We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant holiday” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Golden Sun Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Golden Sun Hotel
Ranked #10 of 30 Hotels in Kalamaki
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Brilliant holiday”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

Hotel clean, staff friendly. Food cold and not a lot of choice, entertainment not very good the animation guys just want to play table tennis all day .low aircraft noise but you soon adjust to it. 2 minute walk to the beach and a 15 minute walk to the shops and bars on the main strip of kalamaki. The black pearl bar is a must very nice staff. That's a very honest review.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank cathconboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

570 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    247
    203
    74
    30
    16
See reviews for
166
268
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

We originally booked the Klelia Hotel but were informed 2 days before the holiday that our agents had gone into liquidation. We were a bit apprehensive when we were told that the Golden Sun was available. Upon arrival there was a slight mix up with regards to our booking but this was sorted very quickly by the staff. We were made to feel very welcome and every staff member was ever so friendly during our stay. Nothing was a problem to them and they greeted you at all times.

FOOD. Pleasantly surprised with a decent variety although I did hanker after a good egg.

POOL BAR. Anita at the pool bar worked hard preparing drinks and snacks for everyone and always served with a smile.

EVENING BAR. George was overworked but speedily served everyone and you could have a good laugh with him. You never have to wait too long for your drinks.

ENTERTAINMENT. Limited entertainment but the team was very friendly and a good laugh. Tried to get everyone involved with daytime activities. Couldn't fault them for effort.

ROOMS. Clean and tidy but didn't seem enough wardrobe or drawer space. Take a basin and bath plug with you as the rooms do not provide them.

AIRCRAFT. Low flying aircraft didn't bother us and it was quite enjoyable watching them come in. Our Polish friend (Matt) told us the where they came from and how many passengers they held. A true plane spotter but fell short because he didn't know the names of the passengers lol.

Beach is just a 2 minute walk and town is about 5 minutes. We hired quad bikes for 2 days and went on a great tour of the island. Well worth the money at 40 euros for 2 days plus 10 euro if you wanted a backbox to store your stuff in. Its a lovely island and we saw nearly all of it on the quad.

Every bar, Taverna we went into always had welcoming and very friendly staff and this made the holiday more enjoyable.

At the Hotel we met some fantastic people and had some great days and nights with them so a special mention to Matt and Jadwiga, Paul and Nikki, Ben and Aya and Jeff and Sharon for making our holiday special. Oh not forgetting Joyce and family.

Would go back to the Golden Sun and we can honestly say I have never come across such friendly and sincere staff in my years of holidaying.

Caroline and Mick

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Scouse2601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington Cheshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

This has to be one of the friendliest hotels I've stayed in, right from the start when we arrived we were directed straight through for lunch, while the receptionist Kate sorted our passport info, then when we'd finished she took us all to our rooms and showed us where everything was. Every member of staff we met always had a smile, Waiters in dining room are very attentive, no sooner have you put down your knife and fork they are there asking if you've finished, although I never felt they were rushing me, just doing their job. Food was much better than I thought it would be for an all inclusive, variety was great, lots of salads and desserts, and different hot courses every day, and lovely full English breakfast available from the hot buffet which was a bonus when I only expected continental breakfast. Rooms aren't massive, but are fully equipped with everything you need. We stayed in 309 which overlooked the pool. We hardly heard any aircraft noise in the room, but was fun to watch them low flying over the hotel on their way to land. I would recommend this hotel for older couples, or young families, not really a lot going on when we were there for teenagers, but don't know if this will change later in the season, as it was quite early when we were there. George and Tassos keep the bar running nicely in the evenings, all inclusive drinks are good. Anita on the snack bar works very hard to keep you in drinks and snacks round the pool. All in all this is a very good hotel, and I hope to return at some point. You can book this hotel independently if you send them an email, and it's so close to the airport that it's easy and cheap enough to jump in a taxi when you arrive in Zante. We will definitely do this next time.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Ann48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

My husband and i have just had 10 days at the Golden Sun, we came home 25th May 2014. The staff were very friendly, polite and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble.The hotel is immaculate, everything was spotless. We stayed in room 302 which was on the second floor and our balcony overlooked the pool and beautiful grounds. There were plenty off sunbeds, and pool side entertainment. There is also a pool bar where you can drinks, toasted sandwiches, rolls and chips. They also had ice cream but you had to pay for these. The food in the hotel was lovely, alot of choice, there is always something you can eat. The hotel is in a prime spot, 2 minute walk to the beach, and 5 minutes to the main strip. Langana is a 30 minute walk by beach or 5 minutes in a cab, Zante town is about 10 minutes by taxi costing 9 euros. All in all i would definitely recommend this hotel and i will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank 920duchess69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

We had an amazing week at the Golden Sun, food was always fresh and we enjoyed each meal that was served. Communal areas were well maintained and rooms were cleaned daily with fresh towels every other day. We stayed in room 111 which is on the ground floor overlooking the gardens, the room and balcony were spacious and beds were very comfortable. As others have reported, the airport is nearby and planes fly quite low over the hotel but never at night or early in the morning and we actually enjoyed watching them.
The pool is very cold but that's welcome in the midday heat! There always seemed to be plenty of loungers available throughout the day. The pool bar is open from 9am until 6pm and serves drinks, toasties, chips and sandwiches throughout.
There are activities around the pool during the day which my family enjoyed but there is no pressure to get involved if you just want to soak up some rays by the pool. There is also an evening entertainment programme which we enjoyed.
Staff are very friendly, they go out of their way to create a welcoming and friendly atmosphere and nothing is too much trouble. We will definitely go back, the place is a real find!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank lockies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

I stayed here in 2013 with my family. I was 16 at the time and a bit unsure of going to Zante with my parents but it was fine because it was far enough away from Laganas to attract attention from younger people. Saying that, there were some groups of younger people that seemed like they were having a good time. The food here was really nice, a little bit samey but you can expect that from any all inclusive deal. It wasnt exactly all inclusive which we didnt realise until after we arrived. We had to pay extra for certain drinks and ice creams and stuff which was annoying.
The rooms were nice and clean, very basic. My room had a really nice view of the mountains.
There was a hairdryer which was very handy. PLANES FLY VERY LOW VERY EARLY IN THE MORNING!!!!! Although they only land and take of a few times a day!

The pool area was nice although really quite noisy in the day with loud music and games. Personally this doesnt bother me but if you dont like that kind of thing then it may not be for you. There is a little shop next to the hotel where you can buy lilos and things (also food etc). I warn you of the fact that people DO go down extra early and place towels on the sunbeds. Eventually we started doing this as well as we found that we would literally not get a place if we didnt.

It was a really nice entrance to the hotel with a bar area and although i didnt personally go up to the bar, the bar man seemed to be interacting and socialising with other people which is always nice. When you ask for a cocktail made with non-imported alcohol, it is very strong and not watered down.

The evenings were nice if you like bingo and stuff. There was one night of greek dancing which was fun and kind of what my family and I enjoy/look for on a holiday.

If you were to choose the self catering option, there are plenty of really nice restaurants nearby with lovely food and lovely staff.

Overall a really lovely holiday and im going back this year with my best friend to Laganas! wahoo!

Room Tip: Literally no room will get you away from the noise of the planes
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jenaurelia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

just back from the golden sun great hotel i emailed the hotel and asked them for a room with a pool view just before we went they gave me a brilliant room overlooking the pool while we where there the couple that was with us had some bad news the staff could not be more helpfull from the manager down to the receptionist's the bar staff and the entertainment staff and the restaurant staff they kept stopping our friend and asking her if she was alright and if there was anything they could do. the food was good when we where there we found there was plenty of sun beds watch for mitch on the entertainments team he will get you up for all his games all in all this is a great hotel and i will definatly be going back next year if you want a very relaxing holiday this the place to go thank you very much golden sun

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank DUNNE62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kalamaki
0.1 mi away
Bitzaro Palace Hotel
Bitzaro Palace Hotel
#2 of 30 in Kalamaki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
0.8 mi away
Klelia Beach Hotel
Klelia Beach Hotel
#3 of 30 in Kalamaki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
0.4 mi away
Venus Hotel & Suites
Venus Hotel & Suites
#1 of 30 in Kalamaki
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Louis Zante Beach Hotel
0.8 mi away
Crystal Beach Hotel
Crystal Beach Hotel
#21 of 30 in Kalamaki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bitzaro Grande Hotel
Bitzaro Grande Hotel
#4 of 30 in Kalamaki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Sun Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Sun Hotel

Property: Golden Sun Hotel
Address: Kalamaki Beach, Kalamaki 291 00, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Kalamaki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Kalamaki
#19 Romantic Hotel in Kalamaki
#20 Family Hotel in Kalamaki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Golden Sun Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern resort, the ideal place for those seeking after a relaxing holiday.Comfortable accomodation and friendly service should prove a winning from break. It's ideal for couples and families. The location of Golden Sun Hotel is one of its main assets: built just 150 meters from the sandy beach of Kalamaki, surrounded by evergreen trees and situated only 6 km from the island's town, it shall provide for a unique vacation experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays and LoveHolidays so you can book your Golden Sun Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Sun And Beach Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing