We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy holiday ”
Review of Helona Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Helona Resort
Ranked #5 of 39 Hotels in Kardamena
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Happy holiday ”
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

The resort is in a beautiful place. facilities are maintained and quite new. the rooms are very spacious (we had a superior family room). housekeeping is approximate, not five stars. also the service during dinner (buffet) is cumbersome and rather slow. the buffet is well stocked, the food varied every day and there is plenty of choice. the a la carte restaurant is located by the pool, the waiters very friendly, the menu is interesting but could be more varied, fairly priced (very expensive water). between the pool and the beach there is a snack bar serving sandwiches and salads. Note that the wifi you take at the pool restaurant, lobby, snack bar. the beach is great for the location, it may be cleaned with more effort (cigarette butts and other debris). in the pool is forbidden to reserve sunbeds leaving towels, unfortunately there is some offender. on the beach there is a ban, those seeking a place is certain to find it if it falls within the 9:30 to 10:00 a.m.. Helona the resort is a very good structure that we suggest for families with small children. we spent two weeks very nice!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Omar B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakitira-Hotels, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Helona Resort, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Mr. Omar,

Thank you for taking the time to write about Helona Resort. We are very pleased that you had an enjoyable stay at our hotel.

We wish you all the best and we look forward to welcoming you back!

With kind regards,
The Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

714 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    375
    233
    75
    18
    13
See reviews for
168
408
18
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We visited the resort for the second time this summer and had booked rooms with a sharing pool. Months before our arrival, we had contacted the hotel management with some requests and had been reassured that our requests would be taken into consideration. Unfortunately, this was not the case and our stay was not as pleasant as expected. The official explanation was that during the high season, no special requests can be satisfied.Despite the fact that the members of staff were extremely helpful and professional, we regret to say that we left the island with a lot of bitterness and disappointment. We are looking forward to coming to Kos next year but the Helona resort will not be among our choices.

Room Tip: Rooms with a sharing pool are noisy and all neighbors do not necessarily show respect. It can be a c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vivian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakitira-Hotels, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Helona Resort, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Ms Vivian,

It is always a pleasure to see Guests returning to our Resort. Thank you for taking the time to post your comments about your at Helona.
Although we understand your furstration for not being able to deliver your request, we kindly ask your your understanding when it comes to allocation over th peak season when the hotel is full.

We hope wewill have the change to welcome you again in our Helona Resort.

WIth kind regards,

The Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Årjäng, Sweden
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We took a taxi from the airport, 11km away, and arrived late afternoon. We were greeted by a friendly bellboy that took care of our luggage and showed us to the reception where we checked in. After check-in the bellboy took us and our luggage to our room with a golfcart.

We had booked a Superiour doubleroom with seaview, and that's what we got. A nice spacious room with our private terrace with view to the beach, sea and surrounding islands.

The hotel consists of several buildings with rooms. The cheapest rooms will only have view into the wall of the next building, and my advice is to avoid those rooms and upgrade to a room with seaview. Many rooms even have private pools, some shared with two or three other rooms and some even completely private.

There is a bar and a-la carte restaurant near the main swimmingpool and also a beachbar serving drinks and snacks.

Even though the hotel seemed quite full of guests, we never felt crowded. There even was enough sunbeds and parasols available on the beach, even inspite of "occupying germans" with their early placement of towels on the best beds.

Sunbeds, parasols and beach-towels were available free of charge.

We only had room/breakfast, but half-board was available, meaning a buffet dinner. We chose to have our dinners at the a-la carte restaurant. The waiters her were very friendly and after a couple of days remembered our preferances.

Also the breakfast was very nice with a good selection of almost everything one could want for breakfast.

Everybody working in the hotel were very friendly and serviceminded. Not in a servant-like manner, we more got the feeling of visiting old friends. We liked the atmosphere very much. I even noticed that they were smiling to eachother wile they were working, that's something one does not see in every hotel!

Cleaning of the room was very good.

Tje day we arrived was lobster-night (every wednesday, I think) in the Thalassa restaurant, and we went for it. Recommended!

On the downside:
- No WiFi in rooms, only in common areas.
- Aircondition in room turned itself off during the night, which made the room very warm.
- I thought the menu in the a-la carte was limited, I had problems finding something tempting for dinner. (Fortunately the waiter was able to improvise and was able to come up with something, just for me!) But if we had been here for more than 4 days, this would have been a problem to me.)
- Out of the 4 days we stayed there, the minibar was filled up only once, meaning we ran out of beer and ouzo on the second day. We also had to call for more coffee that was supposed to be in the room.

Room Tip: At least upgrade/pay for seaview!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oddak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakitira-Hotels, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Helona Resort, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback on our hotel. It is particularly warming to receive an evaluation like yours and to know that our efforts to provide superior service and friendly minded are represented by all our team members. We are happy that you enjoyed the views of your room and our food and beverage ouotlets.

Just for the sake of good order I would like to mention that the issue with the air conditions was probably due to power cuts over the night.

We hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to Helona Resort in the near future.

Sincerely,
The Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

we visited The Helona Resort Hotel for 4 nights last months. we booked the deluxe rooms with personal swimming pools, which was great. the rooms are very nice and the adjacent pools really make it pleasurable. The breakfast buffet was rich and good. the location is 7 minutes rides out of the small village of Kardamena, which is located on the southern shores of the island of Kos. this may require to rent a car (EU50/day), (most resorts are located on the northern shores of the island) or using the hotel's shuttle. the village has nice tavernas and very authentic, some with live greek music, (fun!).
The hotel's team is a bit slow and sometime one needs to call few times to get house cleaning services or front desk prompt services. I would like to point out Ms. Maria Tritsari, The Quality Assurance Manager, the Manager on Duty on the day of our departure. because of a family mattar at home, I needed to shorten our stay in one night on a pre-paid deal; the front desk manager just stuck to "the regulations", when I approached Maria, early that morning, she explained the situation but was open to reach a solution, where the others did not show any intensions to understand our situation. Thanks Maria! this is what I call customer service.

Room Tip: Choose the Deluxe rooms with the adjacent swimming pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmiDotan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakitira-Hotels, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Helona Resort, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Mr. Dotan,

Thank you for taking the time to write about Helona Resort. We are very pleased that you have enjoyed our rooms with sharing pool and the greater the area.

We wish you all the best and we look forward to welcoming you back!

With kind regards,
The Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

I stayed there in May, before the tourist season starts, in order to attend a conference. The Hotel is quite nice: luxury rooms, in a nice and well-maintained garden, many swimming pools for the guest etc. I am not sure what the price is during the tourist season, but obviously it is an upmarket hotel. Unfortunately several things ware not up to the expectation one has of such a hotel. Internet was only working very intermittently. When I arrived around 10h30 pm (because I had a late plane), I was told there was no way to get anything to eat. The hotel is far away form any restaurants, so the only way to get something to eat was taking a taxi to the nearby town of Kardamena. Despite the fact that dinner was included in my booking, the person at the reception did seem to think he had any obligation to help me finding a solution.
The regular meals served at the hotel were correct, but again, for this level of hotel one expects something better.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stefaan t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakitira-Hotels, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Helona Resort, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Mr. Stefaan,

Τhank you for taking the time to post your feedback from your recent stay at Herlona Resort. We have taken a note of the issue you raised regarding food availability for late arrivals and we made every necessary improvement to avoid happening again. Finally regarding the internet connection we have already upgrade to a dedicated connection providing a sufficient service to our guests.

With kind regards,
The Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague
Level Contributor
128 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

A very special place thanks to the unusual concept of individual pools for guests, though not for all, a lovely overall atmosphere and dedicated staff. Yes, the buffet restaurant can be busy, but it remains manageable, usually even with a smile. Yes, we waited a bit at check in, but the waiting is worth it. Including non-Greek wines on the restaurant wine list would be a welcome step as not everyone knows well local Kos and Greek wines, but other than that - a truly pleasant and relaxing experience in a safe and friendly environment.

Room Tip: Definitely opt for the "shared pool" rooms (odd numbers ground floor), preferably in a bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TomOpo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakitira-Hotels, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Helona Resort, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Mr. Tom,

Thank you for taking the time to write about Helona Resort. We are very pleased that you had an enjoyable stay at our hotel. Thank you as well for your understanding and for your comments regarding our wine list. Of course our waiting staff would always be more than happy to provide assistance if necessary

We wish you all the best and we look forward to welcoming you back!

With kind regards,
The Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Literally cannot fault our stay here. We had one of the 3 villas, with 2 bedrooms and a private pool. Inside luxurious and very comfortable. Spent most days on the beach as so close and prefer sea to swimming pools. The staff were all so so helpful and friendly, nothing was too much trouble. The restaurant staff by the pool (which is the the a la carte in the evening) were particularly great. Our flight wasnt until the evening on the way home and they let us keep the villa until 6pm, which made such a difference. The food was fantastic and varied at both breakfast and dinner (buffet style) and the lucnh menu by the pool was delcious to. Would highly recommend and definately come back. Very relaxing! We even had wifi in the villa, even thought we werent meant to.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jhuntb100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakitira-Hotels, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Helona Resort, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback on our hotel. It is particularly warming to receive an evaluation like yours and to know that our efforts to provide superior service and hospitality are represented by all our team members. We are happy you enjoyed the tranquility of our villas and the beach in front of the hotel. Thank you as well for your comments regarding our chefs and the restaurants.

We hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to Helona Resort in the near future.

Sincerely,
The Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kardamena
0.3 mi away
Lakitira Suites
Lakitira Suites
#8 of 39 in Kardamena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
5.4 mi away
Mitsis Blue Domes Resort & Spa
14.2 mi away
Aqua Blu Boutique Hotel + Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Grand Blue Beach Hotel
Grand Blue Beach Hotel
#2 of 39 in Kardamena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lakitira Resort & Village
Lakitira Resort & Village
#15 of 39 in Kardamena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
14.7 mi away
Michelangelo Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Helona Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Helona Resort

Property: Helona Resort
Address: Akti Helona S.A | Gourniatis, Kardamena 853 02, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos > Kardamena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Kardamena
#3 Spa Hotel in Kardamena
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kardamena
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Kardamena
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kardamena
#15 Family Hotel in Kardamena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Helona Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 238
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Helona Resort is a beautiful establishment with an impressive architecture. Small buildings scattered in beautiful gardens, elegant domes, cobbled alleys and natural materials such as stone, wood and marble, allow the entire complex to blend harmoniously with the surrounding, peaceful landscape. Large windows and openings offer a fantastic view to the sunny Aegean Sea and lighten up all interior spaces. Twenty-one infinity pools enable water to flow from one to the other, inviting guests to dive into summer happiness. The resort sits on a gentle hill that overlooks the beautiful Helona beach, on the southern coast of Kos island, at a peaceful area called Gourniatis, only 11 km from Kos international airport (KGS) and 4 km off the lively village Kardamena. Kos town is about 35 km away.Helona Resort has a delightful collection of spacious guest rooms, cosy family rooms, luxurious suites and private villas. Many of the rooms enjoy the extra privilege of a shared swimming pool in front of their terrace whilst others have lovely gardens spreading in front of them. Each one of the suites and villas has its own private pool. The resort has two restaurants, three bars, a spa and a conference center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Bookgreece.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Helona Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Helona Resort (Aka Doubletree By Hilton Resort Kos-Helona) Hotel Kardamena
Helona Hotel Kardamena
Helona Resort Kos/Kardamena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing