We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant Holiday” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Golden Sun Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Golden Sun Hotel
Ranked #9 of 30 Hotels in Kalamaki
Certificate of Excellence
Cheshire
Level Contributor
45 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Brilliant Holiday”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

Recently stayed here with my family for 10 nights on an AI basis. Efficient check in on arrival & done so with a genuine smile. Rooms were more than adequate & were exceptionally clean. The rooms were cleaned every day, with towels & beds being changed every 3. Breakfast was of a good standard & you certainly wouldn't go hungry even if you were a fussy eater like myself. Only tried the lunch offerings 2 or 3 times as we always went to the beach so we couldn't be bothered to walk back up. Evening meals were hit & miss & extremely frustrating with the lack of room in the restaurant (far too many tables squashed together, a lady went flying in to a nearby table whilst we were there as she'd tripped over somebody elses chair). Pool bar we only ever went 3 times so can't really comment on that other than it pretty much did what it said on the tin in regards to serving snacks throughout the day. Most sunbeds were reserved by 08:30 & nobody on them till gone 12:00 - very irritating! Maria & Kate on reception were quite possibly the friendliest receptionists we have ever come across in all the years of travelling (& they were both genuine with it)! All in all it was a good hotel, but I wouldn't stay here again!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank CheshireRocketman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

570 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    247
    203
    74
    30
    16
See reviews for
166
268
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

Stayed all inc for 7 nights. Hotel and rooms very clean and modern. Gardens and pool area lovely. Wonderful friendly staff, very helpful. Short walk to beach and kalamaki strip. Hired mopeds, jeep, and quads from reception. Reasonably priced. Maid service everyday. Air con was 6 euros per day. Drinks, not bad. Mythos beer was good, local spirits and usual mixers. George works the bar, and brill at his job. Also at the pool snack bar you can get drinks and a few snacks all day long. Food was abit hit and miss. Breakfasts are fab, something for everyone. Lunch was ok, only went once or twice. Evening meals were either really good or quite poor. And the main downside is the restaurant feels too small and cramped at times when it was busy, more like a canteen. You just wanted to eat and get out. There was not much to entertain us of an evening, if you don't like bingo etc, however one night they had an entertainer doing a fireshow. It was a great success!
Overall we had a great holiday. You get what you pay for. This is a 3 star hotel and a very good one. Friendliest staff ever. From the lovely ladies on reception, George and Tassos at the bar, and Anita at the snack bar, they work such long hours, but always have a smile for everyone. I would recommend this hotel to anyone. Yamas!

Room Tip: We had room 304 facing the pool 2nd floor. Loved it! Sun all morning, shade in the afternoon. Great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

Lovely week here for my husbands birthday.
The staff were brilliant and very polite from the gardener to the owner.

Anita at the pool bar is a gem!

No real entertainment in the evening, which is a shame.

Great team of bar staff, both of them!

Lovely beach nr by and a short stroll into the town.

Something for everyone in the resort

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aly j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

Clean and tidy, staff very friendly, good choice of food (although not enough choice of fresh fruit for me)
Ventured out of the hotel from time to time and the staff were very helpful if you needed guidance on where to go

Over all enjoyable

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allis0n67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

- stayed all inclusive for 7 nights
- room clean and tidy
- staff helpful and friendly
- No real entertainment provided by the hotel
- air con and wifi provided at a cost, 6€ per day air con & 2.50€ per half hour wifi
- food of average quality

Room Tip: 212 overlooks the pool on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Beth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

excellent hotel really good for 3* I'm used to staying 4* but this was no different really. clean rooms/pool etc and friendly staff. all inclusive options are great with good range of drinks and snacks round the clock. Food was also very good with something for all tastes and lots of it! 2 minute walk to a golden sandy beach and clear waters and 5 mins from resort strip - Kalmaki is quiet quiet but by no means deserted. also thre si a bus every hour or so to Zakinthos town where there is mroe shopping to be had.

n.b. kalamaki is a national marine park and there volunteers to help protect the turtle's nesting grounds you need to walk close to the sea and the beach is closed at night - also if you want to see the turtles you'll need to take a glass bottom boat they're not just swimming about in the bay.

Room Tip: we had a corner room which was a bit small, fine for us as we only really showered and slept in it h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Gus k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

We are just coming to the end of a two week holiday at the golden sun. We have had a very enjoyable time and met some great people (sue and john). The standards in this hotel are extremely high it is always spotlessly clean the food is good. The strength of this hotel is its staff who are genuie friendly and will do whatever it takes to make you happy. Special mention for george and tassos in the bar who are two great characters who always have time for you and go out of their way to make you happy

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Jeremy m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kalamaki
0.8 mi away
Klelia Beach Hotel
Klelia Beach Hotel
#3 of 30 in Kalamaki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bitzaro Palace Hotel
Bitzaro Palace Hotel
#2 of 30 in Kalamaki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
0.4 mi away
Venus Hotel & Suites
Venus Hotel & Suites
#1 of 30 in Kalamaki
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Louis Zante Beach Hotel
0.8 mi away
Crystal Beach Hotel
Crystal Beach Hotel
#21 of 30 in Kalamaki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
2.5 mi away
Diana Palace Hotel
Diana Palace Hotel
#2 of 29 in Argassi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Sun Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Sun Hotel

Property: Golden Sun Hotel
Address: Kalamaki Beach, Kalamaki 291 00, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Kalamaki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Kalamaki
#19 Romantic Hotel in Kalamaki
#20 Family Hotel in Kalamaki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Golden Sun Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern resort, the ideal place for those seeking after a relaxing holiday.Comfortable accomodation and friendly service should prove a winning from break. It's ideal for couples and families. The location of Golden Sun Hotel is one of its main assets: built just 150 meters from the sandy beach of Kalamaki, surrounded by evergreen trees and situated only 6 km from the island's town, it shall provide for a unique vacation experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Ebookers and LoveHolidays so you can book your Golden Sun Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Sun And Beach Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing