We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place if you go 'All inclusive'”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mitsis Summer Palace
Ranked #19 of 39 Hotels in Kardamena
Certificate of Excellence
Doncaster
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic place if you go 'All inclusive'”
Reviewed 14 August 2009

We have just returned from spending a week at Mitsis Summer Palace and I thought it only fair to add my opinion, as I used Tripadvisor to give me the confidence to book in the first place. The first thing is that we had a great holiday and the hotel in many aspects exceeded our expectations. The food in particular was excellent with a buffet styled banquet at every sitting, that would satisfy the pickiest of eaters.

The swimming pools were as good as they look in the pictures, and our family sized room was clean and spacious. If I was being really critical there were a few things about the room such as the shower was a mixer unit that was hand held with no bracket, lamp shade hanging off etc. Just tiny little things that would make the place a really good 4 star and not a 5 star.

We are so pleased that we went all inclusive. The drinks were the real deal as in real brands and not the local stuff. Gordons Gin or Johnny Walker or Grants Whisky etc. Believe me the amount of drinks you go through with the heat you will be glad you paid a bit extra for the all inclusive. A family we met went into Kos bought 3 medium sized pizzas, 4 small lagers and 2 cokes and it cost 74 Euros which is outrageous. Don't also do what we did and not take enough sun tan lotion. we quickly ran out and it was £22 a bottle!

The beach is gritty and not great to walk on but you get used to it, but to compensate the sea was terrific. Clear water and packed with marine life.
We would definately go back, but our main recommendation is go 'All inclusive'.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SoapyinDoncaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,191 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    532
    337
    183
    74
    65
See reviews for
476
384
21
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
uk
1 review
Reviewed 8 August 2009

stayed at summer palace with teenage son n daughter, view, location excellent food standard fayre drinks one barmen que for drinks .Careful 21 yr old greek man asked German girls how old they are, replied 14 he asked for sex in front of other guests even more sinister was with 14 yr old greek boy ( boy-girl ie boy wearing large girls beads)saying have sex with him them.I reported him to reception with seccurity standing listening they said not their problem parents fault.I let the matter go, went to play tennis seen the 21 yr old with two fifty yr olds went back to reception demanded security speak to them three receptionists n security reluctant security finally spoke to them obviouse he knew them just deniied accusations .Seen 21 yr old n boy-girl chatting to other teenage girls for rest of holiday

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank normalholidaymaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drammen, Norway
Level Contributor
79 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2009

I booked this hotel before I read all the reviews here, and I got a bit sceptic. But I am glad iI did, because what a surprise! This is a super hotel!
All complaints about the food is nonsense, they serve well known alcohol brands in the bar and it was clean and tidy everywhere each day.
It's steps all right, but that was stated in the catalog and on their website.
I see there are some complaints about the pool(s). They say its only one pool. It is at least seven... You have to open your eyes or maybe look at the hotel map, you find them easy.
We travelled with kids 8 and 5 years old and had no problems with the stairs. The elevator was fun, but crowded. Free drinks and ice cream was popular with our youngest.
The other guests was a nice mix from all of europe, not only germans or russians as typically in Egypt etc.
I would recomend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hanKnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
taunton
1 review
Reviewed 16 July 2009

Amazing hotel, aldi and robbie fowler are heroes! tip then loads then reap the rewards with drinks on demand! oh and saturday and wednesday go to starlight for the foam party... amazing night out!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank floydie4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 July 2009

Please take a look at the previous comments. They exactly mirror our experience. There are some other things I would like to add particularly the noise level. This hotel has absolutely no sound proofing – none! Our first room was next door to the pool bar (which consists of white plastic tables and chairs in chav-tastic surrounds – get the picture) even though there was only a few occupants, I could tell you the drinking habits of the entire party – as I heard them all!!!!

The problem is the way that the hotel has been built means that the halls echo and therefore exaggerate everything; so the closing of a door, a child’s cry or even a footstep is magnified ten fold. Our next room was no better and we had the pleasure of a constant assault on our auditory senses and on one special morning we were even treated to a pneumatic drill at 10 am for roof repairs (Oh don’t they mention that they have building work on their website!).

There was only ever one person serving at the bar, they often didn’t have ice and didn’t refrigerate anything, so we got used to drinking warm drinks or sticking to beer. The staff were overworked and complacent. None of the communal areas (restaurants, bar, reception) had air con and they were over-populated, which made it very hot. Mix in some loud overbearing music from the 90’s and you have my idea of hell.

To like this place you either paid pennies for it, you stayed out of season or you’ve never been to a 4 star resort, yet alone 5.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Funkybugger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucks
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2009

"This hotel should not be rated as a 5 star hotel.
It would be better rated as 3 to 4 star max.
It had no toiletries in the bathroom, no shower hook attachment in bath, pool towels had to be hired for 20 euros and were only changeable every other day, no waiter service for drinks and only allowed to take 2 at a time after queueing at the bar, no hotel info or room service menu in the room, phone didn't work in the room, no tea and coffee in the room, the mini bar was only refilled every other day which included bottled water, safe deposit box cost 20 euros, only 1 main restaurant and food lacked variety, our table was frequently cleared while we queued for meat, often had to ask for coffee at breakfast as not offered, only 1 outside pool which was down very steep steps and was packed like sardines as extremely small (looks bigger in the photos shown on the web), no hand rails anywhere and yet the hotel was all steps and slippery slopes, no entertainment in the hotel at all and not enough seating for guests not knowing what to do with themselves after dinner, the hotel was completely full and overbooked which incurred us being put in their partner hotel for the first 3 nights of our week, which was 10 to 15 minutes walk back to this hotel , the walkways and paths were slippery tiles and very treacherous."
Top Tip:
"Take walking shoes/trainers! Don't go there expecting much and don't go unless fit and able...(mountain goat)"

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wiggyBucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2009

Just returned from the Mitsis Summer Palace and after reading the reviews didn't know what to expect. Unbelievable and a nice surprise. We had a fantastic room in the main building. The biggest room ever in Greece, free air con, free mini bar filled every two days and the most beautiful views of the seas and mountains. Rooms cleaned every day, towels changed every day. And had a power shower and a bath, what more could you want. The hotel was spotless, the waiters cleaning the tables every few minutes. The food was good and I am a fussy eater. You had to queue for a little while if you wanted food from the grill, freshley cooked steak, pork, kebabs etc, worth waiting for, but if you didn't want to wait, you could have veal, rice, potatoes, stuffed pork; plenty to choose from. The drinks were fantastic, especially the cocktails. You could eat and drink all day long on the beach, at the pool, or in the reception bar. The indoor pool bar was nice at night. The animation team worked hard on the beach. Sometimes you had to queue to get in to dinner, but we always got a table outside looking out to sea. The weather was fantastic. Yes, there were many steps to the beach, but there was a lift. The downside was there was not enough sun beds around the pool, so we went to the beach every day. It is definitely a four star. All the staff were very friendly.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DBEVERLEY7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kardamena
0.3 mi away
Mitsis Blue Domes Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Mitsis Norida Beach Hotel
0.1 mi away
Mitsis Family Village Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Mitsis Ramira Beach Hotel
3.6 mi away
Grand Blue Beach Hotel
Grand Blue Beach Hotel
#2 of 39 in Kardamena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
8.7 mi away
Aqua Blu Boutique Hotel + Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mitsis Summer Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mitsis Summer Palace

Property: Mitsis Summer Palace
Address: Kardamena, Kardamena 853 02, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos > Kardamena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Kardamena
#14 Luxury Hotel in Kardamena
#19 Family Hotel in Kardamena
#22 Romantic Hotel in Kardamena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mitsis Summer Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Accommodation: Standard rooms (52), Bungalows (104), Family Suites (96). Every 15 rooms a sharing pools is available. Room Facilities: Fully air-conditioned with individual control Heating, Bathroom with bathtubs / Hair dryer, Direct dial telephone, Mini fridge, Satellite TV with international channels / Music channel, Balcony or terrace with a fantastic view, Safe deposit box (with charge). Floor covering: Tiles. Meals in Main Restaurant. Breakfast: American buffet Lunch: Complete buffet Dinner: Complete buffet (all meals are with show cooking). Food and Beverage Facilities: Main Restaurant specializing in Greek and International cuisine with terrace and a fantastic view to the Aegean Sea. Italian à la carte restaurant «La Bella Vista»Greek à la carte restaurant (Tavern) at the beach. Main lounge Bar (In & outdoor), Interior Swimming pool, Bar, Beach Bar, Pool Bar, Room Service (07:30 – 21:30h). Sport & Leisure: 1 outdoor swimming pool with salt water, sun terrace, 1 Indoor pool with fresh water (for adults only), 6 sharing pools with fresh water for the family suites, 1 outdoor swimming pool fresh water with water slides, Sun beds and umbrellas at the pools and the beach, 2 tennis courts (hard) with floodlight, equipments. Water sport centre with water skiing, jet skiing, banana boat, parachuting, pedals, wind surfing (certificate), catamaran, row boots, pedals, canoes, rings, Scuba diving, lessons, Boat trips, Beach volley, Beach football, Table tennis, Bicycling, Horse riding & pony riding (on request), Bridge room, Billiard, Entertainment such as sketches, competition games, aerobics. Children’s play ground (4-12 years), Disco, Fitness, sauna and massage. Other Facilities: Reception with lobby, TV corner, Shopping arcade with mini market, souvenir shop and jewelry, Hair dresser, Laundry & dry-cleaning service, Concierge / Cashier / Porters, Guest Parking, Rent a car / motorbike / bike, Doctor’s visit, Lifts from the reception area to the beach. For Children: Integrated children pool with salt water, Children playground – Mini Club, Children disco, Baby cot, Baby chairs in restaurant, Kid’s water slide with kid’s pool. Business Accommodations and Services: Telephone and fax services, Internet and mail services, Photocopy service, Wi-Fi access at the main lobby area (free). Distance From: Kardamena Town 5 Km, Airport 14 Km, Port 32 Km, Beach on the beach, Public bus: Front of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Onthebeach, Hotels.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Priceline, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Bookgreece.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mitsis Summer Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mitsis Summer Palace Kardamena
Summer Palace Hotel Kos
Mitsis Summer Palace Kos/Kardamena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing