We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff, shame about rooms !!”
Review of Argiri Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Argiri Hotel
Ranked #30 of 39 Hotels in Kardamena
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great staff, shame about rooms !!”
Reviewed 27 August 2014

.we arrived at the Argiri at approx 2am and was quickly checked in, couldn't wait to chill out. We were given room 106, which I can only describe e as not much bigger than a cupboard with two beds !! Now it's normally me who gets upset if the room isn't up to much, but no my poor husband couldn't get out if the room quick enough, he asked kostas the manager for an immediate room change, he said he didn't have any, my husband refused to stay in the room even for one night because it was so bad, we were then given room 227, which was on the street side but not too bad when you get used to traffic noise, we stayed in that one for 3 days and then had to vacate that one because it had been allocated to people arriving that day, we were then given room 334, you would have to see the pictures to believe it. The bathroom was atrocious. You had to slide yourself between the washbasin and toilet, and then try to slide yourself round to the bath but we did have a view of pool and sea, which was the only positive thing I could say !! then on check out day because of flight times we had to pay extra again (we had already paid £83 for room change on the first one) we were given another room 228, which was the best of them all. Apparently each room is different, but nearly everyone we met were disappointed in the rooms. If you do go, go self catering, rooms are bigger, and ask either first or second floor, more secure.
Positive notes......staff were brilliant, kostas couldn't have been more helpful, lovely man !!
Maids were very good, rooms cleaned well, very helpful ! Pool area always kept clean, needs a bit of hazard stripes to point out steps, saw a few nasty accidents, pool tiles need a bit of attention, food served at pool bar was good, the two staff that ran it Debbie and Artemis were good fun,And nothing was too much trouble, if you are bed and breakfast, you will be disappointed, not really much, but Artemis does a lovely breakfast for €4. Anna runs the bar nighttime and she is lovely. Cannot fault any of the staff at all. But the rooms need a good refurb and maybe a few alterations and adjustments to showers etc !!
A few little beach area around the hotel, one just across the road with orange brollies sunbeds and brollies are free, but you are expected to buy from the little bar, but they do nice meals and drinks are cheap.
We found a lovely cocktail/ice cream bar along the front called Calypso . The people who own it are so lovely, Katerina has the loveliest smile and personality, makes you feel so welcome, well worth a visit !! Other places to eat, Agean restaurant, good food, good prices, captains, and avli, which is on the back by bliss bar.
Would highly recommend a visit to the Greek night at Fantasia, lovely trip to Zia to watch the sunset too.
We found Kardemena a lovely place to stay a little run down in places, but the people are lovely!
Had it not been for all the problems at the argiri hotel, my husbands birthday week would have been perfect !! Just a quick mention for George (the olympic rep) who was so helpful and went out of his way to help us.

Room Tip: Rooms226 /227 /228 all quite big, but overlooking main traffic street. Room 334 was ok for views but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barbybubbles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    142
    92
    48
    21
    28
See reviews for
41
101
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
liverpool
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2014 via mobile

Before I start, I'm shocked to read some of the negative reviews from people staying at the same time as us. It's as if they've stayed somewhere else. You're holiday is what you do or don't make of it.

Firstly the staff. Costas, Dimitrious, Deborah, Artemis, Anna and the cleaning team. Every member of staff couldn't be any cheerful or accomodating. From check-in to checkout they couldn't be any more helpful.

We stayed self catering for a week. The air conditioning was worth every cent. The room was clean and tidy and had everything we needed. We also got a safety deposit box at reception with access nearly all day and night. Costas the manager and Dimitrious were always on hand day or night!

The pool area was spotless, plenty of beds. A lot quieter than I expected. As this is no longer really an 18-30's type island it was a lovely bonus. The music was mixed, something for everyone, nice and quiet from 9:30 ish with everything from the 80's to the current hits. Not blasting out either. Drinks were reasonably priced and the Kitchen Bar served all kinds of wonderful snacks from breakfast, lunch and dinner. Debs and Arte were fantastic and a right laugh!

The Hotel Bar has happy hour(s) from 9pm with any cocktail €3.50. Well worth it. Anna will make anything you want a serve you with a smile.

A major plus was the location, right on the outskirts of Kardamena but 5 mins walk from the centre with some wonderful shops, bars and restaurants within walking/staggering distance.

The one question we always ask is was it value for money? We've stayed all over the world in some wonderful hotels from self catering to luxury all inclusive and The Argiri ticks all the boxes. So much so we're already booking our return.

So if you want a relaxing, chilled out and fun holiday in Kardamena then please consider the Argiri Hotel and you wont be disappointed.

Efharistó

Yamas!

Derek and Lisa

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
11 Thank MrHobbs12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014 via mobile

Still here now only suitable for 18/30 music blazing from 8 am till late if get room on main rd to busy get pool room so busy music never stops can't have rest in afternoon not suitable if got kids not allowed bring your own water by pool got buy there she still missable cow walking round if got thrush your sc why can't drink own water ? No got buy your small bottle for 1 euro wen can buy 6 bottles for 2 euros in supermarket shame really as apartment lovely manager so friendly he lovely but it never stops music so glad go home tomorrow get some sleep 1st sc I been in not allowed drink own water all bout making money so if u sat here all week drinking and eating you not saved nothing go all inc as nearly 4 euros for larger in plastic cup no thanks

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Carol P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Situated on top of the beach and on the edge of the main street the hotel and apartments are ideally situated. Although the apartment facilities are basic, the room is not why you come on holiday. The people working at the hotel are very friendly and always willing to help. The pool bar has lots of sun beds and the music around the pool was relaxing and not intrusive, This is a good choice of hotel. There are excellent inexpensive restaurants next to the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spurs150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skelmersdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Just come back from a great week here. Lovely staff, nice rooms, great pool / bar. Very well managed. Great location. Room cleaned well every day and towels/bedding changed regularly (including dishes washed)
Always loads of sun beds free. Music around the pool was a good mix for most ages and you could choose how close to the speakers you wanted to be which was good if you wanted a quieter sunbathe.
Really close to the beaches but didn't really use them as the pool area was so good. The bar stayed open until the last person left and the music was kept at a more than acceptable level in the evening so couldn't be heard in the rooms.
Aircon was a must as there was a heat wave while we were there - 40 plus degrees! But only 35 euro a week which was money well spent.
Had a late flight back so paid 20 euro to keep the room on until 7 which was a godsend too.
Snacks available from the Kitchen bar were all good and fairly priced and the lady managing the kitchen bar was constantly cleaning around the pool area which was immaculate.
Bar and reception staff always willing to help and made the experience more enjoyable.
Really can't believe people can find a fault with this hotel, no noisy annoying guests while we there and will most definitely be coming back.
We used Olympic holidays and both reps were very helpful and always available to resolve any issues you may have.
Well done Argiri and staff - highly recommended
Andy & Sue Mitchell

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jasta1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from a girls holiday. The room was perfect for our needs. It was nice and clean, a decent size. The bathroom is a standard greek shower/ wet room. The air conditioning is €5 a night, and is controlled with a remote control. The locations is brilliant, close enough to the bars and clubs but a nice distance away to be quiet on an evening. Some really lovely restaurants near by and are very reasonable price. The staff are really friendly and helpful. There is a security guard during the night who likes you to be quiet. Overall a great stay and would recommend to young, families and older couples.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

Just been to argiri hotel was a bit scared at first thinking it would be full of teenages but I was wrong it's a family hotel with young as well as d music around the pool from 1980- 2013 which was good costa works very hard , Anna which comes from 6 o'clock serves drinks the cheapest cocktail on the island $3,50 only bargain , she is lovely . rooms clean stayed in a studio for 2 with sea view also not much cooking utensils but we only made breakfast and sandwiches so it didn't bother us overall good cheap hotel would I stay hear again yes as long as I got it for a bargain again

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rylancorey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kardamena hotels
0.2 mi away
Nissia Kamares Hotel Apartments
0.7 mi away
Cleopatra Superior Hotel
Cleopatra Superior Hotel
#16 of 39 in Kardamena
392 reviews
0.7 mi away
Agrelli Hotel
Agrelli Hotel
#25 of 39 in Kardamena
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Kalimera Mare Hotel
Kalimera Mare Hotel
#14 of 39 in Kardamena
295 reviews
0.2 mi away
Origin Hotel Apartments
Origin Hotel Apartments
#18 of 39 in Kardamena
214 reviews
1.8 mi away
Sunny View Hotel
Sunny View Hotel
#26 of 39 in Kardamena
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Argiri Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Argiri Hotel

Property: Argiri Hotel
Address: central road (Main Street), Kardamena 853 00, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos > Kardamena
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 39 Hotels in Kardamena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Argiri Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Argiri Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Argiri Hotel Kos/Kardamena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing