We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic......”
Review of Harriet Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Harriet Apartments
Ranked #1 of 5 Kardamena B&B and Inns
Reviewed 11 August 2013 via mobile

Me and my boyfriend booked here to stay for one week. I read some reviews before hand but thought try it for myself. As soon as I entered the room of ours I thought clean but basic and bland. The bathroom was what put me off. It was just a sink with a shower head! The whole bathroom got flooded each time we used it. The drain did not work and water would not drain down. The beds were comfy (ish) it did after a night out. The only thing that really got to me was that we only got one set of clean towels..... And the lady said to me when I asked for some more "no your at 2 star hot what do you expect?" Which in my eyes was rude! I don't care what star hotel I'm in I'd like clean towels. Food and drinks were cheap and were very nice an you never waited long for your food. Staff reasonably friendly. Good atmosphere :) good basic place to be!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeanneeeWebb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (77)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 77 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2013

We (a group of 12 lads) booked this hotel fully aware of what we were being offered. There was never any intention to stay in and around the hotel for long periods of time so we arrived at the Harriet content with what we received: simple rooms with the bare essentials that were cleaned daily (without fail). The prices around the pool area were great, too: a couple of Euro for something simple to eat after a night on the drink and a couple of Euro for a can of lager to get the next night started. Hotel was an easy walk away from the night life, restaurants and beach (5 minutes) but there was rarely an indication that were that close (never woken up by noise outside the hotel).

It didn't take us long, as a whole group, to get to know the staff (namely the owner and his son), who were both very friendly and forthcoming, and this lead to us spending a lot (a lot) more time around the pool area than we had anticipated. They were all happy to have a conversation and were always happy to help where they could (which included fixing a problem we had with our shower immediately). Getting to know the various people who work at the hotel made everything a lot easier: we were pointed to the better restaurants, told which clubs were worth our time, and given easy directions whenever we needed them. Never heard any moaning, even when people would come in early morning and sleep on the sunbeds or wait for the pool to reopen. Bit of friendly communication never hurt anyone.

Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Never talked to anyone who had a problem with the location of their room. Had pool-view and would re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lewis D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

When reading reviews before travelling to Kos and to the Harriet's I don't think I actually gathered that when people said 'basic' they meant basic i.e. bare essentials (kettle, fridge, bed and a toaster).
As a group of 6 we found our apartments to be clean and fit for purpose (a place to crash after a night out on the tiles). The shower had no curtain and had to be held by hand... therefore after use the bathroom practically flooded every-time you showered. Me and my friends decided that we wouldn't book anything with the hotel provided 'reps' and instead book expeditions with the most competitive price we could find out on the streets and from what we all gathered it was more cost effective to do so.
Kos as a place provided everything you need for a great holiday -- restaurants along the harbour front, great pubs down 'bar street', and what seemed like some amazing night-clubs (I say 'what seemed' because we only visited 1; Starlight). The apartments are just a two minute stroll away from the beach, night-clubs, the supermarket, restaurants and all the bars; which really do offer great prices for drinks; we found one bar to offer: one cocktail and five shots for just five Euros!
The biggest let down of the Harriets was simply that they didn't have safes in the rooms but, instead safety deposit boxes by the pool which I would strong advice everyone to get as the apartment next-door to the one which we stayed in was robbed of everything (money, passports and clothes) because they left their balcony door open. Also bedding and towels were not replaced or cleaned throughout the week we stayed which we found to be annoying as we had to clean the towels ourselves.
All-in-all we had a great time in Kos and at the Harriet's and people should not be put off by the initial shock of what the Harriet's actually look like because, in reality; it is just a place to sleep.

Room Tip: Strictly 18-30's and worthy of the 2 Star rating it has.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HarrisonScholes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Just stayed here with 11 other friends, and would definitely go back. The rooms are basic, but with the price and details from the travel agent, the rooms met up to everything expected. It is hard to find a complaint about the rooms. Great management and staff create a real sense of community and will go out of their way to ensure you enjoy your stay. In a great locations, 5 minute walk to both beach spots, a number of supermarkets and restaurants.

If you are looking for simple digs, close to everything in Kardamena for a very reasonable price, this place is a definite.

Room Tip: -South facing rooms face a busy road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MarcFeatherstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for our girls holiday, when we got there the rooms were clean but dont leave windows open or the place will be packed with flies. The maid woke us up too early and she was quite rude the staff were all moody but can't fault anything else for the price and the star rating it was good, would go there again :-)

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ajwls100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013 via mobile

Myself and three friends have just returned from the harriets, we where very worried after reading the reviews but overall it was perfect. The apartments are central from everything , the staff are lovely and the rooms are basic but your only there to sleep so its perfect. The drinks are cheap and so is the food. There is nothing wrong with these apartments and perfect for anybody who wants to party.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emimai10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

Ok, so me and 5 other girls travelled to Harriet apartments on the 22nd June, really rubbish flights, but that didn't bother us too much! We had 3 rooms, all next to each other. Rooms are basic, but they are alright for what you pay for them! Your room is cleaned every day as long as you are not in bed, and you get fresh towels and new bedding once in the middle of the week. You also get a balcony which is nice. Ok, so when you first get there, you are attacked by the reps and asked if you are going to buy a bunch of stuff to do throughout the week. DON'T DO IT. It's waste of money, it was 190 euros, for absolutely nothing, and we got messed around a lot by our rep 'salad'. Who none of us liked. Although the other two reps Madge and George were awesome. You're much better off saving your money and doing your own thing :D I recommend taking about 450 euros. ANYWAY. The food at the 24 hour bar is pretty good. They play music all day and the drinks aren't bad prices. As for the hotel it's awesome, not far away from the strip or the beach. But honestly, do your own thing and don't waste your money on the crap that the reps sell you. It's rubbish. By the way, starlight is a much better club then status, and defiantly check out the 'cross roads' bar on the strip. Awesome drink called gas chamber. Overall, for 6 girls on a nice hot holiday, it was just what we needed! AND Niko is awesome! :D

Room Tip: Room 44 is an awesome room! Plus get a better nights sleep and a better view :D
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Holly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kardamena hotels
0.4 mi away
Argiri Hotel
Argiri Hotel
#29 of 39 in Kardamena
371 reviews
2.8 mi away
Mitsis Blue Domes Resort & Spa
0 mi away
Rio Hotel
Rio Hotel
#4 of 5 in Kardamena
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Fania Apartments
Fania Apartments
#34 of 39 in Kardamena
43 reviews
1.6 mi away
Olympia Mare
Olympia Mare
#24 of 39 in Kardamena
156 reviews
0.2 mi away
Nissia Kamares Hotel Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harriet Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harriet Apartments

Address: Kardemena, Kardamena 853 02, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos > Kardamena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Kardamena
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Harriet Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harriet Apartments Hotel Kardamena
Harriet Apartments Kos/Kardamena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing