We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous Loustros - the best restaurant in Kardamena”

Loustros Restaurant
Ranked #20 of 71 Restaurants in Kardamena
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$68
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, View, Child-friendly, Groups, Romantic, Kids, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Welcome to Loustros restaurant on the beautiful island of Kos, situated along the waterfront of Kardamena.Loustros first opened its doors in 1980. Specialising in fresh seafood, char-grilled meat and home cooked food.With focus on fresh organic local produce.Loustros has been run by the Karidis family for 30 years since it opened, thats three decades of experience in quality Greek and international cuisine.Dimitris, Melanie, Alex and Orestes warmly welcome you to enjoy your holiday with an excellentmeal in good company.Loustros caters for all groups, from large parties to couples, for whom Loustros boasts an enchanting roof garden, overlooking the entire harbour and agean sea.Open from 8am until 12pm, for breakfast, lunch, dinner and drinks, you are sure to enjoy a fine dining experience, or your money back!
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous Loustros - the best restaurant in Kardamena”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

I have been visiting Kardamena for many years and always eat at Loustros as it's my favourite restaurant. It's in a great location over looking the harbour and has fabulous views (especially if you sit upstairs on the roof terrace)
It's a friendly, welcoming family run restaurant with a good mix of Greek and European food which is always delicious. I am an extremely fuss eater due to food allergies and they always adapt meals to suit me and even suggest things I hadn't thought of.
You can't beat Loustros for great food, great service and some fantastic cocktails to get your night started ! I will be back again next year !

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Chris O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    188
    55
    23
    13
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fantastic view ask to sit upstairs”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

Great little place to eat
Amazing good food / and a fab atmosphere
Ask to be seated upstairs for an unrivalled view over the stunning harbour

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lisafran1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
129 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Superb food and varied Menu”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

The food was of a good quality and the Menu very varied with some different items to choose from, we ate here a couple of times and found the food to be very nearly to the standrd of Pelagos (Which is a considerable compliment)

The staff however were somewhat of a let down, they appear to employ younger staff who lack basic waiting skills and without guidance from senior staff the service is a bt hit and miss, if they were to address this they may well find they could start to compete with Pelagos

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BarryFulham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
45 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Good food, child friendly with friendly staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

We dropped into kardamena today on a self drive tour around kos. We walked passed the restaurant but was drawn back in by the English girl on the door. There is wifi freely available and the fact that my five year old ate his chicken nuggets and chips was testament to the food. . Both items being home made/cooked.

The restaurant is owned run by a couple, the guy is Greek and the girl is English and you can expect good standards, a friendly atmosphere and we felt most welcome.

We will definitely be dropping by again before we go home on our trip to nisyros on Thursday.

Please note. . I haven out food at value at four dots. . .the childrens menu was 10 euros which is slightly steep but you do pay for what you get and I was just happy that might little boy ate and enjoyed the food.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nicola D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good food, great staff a place that makes a holiday!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

We were only on Kos for a week and staying outside Kardamena at an all inclusive resort(another story!) We found Loustros on our first day and were loathed to eat anywhere else. Melanie and Dimitris made us feel very welcome and the good, tasty food they served made us glad we'd ventured out. I have to say that the food and friendliness of the place was that good that it made the two,18 year olds who were with us go back for breakfast by themselves...twice!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Anita K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Loustros Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Loustros Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing