We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Good Find” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lagas Aegean Village

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lagas Aegean Village
Ranked #9 of 39 Hotels in Kardamena
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
89 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“A Good Find”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

Lagas Aegean Village

This recently refurbished village style accommodation is near to the airport and one mile outside the town of Kardamena. The walk into town is along a moderately busy road where there is no footpath in places. There is nothing in the way of shops, bars or cafes on the route until you get into Kardamena itself where they are plentiful. A local bus services the route and it stops outside the hotel.
The hotel has its own section of beach across the road and there are plenty of sunbeds and umbrellas available here as well as around the pool and they are all in good condition. Free WiFi is available in the public areas and the cost of renting a safe at 10 euros a week is very reasonable. Other reasonably priced options are the ice creams and bottled water should you require them. The animations team work tirelessly to encourage guests to join in various activities without being pushy. Evening bingo, quizzes  and musical entertainment are available most evenings.
We have stayed here on a half board basis and although I have stayed at other four star hotels that have a more varied starter and dessert selection of food on their buffet we certainly did not go hungry and the food was of a high standard. The all male waiting staff in the restaurant like the rest of the staff at the hotel are excellent, very polite and professional. 
Because the accommodation is set in a hillside the hotel offers a unique 24 hour mini bus service to and from the rooms if required. I was a little dubious about this but there was no reason to have been because it works very well indeed. The accommodation itself is roomy, very clean and well appointed. All the high rooms appear to have a sea view.
All in all our experience has been a very good one and I would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Malc333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

931 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    451
    324
    97
    38
    21
See reviews for
223
469
42
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Poulton Le Fylde, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

Just returned last night from here and I'm more than satisfied with the entire stay. Ignore any negative comments regarding the food as it's better than all previos buffet style I've come across. ALL the staff are friendly , whether it be the manager or pool attendant they all go out of their way to smile and say hello.
All the rooms have been refurbished to a good standard and bathrooms are up to the mark.
I will go back there next year if not later this year.

Room Tip: 1. not everything is open at the complex or in Kardenmena till mid may but its is quieter and you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank qwertyui123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

We are presently staying at the resort and it is beautiful. Our room is about halfway up the hillside and we have stunning views of the sea and the nearby volcanic island of Nisyros and also the coast of Turkey. It is a good fifteen minute walk to and from Kardamena, which we like as it is just far enough away to enjoy the peace and quite but close enough for the buzz of the town if you wish to have a lively evening. The beach opposite is just across the road, but have seen much better as this one is quite scruffy and narrow with many slippery rocks just below the waves so care is need if you wish to swim.

Our room is quite contemporary in style with a clean modern bathroom and has a king size bed though it is a tad firm for our personal taste. There is a flat screen TV though the only the news channels are in English which did not bother us but may some. There is also internet in every room but you need to be connected via a lead, so its ok for laptops but not for most tablets and mobile phones, however there is free WIFI in the main lobby so everyone can get access in one way or another. There is also a good aircon system but as the electrics are operated by your room key it will switch off when you leave the room. The only downside from the room point of view is that the safe costs ten euros for the facility which I have never had to pay for before.

Our room is about halfway up the hillside and not too bad to walk to though this may be a problem for those with disabilities, however the hotel has a shuttle which will take you to any room 24/7

The grounds are very well kept and pretty and the pool is very clean, not in any way overcrowded, though that may have something to do with the time of year. It is a swimming pool in the proper sense being very large but most of it is over six feet (1.8m) deep so may not be suited to non swimmers as you will be limited to where you can go in the pool, it is also not heated so at this time of the year can be a shock to the system when you first get in and consequently there are never too many people in it.There are also no life guards, though it may be due to the time of year. Also you will have to pay a fifteen euro deposit per towel which you can change as often as you like and then you will get twelve back when you finally return it for the last time

The drinks are not over expensive and there is a good range to choose from,though everything has to be paid in cash so be prepared.

We have not tried the lunch time food offering so i cannot comment on it but it looked quite appetizing. The breakfast offering is quite varied with both cooked and cold offerings along with cereals and home cooked breads which are delicious. Dinner is served from 18:45 until 20:45 and is buffet style. I have to say that though the food is quite tasty and well presented, there is very little change in what is offered. There is a soup of the day and a reasonable salad offering but then when it comes to the hot food you will be met with in the first tray- Pasta, second tray -Fish, third tray - Vegetables, fourth tray -potatoes, fifth tray - rice ,sixth tray choice of beef and or chicken and or lamb, and the a carvery, which will be the meat of the day. It is a shame as I feel that this lets the resort down a tad and I would have liked to have seen a more Greek slant to the fare along with more seafood.

Entertainment we have not seen so cannot comment.

Staff, all the staff are very friendly and attentive and more than willing to help.

The taxi from the airport is currently 18 euros each way which only takes about ten minutes and I would recommend this if you do not already have transfers, as the shuttle buses can take upwards of 45 minutes.

Overall I would recommend the resort but be aware of some of the hidden charges and limitations in the choice of food

Room Tip: Choose rooms at a lower level if you do not enjoy a little strenuous walk. Request a high room for s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Disneyman59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

Just returned from a return visit to this property, what a wonderful place, no wonder we return here,
we were greeted by many staff who remembered us from previous years, this is one advantage of the hotels philosophy to employ as mainly Greek staff and retaining most of the key front line personnel each year.

As we expected the food was well up to past standards, the hotel kept spick and span by the housekeeping team, bar and waiting service was excellent, top this off with what was good weather for the second week of the season making an excellent spring holiday.

As I have said in previous reviews ..This property Dose Not Have A Star Rating,
It is a Greek Grade A, Apart Hotel. Facilities and staff performance puts it well on par or better than the many 5 star hotels we have used around the Med.

the hotel is located aprox 1.5km from the centre of Kardamena, a bus service runs fairly frequently currently €1-80 each way per person, taxis around €7-00 each way

Room Tip: Most twin rooms have a sea view and are similar in size and fitments don't worry if your halfwa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank WizardHT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

We stayed in May 2012 as a last minute holiday. The room was nice. Very clean but right at the top of the resort. So we had amazing views but long walks to reception and the restaurant. The beach opposite was ok. The pool was often busy and noisier than we are used to. We walked into Kardamena a few nights, about a mile but a nice walk along the beachfront. The buffet was basic. I am vegetarian so by the last night of Greek salad and rice- I was a little fed up.

We hired a car and the lady at the desk was an extremely ex-pat. We went up into the hills and went to a Greek taverna which was beautiful and explored the Island which I am glad we did as it was lovely.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynsey80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burgess Hill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

We stayed here as a young couple in June 2012. The room was lovely and we had an amazing view. If you go to the top of the complex you can see for miles! It was very remote and quite a walk into Kardamena. We've stayed in Kos before near Kos Town and overall that holiday was better. Only half board was available when we stayed and the cost of drinks did add up over the week. Kos itself is a lovely peaceful island. We hired a moped and explored. Would highly recommend visiting the town of Zia up in the mountains!

Room Tip: The higher up the better the view but the further it is to walk to the main complex
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ripon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

We stayed for a week at the end of September and had a lovely time. The weather was great which also helped! The room was lovely, we were almost right at the top of the hotel. Great view from our balcony which was very private. Good taxi service to take you to and from the room if you need it. We went half board, the breakfast and dinner were served as a buffet style, both of which were very nice. For lunch we stayed in the hotel and used the pool side restaurant. The food was great, especially the gyros plate! Would and will return at some point, very pleasant week away!

Room Tip: For parents with young children I would recommend to stay as low down as possible as it could be qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Josh G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kardamena hotels
0.6 mi away
Grand Blue Beach Hotel
Grand Blue Beach Hotel
#3 of 39 in Kardamena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
4.2 mi away
Mitsis Summer Palace
Mitsis Summer Palace
#18 of 39 in Kardamena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,173 reviews
1.0 mi away
Nissia Kamares Hotel Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Mitsis Blue Domes Resort & Spa
1.1 mi away
Lakitira Suites
Lakitira Suites
#7 of 39 in Kardamena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
4.1 mi away
Mitsis Norida Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lagas Aegean Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lagas Aegean Village

Property: Lagas Aegean Village
Address: Kardamena | Kos Island, Kardamena 853 02, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos > Kardamena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Kardamena
#8 Luxury Hotel in Kardamena
#12 Romantic Hotel in Kardamena
#16 Family Hotel in Kardamena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Lagas Aegean Village 4*
Number of rooms: 330
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lagas Aegean Village is a hotel resort located on the golden sandy shores of the south coast of Kos Island, Greece. It's layout and use of space is characteristic of the distinctive Aegean architecture. Built on a slope, every corner offers magnificent views of the endless deep blue Aegean Sea.The main building lounges, restaurants, bars and facilities are located at the bottom of the slope, while all 330 rooms are situated on the hillside, which are accessed by the 24hour complimentary minibus service. It is worth mentioning that the hotel underwent a complete renovation in 2011. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelsClick, Jet2Holidays and LoveHolidays so you can book your Lagas Aegean Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lagas Aegean Village Hotel Kardamena
Hotel Aegean Village
Aegean Village Kardamena
Aegean Village Kos
Lagas Aegean Village Kos/Kardamena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing