We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Third visit to Meandros”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Meandros Boutique Hotel
Ranked #3 of 30 Hotels in Kalamaki
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 October 2013

We go elsewhere in the year to different countries,but the Meandros is really a home from home and like to spend a week a year there if we can.
All the staff there are truly lovely people and will help in anyway they can to make sure you enjoy your stay.People return to the Meandros time again so it really speaks for itself. We are returning in 6months and can't wait.
The food is very good,the rooms cleaned on a daily basis and we have had great rooms each time. The noise from music at the pool bar is minimal and lets face it we all like a bit of music with our long cool lager in Kalamaki don't we?
We saw the baby turtles on the beach this time which was a bonus,they are so tiny they can easily be trodden on.
We hope all of you at the Meandros have a good winter,and by the way Mario, behave yourself in Milano.See you in May. Love to all.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank deedeeYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
katerina-dianahotels, Manager at Meandros Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

Hello deedee!

Thank you so much for taking the time to add your review on Meandros hotel and for choosing to share your holiday memories with the rest of us here.

It makes us feel so happy to know that you consider Meandros you home away from home and we feel such a honor that you have chosen to visit us again. Please accept our appreciation from the bottom of our hearts.

On behalf of all, I would like to pass a huge thank you for your kind comments on our lovely staff and for giving them such a praise for their work and character.

We would like you to know that our home will be always open for you and our staff will be right here on the spot as always to greet you back with a warm smile.

Until we get to meet each other in six months, stay safe back at home and enjoy your winter the most. As for Mario, for sure he enjoy his trip in Milano! I am not sure if Milano is ready for him though…LoL

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (570)
There are newer reviews for Meandros Boutique Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

286 - 292 of 570 reviews

Reviewed 11 October 2013

It is the staff that make the hotel, there are limitations to the comfort of the rooms but you step out of the room and the staff more than compensate, they are friendly, very helpful and all have an excellent sense of humour. Don't misunderstand, the facilities are far from poor, the place is clean and tidy, the bar is fully stacked and the food has a great choice, but it really is the staff that makes it a little special, thanks to them all, noting was too much trouble.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mickey620
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
katerina-dianahotels, Manager at Meandros Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

Hello Mickey!

Thank you very much for taking the time to add your review on Meandros hotel and for choosing to share your holiday memories with the rest of us here.

First of all we would like to say that we are happy that our hotel succeeded on meeting your needs and standards and we are thanking you for giving this a mention.

Most of all, what makes us more happy is that our staff made you feel so comfortable and relaxed and we would like to express our appreciation for giving them such a big credit for their work and personality. That truly means a lot to all of us and it does boost our passion and enthusiasm for what we do.

We hope that we will have the chance to see you back again with us in the future for another great holiday at Meandros along with our lovely staff who will be right here to welcome you back with a smile.

Until then, have a great time back home and always smile. Love from all..xxx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

My family and I stayed at the meandros hotel for two weeks from 15th September, room 301. The staff were all lovely, our room was cleaned daily. The manager should be so proud of her staff, which I'm sure she is. I have 2 girls age 7 and 13 and they had such a good time they cried when they had to leave. Thanks for making our holiday such a good one. Missing you all. Beth especially misses mario who is fab with kids and grown ups. See you next year.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank karynmcconkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
katerina-dianahotels, Manager at Meandros Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2013

Hello Karyn!

Thank you so much for taking the time to add your review on Meandros hotel and for choosing to share your memories with the rest of us here.

It makes us feel so happy to know that you had a great time here in our home and especially that your children enjoyed themselves so much. We are very proud of Mario who took care of your girls the best way he could! Thumbs up Mario! We do hope that your daughters feel a little better now and please tell them that their friends at the Meandros will be waiting for their return visit!

On behalf of everyone at the hotel, we would like to say a huge thank you for your kind comments and for giving us a special praise on what we do and this is to take care of you and keep you worry free away from all while holidaying with us.

Please know that our home will always be open for you and our staff will be right here on the spot to greet you back with a smile from the heart. Until then, take care and always remember us and smile..xxxx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Our initial experiences at Meandros were not good. Despite having specifically requested an upstairs room, we were given a room on the ground floor, with a gloomy, basement type feel about it and a distinct lack of privacy. After suffering it for a day, I decided, for the first time ever in a hotel, to request a room change. At first the receptionist was not very helpful, but said she would speak to the manager and to come back later. When I saw the manager she said that they had no note of our room preference from the booking agency, showing me the actual document. However after some discussion she offered us a room on the second floor, which was infinitely preferable. From that point on our holiday improved dramatically. With a fairly small hotel like the Meandos, room quality, ambience and amenity can vary considerably. My advice would be to avoid one on the ground floor, unless you plan to spend an absolute minimum amount of time in it. I suppose the "boutique" term applies to the fact that probably all the rooms are different. Not much consolation if you happen to have one of the worst though!!!

However, thanks to the manager and staff who did their best to sort out the problem for us.

As far as the general points of the hotel are concerned, its prime asset is the staff, who are extremely helpful, pleasant and efficient. Without that benefit the hotel's rankings could be very much lower. Whether the hotel is actually 4 star may be debatable, but the rooms are large, and fairly well furnished, albeit in a slightly minimalist style. What lets it down are things like the mixed quality of the sun beds round the pool, with some looking the worse for wear, with broken parts and torn covers. The pool itself is excellent, and the deep end is just that. We were there for a week and the food, although quite tasty and appetising, became somewhat repetitive. The variety of what was on offer at breakfast never seemed to change and the appeal of the mini hot dog type of sausages diminished quite rapidly.

The hotel is not that far off what it could and should be, but I guess it may have suffered from the economic downturn which may also be contributing to the number of abandoned shops and bars in Kalamaki itself. Would we recommend the Meandros, yes, with a few caveats, but overall, I expect that it would give most of those who visit a very enjoyable and relaxing holiday, depending on the room, of course.

And insist that the holiday company passes on your room preferences to the hotel!!!!!!

Room Tip: Avoid the ground floor, unless you enjoy the feeling of being in a dark and dingy basement,
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank StoneyBloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
katerina-dianahotels, Manager at Meandros Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2013

Hello Stoneybloke,

Thank you for taking the time to add your review on Meandros hotel and for sharing your personal thoughts with the rest of us here.

First of all we would like to express our frustration for the fact that your initial experience in our hotel was not the one you expected.

Moreover, the fact that the tour operator did not pass us your remark is unacceptable because if we had the chance to know we would be able to have it in our allocation plans and give you a room that would be ideal for your preferences.

We would like to make clear in this point though that special remarks are not guaranteed and they are a subject availability. Nevertheless, we always do our best to fulfill all the special remarks we have in house and if not we always try to as close as possible to what our guests request. We are sorry that your tour operator failed to serve you properly.

With regards to the ground floor room you were allocated, we are sorry to gear that it was not able to meet your needs. Our ground floor rooms are very frequently requested by guests who have children, or some kind of disability and often by those you like some shade in the room so they can be protected from the heat.

As far as your other comments are concerned, we would like to say a very big thank you for your kind words on our staff and the credit you are giving them for their work and personality.

Our philosophy as a business and our primary target is to make our guests as happy as we can and make them feel like home. This is what we always try to pass to our staff and as they are all people who love what they do and love to meet new people, this is executed perfectly by them. That makes us all very proud of having such an awesome group of people working with us in our home.

Lastly, we do hope that the overall experience of your holiday in our hotel was pleasant and that you got the chance to take some good memories with you back home.

It would a be a great pleasure for us if we had the chance to see you back again with us in the future so we could serve you in the way you expect. Once again, thank you for taking sometime to go through our response. We all wish you have a nice winter back home and take care.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

After seeing all the good reviews of this hotel you would like to think that all aspects would be pretty good. However, it's not. Tatty and torn sun beds ,hard mattresses ,below average food, constant poolside music, dark and tatty room. On the plus side the majority of the staff do their upmost to please. The beach 5 minutes away is very nice ,especially for lunch at the crystal beach hotel veranda , which overlooks the bay. I dare say the management will offer all the usual no its not like this and that at the bottom of this review but for me that's how it is!

Room Tip: Don't go here
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank worldoftony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
katerina-dianahotels, Manager at Meandros Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2013

Hello Tony,

Thank you for taking the time to add your review on meandros hotel and for sharing your personal view with the rest of us here.

First of all we would like to say thank you for expressing your positive comments towards our staff and the work they to to make everyone happy. This is much appreciated.

With regards to the rest of your review, with all due respect please allow me to make some necessary comments on your writings.

The reason we are here to reply to every review ( positive and negative) is not to question neither to criticize our guest’s reviews. When it comes to reviews that carry out an advisable character based on arguments we are very willing to take stand for our mistakes, discuss any issue raised and improve the way we operate our hotel so as to meet the needs and wants of our guests. Our philosophy on how we respond to every single review can easily be reflected on our listing.

In more detail, as far as the tatty and torn sunbeds you mention, yes probably you are not referring to the total number of our sunbeds. Of course some may have been tired from the constant use of the summer season but we always make sure to replace those ones with new ones.

We never claimed that our mattresses are soft. We do have hard mattresses as they are all anatomic and what we advice our guests is to report to the reception if they have any issue on this matter and we make sure to put a soft cover above the mattress that makes it softer.

As for the pool side music I am a little surprised that you make this kind of comment as a pool bar is considered to have some kind of music. If you are referring to the kind of music that may have not been the one of your taste, we apologize for that. Our pool bar staff would have been happy to change it if asked.

Lastly, with regards to our food, we hold a 14 day menu that repeats itself every two weeks. It consists of theme nights, show cooking and carving from our chef. Our food schedule is considered to be very good in it’s quality and quantity according to our guests.

Moreover, our chef Nikos is always on the spot to cater special requirements from our guests and he is very flexible on the service he provides. It would be very useful for us and the readers of your review if your subjective comments had more detail so we could be aware of what exactly you did not like so we could assist you on the spot like we do with all of our guests.

Once again, we would like to thank you for taking the time to go through our response. If you feel the need to discuss any of the above, please feel free to contact us in our email box. We are happy to discuss any issue you would like. We all wish you have a nice winter back home.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Many years ago we came across a newly build hotel,(the tiling was just being finished) called meandros and decided to get the information to book...we totally fell in love with the place and spend two holidays a year here for about 5/6 years..then decided it was time to try elsewhere...after an absence of 6 years we decided to book and see if the hotel still had the magic it always had ,we were not disappointed ,on our arrival a former member of staff recognised us so the hotel upgraded our room and gave us a pool view which was wonderful.The staff are so friendly and will bend over backwards to do anything for you especially Maria ...Mario was fantastic with the children and often would initiate some sort of entertainment.The food was absolutely fine although we ate out an odd night for a change of scenery... We had the odd trip out and would definitely recommend the island tour!!This was a wonderful relaxing holiday and hope to be back next year x

Room Tip: Have stay in most of the rooms in the past and not had a bad one!!!
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kerry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
katerina-dianahotels, Manager at Meandros Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2013

Hello Kerry!

Thank you so much for taking the time to add your review on Meandros hotel and for choosing to share your holiday memories with the rest of us here.

On behalf of all the staff and family at Meandros I would like to pass you a huge thank you for visiting us after so many years and giving us the chance to accommodate in our home and make you feel so welcome once again.

Your kind feedback on our lovely staff means so much to us and makes us very proud of having such great people taking care of our guests. Your special credit is our biggest motive to keep on doing what we love with more passion and enthusiasm.

Please know that our home will always have it’s doors open for you and our staff will be here on the spot once again to greet you back with a smile on your next visit to Meandros.

Until we get to meet each other again, enjoy the winter back home and always remember us and smile. Love from all…xxx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

We went to Zante on Sept 12 th , the good thing about Zante is the transfer times, 15 mins from the airport . We stayed at the Meandros hotel in Kalamaki and booked the holiday through Cosmos.On arrival at the hotel we were quickly checked in and introduced to Mario who escorted us to our room (302), the view from the large balcony was good with sea views.the room was large with plenty of room , it had a very funky kitchen which we discovered by raising a shutter door, it had two electric rings a large fridge and plenty of cutlery and cups, plates etc.the bathroom was ok except that the shower hose only gave out a powerful jet of water, it also had a hairdryer.Outside the hotel has a lovely pool although it is approx 10 ft deep at one end, it also has a whirlpool bath which is operated from the pool bar, there are plenty of sunbeds and brollies but don't put your towel down before 8 am as it will be taken to reception.the pool bar was very good , Maria is wonderful and very attentive, mythos is 4 euros and Zorba is 3 euros .now comes my gripe , the restaurant is small serving buffet breakfasts and evening meals , now speaking as a food lover I found both breakfasts and dinners disappointing, breakfast although plentiful wasn't up to standard, there was always these small hotdog sausages in lukewarm water which were awful,there were freshly fried eggs, two small toasters, beans mushrooms and tomatoes, there was also cereals and Greek yoghurt and try the honey with grapes in ....delicious , evening meals were also not up to expectations , one night there was meat loaf on offer , so we ate out frequently.now what I found wrong was I could order a breakfast from the pool bar which consisted of English bacon not the cut up ham on offer in the restaurant and proper sausages too. Out and about, the beach is a ten minute walk away and two beds and a brolly 7 euros . At night we went to the Antonis pool bar , they had great tribute acts especially Michael Buble, Wendy did great with the quizzes and karaoke , and the shots and cocktails were great , I must mention Leo and Petros who worked the bar, two of the friendliest people you could wish to meet. We also met up with Gary and Linda, and Rich and Kerry who made our holiday thanks guys.In conclusion Zante , great place, Kalamaki, lovely place full of friendly people, would I go back , most definitely , would I go back to the Meandros , sorry no , the food lets the place down, it's a shame because it could so easily be a great place to stay.this was a personal view of our holiday this year.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner apartment they are huge .
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rob w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
katerina-dianahotels, Manager at Meandros Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2013

Hello Rob!

Thank you for taking the time to add your review on Meandros hotel and for choosing to share your thoughts with the rest of us here.

First of all we would like to say thank you for pointing out some of the good aspects you found in our hotel. It makes us happy that in a way our facilities did met your needs.

Although a big majority of our guests give us a very high score feedback on our meals, we are very sorry that you were not among them. Our chef Nikos and his team are very hard working and they make sure that everyone has a pleasant meal in our buffet.

Even the most fuzzy eaters are very happy with the quality we have on offer and it is very frustrating for us to know that you did not have the chance to enjoy our restaurant facilities that score very high on our guest’s feedback.

It would be very useful for us if we knew by day one what your expectations were so we could have the time to serve you the way your expected.

With regards to our sausages, it is the first time we see that kind of comment as in the past we had never such an issue.

We would like you to know that the sausages we use in our buffet are not the one we use in our snack bar English breakfast as in our buffet we do not advertise that we provide English breakfast.

We hope that there was a way could have the chance to serve you the way you expect in terms of our buffet as efforts on having everyone happy can go far more someone expects.

In anyway, we would like to thank you for taking the time to go through our response. We wish you have a pleasant winter back home.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kalamaki
0.5 mi away
Venus Hotel & Suites
Venus Hotel & Suites
#1 of 30 in Kalamaki
1,249 reviews
0.8 mi away
Bitzaro Palace Hotel
Bitzaro Palace Hotel
#2 of 30 in Kalamaki
729 reviews
0.2 mi away
Klelia Beach Hotel
Klelia Beach Hotel
#5 of 30 in Kalamaki
690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Bitzaro Grande Hotel
Bitzaro Grande Hotel
#7 of 30 in Kalamaki
1,467 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ionion Blue Hotel
Ionion Blue Hotel
#13 of 30 in Kalamaki
486 reviews
1.8 mi away
Diana Palace Hotel
Diana Palace Hotel
#2 of 26 in Argassi
1,493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meandros Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meandros Boutique Hotel

Address: Kalamaki, Kalamaki 291 00, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Kalamaki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Kalamaki
#12 Romantic Hotel in Kalamaki
Price Range: £56 - £213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Meandros Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spacious rooms with pool and garden view designed with a unique a modern character, a swimming pool for adults surrounded by a relaxed atmosphere and a children's swimming pool for our young guests is a small sample of what Meandros offers to our guests. A Jacuzzi situated next to the main swimming pool, invites you to experience total relaxation while enjoying your favorite cocktail under the sun. The snack bar is open to all guests, offering local and international dishes, carefully prepared by our staff always serving you with the biggest smile from the heart, making you feel like home. After a warm day under the sun, Meandros buffet is open to all, offering a pleasant dining experience. Our experienced staff is there to personally take care of you, serving Greek and Zakynthian dishes, along with an international taste and vegetarian options. Theme nights are taking place in our restaurant on a weekly basis, with live kitchen from our chef and plenty of choices for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Jet2Holidays , Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Meandros Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meandros Hotel Kalamaki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing