We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“sandpaper for towels” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Garden Village Apartments

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kalamaki
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Garden Village Apartments
Ranked #1 of 7 Kalamaki B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ashford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“sandpaper for towels”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

we stayed here for two weeks in july, the room is beautiful, the cleaners come every day, but the towels, toilet roll and sheets are like sandpaper especially if you have sunburn. The food is expensive we paid 22 euros for a full English which was not very clever . The next day we walked down the road to Costas and a full English with tea and toast was 7 euros for 2 people.If you are not in the "click" here you don't feel very comfortable, The owner gets in the pool every day, and if she gets splashed you get a filthy look !!!!!. I enjoyed my stay in Zante but wouldn't stay here again, The dogs bark till early hours

Room Tip: all rooms are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank julie p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pettypettydog, Owner at Garden Village Apartments, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
At Garden Village we are always keen to hear your views on your holiday. In particular, we pride ourselves on providing a personal experience and do our best to cater for each guest's individual needs. We take your comments seriously and do everything we can to continually improve the service we offer to all of our guests. However, we feel that it is inappropriate to discuss specific points raised in an open forum, such as a public website or via social media, but are more than happy to address them directly with you. The Garden Village website includes contact details should you wish to discuss anything with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    332
    23
    17
    4
    4
See reviews for
134
190
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

This was our 3rd visit to the Garden Village and as usual did not disappoint, we stayed in the studios which are very well furnished and well equipped in the kitchen area. The pool and the pool area are kept very clean and well looked after, all the garden areas are very well maintained. Carol the owner of the Garden Village is absolutely brilliant a real gem, she will do anything for you from booking restaurants to going out to buy fresh meat, fish etc especially for you. If there is a special occasion she will pull out all the stops for you. All the staff are wonderful, Lorraine is there during the day and she makes lovely breakfasts and lunches. My husband is diabetic and she made him up a special lemon tea every day which was delicious. Matt and Jess are there in the evenings, Matt being a chef will cook anything special for you, he cooked us a delicious meal one evening, lovely mussels to start followed by a wonderful lobster, it was to die for. Jess is very friendly and will always serve your drinks with a smile, l must say they are both very professional. There are pleanty of restaurants if you like eating out as we do. Our favourite one in Kalamaki is Michaelos but we also like to go further afield to Peppermint in Argassi and the Green Boat in Zakynthos Town. If you've never been to the Garden Village l promise you will not be disappointed, you'll want to go back. we have already booked to go back next year. In my opinion The Garden Village is the best hotel in Greece....

Room Tip: we had room No 7 which was very good with a nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patricialuffrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

I really enjoyed my trip to Garden Village, the place was clean and smart, the pool area was pleasant, and it was very well situated in Kalamaki.
On holiday I like to eat out in different restaurants, we found plenty within a short walking distance.
You will need to shower before 8pm, as the hot water is turned off at 8, I found this a little strange but lived with it. The air con worked well and was not an addition to the price (nice for a self catering place).
Very pleasant place to spend two weeks, I would defiantly return

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Anitamick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

Having had holidays in Corfu and Thassos before, I can honestly say that the two weeks we spent here at the end of June, beginning of July were the best holiday out of all of these. The Garden Village Apartments is a lovely hotel. The rooms are very inviting and comfortable and decorated to a high standard. The gardens are very well maintained and lovely to look at. The pool/bar area is well maintained and very clean. Carol and her staff went out of their way to ensure that we had everything we needed. The food, cooked by Matt, Lorraine and Carol was very nice and we ate at the hotel often. Although the hotel is very near the main road we were not disturbed by excessive noise. The beach is within walking distance and the main town of Zante is a short bus or taxi ride from Kalamaki. We will certainly be returning here and I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denise E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

May 2014. Apartment clean,powerful shower, Carol helpful and busy, nice pool, short walk to the beach, staff very good. Nice holiday apartments to choose if you have young children as you can easily keep an eye on them. Downside was the birds chirping every morning right on your balcony every day (this is nature so can't be helped). Other downside were the dogs that barked until 2 or 3 in the morning. All though these dogs were probably a couple of hundred yards away the owners there don't seem to care about keeping them quiet. Some dogs in the area are locked in cages in the direct sun and others are left to roam the area. Everyone seem friendly in the area though. If you stay here eat outside, it's cheaper and a little better. I ate there a couple of times and wasn't impressed. Carol served me up a jacket potato which was black and buggered although edible on the inside. It's a bit weird though as she kindly extended our kick out room time but at the same time it seemed she didn't really like us. Just a note to make here though if you go with Thomson (DON'T) they completely ruined any part of the holiday they were involved in (DON'T BOOK THE SUNSET CRUISE, IT'S ROUGH). They drop you off at the roadside and don't be fooled if they tell you 'when we pick you up we'll come down to the hotel and get you' THEY DON'T. I haven't rated it 3 out of 5 because of Thomson, the rating is based on the garden village. Nice place, hard working people, good for kids, but a little improvement needed.

Room Tip: Try for 1st floor otherwise people at the pool can see into your rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Graham B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the GV in May this year, apart from the weather being unusually cold the holiday was fabulous as ever. As repeat visitors it really is home from home for us and as the reviews say a 5 star venue. Carol and all the team can't help you enough. The happy feeling you get there is infectious! Everything is close by and its lovely to mix dining at the hotel with excellent food to visiting the taverna's only a few minutes walk away. A little piece of paradise.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LolS551
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

We have just come back from a lovely week away in Zante. The Garden Village Apartments were fantastic, just what we needed. Carol is very friendly and full of expert advice to make sure your holiday is perfect. Infact all of the staff are so friendly I would reccomend this accomodation to anyone going to Zante.

If I had to give any criticism I would say the beds are a little on the hard side, but I've never found a comfy bed yet when travelling abroad!

Room Tip: If you are in a two bed apartment and are looking for privacy make sure you are on the 1st floor. W...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kalamaki hotels
0.4 mi away
Venus Hotel & Suites
Venus Hotel & Suites
#1 of 31 in Kalamaki
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,158 reviews
0.2 mi away
Klelia Beach Hotel
Klelia Beach Hotel
#3 of 31 in Kalamaki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bitzaro Palace Hotel
Bitzaro Palace Hotel
#2 of 31 in Kalamaki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Bitzaro Grande Hotel
Bitzaro Grande Hotel
#4 of 31 in Kalamaki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,303 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Macedonia
Hotel Macedonia
#26 of 31 in Kalamaki
4.0 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crystal Beach Hotel
Crystal Beach Hotel
#22 of 31 in Kalamaki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden Village Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Village Apartments

Property: Garden Village Apartments
Address: Arkadii, Kalamaki 291 00, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Kalamaki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Kalamaki
Number of rooms: 24
Also Known As:
Garden Village Apartments Hotel Kalamaki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing