would recommend getting a taxi not a transfere so much quicker and not very expensive. out of the way from the 18-25 night life in laganas but still good for young couples wanting a few cocktails and meals out.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rayray2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kalamaki hotels
0.5 mi away
Venus Hotel & Suites
Venus Hotel & Suites
#1 of 30 in Kalamaki
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,176 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Vanessa
Hotel Vanessa
#19 of 30 in Kalamaki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
0.6 mi away
Crystal Beach Hotel
Crystal Beach Hotel
#22 of 30 in Kalamaki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Macedonia
Hotel Macedonia
#24 of 30 in Kalamaki
4.0 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
0.2 mi away
Daisy Apartments
Daisy Apartments
#25 of 30 in Kalamaki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
0.8 mi away
Bitzaro Palace Hotel
Bitzaro Palace Hotel
#2 of 30 in Kalamaki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Daniel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Daniel Hotel

Property: Daniel Hotel
Address: 171 Kalamaki, Kalamaki 291 00, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Kalamaki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Kalamaki
#14 Family Hotel in Kalamaki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Daniel Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Daniel is a resort hotel, a sweet home away from home.Resting in a quiet spot, close enough to Kalamaki center to be comfortable (1km), but not so close as to be disturbed by its low-key nightlife, the Hotel Daniel is a magnet for guests who like a peaceful haven at both the start and end of the day.Run by a friendly, close knit family team.The mood here is one of cheerful calm.In all rooms there are self control air conditioning/ heating, shower, fridge, TV, safety deposit boxes, balcony or terrace, with pool view, sea view and mountain view. There are triple rooms with normal bed and for babies we provide a baby cot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Bookgreece.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Daniel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Daniel Hotel Kalamaki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing