We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, good value but bad location”
Review of Daniel Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Daniel Hotel
Ranked #22 of 30 Hotels in Kalamaki
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 August 2014

My boyfriend and myself finished our travelling around Europe and Greek island hopping in Zante; this was the 10 day holiday after all the travelling around so the main aspect we were looking for was value - we got an incredible deal for ten nights bed and breakfast. However the breakfast was poor, we are not fussy people but there was nothing apart from a little cereal, some bread, cake and egg. It could so easily be improved however I guess this was one reason why it was so cheap - so as long as you're prepared it'll be fine. The location also wasn't the best if you have no transport and want to go to the beach or town everyday, too short to justify taxis but a long walk in the scorching heat of about 15 minutes. Car hire in kalamaki is pretty cheap though so we did that for a couple days. We also didn't like having to pay for air conditioning as it was unbearable we tried saving money but you just couldn't sleep without it. Furthermore we didn't get our bed sheets changed until late in the week and even then they just left the pillow cases for us to put on ourselves. However moving on from the negatives, overall we did love our stay and the owners are lovely and very welcoming. The food is very good at lunch time and the pool area is stunning. The weather was gorgeous and we enjoyed kalamaki and all of the restaurants and bars there. Vanessa hotel has the cheapest cocktails which are incredible and heavens kitchen had beautiful food and great service. The beach was slightly disappointing however it was too far to walk to everyday anyway. Even though we have pointed out negatives we absolutely loved the holiday so much and the negatives weren't enough to ruin it, just a few things to watch out for. If budget is your main priority then daniel hotel is great.

Room Tip: Pool view would be nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank hol-lover92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (165)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

93 - 99 of 165 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2014

Myself and 5 friends recently enjoyed a lovely stay at this small and quiet hotel. All of the staff were welcoming, friendly and happy to help us to find our way around the local area. The rooms were clean and well presented as was the rest of the hotel. The pool area was just the right size to feel that you had your own space to relax in despite the other guests being in close proximity. Breakfast was basic but adequate- bread/toast, selection of spreads, ham, cheese, tomato, cornflakes, cake and one or two types of fruit each day. A good variety of drinks and snacks are available from the pool bar and you can buy 6 1.5l sized bottles of water from here for 2 euros, which we thought was a very good deal compared to the prices in the shops! The hotel put on a BBQ on the Wednesday which is definitely worth paying the 10 euros for!
The hotel is tucked away from the main road through Kalamaki. It took us 10/15 minutes to walk and about 20 to walk to the beach. There are many restaurants in the area to choose from. All three which we visited - Ambrosia, Restaurant Zykanthos and Michealos Taverna served really good food for reasonable prices. You could very easily stay in the Kalamaki area and enjoy a relaxing holiday in the sun as all you need is within a 20 minute walk. However, if you, as we did, want to explore more of the island there a number of tour operators along the main street offering short trips and full day trips out to see other parts of the island including the famous shipwreck and the caretta caretta turtles. We got a free trip and banana boat ride with the around the island boat trip we booked which made for a good afternoon out in addition to the day trip!
Overall, the Daniel Hotel is a great base which offers a little piece of peace but is close enough to the action to have as active a holiday as you like on a beautiful island.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank rd826
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

You could not begin to explain how lovely the Daniel hotel is .Vicky /Gus are excellent they make you feel relaxed nothing is to much trouble.any thing you want to know or need they are there to help. You can get food from the pool bar which is excellent and very very clean.if you want food that is not on the menu Vicky /Gus will try there very best to do it. The rooms are very clean..the cleaners/handy man are very pleasant and friendly and if you needed anything it was there.I don't think 3 stars are not enough !!!!!!!!!! For this lovely hotel.we stayed for 1month at the Daniel and didn't want to leave then !!!so I think that says it all !!!!

Room Tip: All rooms are in good areas to look out over pool and views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Service
1  Thank Sandra W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

I have just got back from 10 days at the Daniel, after 10 days spent there with my Ex and our 10yo Daughter, I mention this because were it not for the ambience of the hotel and the welcoming nature of Gus & Vicky, it had the potential to be a rather awkward 10 days away, but instead it proved to be a wonderful way to spend time with out daughter in a stress free environment.

The Hotel itself is a short cab ride (13 Euros) from the Airport, check-in was blissfully simple (one word of advice though is to contact Gus & Vicky directly to confirm to them your arrival times, as the tour operators are not always forthcoming with the fine details). The rooms are well appointed and comfortable and the hotel itself impeccably clean and very well presented. The Pool is a perfect size, long enough to swim lengths if that's your thing but equally not too big to be overwhelming to kids.

The Food available at the bar at lunch is outstanding and everything you need if you're just staying by the pool for the day, the Hotel is well located should you wish to go out to any of the nearby touristy "things". There are some excellent restaurants within a short walk of the hotel, you could literally spend your entire time within 500m of the Hotel and have everything you need.

As other people have commented the hospitality provided by Gus & Vicky is absolutely first rate, they really do make you feel like a Guest, and an honoured one at that!

It's been said that the highest compliment that you can pay to a hotel or similar is to go back and as soon as I finish writing this I will be looking for dates to go back for a long weekend in the not too distant future.

A Fantastic Hotel, Run by two of the nicest people you could ever hope to meet.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank adenuffimoff L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Had a fabulous two week stay at the Daniel. its a great base to see the Island, and its far enough from the center of Kalamaki to be peaceful but not that far out to feel isolated. Had some lovely meals at Poseidon restaurant, watched the sunset at the Cave bar. Further out of Kalamaki we went to the village of Bohali to see the view over Zante town, swam in the blue caves and Keri caves. All in all a great holiday, this was my first visit to Zante and the owners of the Daniel Vicky and Gus were so warm and welcoming I wouldn't hesitate to return.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Tazmid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

My wife Rachel booked this hotel from reading reviews on here so we knew what to expect. How ever when you meet Vicky and Gus you realise that reviews cannot do justice to their welcome and the attention you get during your stay. We felt more like house guests than hotel guests. Viky came out from the pool bar to greet us, introduced herself and asked our names. The room was adequate as we were only going to sleep in it! Once we were settled in we ventured to the bar area were Gus asked names and introduced himself and offered a complementary drink, although we were only in the bar for a short while before we went out for a meal or coming back in for a night cap, he always remembered our names. We needed something to eat on first day and we were going to order omelette, he recommended the Greek salad as it would not spoil our evening meal, which was a barbecue laid on by Vicky and Gus, a great way to meet all the other guests. Gus recommended a couple of restaurants in Kalamaki and we were not disappointed. We had a hire car so went to the turtle beaches most days and managed to swim with 3. The early mornings were entertaining as the turkeys started calling, no fault of the hotel and as it is amongst the farms, should be expected.
All in all a great small hotel, makes you feel like a house guest and yes we would come back.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Porgward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

My partner and I booked this hotel to celebrate our engagement and couldn't have asked for a nicer hotel to stay in.
We are in the early 20s age bracket and didnt feel uncomfortable staying in a hotel that has some older guests. It was in fact a lot nicer, very peaceful and the hotel had a friendly atmosphere so it was easy to talk to everyone staying in the hotel. Vicky and Gus the owners are lovely people and will do anything to make your stay even more enjoyable. I'd like to thank them for making our stay so special :).
The location is great 10 mins away from anything you need whilst on holiday and the surrounding scenery makes the walks to and from the beach/
Strip all the more pleasant. I can see why so many people return to this place.
If we were to visit the island again we would definitely book to stay here we wouldn't want to stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Natalieinglis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kalamaki hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Vanessa
Hotel Vanessa
#17 of 30 in Kalamaki
199 reviews
0.2 mi away
Daisy Apartments
Daisy Apartments
#27 of 30 in Kalamaki
172 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ionion Blue Hotel
Ionion Blue Hotel
#13 of 30 in Kalamaki
495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sirocco Hotel
Sirocco Hotel
#25 of 30 in Kalamaki
232 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cronulla Hotel
Cronulla Hotel
#11 of 30 in Kalamaki
208 reviews
0.5 mi away
Venus Hotel & Suites
Venus Hotel & Suites
#1 of 30 in Kalamaki
1,273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Daniel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Daniel Hotel

Address: 171 Kalamaki, Kalamaki 291 00, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Kalamaki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Kalamaki
#14 Family Hotel in Kalamaki
Price Range: £19 - £55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Daniel Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Daniel is a resort hotel, a sweet home away from home.Resting in a quiet spot, close enough to Kalamaki center to be comfortable (1km), but not so close as to be disturbed by its low-key nightlife, the Hotel Daniel is a magnet for guests who like a peaceful haven at both the start and end of the day.Run by a friendly, close knit family team.The mood here is one of cheerful calm.In all rooms there are self control air conditioning/ heating, shower, fridge, TV, safety deposit boxes, balcony or terrace, with pool view, sea view and mountain view. There are triple rooms with normal bed and for babies we provide a baby cot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Jet2Holidays , HotelsClick, Odigeo, Cancelon, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Daniel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Daniel Hotel Kalamaki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing