We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Rooms With Stunning Views”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lagas Aegean Village
Ranked #13 of 39 Hotels in Kardamena
Certificate of Excellence
Sussex, England
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Beautiful Rooms With Stunning Views”
Reviewed 21 November 2010

My husband and I stayed at this very pretty hotel for two weeks and came home
feeling relaxed and refreshed. The hotel is located in a quiet part of Kardamena, away from any noisy bars and nightclubs and yet still close enough to walk into town for a drink at Adams Bar (for great and inexpensive cocktails), for restaurants or just to look around the shops and small harbour.

The very swanky, recently refurbished hotel rooms containing super king size beds are quite spacious with plenty of storage space and a small integrated fridge where you are allowed to store your own drinks whether bought on site or not. An electronic safe is secreted in the fitted wardrobe and is charged at ten Euros per week, payable at reception. It would have been nice if this could have been included in the room rate instead, as most 4* hotels in which we have previously stayed do not charge extra for such things. The bathroom is well equipped with a standard type 1600 watt hairdryer which is operated by keeping a button on the handle depressed, a double-sided shaving mirror and plenty of clean, white towels which were replaced daily. There is a bath with shower over, but be very careful as we found on several occasions that the temperature fluctuated and we had to quickly step away as the water became exceptionally hot. Also, some mornings we had to wait twenty minutes or more for hot water to reach the taps after turning them on fully. Soap was provided regularly, but we were only supplied with two small bottles of body lotion on arrival and then two of shower gel towards the end of our stay so would recommend taking your own favourite brands of shampoo, etc. with you. Our cleaner was very friendly, but didn’t always notice badly smeared mirrors or other minor things.

We stayed in one of the much higher rooms facing towards the sea with distant islands and, to the side, surrounding farm land on which grazed sheep equipped with bells. This was quite charming when combined with the very well planted areas in front of the rooms full of hibiscus and the like. We enjoyed just sitting on our terrace in the late afternoon sipping wine whilst luxuriating in the wonderful views. It took just a few minutes to walk down to the main part of the hotel containing the restaurant, swimming pool, etc. and if we didn’t fancy walking back again there was always the option of catching the minibus (which we did only once because the views on the way up and down were outstanding and just too good to be missed).

The restaurant has tables both inside and outside, but bear in mind that the outside tables go very quickly at peak times so arrive early, particularly at dinner time, to guarantee your preference. It was wonderful though to sit outside for breakfast overlooking the pool and garden. Do remember to take your sunglasses with you to breakfast as the sun can be exceptionally bright in the morning and is almost unbearable without them. All meals were buffet style and the choice was wide and varied for breakfast, ranging from cereals and tinned fruit to bacon and eggs with much in between. The bread was freshly baked and the brown variety was really tasty. Coffee and tea is served by the waiters, although if you want milk you need to go inside and pour out your own as no small jugs are provided for this purpose. We just used a glass. Orange juice is also available inside and we thought this was quite good and not really watered down as some previous reviews have mentioned. Our only small complaint was that some days the waiters were very attentive and frequently asking if we would like more tea or coffee and other times, particularly if the restaurant was quiet, we couldn’t seem to attract their attention or else they were clearing tables and told us they would bring some in a minute, but often forgot and left us and others waiting for up to twenty minutes at a time. During these times we would have preferred to get our own. The choice of food for dinner was also wide and included plenty of different salads along with some hot dishes containing meat and vegetables. The only problem was that there were very few typical Greek hot dishes except for the Greek night once a week. This I found disappointing as I do love authentic Greek food and had hoped to have a tempting choice every evening. However, there are several family run restaurants in town which we did try. The hotel choice of desserts was huge and included fresh fruit, numerous cakes and pastries along with ice cream. Drinks can be ordered at the table, but you cannot charge these to your room (in the bars also) as cash only is accepted at the hotel. However, if you did not want any drinks at all, then one senior waiter in particular could be very rude because he knew that he was not going to get a tip for delivering them. His attitude was extremely uncalled for and temporarily tainted our stay there. Following our conversation with the restaurant manager regarding this, his attitude changed towards us (which resulted in him pouring more coffee and tea at breakfast when we had specifically told him that we did not want any more at that time). The rest of the staff though were fine.

The outdoor pool area was spacious and clean, containing many sunbeds and parasols. During our stay we never had a problem finding sunbeds at any time of day. The freshwater pool was very large although unheated and even in early September the temperature could take your breath away. There was also a children’s paddling pool which was used mostly by toddlers as the older ones used the main pool. During the day the very friendly and enthusiastic Animation Team arranged various activities including aqua gym, water polo, beach volleyball, darts, various fitness classes, lawn tennis and table tennis competitions. In the evening there was Greek dancing, music, bingo and quiz nights amongst other things.

The beach was across the very quiet road in front of the hotel and offered once again sunbeds and parasols at a cost though this time. The beach was sandy, but also contained stones and pebbles especially if you walked in the opposite direction from Kardamena towards the next resort area. Be aware that if you do walk in this direction you will shortly come across a nudist beach. We would also recommend having some form of waterproof footwear with you as it is quite rough underfoot at times and there is rubbish deposited at random along the way, so be careful. Eventually, after passing a couple of lovely clean and sandy beaches, you will arrive at the heart of the next resort (Porto Bello) where all sorts of water sports are available.

If you are interested in car hire then we would suggest that you shop around as rates vary enormously and although the hotel has its own car hire desk fronted by a very helpful English lady, we found that car hire in Kardamena town was priced far more attractively for the same cover and car types and they would still deliver to and collect their cars from the hotel.

Without hesitation we would return to this hotel for another relaxing stay although we thought that Kos itself was perhaps not as pretty as some of the other Greek islands.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
25 Thank Littlegeegee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

948 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    459
    331
    98
    38
    22
See reviews for
224
479
44
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ennis, Ireland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2010

I stayed at the Aegean Village in June with my best friend and can honestly say that it was the nicest holiday experience that I can remember, so much so that we have already re-booked for next June. The quality of the food was one of the best that we have come across. Nothing was too much trouble and all of the staff were excellent; even George the restaurant manager who seems to get a rough deal in some of the reviews was particularly nice to us and we look forward to seeing him again next year. It was a pleasure to meet Angela Lagas when leaving and to be able to personally thank her for the high standard of service that we experienced. The only downside is that June 2011 seems so far away!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Draig_Goch_Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
truro
1 review
Reviewed 25 October 2010

this was our third visit to this fantastic hotel, great value, wonderful helpful staff who couldnt do enough for you, Gostos and Norris in the restaurant made out stay even more special. the updated accommodation was a great improvement, the views were amazing, a really special time, look forward to returning in 2011. scary restaurant manager,! Visit Adams bar in Kardamena, he will make you feel very welcome if you fancy an evening stroll into town.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katrina6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swindon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 October 2010

We stayed at this hotel from 14th October for a week and we very much enjoyed our stay. We took our 2 year old daughter with us and we were made to feel very welcome. Our room was a standard room but we still had a great seaview from our balcony. The rooms were cleaned to a very good standard each day and we had fresh clean towels daily too.

Our daughter enjoys swimming and there is an outdoor and indoor pool and it was a bit rainy some mornings so we had the option of the indoor pool to keep her entertained.

For breakfast there was a choice of cereals, croissants, bread, fresh fruit, greek yogurt or fry-up. For the evening meal there was bread, a soup of the day or salad type things for starter and main course was a choice of veg, meats, rice, pasta and sometimes fish. Even with our fussy 2 year old we found something suitable for her. The desserts were very good with a wide choice of cakes, jelly, icecream, pastries and fruit.

The bit of beach owned by the hotel was maintained and litter free with a volly ball pitch and sunbeds avaliable for rent. But if you go further up away from the bit of beach owned by the hotel its seems to be unkept with quite a lot of litter so I would recommend just sticking to the hotel owned bit.

We really would like to go back and didn't want to go home.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leahemma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2010

We have stayed here previously in May 2008. We heard much modernisation had taken place so we visited 14 - 21 October 2010 to find our allocated room in a perfect location, high up, overlooking the sea. Everywhere was spotless, maid service every day replacing towels and washing floors etc. FOOD ABSOLUTELY FIRST CLASS and I could have eaten a tonne of bacon every morning, so beautifully cooked and lean was it. All the staff are so very attentive and genuinely polite - nothing is too much trouble for this brilliantly well-run hotel. The owner is always on site and keeps a personal eye out to see that cleanliness and service is always of paramount importance. Only 7kms from Kos Airport, not 7 miles. Car Hire was reasonably cheap at £145 pw car collected at the airport. How anyone cannot like this hotel is beyond me. Best Wishes Jack & Annette Blakemore, Merseyside UK

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank valueman01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berwick-upon-Tweed, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2010

Just returned from a week and what a week. Had a great time. The room was cleaned everyday to a very high standard, and the staff. Nothing was to much trouble. Even when we arrived back late from a day trip, they held back so we could enjoy yet another lovely meal. Plenty to choose from everyday. The whole place was spotless including the pool. Despite trying our hand at the local language ( with varying degrees of success ) all the staff spoke very good English.As did the locals in the shops and inns. Special thanks go to Rachel, the Thomson rep.Very helpful and a good sense of humour.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulnMargaret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brighton
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2010

I went to the Aegean Village with my boyfriend in September 2010. The hotel is lovely and clean and the maid service is very good. The swimming pool is lovely and big and there were plenty of sunbeds avaliable. The staff at the Reception were very polite but the Restaurant Manager and some of the waiters I thought were quite rude at times, they didn't smile and at times very abrupt with how they spoke to you. Also trousers must be worn by men at dinner which we didn't know till we arrived. The location is fantastic the town is about a 15-20 minute walk away but the pavement is completely flat and near the and follows the beach so it is a nice enjoyable walk. The food in the holel was ok I though breakfast was better than dinner as most of the evening meals were almost the same every night. The weather was beautiful I was worried it might be getting abit colder being mid way through September but it was still very hot so we both cam back with nice tans. I loved Kos and I would definitely go back!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lozzy17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kardamena
0.6 mi away
Grand Blue Beach Hotel
Grand Blue Beach Hotel
#2 of 39 in Kardamena
259 reviews
1.0 mi away
Nissia Kamares Hotel Apartments
1.1 mi away
Lakitira Suites
Lakitira Suites
#11 of 39 in Kardamena
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Sovereign Beach Hotel
Sovereign Beach Hotel
#17 of 39 in Kardamena
774 reviews
13.0 mi away
Platanista Hotel
Platanista Hotel
#1 of 19 in Psalidi
827 reviews
3.4 mi away
Kalimera Mare Hotel
Kalimera Mare Hotel
#14 of 39 in Kardamena
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lagas Aegean Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lagas Aegean Village

Property: Lagas Aegean Village
Address: Kardamena | Kos Island, Kardamena 853 02, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos > Kardamena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Kardamena
#11 Luxury Hotel in Kardamena
#12 Romantic Hotel in Kardamena
#16 Family Hotel in Kardamena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Lagas Aegean Village 4*
Number of rooms: 330
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lagas Aegean Village is a hotel resort located on the golden sandy shores of the south coast of Kos Island, Greece. It's layout and use of space is characteristic of the distinctive Aegean architecture. Built on a slope, every corner offers magnificent views of the endless deep blue Aegean Sea.The main building lounges, restaurants, bars and facilities are located at the bottom of the slope, while all 330 rooms are situated on the hillside, which are accessed by the 24hour complimentary minibus service. It is worth mentioning that the hotel underwent a complete renovation in 2011. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, Bookgreece.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Lagas Aegean Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lagas Aegean Village Hotel Kardamena
Hotel Aegean Village
Aegean Village Kardamena
Aegean Village Kos
Lagas Aegean Village Kos/Kardamena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing