We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mitsis Blue Domes Resort & Spa
Ranked #3 of 39 Hotels in Kardamena
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Just returned from a weeks stay at the blue domes the hotel outside area is stunnin.g with great views.Most of the staff are friendly and helpful apart from some of the reception staff .when we arrived abt 11pm 4adults & 4 children we handed in our accommodation vouchers for two superior family rooms we were told they only had one room,after some argument the put six in one room which only slept 4 the 2 of us in a double room for the night,next morning our booking was found but did not get the rooms we booked.we had to request clean towels most days.they advertise bath robes and slippers,never saw any.because we had a late flight home we booked a extra night they tried to throw us out of our rooms after another few hours argument also we had a spare booking itinary with us they honourd it.It mite have been the last week of the season but if they take bookings they should be honoured think they need some lessons in customer relations

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kyraLEEDS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,414)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,383 - 1,389 of 3,414 reviews

Reviewed 31 October 2013

Hi I have just returned from a weeks stay at the Blue Domes in Kos. Myself and my 14 year old Daughter stayed here and I have no complaints. Hotel CLEAN, rooms nice and spacious. Staff Very PLEASANT AND HELPFULL. Although the Hotel was due to close there was still daytime and evening activities going on for all. Plenty of room by all the pools, good choice of places to Eat, the main restaurant was open for Breakfast, Lunch and evening meal with a variety of dishes on offer. You could also eat at one of the 6 smaller restaurants- serving Burgers, pancakes, sushi, Greek and German food. there was also the 4 restaurants you could book for which included a Italian, Greek, Mexican and Asia, We visited all of them apart from the Greek one. The bars were open from Morning till night serving soft drinks, alcohol drinks( cocktails included) and coffee and tea. you could hire peddle boats and canoes for free and other water sports were on offer for a charge. Went into Kardemenia but not much going on at this time of the year. A bus service runs from the Hotel to Kos town in a morning and returns at 4-30pm. Can honestly say would take a trip back and if you are looking for a Holiday with everything close at hand then this is a place to go to. Forgot to mention Kids club on site to which Families with younger children were saying was great as there was a pool area for smaller children and activities as well.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 719 which was in the middle of the resort, close to Beach and had a pool in front...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank angela m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

We went to the hotel with the zumba dancing group.
The vacation was ideal. Good service, tasty food, remarkable entertainment programs. No complains or disappointment. We will definitely return. Thank you for the great time!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mārīte K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013 via mobile

Thank you Blue Domes and all the stuff everyone was very welcoming I've spent one weeks in this hotel with my family, and it was a nice and relaxing holiday. The food was excelent had so many choices and everyday there was something different. The animation team were the best of all, they were always happy, and they come round to talk to you when your on the beach which is nice, they also did the show in the evening, my favourite one was the lion king. Miss everyone already. Xx

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 24claire1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Blue Domes in August this year for a week. We arrived around 11pm and was offered late dinner in the main restaurant and ad lovely welcome by the staff. We chose to walk to our room which was about half way between main house and beach and was very pleasantly surprised by the room. We booked a standard room although was a lot nicer than we expected! Amazing comfortable bed and nice and dark and quiet. You will need to be prepared to do a lot of walking up and down hills and stairs so it's worth making sure you have have everything you need to save going back and forth!! Stunning food in all restaurants although didn't eat in the ones you had to book, we found the choice we had in the main room and side restaurants we had everything we needed. One down side was that we were never able to get a sun bed by the pool as it seems there were towels on every single bed by about 6am!! We never struggled to get a bed on he beach which was much nicer anyway so not really a complaint!!

We took a taxi to Paradise beach which was about 20 minutes away and stunning so highly recommended. We also went to in Kardemena main town one night which I would not advise anyone to do. Ever!! Was awful, was a bad version of a tacky school disco in every bar and not really my thing! So we stuck to drinks in the hotel after that!

Would definitely recommend this hotel, beautiful island, weather was incredible and great food.

Thanks for a lovely holiday!

Room Tip: Lots of walking to be done so a room close to the main building is good for restaurant/bar but rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jess H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

The resort itself is stunning with pools cascading down the hill and well tended grounds. We had a few niggles. The pool water was excedingly salty so we swam in the sea - yes, the Med is less salty than these pools (which had quite a number of tiles missing)! I've never been anywhere with so many pools - and so few swimmers! The sea however, was lovely. Clear, full of fish and with a good slope so no wading in. Beach is pebbles.
We managed to get the bus out on three days but the service is limited. Out in the morning and back in the afternoon. If you miss the bus, then you walk into Kardemena which is probably 4 - 5 km at a guess - less than an hour and probably 1/2 hour at a reasonable pace. There is nothing closer. The bike hire shop was closed, for no apparent reason but there are no places to cycle to unless you like hills. No where to walk to either apart from Kardemena. We did feel a bit isolated/trapped by the end of the week
My friend was reprimanded for sitting sideways on a sofa in the reception area!!! She didn't have her feet on the furniture and was just trying to get comfortable in a really wide and low sofa. There were parties of holiday reps in residence that week, who the hotel was trying to impress. We did, at times, feel like second class citizens to them.
Food and waiting staff were generally very good but booking for restaurants in the morning was a bit of a pain as stated in other reviews. The omlet lady was loved by everyone for her smile and her memory. No mean feat in a place of that size. Pizzas from the wood oven available most nights were excellent. The pancake place was the only one open when we arrived at 11ish. The influx of arrivals I think overwhelmed the staff and they decided to close, even after having taken our orders, leaving us hungry after the evening flight.
Restaurants on the beach did not serve coffee - you have to walk back up to the top for this which is a bit of a trek (but worth it - good coffee).
The bar area had a strange system where sometimes you could get served and sometimes they would only serve the waiters, pointing you to a long queue at the end of the bar.Spirits were, sadly, the 'all inclusive' type but the beer and wine were generally fine (occasionally wine tasted watery!). The bar area had nice looking chairs which were actually too low for the tables. There was a queue to be seated in the restaurant most days too. Oh, how we love to queue!
The diving staff on the beach were lovely. Two dive sites available, one called the pinnacle where we saw a giant turtle and the other through a field of sulphur bubbles - very pretty.
A friend had a massage and enjoyed it so much she went back twice more.
We tried the entertainment but gave it a miss after a few minutes except for the night they did 'The Lion King' which included in the cast, some of the children on holiday there. This was well done for the facilities they had (don't expect West End style)
There were a lot of pongy sewery niffs around the resort and I'm told this is normal and not just a problem of the moment.
Rooms were very good with stocked fridges and all you needed (hair dryer, scales!!!)
All in all a good holiday but I won't be going back.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Allybindahouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

My boyfriend and I visited on 12th October for a week and we both really loved the hotel, and for what we paid we thought it was fantastic value.

The hotel was really beautiful, the complex of pools is really quite impressive, we had a seaview room and the view across the pool, out to sea and across to the mountains was really quite spectacular. The hotel was immaculately maintained, inside and out.

We both found the food to be excellent, the food in the main restaurant was of a good quality breakfast, lunch and dinner, lots of variety and all good quality, the freshly baked pizza’s were particularly yummy. We found that the extra restaurants made the holiday as this enabled us to have a change of scenery and was nice to have your food served to you. We visited the Italian, Greek, Creperie, Ouzeri, Beerhouse and Sushi restaurant and really enjoyed every meal.

The only thing that let this hotel down, I would say, is the evening entertainment. The old guy in the leather trousers playing his keyboard was not good, he didn’t seem to know the words - he really was awful. The main bar was also really bright at night, like it was some kind of canteen, with a bit of ambient lighting and someone pulling the plug on the guy’s keyboard the evenings would have much better.

There also seemed to be a lot of Russian guests at the hotel and they were extremely rude constantly pushing in, but that was not the fault of the hotel.

Overall I would say the days at this hotel were idyllic but we did feel at a bit of a loss as to what to do in the evenings, as the entertainment was so poor and the hotel was not close to the main town. I woudl have given this hotel 5 stars but because of this I only gave it 4

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gemgemsb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kardamena
0.2 mi away
Mitsis Family Village Beach Hotel
0.2 mi away
Mitsis Summer Palace Beach Hotel
0.1 mi away
Mitsis Norida Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Astir Odysseus Resort & Spa
9.5 mi away
Michelangelo Resort and Spa
8.8 mi away
Aqua Blu Boutique Hotel + Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mitsis Blue Domes Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mitsis Blue Domes Resort & Spa

Address: | Tholari, Kardamena 85302, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos > Kardamena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kardamena
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kardamena
#2 Spa Hotel in Kardamena
#6 Family Hotel in Kardamena
#6 Romantic Hotel in Kardamena
Price Range: £128 - £399 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Mitsis Blue Domes Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 499
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The absolute ultra all-inclusive five-star beach resort in Kos, BLUE DOMES RESORT & SPA, only 7 km away from the traditional village Kardamena, is the quintessence of luxurious holidays. In its 499 rooms, the resort offers numerous choices - from standard guestrooms and bungalows to maisonettes and villas with a private pool. The swimming pools, which are throughout the entire resort, measure a total length of 650m. There are also 10 restaurants, 7 bars, water slides, a playground, interior leisure rooms (a library, a painting room, a music room, puppet theater, a projection room and a relaxation room), an internet corner, tennis courts, a mini soccer court, a conference hall, with a capacity of 500 people and an amphitheater with a capacity of 800 people, a Wellness Spa to relax your body and soul - all together make up the perfect setting for unforgettable holidays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mitsis Blue Domes Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mitsis Blue Domes Hotel Kardamena
Mitsis Blue Domes Resort And Spa
Mitsis Blue Domes Resort & Spa Kos/Kardamena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing