We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FABULOUS”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mitsis Blue Domes Resort & Spa
Ranked #3 of 39 Hotels in Kardamena
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 May 2013

I have rarely felt compelled to write a review about a holiday but having returned today from the blue domes we want to tell the world about how fab our holiday there was this week.
Rooms spacious and spotless, food varied available around the clock and of a wonderful standard. Staff polite efficient and full of personality, non stop entertainment by a group of young men and women who work tirelessly to give you a great time without any pressure to join in. All this set in surroundings that took our breath away with the turquoise sea and islands as a back drop.
We like to try different places and have travelled the world but can't think of a hotel complex to better this one for quality style and value for money.
Thank you Cristiavelis the most charismatic bar tender on the planet for the cocktails and the laughs Mikelis for running a spotless restaurant and always finding us a great table every morning and evening. Constantina for serving omelettes in 100 degrees yet never failing to smile and all the animation team inc Claudio Emanuelle Zuzu for your enthusiasm and hard work.
We are already planning our return this year (and we've only been home an hour!)

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Angelajam7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,365)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,646 - 1,652 of 3,365 reviews

Reviewed 24 May 2013

This hotel is without doubt the best in kardemena superb animation team even better barstaff george,kostas and valentes,the drinks and the food excellent and the cleanliness second to none the rooms are brilliant clean as a whistle as are the grounds,beautiful pools and gardens we will definately be coming back ....simply the best !!

Room Tip: 5 or 6 block is the best about middle of the complex
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank GaryDavies1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2013

Have just returned from this hotel with our 6 month old baby and although the complex has potential, there were a few disappointments.

1. Our flight was delayed by 4 hours so we arrived at the hotel later than expected yet we still had to wait an hour for our room to be ready. When we were taken to the room the cleaners were still there and the floor was wet.

2. Room was spacious, even with a large travel cot and the cleaners tidied and changed sheets/towels every day. However there were ants everywhere.

3. On day 3 I had food poisoning. Violently ill and with a baby to breastfeed we had to pay 90 euros to see a doctor who gave me an anti-sickness injection. Reception staff were very unsympathetic and didn't seem interested at all. Perhaps they are used to this scenario?

4. This is the 4th hotel we have stayed at in Greece and the food was no different to the others. The booking system for the 4 a la carte restaurants was a shambles. The system kept crashing and there were long queues to use it as you could only book the day before.

5. Do not stay at this hotel if you have walking difficulties. The complex is huge and the hill up to the main restaurant/reception is not for the faint hearted. There are also lots of steps. We had 17 steps just up to our room which was hard work in and out with a buggy.

6. Had to be up early for a sunbed around the pools and people were leaving towels on them. However there are lots of sunbeds on the beach and it's more lively down there too.

Overall the hotel is ok. We still enjoyed our week away despite the points mentioned and me being so ill. The majority of the staff were friendly and welcoming. Hats off to the animation team who worked hard each day entertaining on the beach during the day and putting on shows in the evenings. But I don't feel the hotel should be advertised as a 5* plus exclusive resort as it is definitely not.

Feel free to ask anything else you'd like to know!

Room Tip: Close to main restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SunnySmiles87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2013

The Blue Domes in a very nice hotel in a beautiful location. The food was great, lots to choose from, also the wine and beer were good quality. We would like to thank all the pleasant, helpful staff for making our stay very relaxing and enjoyable. I stayed for one week with my mum and found that it was a perfect place to relax, no one bothered us. We very much enjoyed the evening entertainment, the animation team lead by Rado were very friendly, enthusiastic, intelligent and talented. Its well worth the short walk over to the theatre just across form the bar, they put so much into it to make a very varied and entertaining show.
We would recommend a day shopping in Kos town, there is a direct coach you can book to pick you up outside of the hotel it saves changing buses (thank you Victoria for this information) Its a very pretty town and harbour with lots of nice shops.
Thanks again! hope to see you all again soon.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fiona_Jane_Hope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2013

The hotel grounds are kept spotless, the rooms are spotless, the food is great and plentiful, the staff are all polite, we stayed the first week in may 2013 ,the only fault was the little plastic cups from the pool bar, and this was the only fault we can find, would def go back

Room Tip: We stayed in room 525 which in the middle of the hotel which was great for us
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Rem29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2013

Located midway on the east side of Kos island, 4km north of Kardamena, this hotel is just only 20 mins from the airport. It is one of a cluster of hotels that create a Mitsis village.The Blue Domes complex has been built on hilly ground that sweeps down to the sea with a stunning mountain range at its back and the sea with neighbouring islands to its front and left. The main building includes reception / main restaurant/ bars / supermarket etc sits at the top, with accommodation, interspersed with plenty of swimming pools, smaller restaurants stretched out to the beach. There are plenty of steps to negotiate around which should keep you fit, less physically abled people take note. But it is not that bad.
Hotel - clean, modern, bright, teams of cleaners every morning are working hard to maintain its impressive appearance. The grounds of the hotel are kept impeccably by grounds staff.

Reception staff, - friendly, listen attentively, always happy to help. A question never unanswered.

Rooms - we where located in block 200 , 2nd block down to the left of the hotel. Top floor of 3. Stunning views from the sea view balcony. A reasonable size room, very clean, bright and modern bedroom/ bathroom, plenty of wardrobe space with wooden hangers and drawers for all your clothes. Bathroom, is modern, white, a kept very clean, hair dryer and shaving mirror. Plenty of towels available, changed daily upon your request.
A mini bar stocked daily, normally containing, 2x beers, 2xPepsi, 2x7up, 6 water ( 4 are still, 2 are sparkling), Cleaning staff work very hard all day going through the rooms and keep your room fresh and tidy upon your return.

Restaurants - plenty of choice.
Main restaurant - usual fresh fare serving breakfast, lunch and dinner. I am not going to list every type of food available, but just to say , a great choice of freshly prepared food and drink is prepared to a consistently high standard. The catering team adhere to food hygiene rules.

Apart from the main restaurant, other restaurants are available for lunch and early dinner. They are smaller eateries, with set menus and are well worth a try.
Burger - excellent. providing a limited menu of salads and gourmet beef and chicken burgers, (this is not fast food!
Pitta - excellent, gyros and pittas, salads
German - a nice mix of authentic grilled german foods served by a lovely knowledgable waitress.
Sushi - Wow! Sushi never tasted this good, über fresh and tasty. Excellent chef.
Greek meze - set menu of 6 small Greek traditional dishes, delicious.
And finally, possibly the jewel - Pastry corner. Serving to late in the evening , crepes with different sweet and savoury fillings, Carte D'or ice cream, yes free carte D'or ice cream! Special mention to Jimmy, hard working, tirelessly serving endless lines of children and me for ice cream , always smiling, he could never guess which flavour I was going for next!

Now, these restaurants below are special, but need to be booked at least 2 days before by a computer booking system. At 10 o'clock at night! Not the best thing this hotel has to offer, and some what lets it down. You have to join a queue outside the main restaurant what starts to form from about 21:40. But, It is well worth your effort to queue. Try all these restaurants.

Asian - Chinese restaurant with asian chefs that serve stunning food, such as spare ribs, duck and pancakes, chicken fried rice, and deep fried banana and honey. 10/10.

Italian - wood burning oven pizza's, pasta's, very tasty. 10/10

Greek - mouthwatering choices of traditional Greek food.10/10

Mexican - now I like Mexican, and this did not disappoint, good choice of dishes. 10/10

Swimming pools are a plenty around the complex, but, they are saltwater pools and not heated. Not many people swam in them. But once your in you do warm up quickly. Always best to use a shower after a swim otherwise your skin will tighten!

Entertainments - entertainments staff enthusiasm is hard to beat, if you like joining in the activities. If you are someone who likes the quiet life, then they won't pest you.

In summary, great all-inclusive hotel, well managed, kept very clean by hard working staff, great fresh food and drinks, I was not disappointed. Probably one of the best AI hotels I have stayed at.
Recommended.

Room Tip: Block room numbers 200-250 are located nearer the main hotel and if you have a level 3 balcony you w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CarlMilligan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2013

The hotel complex itself is really very nice, extremely well kept and clean.

You should be aware, however, the management of the hotel, in many respects, is not on an international five star level, let alone '5 star +' as the Blue Domes is rated according to national standards.

First the food: The main restaurant is not good (expect food variety and friendliness of a three star hotel) and overcrowded. For the smaller, better restaurants at the beach you have to wait in long queues in front of a computer in the lobby at 10 pm to MAYBE get a reservation for two days after.

Staff: Some are extremely nice, others strikingly unfriendly. Training deficiencies and lack of general standards in hospitality services are obvious, particularly at the reception desk.

Noise: What was most disturbing for us personally was the loud music from the open air hotel bar until late every night. This gives the hotel an unnecessarily unpleasant, cheap aftertaste.

To put it in a nutshell : particularly if you are looking for a quiet, relaxed upscale vacation you might not be very happy with this hotel. But everybody has a differnt taste, as other enthusiastic reviews show....

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kardamena
0.1 mi away
Mitsis Norida Beach Hotel
0.2 mi away
Mitsis Summer Palace Beach Hotel
0.2 mi away
Mitsis Family Village Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Astir Odysseus Resort & Spa
9.7 mi away
Mitsis Ramira Beach Hotel
9.5 mi away
Michelangelo Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mitsis Blue Domes Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mitsis Blue Domes Resort & Spa

Address: | Tholari, Kardamena 85302, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos > Kardamena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kardamena
#2 Spa Hotel in Kardamena
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kardamena
#6 Romantic Hotel in Kardamena
#6 Family Hotel in Kardamena
Price Range: £121 - £346 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Mitsis Blue Domes Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 499
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mitsis Blue Domes Exclusive Resort & Spa in Kardamena is a 5* plus hotel opened in 2010 and is nestled at the foot of Mount Dikeos and overlooking a sweeping beach. An incredible range of leisure facilities, superb cuisine and 499 beautifully furnished guest rooms, bungalows, villas, family rooms and maisonettes, combine to make an ideal holiday hideaway for discerning ravelers. ACCOMMODATION: Tasteful and Elegant luxury The Mitsis Blue Domes Exclusive Resort & Spa offers a total of 499 luxurious and tastefully appointed rooms that combine simple elegance and sublime views catering to every wish. Rooms include 114 Double Rooms Sea View, 65 Double Rooms with Individual Pool, 235 Sea View & Pool View Bungalows, 48 Family Rooms, 32 maisonettes, 3 Villas and 2 Suites. All rooms are surrounded by incredible gardens and more than 12 shared pools to relax and enjoy. The room decoration and style uses earthy colours, marble floors, wooden furniture and wooden roofs in most rooms. This resort is designed to surpass the expectations of any customer. RESTAURANTS AND BARS: Tasty treats all day and night The hotel offers numerous gastronomic delights throughout the day (07:00-01:00) at no extra charge. At all bars, a large variety of alcoholic drinks, hors d'oeuvres, snacks, ice cream and soft drinks are offered generously. Also, at the restaurants, beer, wine, ouzo, as well as freshly squized juices and soft drinks are served. Main restaurant All meals in the main restaurant are served in a show cooking buffet style. Also every night, guests have the possibility to taste specialties from Greek and international cuisine, such as Italian, Asian and Mexican in the 4 à la carte restaurants. Furthermore, 6 more restaurants are available during day time offering a variety of meals such as burgers, pita gyro, sushi, traditional Greek delicacies, beer house and a pastry corner. Early breakfast: 04:00 - 07:00 Continental (upon request) Breakfast time: 07:00 - 10:00 American Buffet Late breakfast: 10:00 - 10:30 Continental BuffetBreakfast room service: 07:30 - 10:00 Lunch: 12:30 - 14:30 Complete Buffet Dinner: 18:30 - 21:30 Complete Buffet Late arrivals: 22:30 - 24:00 selection of salads & hot dishes 24:00 - 02:00 selection of salads • Espresso and cappuccino served during breakfast. • Freshly squeezed orange juice during breakfast. • Pita station at the beach offering traditional homemade pies. • Ice cream cart offering cone ice cream around the pools and the beach (Mid June- Mid Sept) Dinner dress code: formal is optional, casual smart is required, shorts, vests or open toe shoes for men are not allowed. Ellinadiko à la carte restaurant Ellinadiko offers our guests the opportunity to taste the Greek food culture. Opening hours: dinner (19:00-21:30) Table reservation: required Italian à la carte restaurant Freshly made Italian favourites! Opening hours: for lunch (12:30-14:30) and dinner (19:00-21:30) Table reservation: required Mexican à la carte restaurant Superb Tex-Mex cuisine! Opening hours: for dinner only (19:00-21:30) Table reservation: required Asian à la carte restaurant Indulge in authentic Asian cuisine! Opening hours: for dinner only (19:00-21:30) Table reservation: required Sushi Opening hours: 12:30 - 20:30 (last order 20:00) Burger Juicy burgers! Opening hours: 12:30 - 20:30 (last order 20:00) Beeraria Opening hours: 12:30 - 20:30 (last order 20:00) Ouzeri Taste the famous Greek “mezes” (tapas) with a glass of ouzo and a large variety of Sea food specialties! Opening hours: 12:30 - 20:30 (last order 20:00) Pitta corner Taste the traditional pitta bread souvlaki and gyros! Opening hours: 12:30 - 20:30 (last order 20:00) Traditional action cooking pitta station Opening hours: 10:30 - 17:30 Pastry corner Sweet pleasures! Opening hours: 10:30 - 01:30 (last order 01:00) Selected tea assortments are uniquely served on glass floor at the indoor pool from 16:00 till 19:00. Beach bar Opening hours: 10:00 - 18:00 (last order 17:30) Island pool bar Opening hours: 10:00 - 01:00 (last order 00:30) Garden pool bar Opening hours: 10:00 - 18:00 (last order 17:30) Lobby bar Opening hours: 10:00 - 23:00 (last order 22:30) Night bar with live music Opening hours: 18:00 - 01:00 (last order 00:30) Theatre bar Opening hours: during the animation shows Also we offer: • Traditional barbeque style “souvlaki” served at the tennis pool bar daily. • Waiter Service around the pools. • Waiter Service at the beach. Drinks In all the restaurants, during meals an unlimited selection of drinks is offered, such as wines, draft beer, soft drinks, water, etc. In the bars an unlimited variety of national and international alcoholic beverages, including ouzo, brandy, cocktails, draft beer, soft drinks, coffee, refreshments and juices are on offer. Lunch baskets & early breakfast • All guests on excursions can exchange their meal with a lunch basket. Please note that orders need to be placed before 20:00 the previous day at the main restaurant. • Continental breakfast is available for early departures between 04:00 and 07:00 only upon request. OTHER F&B SERVICES: always at your service Room service Opening hours: 07:30 - 24:00 (last order 23:30) Guests can order breakfast, lunch or dinner to be delivered in the room from the available menu at an extra charge of €10,00 per tray. Mini bar Wine and a selection of fruit are available upon arrival. Also, the mini bar is refilled daily with beers, soft drinks and bottles of mineral water free of charge. SPORTS & ENTERTAINMENT: moments of spontaneous fun and adventure A variety of facilities for the whole family is available. Built with families in mind, we offer a range of free sports and recreational facilities within the hotel’s grounds. SWIMMING: splash around…. Guests of all ages can choose between the 12 outdoor seawater pools and the beautiful pebble beach. Umbrellas and sun beds are available free of charge. Beach towels are also available, however a refundable deposit of €20,00 per towel is required. JUST FOR KIDS: a complimentary programme for kids No matter how old your children are they are sure to have a great time at the Blue Domes Wonderland, the place where also our mascots, live. The Mini Club keeps children entertained during the day, providing a safe and friendly atmosphere with supervision. Daily games for the young ones from 4 to 7 years old from 10:00 to 17:00 and during the evenings the children’s fun continues with Mini Disco from 20:00 to 21:30. The Maxi Club (8 to 12 years old) and The Junior Club (13 to 15 years old) operating during July and August allow the children to meet and spend time with others of their age and give the parents the opportunity to relax. Children facilities include • Integrated fresh water pool and a playground with water slides. • Library, painting room, music room, puppet show, rest area and movie room, all available for the entertainment of the little ones while the parents relax and rest. • Free carousel every night as well as the games and internet room. • High chairs and baby cots available for infants. FACILITIES & ACTIVITIES free of charge Tennis Court Mini Soccer Court Pedal Boats & canoes Beach Volley Water Polo Table Tennis Billiards Darts Gymnastics, Aerobics Games Room Waterslides Bridge Room Windsurfing (with certificate) Activities/gymnastics shaded deck at the beach FACILITIES & ACTIVITIES at an extra charge Water Skiing Paragliding Rings Banana Boat Jet Ski Horse & Pony Riding (external contractor upon request) Paint Ball games (external contractor upon request) Motor & yacht rental for private cruises ENTERTAINMENT A multilingual animation team provides throughout day and night various activities and games such as musicals, karaoke nights, cabarets, sketches, shows, competition games, demonstrations and many other in order to amuse the guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mitsis Blue Domes Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mitsis Blue Domes Resort And Spa
Mitsis Blue Domes Hotel Kardamena
Mitsis Blue Domes Resort & Spa Kos/Kardamena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing