We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nightmare”
Review of Harriet Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Harriet Apartments
Ranked #3 of 5 Kardamena B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nightmare”
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

Just had a week in this hell hole. It's was loud all night with guests shouting and the hotel staff did nothing to stop it. The apartment was dirty and smelly. The aircon cost 45 euro for a week and was like a asthmatic mouse blowing on you. The pool is dirty and some morning's rubbish was floating in it

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank darren i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    23
    9
    3
    6
See reviews for
4
15
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 July 2014

A group of 3, all 18 year olds stayed at the Harriet's apartments early July! We were pleasantly surprised by how good the hotel was after reading others reviews. The shower is not great but after a couple of days you get used to it. Could have done with another bin and some more kitchen equipment. But you get what you paid for. The location is brilliant! Rooms were cleaned every other day, and changed the towels and sheets, The 24 hour bar was great as you knew someone was always around, also George behind the bar is so lovely! Overall a great holiday with 2wentys at the Harriet's apartments, would recommend!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Me and my boyfriend bought a last minute deal to Kardamena and stayed at Harriets for a week. Overall you get what you paid for, the studios are simple, equipped with a kettle, a stove, a fridge... The double bed is simply two single beds put together but it did the job... One of the most annoying things was the shower, it was always a disaster to have a shower because there is no curtains and you have to hold the shower head whilst having a shower... But as I said, for the amount we paid that was ok. Our room had the balcony facing the pool, so we had a nice view.

About the maintenance of the room throughout our stay: the room was cleaned everyday, except sunday (apparently that's the cleaner's day off), the towels and bed sheets were changed every two days, but once we got dirty towels and it took them two days to replace them, even tho we asked at the reception a few times.

We purchased a safe box, even tho it wasn't in the room... The safe boxes are in the reception and they charge you 10 euros for a week, it was alright to keep passports, wallets and cards.
The air conditioning is a MUST, we were there for the first week of July and the temperatures were reaching 32 degrees, so the a.c. saved us (even tho it took a while to properly cool the room).

The location is perfect! There's a supermarket just in front of the Hotel and a Carrefour just 3 minutes away, places to rent cars, scooters and quad bikes 1 minute walking, lots of places to eat and only 5 minutes away from the strips and the port, the beach was only a 7 minute walk... we could do everything by foot and that was well handy.

The next day we got there we were introduced to the Reps, and to cut it short they only care about you if you're interested in their partying package... They do all they can to convince you to go out every night and be a party animal, which is ok if that's the reason you travelled to Kardamena, but if you're looking for a chilled relaxed holiday they are no help... After we said we didn't wanna party and were there just to relax we barely got any attention or help from the Reps,and when we did ask for something we were always told that somebody was gonna tell us next morning (which never happened).

The hotel is more for young people that travelled to party, so there'salways music on at the repection and slighlty drunk people going around being a bit loud, but to be honest that's what the 2wentys thing is all about, so if you're looking for a peaceful place I wouldn't recommend it.

The hotel is family owned, so they run the reception 24 hours a day and they're always helpful and always polite, especially the boy that stays during the night, he was always happy and cheerful!!

We had an amazing time in Greece all in all:)

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the pool, the ones facing the road can be quite noisy! Pay the 35 euros per w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank victoriadv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crewe
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Last minute deal,
Were told on website it was a bed and breakfast! I never knew that pool water was a main course!
We arrived at approx 3am (Greek time). At first I thought it was a Greek joke and we were placed there as some sort of science experiment.
When we eventually got in our room, (after the electricity not working) we were greeted by a pool side chair and a rather charity shop looking table (like an economic table off the sims).
That morning I thought to myself "oh I'll put the kettle on"
Only to find the fuse was broken and the wires had been chewed by potential hungry youngsters expecting their breakfast!
However....the hotel would be a great get away for a gang of lads on steroids who wanna get their end away :)
With a sleeve tattoo and primark sling back "Ibiza" top xxxxxxxxxxxxx

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Suckthesausage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kardamena hotels

wales
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We stayed at the harriet apartments in late june. these apartments are very basic kettle fridge toaster and electric hob also a hairdryer is provided We purchased air con for our room but it was pathetic we had to keep two doors open to keep cool. the apartments are for youngsters and although they were all using the pool for games they never bothered us .The rooms are cleaned daily with clean sheets and towels changed once a week . The bar is 24 hours but only serving cans at two euro for a 330 ml can of mythos lager also a range of bar snacks which were a reasonable price. the owner nikos was very helpful and available most of the time to sort out any problems, There are much better places close by which are far superior and worth investing a little time to search them out. harriets is also very close to the beach and nightlife and a large Carrefour supermarket is two minutes walk. please feel free to contact me if you have any questions.

Room Tip: 73 overlooks the pool but air con is rubbish
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kween123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Initally, the pictures looked good and for an 18-30 package holiday with Thomsons, we thought why not. We got there late at night and were confused as to where we had to go, then we discovered the all-night outdoor bar that was poolside, which also acted as the reception. I thought it was absolutely horrible at first and was quite disappointed. There was no safe in the room because they were downstairs and this was a bad point - we didn't pay for a safe. In fact, we just kept stuff in the room and it was fine.

In the morning, turned out it wasn't that bad. Basic but clean and George, the barman, was quite funny. All of the staff were lovely including the maids, who didn't mind cleaning up when we were slumped on the bed from exhaustion/heat lol.

Kettle didn't work, but we boiled water on the stove. Basic self-catering but the Greek salad downstairs was lovely and only around three euros so it was fine.

Showers: showerhead wasn't connected to the wall so you had to hold it on yourself, but I didn't really care about that either.

All in all, good stay... Don't judge a book by its cover.. it is "craptastic".... It looks like utter crap but run by lovely locals and provides a safe place to rest your head for twenties visits. Closely located to the strip as well for parties and has a very affordable convenience store next door. (I recommend the Amstel short lemon beer for around 60 cents... very refreshing. It was my breakfast drink only like 2% alcohol - unfortunately can't find it here in the UK!)

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Samantha T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Just returned from Harriets on 18th june we paid £99 the rooms are cleaned daily towels and bedding are clean and not stained but smell really nice of lavender yes you do have to buy toilet rolls and its €20for a safe deposit but get one their has been some break ins in kardamina also harriets has air con€5 per day recommend you have it mozzies are really bad this year even got bit on eyelids my own fault for leaving balcony door open first night so get air con and keepdoors shut also recommend Nikos bbq €10 loads of meat we have stayed all over in kardamena and paid stupid money £600 for a week but Harriets may not have a perfect view from balcony(we looked over car park)but Nikos and familly are great and reps too this is the second timewe have stayed hear we came in Sep 13 and will return and we are not kids we are 61 and 63 with ear plugs x

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Maggy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kardamena hotels
2.3 mi away
Kalimera Mare Hotel
Kalimera Mare Hotel
#14 of 39 in Kardamena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
0.1 mi away
Nissia Kamares Hotel Apartments
3.0 mi away
Mitsis Blue Domes Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Cleopatra Superior Hotel
Cleopatra Superior Hotel
#17 of 39 in Kardamena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sovereign Beach Hotel
Sovereign Beach Hotel
#16 of 39 in Kardamena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 750 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Blue Beach Hotel
Grand Blue Beach Hotel
#2 of 39 in Kardamena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harriet Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harriet Apartments

Property: Harriet Apartments
Address: Kardemena, Kardamena 853 02, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos > Kardamena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Kardamena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Harriet Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harriet Apartments Hotel Kardamena
Harriet Apartments Kos/Kardamena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing