We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could have been better.....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mitsis Blue Domes Resort & Spa
Ranked #3 of 39 Hotels in Kardamena
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Overall the holiday was good, we would have given 3 and a half stars if we could but there were too many unnecessary stresses which took some enjoyment out of the holiday:

Positives:
Lots of large pools which are well maintained, very few people in each one so not at all crowded.
Lovely views, especially from the main restaurant.
Great creperie, and as all inclusive you can have as many crepes or as much ice cream as you want.
Pizzas at the main restaurant were very nice and freshly made.
Beach is extremely close, you can walk down to the beach for a swim leaving your towels in your room (or as many people have done, on a sunbed, see below).
The room was large, clean and well decorated. Nice views from the terrace area.

Negatives:
On arrival at the check in desk at 1am, it took a long time to get seen as only one member of staff was on duty. When we were seen, we were told that they had no record of our booking! Luckily we had the travel documents printed out so he had to find us a room! Judging from other peoples' reviews this happens quite a lot and we were fortunate to get a room at the hotel we booked, even though we doubt this was the room we paid for!
Following this, we were informed there was a porter service and our luggage was to be brought to our room, an hour later we walked back up the hill to collect the luggage which had not moved (nor had any of the other guests')
In addition the minibar had not been restocked so we had no water, on calling reception we were told that room service was closed and therefore we would have to wait for morning!
To get a sunbed you had to be up at 7am to reserve one, some sunbeds were reserved from the previous night! Every morning we were the only people by the pool in our area until roughly midday, even though all the sunbeds were reserved, sometimes the people reserving would not show up at all!
Our terrace light bulb broke on the second day of the holiday, we phoned reception 3 times on 3 different days but by the time we left 5 days later it was still not fixed.
Food at the buffet is lukewarm, even when you show up 10 minutes after service begins. The food quality at the a la carte restaurants is still like canteen food.

Conclusion
The hotel seems to be a machine, if everything goes well for you, you will have a good holiday, however, if anything goes wrong the hotel can't cope or respond.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ted_Mclovin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MITSISHOTELS, Manager at Mitsis Blue Domes Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your extensive review. It is a pleasure to hear that you and your family had a relaxing holiday.
We appreciate all your nice comments about the hotel as well as your suggestions for improvement.
On behalf of our hotel’s team I would like to thank you for choosing our hotel for your holiday and we are looking forward to welcoming you again for more exclusive holidays in Blue Domes.

Best Regards,
The Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,425)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,225 - 1,231 of 3,425 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

The place must have cost a small fortune to build, its absolutley brilliant.

Apart from the sunbed issue, everything here was/is fantastic.

I would like to mention some stand out staff that i thought were great.

On the reception, the custmer relations lady i dont remeber her name, was very efficient.

Ioanna on reception. She was Great (you will instantly recgonise her as she looks like supernanny!)

Iona the girl that looks after the kids was lovely.

The woman in the mexican restaraunt was really nice

Petros, aggelos and miroslav on the pool bar were spot on!

And the rest were great also, the reception were helpful and efficient everytime i ask or needed something.

Dont hesitate to go on holiday here you will have a fantastic time.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lesbabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MITSISHOTELS, Manager at Mitsis Blue Domes Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your review and for your positive remarks.
On behalf of our hotel’s team I would like to thank you for choosing our hotel for your holiday and we are looking forward to welcoming you again for more exclusive holidays in Blue Domes.

Yours sincerely,
The Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We just got back from our vacation at Mitsis Blue Domes hotel.

First and above all - it's overbooked, not now, not this month - always.
Look through past reviews from 2011, 2012, 2013 and from this year and you'll notice it's systematic. They keep doing it over and over, it's not a mistake, it's a way of thinking there.

Mitsis chain have five hotels in Kos, Blue Domes is the most exclusive of them and probably most wanted. So they found a way to occupy the rooms at the other hotels - you book a room at the Blue Domes, and they send you to spend a night or two at one of the others hotels. Sound ridicules? it certainly is. But it happened to many people over the last week while we were there, and it's not by mistake.

We booked our sea-view room one month in advanced through Expedia, 4 nights for 2 adults and a 22 months child. A week before we called the hotel to make sure they got our reservation from Expedia, they confirmed.
Upon our arrival (around 2:00 pm) the receptionist greeted us and gave us the hotel map and bracelets, we asked about our room location and she started saying "well, i'm sorry the hotel is overbooked... so you'll have to spend one night at our hotel in Kos town, 20 minutes from here, we'll come to pick you tomorrow..."

That never happened to us before! we didn't accept that an asked to speak with the manager, it took him (Filos) 30 minutes to get there and all he had to say is that he is sorry but we have two options - to go to the other hotel (in Kos town) or to wait and get the room at 00:00 at night, which he knew was not an option with a small child.

We were very upset, our child was awake since 5:00 am and very tired, we didn't want to go anywhere else, since we paid in advance for a room at the Blue Domes. We went to eat late lunch and got back to hear they don't have any other solution for us, and it is up to us to decide to go to the other hotel.

While sitting in the lobby, we saw many people come and sent to other hotels, we also heard Filos the manager saying different excuses - he is sorry, he feels embarrassed and we even heard him saying to one family this is a mistake that happened since they have a new system.
After another hour and a half and after my husband told them we'll keep sitting there until they'll find a better solution, they found a room at the family hotel (located at the same area of the Blue Domes but not in walking distance). Our child was so tired (it was after 5:30 pm) so we had to take this room.

This is how we started our vacation, in an outdated 4 stars room, far from all the hotel facilities, and not what we expected or ordered. I never heard of such a thing when you order a room at one hotel and had to sleep in another.
The day after we got our room at 11:30 am (not as promised "you'll get the first one available).We didn't get any compensation for this night.

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Other than that -

Pros -
The hotel is beautiful, the room was spacious and very clean, pools are great.
Kids have many activities, kids pool, playground and more.

Cons -
Service - at the reception, at some of the restaurants. It's not a 5 stars standard, not even close.
The food is ok, many options and restaurants, but not 5 stars standard.
As written in many reviews - no sunbeds, all are taken by 8:00 am.

But all of that doesn't change the fact that there is no guarantee you'll book a room and actually get it. So I would not recommend this hotel, especially when traveling with a child.

Room Tip: The rooms are good but there is no guarantee you'll get a room in this hotel, they send people t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
18  Thank Sharons_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MITSISHOTELS, Manager at Mitsis Blue Domes Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your extensive review.
We sincerely apologise that the vacation in our resort has not met your expectations and for the inconvenience caused due to the overbooking situation.
We welcome your suggestions for improvement so we can offer a great service.

Best Regards
The Hotel Management
Blue Domes Exclusive Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

"Welcome to holiday paradise!!!" says Konstantinos Mitsis, President of the Mitsis Group Activities. "Our guests find out about the secrets of the destinations where our group is present."
Unfortunately, the secret we discovered was that his group routinely over-book their facilities.

We were looking forward to our all-inclusive holiday booked in the Mitsis Blue Domes Exclusive hotel. When we arrived we were told that the rooms we booked were not available and we would need to stay next door in their Norida Beach hotel. However, "we could walk back daily and use the facilities at the Blue Domes!" Not a happy experience. Geographically, the two hotels are 200 metres apart. On every other level they are worlds apart. Not that the Norida Beach is poor, but it is in the mould of a Holiday Inn, quite similar to the one half a mile from my house. The Blue Domes is special and so are the staff, (apart from the management.) The scoring system does not allow for this. It is both excellent and very poor. Sadly, we felt like day visitors to the resort and met lots of other people in the same situation.

Once transferred, and downgraded, we received no after service whatsoever. We thought this a secret worth sharing before you consider becoming a guest.

Room Tip: You may need to go at start or end of season to get the room you want.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank JOHN M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MITSISHOTELS, Manager at Mitsis Blue Domes Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.
We sincerely apologise that the vacation in our resort has not met your expectations.
We welcome your suggestions for improvement so we can offer a great service.

Best Regards
The Hotel Management
Blue Domes Exclusive Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Had a lovely relaxing holiday to Mitsis. The swimming pools were amazing although were salt water and unfortunately the a lot of the small tiles were coming off (in fact, it was a game in itself for the children to collect the small tiles while swimming!), The hotel and rooms were stylishly decorated - my only gripe would be that there were a lot of little bits of maintenance that needed to be tended to - both of our shower heads were broken, although one was fixed the day before we were leaving. The food was lovely and there were plenty of food places to choose from so we were spoilt for choice. There was a lack of sunbeds around the pools areas, so it was a 5am get up to put towels down (most beds seemed to be on the beach). The evening shows were very good and the animation team and staff work very hard. Overall a really lovely holiday and we would go back despite the little imperfections.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Vicky6828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MITSISHOTELS, Manager at Mitsis Blue Domes Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and for sharing your holiday impressions with us.
We look forward to welcoming you again to our hotel.

Best Regards,

The Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

This is a review from a 16 year old lad, as I was alone on the trip with my family I felt a bit lost of what to do at first, when the animation team Dido came round all the sun beds asking for teenagers to take part in water polo, this is where I met so many people and who have now become good friends, hanna is the most lovely person ans she cares about what she does and also creates a friendly environment and encourages teens to meet new people and join in. Dido also has the same charactisics and is just a legend! Hannah and Dido are part of the animation team and teen club which runs from 10:30 and 3:30 and you take part in activity which are never boring and also get everyone involved. Also they perform each night and get the teenagers to get involved from acting and face paint to spot light. Ben the Dj helped me learn the spot light which is not as easy as you think!!THANKS BEN! I'm going to miss dido and Hannah so much they made my time here at blue domes priceless! From Tobi lee

Room Tip: You will most likely be moved as they seem to over book
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Tobl33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MITSISHOTELS, Manager at Mitsis Blue Domes Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Dear Tobi,

we are very thankful of your review. It is great to know that you have enjoyed taking part in the daily animation activities. All your nice comments will be passed on to Hanna and Dido.

Best Regards,

The Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

What a great hotel the blue domes resort is. The staff were always polite and helpful, nothing was too much a problem for them. The food was excellent with a good choice for all taste's, the service always prompt and with a smile.
Our room was spacious and clean with a lovely patio area outside. The grounds are very beautiful
many pools around.
The entertainment was great..
Animation Team from Poland and Ukraine very good.
I back again this hotel.
I recommended this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tomasz520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MITSISHOTELS, Manager at Mitsis Blue Domes Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review and for your positive remarks.
On behalf of our hotel’s team I would like to thank you for choosing our hotel for your holiday and we are looking forward to welcoming you again for more exclusive holidays in Blue Domes.
Yours sincerely,
The Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kardamena
0.1 mi away
Mitsis Norida Beach Hotel
6.2 mi away
Astir Odysseus Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Mitsis Summer Palace Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mitsis Family Village Beach Hotel
8.8 mi away
Aqua Blu Boutique Hotel + Spa
9.5 mi away
Michelangelo Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mitsis Blue Domes Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mitsis Blue Domes Resort & Spa

Address: | Tholari, Kardamena 85302, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos > Kardamena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kardamena
#2 Spa Hotel in Kardamena
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kardamena
#4 Family Hotel in Kardamena
#6 Romantic Hotel in Kardamena
Price Range: £135 - £420 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Mitsis Blue Domes Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 499
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The absolute ultra all-inclusive five-star beach resort in Kos, BLUE DOMES RESORT & SPA, only 7 km away from the traditional village Kardamena, is the quintessence of luxurious holidays. In its 499 rooms, the resort offers numerous choices - from standard guestrooms and bungalows to maisonettes and villas with a private pool. The swimming pools, which are throughout the entire resort, measure a total length of 650m. There are also 10 restaurants, 7 bars, water slides, a playground, interior leisure rooms (a library, a painting room, a music room, puppet theater, a projection room and a relaxation room), an internet corner, tennis courts, a mini soccer court, a conference hall, with a capacity of 500 people and an amphitheater with a capacity of 800 people, a Wellness Spa to relax your body and soul - all together make up the perfect setting for unforgettable holidays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Onthebeach, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mitsis Blue Domes Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mitsis Blue Domes Hotel Kardamena
Mitsis Blue Domes Resort And Spa
Mitsis Blue Domes Resort & Spa Kos/Kardamena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing