We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good value”
Review of Golden Sun Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Golden Sun Hotel
Ranked #10 of 30 Hotels in Kalamaki
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 July 2014

The Golden Sun has it's flaws, but I think that overall it's very good and that you get excellent value for money.

This was my 2nd year at the hotel and they seemed to have improved on the previous year showing that they take feedback on board and care about their guests. The rooms have been improved as has the food which offered a good selection. It's nice to eat out in Kalamaki, but if you had to eat at the hotel for every meal it would be ok. Again, you have to remember how much you're paying, it's great value.

The staff are great, especially George and Anita. The entertainment staff were nice, friendly and not too pushy (their dancing was awful though, sorry!)

I stayed in early June, the same time as the previous year but there seemed to be a shift in guest nationalities with a higher proportion of Eastern Europeans. That's not a criticism at all, just an observation but it does change the dynamic ever so slightly with less interaction between guests as no doubt because of language barriers.

I'm not the type of person to spend all day by the pool which is just as well as getting a sunbed required getting up between 7-8am to "reserve" one which was frustrating. They often remained empty for hours as well. My advice would be to just move towels if people aren't using the sunbeds.

I like seeing the low flying planes on approach/take-off from the airport. The noise they make is loud as they're so close to the hotel but it only lasts for a few seconds. But if that sort of thing bothers you, then this place isn't for you. They only fly during daylight hours so it won't keep you awake at night.

I would be more than happy to return to the Golden Sun :)

Room Tip: Pool facing rooms are the nicer ones, ideally 1st floor.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank JamesStanza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (680)
There are newer reviews for Golden Sun Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

399 - 405 of 680 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

I have been fortunate enough to have had at either one or two holidays abroad every year since I was a year old. I am now 20 and this has been my favourite holiday yet (even above florida, mexico and california/las vegas).
The staff were exceptional! Haven't met more friendly and welcoming people!
Food was great, alcohol was great and location was great - less than a minute stroll to the beach (the beach from where the turtles can be seen in the sea!)
My advice would definately be to hire a quad and visit the whole island - we did so in a day. Some amazing places to visit!
The only thing that was missing was a sofa/seats to sit on in the hotel room. The only option is the bed (which you cannot lean your back against the wall on due to the picture) or plastic patio chairs. But other than that, a perfect holiday! Cannot wait to return - and I dont say that often!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Hotel was lovely, in a lovely area close to beach! Staff were the friendliest staff around and so helpful! Rooms are very modern and clean however we were on the bottom floor and our bathroom was absolutely riddled with ants and other insects bedsides that it was a great holiday. Brilliant entertainment would definitely come again

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sophh96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We stayed 8th June for 2 weeks couldn't Really fault anything. Evening entertainment could be a lot better and more fresh fruit in the dinning room food a bit repetitive but to be expected from all inclusive. There was no ice cream for children except when dining. would recommend to any one

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LillyLoo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

Recently stayed here with my family for 10 nights on an AI basis. Efficient check in on arrival & done so with a genuine smile. Rooms were more than adequate & were exceptionally clean. The rooms were cleaned every day, with towels & beds being changed every 3. Breakfast was of a good standard & you certainly wouldn't go hungry even if you were a fussy eater like myself. Only tried the lunch offerings 2 or 3 times as we always went to the beach so we couldn't be bothered to walk back up. Evening meals were hit & miss & extremely frustrating with the lack of room in the restaurant (far too many tables squashed together, a lady went flying in to a nearby table whilst we were there as she'd tripped over somebody elses chair). Pool bar we only ever went 3 times so can't really comment on that other than it pretty much did what it said on the tin in regards to serving snacks throughout the day. Most sunbeds were reserved by 08:30 & nobody on them till gone 12:00 - very irritating! Maria & Kate on reception were quite possibly the friendliest receptionists we have ever come across in all the years of travelling (& they were both genuine with it)! All in all it was a good hotel, but I wouldn't stay here again!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
3  Thank CheshireRocketman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Stayed all inc for 7 nights. Hotel and rooms very clean and modern. Gardens and pool area lovely. Wonderful friendly staff, very helpful. Short walk to beach and kalamaki strip. Hired mopeds, jeep, and quads from reception. Reasonably priced. Maid service everyday. Air con was 6 euros per day. Drinks, not bad. Mythos beer was good, local spirits and usual mixers. George works the bar, and brill at his job. Also at the pool snack bar you can get drinks and a few snacks all day long. Food was abit hit and miss. Breakfasts are fab, something for everyone. Lunch was ok, only went once or twice. Evening meals were either really good or quite poor. And the main downside is the restaurant feels too small and cramped at times when it was busy, more like a canteen. You just wanted to eat and get out. There was not much to entertain us of an evening, if you don't like bingo etc, however one night they had an entertainer doing a fireshow. It was a great success!
Overall we had a great holiday. You get what you pay for. This is a 3 star hotel and a very good one. Friendliest staff ever. From the lovely ladies on reception, George and Tassos at the bar, and Anita at the snack bar, they work such long hours, but always have a smile for everyone. I would recommend this hotel to anyone. Yamas!

Room Tip: We had room 304 facing the pool 2nd floor. Loved it! Sun all morning, shade in the afternoon. Great...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Lovely week here for my husbands birthday.
The staff were brilliant and very polite from the gardener to the owner.

Anita at the pool bar is a gem!

No real entertainment in the evening, which is a shame.

Great team of bar staff, both of them!

Lovely beach nr by and a short stroll into the town.

Something for everyone in the resort

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aly j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kalamaki hotels
0.2 mi away
Bitzaro Grande Hotel
Bitzaro Grande Hotel
#7 of 30 in Kalamaki
1,467 reviews
0.4 mi away
Venus Hotel & Suites
Venus Hotel & Suites
#1 of 30 in Kalamaki
1,249 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bitzaro Palace Hotel
Bitzaro Palace Hotel
#2 of 30 in Kalamaki
729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Klelia Beach Hotel
Klelia Beach Hotel
#5 of 30 in Kalamaki
690 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ionion Blue Hotel
Ionion Blue Hotel
#13 of 30 in Kalamaki
486 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kalamaki Beach Hotel
Kalamaki Beach Hotel
#18 of 30 in Kalamaki
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Sun Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Sun Hotel

Address: Kalamaki Beach, Kalamaki 291 00, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Kalamaki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Kalamaki
#19 Romantic Hotel in Kalamaki
#20 Family Hotel in Kalamaki
Price Range: £73 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Golden Sun Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern resort, the ideal place for those seeking after a relaxing holiday.Comfortable accomodation and friendly service should prove a winning from break. It's ideal for couples and families. The location of Golden Sun Hotel is one of its main assets: built just 150 meters from the sandy beach of Kalamaki, surrounded by evergreen trees and situated only 6 km from the island's town, it shall provide for a unique vacation experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Golden Sun Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Sun And Beach Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing