We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looks good -BUT”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mitsis Blue Domes Resort & Spa
Ranked #3 of 39 Hotels in Kardamena
Certificate of Excellence
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Looks good -BUT”
Reviewed 6 November 2013

We found the glowing description of the hotel in the brochure to be a little off the mark & feel it did not warrant the 5*+ rating.So this is my report on our stay in October 2013.

Firstly in my opinion it is unsuitable for elderly people with any walking difficulty, wheelchair users or pushchair users as being built on the side of a mountain a lot of steps have to be climbed during the day.One of the key facts states that it has 499 rooms & 2 lifts.It does not say that the rooms are spread over a vast area in separate blocks & that the lifts only operates between the lower bar area & the restaurant above in the main building.Even though our room was at the top of the site & nearest to the restaurant it entailed a climb of 80 steep steps with no hand rails to the lift & a further 20 steps if the lift was out of order.
From the bottom of the site nearest to the beach meant a climb of approx 180 steps up hill over rough crazy paving,All of the steps & walkways were prone to flooding after rain & became extremely slippery.

The food in the buffet was generally very good with a wide choice that we did not need to choose to use the other a la carte restaurants.The problems occurred during a spell of heavy rain when the outside seating area became unusable & the inside area was too small to cope which resulted in long queues.The dress code (long trousers) was also not adhered to & shorts & flip flops were very evident most evenings.

During our stay the hotel was visited by large groups of holiday reps from Poland & Russia.The staff were so keen to impress them to the detriment of other paying guests.Dinner should have been served up until 9.30 but so that a large section of the restaurant could be prepared with fancy table clothes & selected chairs etc the doors were closed at 8.30.Those that had missed the small notice at the door were refused admission & were offered the choice of calling room service for a pasta which they would have to pay for or walking half way down the site to the small eating places by the central pool bar. In the meanwhile the reps were being wined & dined with musical accompaniment which is something we never had.

The advertised 6 bars service was also very poor with bars being either shut or under staffed most of the time.Drinks in some bars were served in flimsy plastic cups which takes the shine off of a decent Gin & Tonic.At the Beirarea snack bar a drink could only be obtained if you ordered food.Had the beer but left the food.Crazy !!!

The most nauseous thing about the hotel which very few people have reported on is the fact that a sewage plant is situated at the highest point behind the outdoor theatre.Of an evening the smell was driven down the the hill by the ever constant wind & into the hotel area.So sickening on occasions that we were forced to keep the balcony door shut overnight.

The only saving grace for the hotel was the work carried out by the animation team.Busy though out the day on the beach & entertaining the children at the disco of the evening.The Lion King show was particularly good & if the " Freddy Mercury lookalike" leader reads this,Keep up the good work mate & I am sure "I want to break free" would be a hit.Sorry we will not be returning to see it.

Having stayed at this type of resort complex in Egypt,Mexico,Cuba & Turkey & at 4 & 5 * hotels throughout the World I can honestly say that the Blue Domes has a lot of work to do before it can entice me back on a return visit.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Wood9288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,070 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,906
    751
    289
    91
    33
See reviews for
1,492
1,000
25
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (612)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Gosport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

stayed from the 12th to the 26th october 2013 after having stayed in three other mitsis hotels around the islands including norrida beach we were looking forward to blue domes but must say a bit disapointed the hotel looks stunning and the rooms are great and so are the chamber maids but the main restraunt staff are a bit lacking service skills and cutlery food was good good selection but could not book other restraunts even though we re there two weeks, during the day plenty to do,at night no heart as the bar is to small
and is not a central point.
while we were there reps visited and were treated like gods whatever they wanted they got and the guests made to feel like second class so overall very pretty wont be going back ,norrida next time i think far better

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stewart m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We stayed at blue domes for a week from the 26th october, overall it was great!booked for mitsis summer palace but the hotel had closed for the season so we upgraded to blue domes!Rooms were lovely and very clean!lots of places to go for food including Italian, Mexican, sushi, burger place and many more!spoilt for choice! Animation team were all great and always up for a chat!(zuzu, ninga) couldn't be more friendly! Although some of the staff at reception etc we're quite rude but overall we had a great holiday!would defiantly come back!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mollymax123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nottinghamshire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

I don't want to bore you by repeating what other reviewers have said.I personally think it depends on what month you stay so opinions will vary.We stayed back in may (reviewed but it failed )Ok here goes > Pools ok, salty didn't notice,cool and refreshing after boiling ourselves in the sun >the pools make the hotel look appealing but I prefer two or more larger pools so when at your room you can look from your balcony and see activity.Rooms ok ! had better,we had a garden bungalow which was ideal for my crawling baby grandson,but if we did not have him would have been lovely to have had a pool outside our room.The sea was freezing cold in may so only dipped my toes,the pebbly beach did not bother us at least we wernt sprayed with sand and grandson was happy playing.Sure they had coffee at beach bar.ice cream and cakes at creperie great and only venue open for late arrivals.Food ok always something you can find in main restaurant (had better in Turkey and worse in Egypt ) Burger place good for lunch,didnt like pitta corner,lunch basket surprisingly good.Evening entertainment mmmmmm well not impressed.Staff mostly helpful especially cleaners restaurant and bar staff,Maria on reception was very efficient and polite.Take a trip while here to nisyros,there are plenty of boat trips in Kardamena great day out.Also the 3 island boat trip from Kos,try and get on the Katerina.Back to my review on the hotel , we enjoyed our holiday at this hotel , there was my daughter and her partner and baby,my older grandchildren 12yrs and 13yrs and my partner none of us would vote to return and would not vote it the best weve stayed at,but you who are thinking of booking or you that already have you will enjoy it and wont be disappointed . If you go in the early mths take a light jacket cardigans or fleeces for the evenings only one evening was cool for us but you never know .

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emanchana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Folkestone
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Booked a week at the adjacent Norida Beach but were upgraded to the Blue Domes, due to not enough bookings to keep whole complex open. No complaints though and no scaling back of service or choice. Food was good with plenty of choice. omlettes cooked to order at breakfast. Tried the italian, greek and asian restaurants - all good. also 6 snack outlets - pitta and pastry/crepe were good.
plenty of swimming pools but water was cold.luckily it was sunny and we spent most days on the beach. sea was pleasant for a dip.
room was large and comfortable but we drew the short straw on the view from our terrace - the side of the Beeraria German snack outlet.
Entertainments team worked their socks off and their costumes ( lots of changes). Very reminiscent of French campsites in the late 90's/early 00's.
70's and 80's music from Steven on his organ in the Main bar - good background music to go with your cocktails.
All in all a brilliant week. Thinking of returning next year if the price is right.
Trip in Kos Town on the daily direct bus was well worth it.
Boat trip to Nisyros to the volcano was superb - booked through Harriet Travel in Kardamena - Excellent guide (Mike an Englishman who's lived on Nisyros for 15 years and clearly loves it)
Much better and cheaper than booking through the rep.

Room Tip: Most rooms are south (sea) facing. We were just unlucky with our view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank words68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Massiveeeeeeeeeeeeee, beautiful restaurants to eat at lunch time and a Carte DOR ice cream parlor, cattle market at main restaurant had to book in advance for the other ones which was a bit of a pain as depending who you traveled with would determine what days were bookable! breakfast times advisable to wait to be seated outside as less chaotic once you got your food :) all accessible however if mobility poor then i would imagine then this wouldn't be the place to stay... entertainment in night awful however fella on keyboard entertaining playing all kinds from modern to oldies having said that hearing evichi being played on a keyboard somewhat strange! Dont expect to be drinking "Real" alcohol i think its very watered down whatever you drink however it does have something about it,,,,, maybe a herbal relaxant lol overall great holiday and if get chance hire a quad and explore as we came upon the thermal spa by chance however the hotel are selling trips there.

Room Tip: one with a pool infront however the pools are freezing so only for the brave
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WalesBernie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Just returned back from the Blue Domes which we visited during the October half term with four kids! Originally booked into the Mitsis Family Village through Expedia but on arrival at the airport the taxi driver told us it had closed for the winter and everyone was transferred to the Blue Domes. From what we could see of the Family Village during our stay (Family Village is next complex along the beach), we think we got the better deal! Blue Domes is 5* whereas Family Village is 4* and it really looks significantly better. Rooms are lovely, we had the larger family rooms which are enormous and come with a mezzanine floor and en-suite on both upper and lower floors. Cleaned every day and towels changed. We also had flowers in the room and petals sprinkled over the beds which the kids thought was great.
Blue Domes is all inclusive and the main restaurant does buffet meals at set times. Loads of choice and really good food, from salads to soup to pies to chips and grilled stuff as well as fresh fruit and cake. There are also 6 smaller 'open all day' restaurants serving crepes, sushi, burgers, sausages, wraps etc. Or alternatively, you could book one of the four restaurants down on the beach for a posh evening meal - traditional Greek, Asian, Mexican or Italian. We tried most places and all were great. Only complaint I heard was from a couple who couldn't get orange juice from the buffet at lunch time, but this may be because it was the hotels last day before closing for the Winter. There was OJ available at the bars.
The hotel beach was lovely, with a drinks hut serving coffee, tea, lager and shorts/cocktails, plus a few sandwiches and rolls. Water was amazingly clear and within a very short distance from the beach there were large rocks underwater that hosted thousands of fish which swam all about you as soon as you were in knee deep! Take your snorkel and mask or buy it for about 7 euro from Kardamena which is about an hours pleasant walk away along the very quiet beach road. Local buses stop at the hotel reception also.
We went to Kos town by coach from the Hotel whilst we were there, 8 euro adults, 4 euros for the kids. A great day out, lovely harbour and the fort is brilliant.
Also went from Kardamena to the volcano by boat and then bus which cost 80 euro all in after a bit of haggling with the tour operator in Kardamena. Well worth a trip.
Considering we went at end of October, the weather was excellent, over 20C most days and sunny every day. All in all, a great holiday and no complaints whatsoever.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rob E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kardamena
0.2 mi away
Mitsis Summer Palace
Mitsis Summer Palace
#19 of 39 in Kardamena
1,215 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mitsis Norida Beach Hotel
8.8 mi away
Aqua Blu Boutique Hotel + Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Astir Odysseus Resort & Spa
3.5 mi away
Grand Blue Beach Hotel
Grand Blue Beach Hotel
#2 of 39 in Kardamena
256 reviews
7.6 mi away
Blue Lagoon Village
Blue Lagoon Village
#1 of 13 in Kefalos
1,285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mitsis Blue Domes Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mitsis Blue Domes Resort & Spa

Property: Mitsis Blue Domes Resort & Spa
Address: | Tholari, Kardamena 85302, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos > Kardamena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Kardamena
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kardamena
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kardamena
#6 Family Hotel in Kardamena
#6 Romantic Hotel in Kardamena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Mitsis Blue Domes Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 499
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mitsis Blue Domes Exclusive Resort & Spa in Kardamena is a 5* plus hotel opened in 2010 and is nestled at the foot of Mount Dikeos and overlooking a sweeping beach. An incredible range of leisure facilities, superb cuisine and 499 beautifully furnished guest rooms, bungalows, villas, family rooms and maisonettes, combine to make an ideal holiday hideaway for discerning ravelers. ACCOMMODATION: Tasteful and Elegant luxury The Mitsis Blue Domes Exclusive Resort & Spa offers a total of 499 luxurious and tastefully appointed rooms that combine simple elegance and sublime views catering to every wish. Rooms include 114 Double Rooms Sea View, 65 Double Rooms with Individual Pool, 235 Sea View & Pool View Bungalows, 48 Family Rooms, 32 maisonettes, 3 Villas and 2 Suites. All rooms are surrounded by incredible gardens and more than 12 shared pools to relax and enjoy. The room decoration and style uses earthy colours, marble floors, wooden furniture and wooden roofs in most rooms. This resort is designed to surpass the expectations of any customer. RESTAURANTS AND BARS: Tasty treats all day and night The hotel offers numerous gastronomic delights throughout the day (07:00-01:00) at no extra charge. At all bars, a large variety of alcoholic drinks, hors d'oeuvres, snacks, ice cream and soft drinks are offered generously. Also, at the restaurants, beer, wine, ouzo, as well as freshly squized juices and soft drinks are served. Main restaurant All meals in the main restaurant are served in a show cooking buffet style. Also every night, guests have the possibility to taste specialties from Greek and international cuisine, such as Italian, Asian and Mexican in the 4 à la carte restaurants. Furthermore, 6 more restaurants are available during day time offering a variety of meals such as burgers, pita gyro, sushi, traditional Greek delicacies, beer house and a pastry corner. Early breakfast: 04:00 - 07:00 Continental (upon request) Breakfast time: 07:00 - 10:00 American Buffet Late breakfast: 10:00 - 10:30 Continental BuffetBreakfast room service: 07:30 - 10:00 Lunch: 12:30 - 14:30 Complete Buffet Dinner: 18:30 - 21:30 Complete Buffet Late arrivals: 22:30 - 24:00 selection of salads & hot dishes 24:00 - 02:00 selection of salads • Espresso and cappuccino served during breakfast. • Freshly squeezed orange juice during breakfast. • Pita station at the beach offering traditional homemade pies. • Ice cream cart offering cone ice cream around the pools and the beach (Mid June- Mid Sept) Dinner dress code: formal is optional, casual smart is required, shorts, vests or open toe shoes for men are not allowed. Ellinadiko à la carte restaurant Ellinadiko offers our guests the opportunity to taste the Greek food culture. Opening hours: dinner (19:00-21:30) Table reservation: required Italian à la carte restaurant Freshly made Italian favourites! Opening hours: for lunch (12:30-14:30) and dinner (19:00-21:30) Table reservation: required Mexican à la carte restaurant Superb Tex-Mex cuisine! Opening hours: for dinner only (19:00-21:30) Table reservation: required Asian à la carte restaurant Indulge in authentic Asian cuisine! Opening hours: for dinner only (19:00-21:30) Table reservation: required Sushi Opening hours: 12:30 - 20:30 (last order 20:00) Burger Juicy burgers! Opening hours: 12:30 - 20:30 (last order 20:00) Beeraria Opening hours: 12:30 - 20:30 (last order 20:00) Ouzeri Taste the famous Greek “mezes” (tapas) with a glass of ouzo and a large variety of Sea food specialties! Opening hours: 12:30 - 20:30 (last order 20:00) Pitta corner Taste the traditional pitta bread souvlaki and gyros! Opening hours: 12:30 - 20:30 (last order 20:00) Traditional action cooking pitta station Opening hours: 10:30 - 17:30 Pastry corner Sweet pleasures! Opening hours: 10:30 - 01:30 (last order 01:00) Selected tea assortments are uniquely served on glass floor at the indoor pool from 16:00 till 19:00. Beach bar Opening hours: 10:00 - 18:00 (last order 17:30) Island pool bar Opening hours: 10:00 - 01:00 (last order 00:30) Garden pool bar Opening hours: 10:00 - 18:00 (last order 17:30) Lobby bar Opening hours: 10:00 - 23:00 (last order 22:30) Night bar with live music Opening hours: 18:00 - 01:00 (last order 00:30) Theatre bar Opening hours: during the animation shows Also we offer: • Traditional barbeque style “souvlaki” served at the tennis pool bar daily. • Waiter Service around the pools. • Waiter Service at the beach. Drinks In all the restaurants, during meals an unlimited selection of drinks is offered, such as wines, draft beer, soft drinks, water, etc. In the bars an unlimited variety of national and international alcoholic beverages, including ouzo, brandy, cocktails, draft beer, soft drinks, coffee, refreshments and juices are on offer. Lunch baskets & early breakfast • All guests on excursions can exchange their meal with a lunch basket. Please note that orders need to be placed before 20:00 the previous day at the main restaurant. • Continental breakfast is available for early departures between 04:00 and 07:00 only upon request. OTHER F&B SERVICES: always at your service Room service Opening hours: 07:30 - 24:00 (last order 23:30) Guests can order breakfast, lunch or dinner to be delivered in the room from the available menu at an extra charge of €10,00 per tray. Mini bar Wine and a selection of fruit are available upon arrival. Also, the mini bar is refilled daily with beers, soft drinks and bottles of mineral water free of charge. SPORTS & ENTERTAINMENT: moments of spontaneous fun and adventure A variety of facilities for the whole family is available. Built with families in mind, we offer a range of free sports and recreational facilities within the hotel’s grounds. SWIMMING: splash around…. Guests of all ages can choose between the 12 outdoor seawater pools and the beautiful pebble beach. Umbrellas and sun beds are available free of charge. Beach towels are also available, however a refundable deposit of €20,00 per towel is required. JUST FOR KIDS: a complimentary programme for kids No matter how old your children are they are sure to have a great time at the Blue Domes Wonderland, the place where also our mascots, live. The Mini Club keeps children entertained during the day, providing a safe and friendly atmosphere with supervision. Daily games for the young ones from 4 to 7 years old from 10:00 to 17:00 and during the evenings the children’s fun continues with Mini Disco from 20:00 to 21:30. The Maxi Club (8 to 12 years old) and The Junior Club (13 to 15 years old) operating during July and August allow the children to meet and spend time with others of their age and give the parents the opportunity to relax. Children facilities include • Integrated fresh water pool and a playground with water slides. • Library, painting room, music room, puppet show, rest area and movie room, all available for the entertainment of the little ones while the parents relax and rest. • Free carousel every night as well as the games and internet room. • High chairs and baby cots available for infants. FACILITIES & ACTIVITIES free of charge Tennis Court Mini Soccer Court Pedal Boats & canoes Beach Volley Water Polo Table Tennis Billiards Darts Gymnastics, Aerobics Games Room Waterslides Bridge Room Windsurfing (with certificate) Activities/gymnastics shaded deck at the beach FACILITIES & ACTIVITIES at an extra charge Water Skiing Paragliding Rings Banana Boat Jet Ski Horse & Pony Riding (external contractor upon request) Paint Ball games (external contractor upon request) Motor & yacht rental for private cruises ENTERTAINMENT A multilingual animation team provides throughout day and night various activities and games such as musicals, karaoke nights, cabarets, sketches, shows, competition games, demonstrations and many other in order to amuse the guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Bookgreece.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotelopia, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Mitsis Blue Domes Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mitsis Blue Domes Hotel Kardamena
Mitsis Blue Domes Resort And Spa
Mitsis Blue Domes Resort & Spa Kos/Kardamena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing