We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel, Fabulous Holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Kalamaki Beach Hotel
Ranked #16 of 30 Hotels in Kalamaki
Certificate of Excellence
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Hotel, Fabulous Holiday”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We've just spent our 3rd holiday here! We love everything about it! It is cheap and not 5 star luxury but it is fantastic value for money a lot better than you would expect for the cost. The location is fab it is practically on the beach. The pool is great as well, the new pool bar is great. The staff are lovely as well we hadn't been for 6 years but Sofia the receptionist recognised us as soon as we got out of the taxi as did Ria the evening receptionist. We love the Beach Taverna as well. Food is great at both the Taverna and Pool Bar. The rooms are maybe basic but have everything you need the beds & towels are changed every couple of days and the rooms cleaned every day. Its a short walk into town with several great Tavernas. We love it and I'm sure we will be back. It is great for Couples and Families.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Augustbabe73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    114
    78
    20
    5
    4
See reviews for
81
100
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Crawley West Sussex
Level Contributor
140 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Firstly let me start by saying this was a VERY cheap deal. Under £300 for the week so I was not expecting much.
As our party of six arrived at the hotel we were very pleasantly surprised as it looked clean and modern and well looked after.
My husband and I and another couple were actually shown to our room by the receptionist, but as we were led away I got a bad feeling because the receptionist was going to great lengths to explain that the hotel was full and that our rooms did not ave the best view however they were very quiet and when she opened the door I saw exactly what she meant! The room number 108 over looked the car park and in addition to the parked cars there was a dog in a cage and some sort of noisy pump . I really was not happy as I knew that this hotel was advertised by Olympic as all rooms with sea view.
My daughters room and our friends room were next to each other in another part of the hotel and as soon as you walked through their door you were blown away by the view...a vista over the lawns to the beach and beautiful blue sea.
Reception said they could not change our room as they were full and yet we saw people arriving all through the day. In the end we swapped with my daughter (who luckily happens to like dogs and appreicated the dog in its cage).
We happily paid the 4 euros per day for the fridge as we were forewarned about the cost, however the fridge was struggling to stay cool. The fridge was housed in a cupboard and had no air circulating round it so we propped the door of the cupboard open and that stopped the fridge over heating and the smell of burning.
Yes the beds are hard - that seems to be standard in the Greek Islands but he hotel is lovely. There is a basic breakfast, lovely gardens, a nice pool and a beachfront tavern that serves the very best freshly caught grilled sardines. The staff were very friendly and we were so impressed with the cleanliness of the place we tipped the chambermaids.
The young lady in the bar at the front of the hotel was very friendly and helpful and kept us entertained with her cocktail skills.
This hotel is at the far end of the strip - the complete opposite end to the Crystal Beach so remember if you want to get to that end in the evening you will need a taci as you are not allowed on the beach (it would be a shortcut) between 1900 - 0700.

This hotel is on the flight path but not one person complained - it was totally awesome and of course there are no flights at night to protect the turtles. We will be back but with room requests.

Room Tip: Ask for room with sea view. Do not have room 108 or 109.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tanzicat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

This was our third stay at Kalamaki Beach, we have loved every visit. The staff are very friendly and helpful, the hotel is right on the beach with a lovely pool and bar area. Just a short walk into Kalamaki town with plenty of good tavernas. I felt so sad to be leaving this year and we will certainly be going back again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aphrodites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellesmere Port, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Firstly, the bad points, 4 euros a day for fridge and a very hard mattress. Thats the bad points out the way! We actually knew about paying extra for the fridge from reading reviews but we didn't know it was 4 euros a day which cost us 40 for 10 days, but once the dough was handed over it never bothered us again or detracted from enjoying the holiday, and the mattress was just a little too hard for even me but apart from that i loved the hotel.
I cant recommend this hotel enough, it has the perfect balance of everything, it has been done out recently and it looks posh especially at night as do most of the hotels on the beach road and even though our particular family room wasnt modernised it was more than adaquate for whats expected from a regular greek holidayer. Some people have complained about the continental style breakfast but i loved it, toast, boiled eggs and coffee followed by biscuits, a slice of cake and yes, another coffee, whats not to love? And the coffee is actually decent, as a proper coffee drinker myself (starbucks pike place black being my fave), i really enjoyed it.
We stayed at the maralen next door last year and although we loved it and initially tried to book there again, i found that the kalamaki beach was less conjested in every aspect, kalamaki beach has more grounds but a lot less accomidation plus it is olympic and not thompson so you didnt have the reps being silly and making lots of noise all afternoon by the pool! I could go on all day about this hotel but i will just say whatever your preferences are for breakfast etc the whole breakfast room and experience was great, as was the accommodation, pool, staff, grounds and location, oh and the fridge was actually proper cold, its the first time i have had a ice cold mythos im my room!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank david w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We stayed here May 14-28, 2014. On arrival we were met by friendly staff, rooms were clean, bright, double balcony. First impression - very good.
We payed for the fridge 4 euros per day, safe 2 euros per day. Although the fridge price is a little steep, we budgeted for this and so no surprises. The rooms do not have a kettle so we took our own, no problem. To get the best out of the rooms, 1. Take a kettle, cups, tea and coffee, washing up stuff, this way you save on the price in the bars, etc. 2 Be prepared for the extras, that way you will not be disappointed - it was well worth it. The pool bar was very good indeed - no hassle from staff to buy drinks, they just left you alone to buy what and when you needed it. The beach taverna is a real delight, we went there every day for either a drink or snack, try the cheese pies, they are wonderful. We found the rooms and the bar area very clean, if we had an option to go again we would do it without any hesitation!!!!! Thanks to Sofia and Rhia on reception for their enthusiasm and helpful manner. Hope to see you soon!!!
The best taverna for us was one called Georgia's which was down the other end of the resort, if at all possible also try Paulo's - Jimmy on the door was brilliant. There is a good bar over the road from Paulo's called Whynot? English girl works very hard to make your time enjoyable. Do not bother having a transfer as part of your holiday, the taxi takes about 8 minutes and charges 13 euros - no hassle - enjoy your time at Kalamaki - walk to Laganas on the beach (quite a walk) and go on the 1 hour Turtle Trip, 10 euros - you will never regret it

Room Tip: Room 219, 218 are corner rooms with double balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Michael E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
70 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Really enjoyed this hotel. Great staff and lovely beach a minute through the garden. Nice clean rooms and a good pool. The bar is a nice place for a drink in the evening and all of the staff were very welcoming.

Room Tip: the rooms in the annex are good for the pool, if you have children
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SouthLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winsford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 May 2014

we had a great time, reception staff very helpful, maria at the bar fantastic as always,will see you soon,Beach taverna excellent staff wonderfull, Paulos fab for food, oasis bar lovely, thanks all , Leah, Julie, xx

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank julie y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kalamaki
0.4 mi away
Venus Hotel & Suites
Venus Hotel & Suites
#1 of 30 in Kalamaki
1,164 reviews
0.7 mi away
Crystal Beach Hotel
Crystal Beach Hotel
#21 of 30 in Kalamaki
146 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bitzaro Palace Hotel
Bitzaro Palace Hotel
#2 of 30 in Kalamaki
648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Klelia Beach Hotel
Klelia Beach Hotel
#3 of 30 in Kalamaki
576 reviews
1.1 mi away
Louis Zante Beach Hotel
0.6 mi away
Hotel Vanessa
Hotel Vanessa
#18 of 30 in Kalamaki
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kalamaki Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kalamaki Beach Hotel

Property: Kalamaki Beach Hotel
Address: Zante, Kalamaki 291 00, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Kalamaki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 30 Hotels in Kalamaki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Kalamaki Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the luxurious Kalamaki Beach Hotel situated right on the beach of Kalamaki, on the south coast of the picturesque island of Zakynthos. The complex was created in 1981 and it includes 2.5 acres of beautiful gardens, three buildings with accommodation, 2 swimming pools, a snack bar, a restaurant, a cocktail bar and a traditional taverna by the sea. All 43 rooms have been refurbished in 2011 and thus contain all modern amenities that will ensure a comfortable and pleasant stay for all our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline and LoveHolidays so you can book your Kalamaki Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing