We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nikos ll BRILLIANT” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nikos II Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Nikos II Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Cornwall, UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nikos ll BRILLIANT”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2012

We have stayed at Nikos II on 3 occasions and would've returned for a 4th except for the fact we could no longer get the 3 weeks, only 1 or 2 option. Nikos II studios are situated a fair way from the busy village of Kardamena (there is a bus stop right outside the entrance) and therefore are quiet, ideal for older people who prefer a nice relaxing holiday.
The owners are the nicest, friendliest people one could meet and nothing is too much trouble for them, the pool is second to none in Kardamena, extremely clean and surrounded by Hibiscus, Pomegranate and Pineapple Palm bushes and trees, "BEAUTIFUL". The pool snack bar is very well run and spotlessly clean but unfortunately, stops serving food at 5 p.m, although the bar DOES stay open and is ably run by Michael, who's knowledge of music is unbelievable, if anyone wants 'take away' Gyros, Pizza etc, Michael will ring the order through for you.
The studios are, as one would expect in Greece, basic but contain everything necessary for the tourists needs and some are, at the time I type this, under renovation and being updated. The cleaner, a lovely girl, is a complete gem, all rooms are looked at daily, apart from a Sunday, if anyone needs anything all they have to do is ask and it will be supplied.
My friends and I have always really enjoyed staying at this accommodation and we have already booked for next year,(only got home 4 days ago!!)people who stay here seem to return year after year and that certainly wouldn't be the case if it wasn't good, we have made many friends whilst staying here.
As of 2013, George and the family have decided, after much thought, to go independant and this accommodation can be booked by simply visiting www.hotels4u.com, speaking for myself, I couldn't believe the price when I booked, REALLY GOOD DEAL, REALLY, REALLY GOOD DEAL!!
All in all I can't speak highly enough of Nikos II or George, his Mum Coco, and Michael and Manolis his brothers, this is a well run family business and my friend and I find it harder and harder with each year that passes to leave to come home, many tears are shed.
This accommodation is more suitable for the older person who wants peace and quiet although it CAN be a bit more rowdier in July and August!!
If this review has convinced any of you to go to Nikos II and it's before we arrive on 5/9/13 please give the family our love and tell them we'll see them soon. "HAPPY HOLS EVERYONE" Love, Claire & Kath (Cornwall)
p.s don't take my word for the cleanliness of this accommodation, visit www.nikos2kardamena.com and see for yourself.

Room Tip: Any rooms in the new block are good although the older ones are being updated
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Claire K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    104
    49
    10
    3
    5
See reviews for
27
86
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2012

do not book astudio.far too small for two persons.shower,wash basin toilet all in 6foot by 4 foot maximum.no air con.heard the saying"not enough room to swing at cat"well there is not enough room to get a cat in.very basic.

Room Tip: pay the eatra and go into an appartment
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 583ernest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2012

there was 5 in our party and we all found it fantastic the resort it a great place and the partments are what you would expect for greece the host hosts goerge and his brother micheal are fantastic people they make you feel so welcome and are so friendly i would recomend these apartments to most people i know but some people wouldnt like it but why complain as long as your rooms are clean which they were amaculate and that you have a bed and a bathroom thts all you need your holiday is what you make of it all i have to say we had a great holiday i would recomend these appartments to anyone

Asa

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank asam08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2012

Nikos II Apartments were fantastic during our whole stay- we didn't have any problems. Even our rep said its probably the best value for money on the island. The atmosphere was so nice and relaxed because George, Michael and other staff were soo friendly and welcoming. The pool was big, the bar area was always clean. There's great entertainment with widescreen tv and pool table at the bar area. Theres always music on in the background but not too loud with a variety of great 80's hits and current chart music. George stayed up to about 3 in the morning on our arrival night to greet us and help carry our bags up to our room and also offered to make us food and drinks incase we were hungry or thirsty from travelling. He made sure we knew where everything was and that we were happy with our room. He made a big impression on us because he's so nice and well humoured considering he works around the clock. The room itself was bigger than I expected and we got two balconies with table and chairs on one. Very secure apartment with locking sliding shutter doors and french doors so you feel safe. The guide told us that the apartments were cleaned once midweek but the cleaner came every single day and gave us an abundance of fresh sheets and towels, every visit she would change the beds, replace towels and empty bins and possibly mop (we got sand from the beach on our floor from towels and shoes) what more could you want? I was surprised that we didn't have a single complaint considering it was a budget holiday, brilliant deal.

Bonus points:-

> We ate at Georges bar so often because his food was cheap and just so delicious we often only spent around 5 euros per meal for things like jacket potatoes and a drink or portions of chips and a drink. They have great fresh juice, milkshakes and icecreams at the bar.

> Guaranteed sunbeds, it was never too crowded or too empty.

>Beaches and supermarket within easy walking distance, streets of bars and restaurants by the main square in Kardamena which are lively but this is 5-10 minute walk from Nikos II so its quiet and you'll get a good nights sleep.

Practical points:-

> The bathroom is designed as a wet room with a drain in the middle as the shower is right next to the toilet. Which is better as everything in the room is designed to get wet and it was not a problem at all as the floor will dry within half an hour if you leave the window open.

> Air con is not included in price but anyone with common sense wouldn't expect this extra for the value price of the apartment. If you want air con it is 40 euros for a week and George hooked it up for us on arrival and it was very modern, remote control and you could set the room temperature- well worth the money. We were very comfortable. If you can't afford 40 euros George would probably offer you a cheaper alternative such as a fan.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Steph G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2012

From the moment we arrived until we boarded the coach to take us to the airport we were treated like long lost friends even though it was our first time here.George, Michael, their family and the rest of the staff could not have done any more to make our holiday perfect. George is the owner and looks after the bar/reception, his brother Michael looks after the pool and pool area and makes sure there is good music to listen to. They are two of the nicest people you could wish to meet. Do not expect 5 star luxury, these are typical greek apartments, being basic but with everything you need. The rooms were spotless and the cleaner was in every day, she always had a smile on her face and made sure everything was fine, even in 40 degree heat. the pool area and pool itself were well looked after, very clean and there was no problem getting a sun lounger no matter what time of day. the pool bar was fantastic with the food being tasty and well priced and the drink was COLD and very cheap. All in all this is one the best accomadation we have been to on our many visits to various Greek islands and we will do everything possible to return.
P.S. there is no fitness centre here so please ignore the rating,sorry.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank mick m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2012

I've seen other reviews here that are just plain stupid. For the money you pay Nikos II is great, we had a fab 12 days there. George and Michael looked after us brilliantly. They work crazy hours all through the summer and it's not surprising that some times they might be a bit tired. It's my first visit and my partners second and we'll definitely be going back again. AirCon is extra, but you find that everywhere at these prices. The rooms at the front will have aircon next season according to George. We did the 3 bays day trip which I'd recommend, though book in Kardemina, not via Thomas Cook as it'll cost you about half. Also went to Bodrum for the market on a Tuesday, travel a bit chaotic but good fun. Breakfast and meals at Georges are great value, fresh and tasty. A safety deposit box is a must and will cost you 20€, there are some local scum bags who will try to nick stuff if it's left lying around. Make sure to put the shutters on the windows properly, George will explain. The pool is clean and refreshing (it was 38-40 while we were there), plenty of sun loungers and umbrellas and free WiFi too (ask George). Food is pretty good everywhere, we ended up eating at Pelagos (on the harbour) about 8/12 evenings as we enjoyed the food and atmosphere so much (say hi to Michael if you go). The cleaner comes in every day except Sundays and works really hard, especially on change over days. We ended up drinking in Bar 1960 in the harbour square many evening, but there is masses of choice all along the sea front. We'll definitely be back again, George and Michael are great and we miss them as well as the sunshine now we're home!!

Room Tip: Ask for a studio to make sure you get a room with air con. Next year all the rooms should have air c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2012

We have given Nikos II 4/5 stars. We wasn't sure to give 3 or 4 out of 5 as the only downside was the fact that upon arriving we found out that air con wasn't available in our room. We did hire a fan which still greatly helped but as the temperatures were unusually higher than average we had one or two nights that were still unbearable to sleep through. However, George did apologise and said that the the block away from the hotel where we stayed would be having air con as of next year to cope with the heatwaves. The temperatures during our stay ranged from 35 to 42 degrees...!!!!! There was also a strong breeze, which did make it feel cooler at times than others.
Me and my boyfriend have just come back after a two week stay at Nikos II after being delayed by a day due to fog that meant we had to land in Rhodes initially. However, Thomas Cook put 3 flights of passengers up in a 5* hotel in Ixia. The owners of Nikos II, Michael and George were very friendly and were always on hand to accommodate us.
The room was very basic, but what we expected being so reasonably priced to stay there. The cleaner was friendly and checked the room and emptied the bins daily, apart from Sunday. We had a small terrace at the back of our room, which was not overlooked due to lime trees around it. Obviously being in a block other people were out on their terraces too. We certainly are not old people, being in our late 20s, but at times it was quite noisy when the teens came in at 6am, 7am.....barrr humbug haha. There was also the option of having a safe for your stay, which we recommend, only 10 euros per week.
The hotel location was great for us as it was not amongst the hustle and bustle so it was pretty peaceful, even though it was next to the main road through Kardamena. Being on the North side of Kardamena, it was close to the lovely, quiet Malibu beach. Walking to the main supermarket Louis was about a 15 minute walk away and the closest place to eat and drink cheaply but quality at Sun Mediterranean and Pavlo's bar were only 5 minutes away.
The food at Nikos was served from 9am until 5pm and was good value for money and tasty, averaging around 4 or 5 euros for bar snacks, burgers, pizza, omelettes, salads etc. The bar was open until midnight and served great pints of Amstel and great ice coffees.
The pool area was great! A spacious and very clean area with plenty of sunbeds and side tables and very open so you were not sat on top of each other, which is something we noticed in other larger hotels even. The pool itself was quite large and was never over crowded. The pool was open until 7pm. A great mix of music was played from the splash pool bar too to enjoy whilst sunbathing and there was a TV showing sports (the Olympics in our case) and free wifi to use within the bar and pool area. There was also a pool table.
Overall fantastic value for the money paid, certainly not as bad as what some of the other reviews had stated. We would stay here again!! only next time we would make sure we got a room with air con.

Room Tip: The two larger blocks have air con facilities which is at additional cost but a must!!We would recom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DMC28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kardamena hotels
0.7 mi away
Nissia Kamares Hotel Apartments
0.3 mi away
Cleopatra Superior Hotel
Cleopatra Superior Hotel
#19 of 39 in Kardamena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
0.0 mi away
Argiri Hotel
Argiri Hotel
#27 of 39 in Kardamena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Mitsis Summer Palace
Mitsis Summer Palace
#18 of 39 in Kardamena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,173 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kalimera Mare Hotel
Kalimera Mare Hotel
#12 of 39 in Kardamena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sunny View Hotel
Sunny View Hotel
#28 of 39 in Kardamena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nikos II Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nikos II Apartments

Property: Nikos II Apartments
Address: Kardamena 85302, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos > Kardamena
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 29 Speciality Lodging in Kardamena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Nikos II Apartments 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Nikos II Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nikos Ii Apartments Hotel Kardamena
Nikos II Apartments Kos/Kardamena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing