We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An honest review !!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lagas Aegean Village
Ranked #9 of 39 Hotels in Kardamena
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Hi. Returned on Sunday after a weeks break at this hotel / village. I shall break it down into categories. Accommodation, food, staff, facilities.
Accommodation.
This is a gorgeous place. It looks as it does, very Greek, blues, whites, yellows, stunning !. We had rooms at the top, 621 and then 618. Two rooms as the 1st flooded when Mrs H had a bath. When the bath plug was lifted. As it wouldn't operate with the plug device / lifter, the whole bath water re entered via a drain under the bathroom sink, flooding the whole area. Not very good. After 3 calls to 3 different members of reception staff, we got the move i requested and relocated to a room just a couple of rooms along. No big deal really, but beware of taking a bath on the upper levels, oh and ants posed a problem in our 1st room but not in the 2nd.
We had reviewed this hotel, obviously, and were not surprised with the layout. Our rooms where situated at the top of the hill. Not a problem !!. The courtesy bus ferries you around 24.7. But you have the option to walk back. 177 steps for us, or a nice stroll on the roadway. It only took us 5 mins to do the steps or the road, either way, and it was exercise !!.

Food
Okay. Not the best despite what other reviewers state. As its half board you might expect quality fodder. We don't think this is the case, 5x isn't it?. We recon its 3x at the best. I like an egg for breakfast with toast. No toast, which we knew, fried eggs are cold every morning, beans every other day, and just no where near 5x. The subdued Mr Fawlty will pop up later !!. Evening meals aren't up to much either, boring to say the least. All, the deserts are just open for all to cough on, sneeze on, pick up and examine and put back down, hope hands are clean, and no cold area for them, bit unhygienic at best. The food area is a very large canteen, with canteen facilities, it is not a restaurant !!. Far to crowded. I went at 7.45 for my breakfast most mornings, and the eggs are still flippin cold haha, but it was not as busy thankfully. So be warned. It's not the best. You will find food and drinks quite expensive when you have to buy them. Oh, the poolside restaurant is quite nice, I can recommend the freshly baked to order pizza, gorgeous. The gyro plate is a fatty, charred plated of meat, on a fried bread with chips. Don't order separate chips !! it's to much food, and its just not as nice as others state, but the food is quite nice in general If you buy a bottle of wine from the supermarket on site, and its not that good, it will cost you about 9€. Walk into kardamina, took me 30 mins there and back, you get 3 blossom hill for the price of 1 bottle of agean white, stock up as a one off, it's worth it. Get all your booze and water, crisps etc, it will save you a fortune, get a short cab ride back, it's honestly worth it as a one off at the start of your holiday.

Staff, hahaha, shall enjoy this
All British guests will be familiar with Basil Fawlty. He's here, be it somewhat subdued. Check him out lurking out around the canteen and poolside food area, ok he's a Greek version. He's like a hawk just waiting to pounce. I was just waiting for him t smack the back of a head of an unsuspecting Manuel, opps sorry, thanasis, but he never did alas, but a constant source of amusement at each meal, ( you will see what I mean) Manuel, Manuel. Honestly he's brill. We found all staff, all, very friendly and polite, helpful. I have to mention our waiter in the canteen, costas. What a lovely, friendly, nice guy. Great service from this guy at all times, made our dining experience here bearable.
The owner !!!
What a horrible person.
You will see this thing, old, grey hair, suited and booted, around the food areas and bar in the evening. If you see it smile try and take a pic, it must be a miracle. You would think, as the owner, he would be having a chat, welcoming his guests, yeh right. Never have I seen such a miserable, horrible host. He seems to relish rollicking his staff in front of the guests, one such incident at the poolside food area, awful !!! This is not a nice person, you can't miss him

Facilities

A very large pool, if a bit dated and grubby around the edges, but the place is about 25 years old. I Have to say that this is the 1st hotel we have stayed in where you don't have to worry about the loungers, as others state. You can always have a choice throughout the day, all day, every day, it's great!! Loads always empty. The pool bar is run by great and friendly fellas, they cotton on to your routine quickly, nice guys. The animation team seem to do a good job to, credit to them. We didn't use any other of the facilities on ofer as it was a pool, chilling holiday.

Overall then.

A very gorgeous place. The sea views are just the best, well the higher you get, just spectacular. Don't worry about the hill, the bus provides, with very nice drivers, I forgot about them, thank you to all of ya !! Foods not the best, unless your easily pleased, no problems getting a lounger, loads of Germans, our neighbours switze and French, both charming. Would we come again? Nope. Despite the overall niceness of the place, and it Is, it's not a 5* gaff, it's 3* and expensive. Got a nice tan though. See ya, but not there.

Thanks

Room Tip: Read my review. Don't worry about the top of the hill as if you don't mind the 177 steps, ye...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ian h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,044)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

277 - 283 of 1,044 reviews

Reviewed 7 September 2013

We stayed at Aegean Village the last week of August. Very positive about the hotel is the overall cleanliness of the premises and especially the room. The hotel is built on a hill, thus your way to and back to the room was kind of a climb. There is a complimentary bus driving during the day to get you around the hotel. The swimming pool is nice as well as the beach. The hotel is located just a 15 minutes’ walk to the city center of Kardamena. Staf is overal friendly.
We knew the hotel was big, however when we arrived at the restaurant for breakfast the first morning we were totally surprised by the number of people they had placed in one hall called restaurant. There was just one restaurant for breakfast and dinner and probably everyone was booked half board. We tried several times in the morning however the crowd stayed the same. Good reason to stay in bed in the morning. The first evening we arrived for dinner, the restaurant was full. No more tables available and the host were unfriendly telling us that we had to find a table ourselves. We turned around and went to the city center. The next evening we went earlier and were escorted to our table. The food selection of starters and main courses is mostly the same on a daily bases and the Greek fabulous taste passed this restaurant for sure. Desserts were fine. The restaurant is divided in a terrace and inside 6 sections. We were placed mostly in the far most left corner from the entrance where a very well skilled waiter was serving us. One night we were served by Dimitri (second left section inside, seen form the entrance) and our bill was 8,20. Without asking he came to the table to settle the bill. He looked on the receipt, says 9 euro's is good, places 1 euro on the table walks away and throws away the receipt.... We were really speechless. We never went back to the restaurant anymore and ate in the city center. Being on holiday was reason for us not to complaint. Really a pity that the F&B in general was lacking quality and options. For the rest the hotel was fine.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Janssen15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

We stayed at the hotel for 10 days. The hotel is very nice, food was good, but they can still improve the choice of the food.What we did not like was some staff there, especially the man who always stayes at the main door of the restaurant. He was very rude, when we asked to move us to another room. We just could dont believe, how he was behaving and throwing his hands and did not speak with us very nicely. The next argument with him was in the restaurant regarding to take fruit with us as lots of people do it there! But we just could not. And it was not just this man, it were another men working in the restaurant (one waiter who was talking with us as we would be some idiots etc.). I really do not understand, how the owner of this nice hotel can employ these rude people there! I have never met in the hotel so rude staff before. The staff should be very nice and happy that they have job.
The beach is just over the road, it is not very big comparing how many people stay in the hotel. And there is lots of work to renovate and make bigger the beach.

Room Tip: If you want to have room with the seaview ask for it, otherwise your view can be on the rock. Also t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michaela2323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

just back from a holiday at this hotel, we stayed on half board and can only say this hotel is probably the best hotel of its type we have stayed in. Very Clean, the food was always good well cooked and plenty of variety and the staff always very helpful and friendly would happily return or recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kevin c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

I visited Lagas Aegean Village with my husband for a week in mid-June. The airport at Kos is small and we were quickly on our way to the hotel which is a short drive from the airport. On arrival the reception staff were helpful and efficient and we were taken straight up to our rooms via the shuttlebus which is on call 24/7. The complex is built on a hill and very attractive but there are a lot of steps which are a bit of a drag especially after you have eaten dinner! And don’t forget to take everything you need down to the pool because you don’t want to be going up and down to your room all the time.
The facilities are kept very clean and well maintained. The rooms are comfortable and modern and have air-conditioning, There is a fridge and flat screen TV, the only English channels were news channels. The maid came every day and changed the towels and it looked like we had clean bedding every other day. Most of the rooms have a sea view with a balcony; although the balcony was small it had a wonderful view.
You can hire beach towels, there is a charge of 15 euros per towel deposit but you can change them as many times as you want and have 12 euros refunded on return at the end of the holiday so there is no need to take your own which frees up space in your luggage. There is free wi-fi in the reception but so many people were using it, it was difficult to connect. We never had a problem getting a sun lounger around the pool and the beach, although not the prettiest, was just across the road.
We stayed half board and the food was good with plenty of choice, you have to pay for the drinks as you go and the waiters didn’t always give change (I would probably have declined it anyway because it was usually only cents, but that is not the point). Also the reception only accepts cash, so having to pay for the hire of towels and a safe uses up currency at the beginning of the holiday so take enough money to cover this!
We had hired a car for the whole of the holiday and we had a very enjoyable time travelling around and finding all the local spots. The roads are easy to negotiate but in places are very poor and badly maintained (including the road that runs outside the hotel into Kardamena. If you do not have your own transport he bus stop is right outside of the hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Debbie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

The real plus of this place is they really make sure they have a girl who's good with kids in charge of the kids club. This year it was Elvira who had the kids eating out her hand. Been 3 times now with our daughter and once before she was born. So we get up to 4-5 hours a day where she's playing safely and we can chill thought typically it's 2 hours.
The rooms are good and they seem to have added solar panels as last year a few power black outs but none this year - I retreat to my room for an hour or 2 so notice if the A/C is off.
Some people slate the food. It's a buffet and the salads are always lovely and fresh, gorgeous tomatoes but the mains do have a certain sameness after a week even though there's always a good choice.
I have always found most staff very good though one waiter runs a pretty sloppy service in one section. Try to sit with Dimitris or Kostas.
The house wine is okay at 12 Euro (IIRC) but 17 for Spyropolos is worth the extra 5. I don't think many guests tip as even tipping 50c or a euro at lunch or a euro or 2 at dinner or the bar is really appreciated by the staff.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rab M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

A truly beautiful hotel and would recommend to all! The hotel itself is beautifully Greek and is by far the nicest hotel in the area. The facilities are brilliant with a spacious pool area offering plenty of loungers, as it is a large area you feel as I'd there is amble room and was also clean. There is also a pool bar during the day which serves lots of drinks and snacks at reasonable prices. The restaurant is also good and offers a fair variety of food of which all was a high standard and traditional. The entertainment was amusing however the location did slightly let the hotel down as a 20-25 min walk during the day can get a little much however for €7 you can get a taxi however this can mount up. The rooms are stunning and all have sea views and there is no need to worry about the hill/walking as a minibus runs free of charge 24 hrs a day. I would also recommend going to a restaurant called 'Hellas' which is in the centre of kardemena and is run by a lovely family who cook the best pizzas using an outside pizza oven, fantastic and cheap! Definitely visit here if you want a relaxing holiday with fab service and beautiful views.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lovesgettingaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kardamena hotels
0.6 mi away
Grand Blue Beach Hotel
Grand Blue Beach Hotel
#4 of 39 in Kardamena
484 reviews
4.1 mi away
Mitsis Blue Domes Resort & Spa
3.6 mi away
Akti Beach Club Hotel
Akti Beach Club Hotel
#11 of 39 in Kardamena
1,475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Mitsis Family Village Beach Hotel
1.2 mi away
Lakitira Resort & Village
Lakitira Resort & Village
#18 of 39 in Kardamena
588 reviews
1.1 mi away
Lakitira Suites
Lakitira Suites
#10 of 39 in Kardamena
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lagas Aegean Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lagas Aegean Village

Address: Kardamena | Kos Island, Kardamena 853 02, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos > Kardamena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Kardamena
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Kardamena
#12 Romantic Hotel in Kardamena
#16 Family Hotel in Kardamena
Price Range: £50 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lagas Aegean Village 4*
Number of rooms: 330
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lagas Aegean Village is a hotel resort located on the golden sandy shores of the south coast of Kos Island, Greece. It's layout and use of space is characteristic of the distinctive Aegean architecture. Built on a slope, every corner offers magnificent views of the endless deep blue Aegean Sea.The main building lounges, restaurants, bars and facilities are located at the bottom of the slope, while all 330 rooms are situated on the hillside, which are accessed by the 24hour complimentary minibus service. It is worth mentioning that the hotel underwent a complete renovation in 2011. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Jet2Holidays , TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Lagas Aegean Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lagas Aegean Village Hotel Kardamena
Hotel Aegean Village
Aegean Village Kardamena
Aegean Village Kos
Lagas Aegean Village Kos/Kardamena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing