We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Clean and great location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Macedonia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Macedonia
Ranked #26 of 31 Hotels in Kalamaki
Certificate of Excellence
Vianen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Clean and great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

We stayed at the Macedonia hotel in August 2014. The rooms and all other areas of the hotel are kept really clean. Good size pool, annoying though that at 07.00 hours towels were put on the sunbeds. Friendly staff, room well decorated, small but very clean shower, and always clean linen and towels. Great location with regards to beach and centre but you will have planes flying over the hotel during the day as the runway is 50 meters away from the hotel. Would recommend the hotel to friends and family for sure.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank M_P19702014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    161
    99
    51
    9
    17
See reviews for
125
120
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
manchester
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014

We stayed at this hotel from 2nd August-16th August 2014, block C room 312.
This was our first stay in Zante after visiting crete several times before and it was very surprising just how much cheaper this island was. Ok, we were given a third floor room which was immaculate with pool view from nice size balcony and the front door opened to a view of the sea. What more could you ask for???!!! a beautiful start to the holiday! The rooms have been recently renovated and they are lovely.
We then ventured down to the pool and this was lovely size and really clean and perfect for our daughter Jessica seven years old. There was also a really lovely park on the hotel grounds which Jessica made the most of and made lots of new friends. This is perfect for kids !!!!!!
Nikos has had some reviewers on here saying that he not very friendly, i found him very pleasant and nice and if anything, he just a quiet guy and thats all there is to it. Another lady who is there is Brenda who likes to come over and tell you how to order food and drink in greek and we had many laughs with my wrong pronounciation!!!!!! One who stands out in the bar...... A little sweetheart called Ledianna who made sure everything was perfect for you from the bar and Kitchen. She is a lovely girl and my daughter Jessica really latched on to her. Ledianna even purchased a present of a bottle of perfume for Jessica on the morning we were leaving. lovely touch indeed from a hotel of staff who were brilliant all fortnight.
The beach 500m away, the hotel clean and lovely with pools and kids park and welcoming with great entertainment. What more would you want when a bottle of Mythos 500ml is 2.5 euros in a hotel bar!!!!!!
we loved this place and would definately return next year.
Thanks to all at Macedonia,
Nathan( efialtis), Tracey and Jessica.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ngb11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

I have stayed at Macedonia three times now and I am goin back there next month each of my stays have been really good. Staff are very welcoming and polite and the rooms are always kept really clean, food is good as is the entertainment I would recommend this hotel to all my friends and family.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cbatten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

we found this to be very comfortable, the rooms are clean with basic but good décor, shower room was good, nice size apartment, beds are ok, always had clean linen and towels. A/C is a must. Friendly staff, great pool & bar. Prices are quite good, they offer English and greek food, the kids always had lots to do, great location away from the hustle but close enough to the beach and strip. Some complaints on here about the staff, we found if you actually make an effort to speak to them, say hello and try a few greek words they are friendly. A nice place in a great location. My only advice to make this a great place is .. speak to the staff, ask how they are, ask about local places, local food and they will treat you well. Demanding your ham egg and chips with a pint of stella wont get the same response!

Room Tip: Corner rooms and outfacing rooms are more shaded and cooler in the evening
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bristol12345980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

When we booked our holiday to Kalamaki with Thomas Cook , we asked for the best of both worlds. Being in our mid 20's we wanted a quieter location to be able to relax during the day and sleep easy at night that was just a stones throw away from the vibrant nightlife of Laganas.
The Hotel Macedonia was perfect for us!
The hotel was perfectly situated just slightly off the main road , just 5 minutes away from Laganas in a taxi (7 Euros) and a 5 minute walk away from local bars and resteraunts.
The hotel was immaculately clean and there were always sun loungers available during the day.
The staff at the hotel were pleasent and helpful and the food at the pool bar was delicious and great value for money!
I'd highly recommend this hotel as it caters for everyone!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kitz909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

Stayed at hotel July 2014 for one week. After looking at a few mixed reviews was not 100% sure what we would find. Firstly you do not need to pre book trans to & from airport. The taxi fare is only 10euro the hotel also offer shuttle bus 10euros. Friends pre booked they were picked up about four hours before flight time, with airport only 10 minute taxi ride, seemed very early pick up for them. Going on to the hotel its about 5 min max flat walk to beach.Sunbeds on the beach are 7euros for 2 beds and umbrella.The hotel is VERY clean bedrooms contain kettle full size fridge and small cooker. The rooms are large newly furnished and nicely decorated. Each room has good size balcony. You have normal doors and wooden shutters onto terrace which not only keep the room dark but cut the noise. We had no problem with noise from planes. They stop flying early evening then start quite early morning. They did not cause us any problem. Our room was 109 block D great for us as sun was not in room any time so lovely to sit out on terrace.A short walk maybe 5 min takes you to main road with three decent size supermarkets. The one furthest down the road best, middle 2nd best closest ok but smallest.The fresh bread is excellent.The hotel has free Wifi we were told there was a charge but because it is slow its now free. I found it ok for emails. All cafes and restaurants offer free wifi. There is a cafe very nice on the beach which offers free wifi.. The beach is narrow but sea lovely you need to get to beach reasonably early before 10.00hrs to make sure you get sunbed. The beach is closed during evening because of turtles. A 15/20 minute along the beach to Lagarnos where you can take a 1 hour boat ride to see the turtles costs 10euro each excellent. Best to take a taxi to Zante, bus service not good.Lovely shops port and cafe/restaurants.Back to resort If you want cheap cocktails the Hotel Maraleen serve them early evening. Not very strong I found but nice.There are a number of good restaurants on the main road cant miss main road as its the only one, we visited the Olive Tree excellent not expensive. If you want disco etc you need to go to Kalarmaki. Should of said before the room was cleaned every other day with clean sheets towels. The one part in Greece I found not good was their toilet system. would rather not go into detail but a little primitive.I would highly recommend hotel, when you take into account what you are paying excellent. Its the flights that are expensive. The planes fly almost above hotel but it did not cause us any problems, its not a busy airport like Palma.

Room Tip: Ask for room furthest away from planes our room as described was good as it was out of the sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank mtob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

Me and my girlfriend stayed here because 2 days before flying to zante we where told there was problems with are original hotel in argassi so they moved us here we had a shower you had to hold because it would not stay upright and was unable to hang our clothing up due to the pole in the wardrobe being to small. We also found we might as well be sleeping on the runway as the planes fly directly over you and keep you awake. We found our stay very poor and ended up moving hotel .

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kalamaki hotels
0.8 mi away
Daniel Hotel
Daniel Hotel
#18 of 31 in Kalamaki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kalamaki Beach Hotel
Kalamaki Beach Hotel
#17 of 31 in Kalamaki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
0.9 mi away
Daisy Apartments
Daisy Apartments
#25 of 31 in Kalamaki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Vanessa
Hotel Vanessa
#19 of 31 in Kalamaki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
0.4 mi away
Venus Hotel & Suites
Venus Hotel & Suites
#1 of 31 in Kalamaki
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,158 reviews
0.9 mi away
Crystal Beach Hotel
Crystal Beach Hotel
#22 of 31 in Kalamaki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Macedonia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Macedonia

Property: Hotel Macedonia
Address: Kalamaki Zakynthos, Kalamaki 290 92, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Kalamaki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 31 Hotels in Kalamaki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Macedonia 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Jet2Holidays , Priceline, Onthebeach, LateRooms and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Macedonia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macedonia Hotel Kalamaki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing