We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A needle in a haystack!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Venus Hotel & Suites
Ranked #1 of 30 Hotels in Kalamaki
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A needle in a haystack!”
Reviewed 1 October 2010

Its very rare for my husband and I to stay at anything less than a 5* hotel. Not bragging, just stating a fact relevant to my review. We have experienced everything from basic self catering, to luxurious penthouse suites aboard elite cruise ships, butler suites in high end couple type resorts, and royal tents in darkest africa serviced with the finest china, champagne and sheer decadence. It was with some risk therefore, that we wanted to step back into our basics, and enjoy a simple break which would bring us a well earned rest from the stresses of life without long haul flights and fuss.
You did NOT let us down Venus, we had everything we wanted and expected from your hotel, and it is your management and staff which makes this little hotel, very very special!
It was everything we had hoped for and surprisingly more!
Nick, you are one of the great guys in life, who excels in what you do. Your enthusiasm and helpfulness clearly reflects throughout all of your team, and that is exactly what Venus is, a TEAM all working together to give each and every individual a great time.
For sure, we experienced better service here, than in certain hotels which have cost ten times as much on occasion!
We will no doubt be back to see you next year, hopefully when your new Spa is ready. I think a detox massage is essential each morning after Speiro and Andreas' lethal cocktails :)
We thought the food at the snack bar was excellent, simple fare but freshly prepared and precisely what is needed for sunny days by the pool.
The girls were terrific!
Rooms, yes, they are basic, but again, better than what I expected from the simplicity of Greek hotels. Spotlessly clean, spacious, and having been moved by Nick from our room due to a small neighbour issue, we enjoyed the bigger family suite which I must add, for families with young children is a superb holiday accommodation and would highly recommend it!
Barbara is a joy and thanks to her advice, we were able to find amazing restaurants which were perfect for us. Although there is no room servivce, Barbara would dash a bottle of Moet to our room in no time (shame about the truck strike Nick!)
But what we will remember most about this holiday are the people, again, re-iterating what has been said time and time again on here... exceptional, and yup, you have won a little corner of our heart which is more than we can say of a few of the 5Kplus holidays we have experienced. It is not always the cost which counts, it is the pleasure one is given, the friendly smiles, the helpful advice.... you got the recipe guys...be seeing you again some day!! Love from the salmon fishermen! xoxox

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunscot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,164 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,012
    111
    37
    3
    1
See reviews for
322
652
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (293)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
peterborough
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2010

Once again we have visited the Venus and once again the Hotel has woven it's spell around us.

Once you get to 'bus pass' age you need to know that when you go on holiday you will find the comfort and joy that you have worked so hard for,we know with out a doubt that we will find it here at Venus, it has been said many times but you can never give enough praise if it is deserved and the staff at the Venus certainly deserve every ounce of praise that they receive in the reviews.

All of them under the watchful eye of Nick bend over backwards to ensure you enjoy your stay....where else would your housekeeping staff remember you and come running up with a greeting and a big hug.

It is an absolute pleasure to sit at the bar or on the terrace, enjoying a laugh with other guests who all become friends,enjoying the brilliant cocktails made by Spiros and the gang, or to have a lunch time snack on the pool terrace served by the firendly and attentive Soula and Maria, how they keep smiling in the kitchen in the heat is beyond me, but smile they do !

The Venus isn't just for oldies like us though, all ages seem to mix and get on well..that is what makes it so special....when you are staying you are made to feel that you are 'the special one'...there are a lot of special people at the Venus...most special though are the staff...

Thank you all xx

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lyndylou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2010

We stayed here for our honeymoon and we cannot fault it. I can see why so many people go back again and again. The staff are friendly, rooms lovely and clean, breakfast was lovely and filling and the location is really good as well. We hope to go back one day.

Only thing I will say is make sure to pack some insect repellent, we didn't and we regretted it. Nothing to do with the hotel at all.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mrs_dymond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2010

Just returned from a week at the Hotel Venus. Firstly what strikes you most about this hotel is the staff, they really are special! So friendly, professional and really can't do enough to please! We found the beds on the hard side but this was soon rectified with an additional mattress top that was brought straight to our room when we asked..
The hotel is immaculately clean, welcoming and attractive. Breakfast is basic but enjoyable, who really needs a massive feast in the morning anyway? The pool area is quiet small but we did not have any trouble getting a sunbed as other guest have mentioned? Lunch at the pool was delicious, very reasonably priced as were the drinks.
Had a great evening at the hotel barbecue!! The singer was superb!!!
The strip at Kalamaki is a short walk with plenty of nice restraurants to choose from at very reaonable prices. There is a bakery with cream cakes to die for, we took some back to the hotel for late afternoon tea on the balcony! The sandy beach is a nice short stroll in the other direction and the sea is lovely, crystal clear, you can walk right out its so shallow, perfect for little ones. Had a nice evening in Laganas, meal and a browse around the numerous shops. Went on a boat trip around island which to be fair was a long day but the shipwreck was worth seeing. Much cheaper if you book with one of the tour shops on Kalamaki strip than with a rep. All in all we had the most lovely holiday, plenty of R&R, fantastic weather! A massive thank-you to all the staff, especially to Nick, Barbara on reception, always smiling and happy!!! You did us proud!! Sad to be home but we will return! x

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank welovetravelSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 September 2010

Back home today after 7 nights with my partner and 2 other couples we booked very cheap deal through Thomas Cook in Feb, and I was wary as so reasonable. We read all the reviews on Trip Advisor and were optomistic.
The hotel is very clean, and the hotel staff are possibly the freindliest I have come accross, we had three double rooms, one room was 2 singles and he staff quickly sorted this and were very apologetic.
We were on night flights but were greeted upon arrival and in our room within minutes.
Towels changed daily and room always swept through, bins emptied, bathroom cleaned etc.
We were Bed & Breakfast as we like to do our own thing, Breakfast served 8-10am was simple but sufficient and again staff always friendly and on hand. The couples we spoke to on half-board did not rave, as limited evening menu and food is so reasonable in the many restaurants a stones throw away you have plenty of choice. We particulary enjoyed Ambrosia as large menu and traditional Greek entertainment, The Italian which had fab reviews on here we found overpriced for basic dishes such as lasagne. However the English waitress was helpful and accomodated menu changes to suit.
We took a short taxi ride to Zante town (approx 10 Euros) which is nice for a stroll along the harbour and has a beautiful church, however we struggle dto fin a decent restaurant, mainly cafe bars.
The beach is a ten minute walk from the hotel, which offered sunbeds, pedlos & canooes at reasonable prices. The beach is narrow but the water very clear and fairly shallow for quite a distance, we took a pedlo out twice to allow for snorkelling. The hotel pool is clean and fairly small but was quiet when we visited can imagine it gets very busy July/August.
We booked a trip to see the turtles 1/2day 18 euro pp, was very enjoyable a bit rickety but we saw a turtle and had opportunity to snorkel wih lots of fish and into caves. Better to book through your rep!
We really enjoyed our stay at Venus and will surely return, weather was fab, starts to cool down now and we saw a few fantastic thunderstorms. plenty of shops and restaurants and bars and Laganas resort 10mins away for a lively night. We were the younger generation at the hotel (aged 21-25) but thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will look to book again, if you book through the hotel better rates offered & free air con/safe/fridge, we extended our stay due to late flight by one night at a reasonable fee of 35 Euros, so all in all great trip, most of the guests were repeat customers and had stayed many times and were full of knowledge of the area and had lots of tips and recommedations and clearly thought a lot of the hotel a they continue to come back,which i can see why!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissMoon27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucks
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2010

I can not say much more that has not been said in all the other reviews.
This is one of the best greek hotels I have stayed in.
Very freindly staff, very clean, nice atmosphere, very finished, nice breakfast, great pool and bar.
Great value for money, Air con/fridge/safety deposit box all included if booked direct.
A big thank you to all the staff.
There is a very small amount of airplane noise depending on which way they take off, but it only lasts for a short time and is not obtrusive. It doesn't continue much past 10/10.30pm. With your room doors closed you cannot hear anything.
I found Pat at Sky euro travel very helpful for advise and trips. Also Jilly at Stavo,s bike rentals.
I used Harry at Toni's bike rental's. He was the best on price and again very helpfull.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fatboy509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2010

Staff at the Venus are really genuinely warm and welcoming, check in was a breeze - very quick and easy and given instructions how to quickly get to our room. The room was fairly simple in contents - 2 twin beds and a baby travel cot as requested, dressing table, small portable TV and kettle and cups etc and more that ample hanging space for clothes, and a nice view from our balcony - a word of advice for all prospective guests....when we arrived there were lots of mosquito's flying about in the bedroom and particularly the bathroom COVER THE DRAIN on the bathroom floor at all times with the bath mat and this will almost completely eradicate this nuisance.

Breakfast in the hotel is good in terms of choices available and plentiful, meals generally are very reasonably priced and offer good variety and large portions. The beach is about a 15 minute stroll from the hotel, its clean and tidy and well kept as you would expect.

One thing that really impressed me was the fact that the owner Nick went out of his way to sort it for me to watch my football team in the lobby of the hotel even though a major premiership match was on at the same time, he arranged to have another feed put through another tv in the lobby FOR ME ONLY specifically - that in my mind is what is missing in a lot of hotels....going the extra mile for the customer, he did'nt have to go out of his way just to please one customer but he did - 1st class customer service!

Prices for drinks in the hotel bars are fairly priced and they offer an extensive choice of beers,spirits and cocktails. The pool area is fantastic - a fairly small pool, but well designed and tailored surroundings with more than adequate sun loungers, and an all important rule of no towels keeping a vacant sun lounger for longer than an hour - great rule! I travelled with my wife and our 7 month old son and the hotel staff absolutely adored him and greeted him so fondly every morning, overall the Venus exceeded our expectations on many different levels.

The only thing I'd like to see improve is a colder fridge in the rooms, ours was mildly cold (room 237) - not a major issue obviously but something that can definitely be improved upon, maybe the fact that it is encased in a locked wooden cupboard does'nt help matters because the natural heat that the fridges motor generates is retained in that wooden case thus creating a waft of noticeably hot air when you open that wooden cupboard.

The whole holiday experience of the Venus is a very positive one and we will certainly be back at some point in the not so distant future.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fraserrig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kalamaki
0.3 mi away
Bitzaro Palace Hotel
Bitzaro Palace Hotel
#2 of 30 in Kalamaki
648 reviews
0.5 mi away
Klelia Beach Hotel
Klelia Beach Hotel
#3 of 30 in Kalamaki
576 reviews
5.3 mi away
Balcony Hotel
Balcony Hotel
#2 of 49 in Tsilivi
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Crystal Beach Hotel
Crystal Beach Hotel
#21 of 30 in Kalamaki
146 reviews
1.4 mi away
Louis Zante Beach Hotel
4.9 mi away
The Bay Hotel & Suites
The Bay Hotel & Suites
#1 of 19 in Vasilikos
509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Venus Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Venus Hotel & Suites

Property: Venus Hotel & Suites
Address: Kalamaki Beach, Kalamaki 291 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Kalamaki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kalamaki
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kalamaki
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kalamaki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Venus Hotel & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Venus is dedicated to perfecting the travel experience through continuous innovation and true Greek hospitality. Hotel Venus embodies a true home away from home experience for those who know and appreciate a small and friendly hotel. Named after the ancient Greek goddess Aphrodite, who in roman is Venus, and symbolized "Love and Beauty." Whether you get married at home or in Zakynthos, the Venus Hotel caters for the newlywed couple. Enjoy our special honeymoon room with its elegant decor and service. We can even host your reception on our premises and provide you an excellent banquet meal. Every year, families and couples, who come back year after year, appreciate the hotel's fine service and truly experience a joyful holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Venus Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Venus Hotel And Suites
Venus Hotel Kalamaki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing