We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly”
Review of Golden Sun Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Golden Sun Hotel
Ranked #10 of 30 Hotels in Kalamaki
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 May 2014

This has to be one of the friendliest hotels I've stayed in, right from the start when we arrived we were directed straight through for lunch, while the receptionist Kate sorted our passport info, then when we'd finished she took us all to our rooms and showed us where everything was. Every member of staff we met always had a smile, Waiters in dining room are very attentive, no sooner have you put down your knife and fork they are there asking if you've finished, although I never felt they were rushing me, just doing their job. Food was much better than I thought it would be for an all inclusive, variety was great, lots of salads and desserts, and different hot courses every day, and lovely full English breakfast available from the hot buffet which was a bonus when I only expected continental breakfast. Rooms aren't massive, but are fully equipped with everything you need. We stayed in 309 which overlooked the pool. We hardly heard any aircraft noise in the room, but was fun to watch them low flying over the hotel on their way to land. I would recommend this hotel for older couples, or young families, not really a lot going on when we were there for teenagers, but don't know if this will change later in the season, as it was quite early when we were there. George and Tassos keep the bar running nicely in the evenings, all inclusive drinks are good. Anita on the snack bar works very hard to keep you in drinks and snacks round the pool. All in all this is a very good hotel, and I hope to return at some point. You can book this hotel independently if you send them an email, and it's so close to the airport that it's easy and cheap enough to jump in a taxi when you arrive in Zante. We will definitely do this next time.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Ann48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (680)
There are newer reviews for Golden Sun Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

417 - 423 of 680 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2014

My husband and i have just had 10 days at the Golden Sun, we came home 25th May 2014. The staff were very friendly, polite and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble.The hotel is immaculate, everything was spotless. We stayed in room 302 which was on the second floor and our balcony overlooked the pool and beautiful grounds. There were plenty off sunbeds, and pool side entertainment. There is also a pool bar where you can drinks, toasted sandwiches, rolls and chips. They also had ice cream but you had to pay for these. The food in the hotel was lovely, alot of choice, there is always something you can eat. The hotel is in a prime spot, 2 minute walk to the beach, and 5 minutes to the main strip. Langana is a 30 minute walk by beach or 5 minutes in a cab, Zante town is about 10 minutes by taxi costing 9 euros. All in all i would definitely recommend this hotel and i will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank 920duchess69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

We had an amazing week at the Golden Sun, food was always fresh and we enjoyed each meal that was served. Communal areas were well maintained and rooms were cleaned daily with fresh towels every other day. We stayed in room 111 which is on the ground floor overlooking the gardens, the room and balcony were spacious and beds were very comfortable. As others have reported, the airport is nearby and planes fly quite low over the hotel but never at night or early in the morning and we actually enjoyed watching them.
The pool is very cold but that's welcome in the midday heat! There always seemed to be plenty of loungers available throughout the day. The pool bar is open from 9am until 6pm and serves drinks, toasties, chips and sandwiches throughout.
There are activities around the pool during the day which my family enjoyed but there is no pressure to get involved if you just want to soak up some rays by the pool. There is also an evening entertainment programme which we enjoyed.
Staff are very friendly, they go out of their way to create a welcoming and friendly atmosphere and nothing is too much trouble. We will definitely go back, the place is a real find!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank lockies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

I stayed here in 2013 with my family. I was 16 at the time and a bit unsure of going to Zante with my parents but it was fine because it was far enough away from Laganas to attract attention from younger people. Saying that, there were some groups of younger people that seemed like they were having a good time. The food here was really nice, a little bit samey but you can expect that from any all inclusive deal. It wasnt exactly all inclusive which we didnt realise until after we arrived. We had to pay extra for certain drinks and ice creams and stuff which was annoying.
The rooms were nice and clean, very basic. My room had a really nice view of the mountains.
There was a hairdryer which was very handy. PLANES FLY VERY LOW VERY EARLY IN THE MORNING!!!!! Although they only land and take of a few times a day!

The pool area was nice although really quite noisy in the day with loud music and games. Personally this doesnt bother me but if you dont like that kind of thing then it may not be for you. There is a little shop next to the hotel where you can buy lilos and things (also food etc). I warn you of the fact that people DO go down extra early and place towels on the sunbeds. Eventually we started doing this as well as we found that we would literally not get a place if we didnt.

It was a really nice entrance to the hotel with a bar area and although i didnt personally go up to the bar, the bar man seemed to be interacting and socialising with other people which is always nice. When you ask for a cocktail made with non-imported alcohol, it is very strong and not watered down.

The evenings were nice if you like bingo and stuff. There was one night of greek dancing which was fun and kind of what my family and I enjoy/look for on a holiday.

If you were to choose the self catering option, there are plenty of really nice restaurants nearby with lovely food and lovely staff.

Overall a really lovely holiday and im going back this year with my best friend to Laganas! wahoo!

Room Tip: Literally no room will get you away from the noise of the planes
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jenaurelia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

just back from the golden sun great hotel i emailed the hotel and asked them for a room with a pool view just before we went they gave me a brilliant room overlooking the pool while we where there the couple that was with us had some bad news the staff could not be more helpfull from the manager down to the receptionist's the bar staff and the entertainment staff and the restaurant staff they kept stopping our friend and asking her if she was alright and if there was anything they could do. the food was good when we where there we found there was plenty of sun beds watch for mitch on the entertainments team he will get you up for all his games all in all this is a great hotel and i will definatly be going back next year if you want a very relaxing holiday this the place to go thank you very much golden sun

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank DUNNE62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

we have just returned from a week at the golden sun hotel, kalamaki and iv got to say it was a fantastic week, We went as a family group consisting of mum (70) down to a teenager (14) and we were all happy and satisfied.
The staff are very friendly and helpful, The rooms were spotless, the bedding was changed twice in the week we were there and clean towels every other day, I read the reviews before going and many people mentioned no shower holder, we had one in our room although we did purchase one from ebay very cheaply but there was no plug for the sink or bath but no major problem there we used a deodorant lid wedged into the plug hole.
The food was lovely although we did wonder why it was served "warm" rather than hot, we then discovered that this is how food is served in Greece as its better for your digestion than "hot" food apparently so be prepared for that but certainly didn't spoil the enjoyment of the food,and I would recommend the live cooking station which cooks food to order, we had some delicious dishes from him. we took a teenager who is quite fussy about his food but he found plenty of choice and even tried new things. The beach is a few minutes walk away but don't expect anything special as this is a marine park area for the loggerhead turtles who nest on the beach every year, its still a nice beach but not commercialized in any way which is actually quite nice.
we went on a boat trip which we booked on the nearby shops as it was cheaper than through the rep and we did see turtles which was a added bonus.The buses stop at the top of the road so you can explore nearby places. zante town is a must and at 1.60 euro each on the bus certainly worth a visit. our biggest fear was the mention of the low flying planes early in the morning, I can honestly say they didn't bother us at all, we did hear them a couple of mornings but they don't fly before 5am and after 10pm again because of the turtles so were never a problem, in fact we were fascinated by them. The pool is very basic but we were informed that the hotel opposite had a pool with slides etc for our son which we were allowed to use but to be honest we were quite happy but i think if you have young children this might be a better pool for the kids. The entertainment team...well Mitch...did a fab job of keeping my teen occupied all week and in the evenings he had a variety of things organized from bingo to karaoke,and again we were informed that the hotel opposite had evening entertainment we could go and watch but you have to buy your drinks, we didn't feel the need to go across and see, Mitch kept us all well entertained. The only downfall of this hotel is the wi-fi, you have to pay 2.50 euros for 30 mins which you can log in and out of all day but free wi-fi would have been great, but saying that a break from the net is a good thing, there are bars and cafes on the strip that offer free wi-fi while in there purchasing a drink etc so your not completely cut off from the net. overall this was a fantastic holiday experience all round, and i would defiantly recommend this hotel. we will certainly be looking to go back

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Trish S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

Like alot of people i looked at the reviews before i went, i was abit worried at what to expect. How wrong was i!!! The hotel is beautiful and clean!! Staff are amazing and what ever you ask they will try to meet your needs without !hesitant! Food was great!! Always found something to eat and the snack bar was lovely, Anita does a great job!!! The flight path was just next to the hotel but no flights are aloud between 12-7am in the morning for the turtles! But i found it very nice watching them come in!! Overall it is a amazing hotel!! And i highly reccomend it!! Looking to book again for next year :)

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Kmsmoo92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kalamaki hotels
0.2 mi away
Bitzaro Grande Hotel
Bitzaro Grande Hotel
#7 of 30 in Kalamaki
1,467 reviews
0.4 mi away
Venus Hotel & Suites
Venus Hotel & Suites
#1 of 30 in Kalamaki
1,249 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bitzaro Palace Hotel
Bitzaro Palace Hotel
#2 of 30 in Kalamaki
729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Klelia Beach Hotel
Klelia Beach Hotel
#5 of 30 in Kalamaki
690 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ionion Blue Hotel
Ionion Blue Hotel
#13 of 30 in Kalamaki
486 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kalamaki Beach Hotel
Kalamaki Beach Hotel
#18 of 30 in Kalamaki
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Sun Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Sun Hotel

Address: Kalamaki Beach, Kalamaki 291 00, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Kalamaki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Kalamaki
#19 Romantic Hotel in Kalamaki
#20 Family Hotel in Kalamaki
Price Range: £73 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Golden Sun Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern resort, the ideal place for those seeking after a relaxing holiday.Comfortable accomodation and friendly service should prove a winning from break. It's ideal for couples and families. The location of Golden Sun Hotel is one of its main assets: built just 150 meters from the sandy beach of Kalamaki, surrounded by evergreen trees and situated only 6 km from the island's town, it shall provide for a unique vacation experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Golden Sun Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Sun And Beach Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing