We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Impressive Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Atlantica Porto Bello Royal
Ranked #2 of 39 Hotels in Kardamena
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We have recently returned (24th June) from a two week stay at the Atlantica Porto Bello Royal Hotel.
On arrival we were very impressed with the huge lobby and reception area. The check-in was dealt with quickly and a porter soon took us and our cases to the room. We booked a Luxury Suite (room 751) as all the standard rooms were taken. This comprised of a spacious upstairs en-suite bedroom and a balcony, also a downstairs room with a single bed, sofa and a shower room. Apart from using the downstairs room for storage we had no need to use it except to access the safety box which was free of charge. My only criticism was the lack of drawers and wardrobe space in the main bedroom; also we were a bit disappointed that we only had a partial side sea view.
It is a large complex and it took some time to find the best routes to the beach, bars and restaurants. The food was excellent even for people, like us, who do not eat meat but do like fish. There was always a wide variety of food on offer for breakfast, lunch and dinner in the main restaurant. The all - inclusive drinks are all good with a varied selection of cocktails. We tried the Italian and Asian restaurants but preferred the main restaurant. We also tried the fish restaurant but it is only open lunchtimes and we prefer to eat in the evenings. It’s a shame it is not open for dinner as it has an amazing panoramic sea view.
There are numerous beautiful swimming pools but unfortunately they are all very salty. Although we did try to use them I’m afraid the salt was so strong it resulted in us experiencing stinging eyes and skin even after showering! This is probably why there were usually hardly any people in them.
There are plenty of sun beds round all the pools and on the beach, which is clean and sandy. The Sea is clean and shallow, but beware of some rocks just as you go into the water. After that it is all sandy.
The whole resort is extremely clean throughout. We noticed the cleaners hosing down every morning outside, and regular cleaning inside.
The staff are really friendly and helpful especially Kornelia and Rositsa in the Lobby bar and Constantina in the main restaurant.
Most evenings we enjoyed listening to Kostas playing a keyboard and singing on the terrace. His Greek music and keyboard skills are exceptional. Strangely there wasn’t any music on the first Saturday night, and only a twenty minute female solo singing spot on the next Saturday, so it was very quiet and we resorted to playing music trivia quizzes on my Kindle Fire instead.
Kardamena is some thirty-five minutes walk away. It is quite a nice walk if there is a sea breeze, if not it does get rather hot. The town has many seafront bars and a nice little harbour. There are also tourist shops and mini-markets. The Hotels runs a courtesy bus several times a day if you do not wish to walk. There is also a local bus service but it appears to be infrequent and unreliable. You may walk for another two miles past Kardamena along a small coast road where there are a couple of bars. There is nothing on the other side of the hotel apart from more hotels.
We hired a car from Kosmos who have a desk in the hotel and toured to almost everywhere of interest on Kos including locations that are not on the excursions i.e the fortress at Antimachia which is the largest fortress on the island, but unfortunately not kept up by the government. This is well worth a visit even so.
Overall this is a very impressive hotel but in our opinion we would rate it four-star because of the very salty water in the swimming pools.

Couple 59 - 63

Room Tip: Request a full sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank andy_pink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,949)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

860 - 866 of 1,949 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2014

Fantastic resort.. View rooms scenery etc. Only problem is service. The restaurants are mostly buffet except one. Your plates are cleared before your partner has finished as well. With empty glasses you do not get offered a refil in restaurants you have to ask. Waitress service in the balcony.... Waited 10 mins before offered a drink and then another 10 to recieve them quicker to get them at the bar. The food is not great all in all. If you can get I. The Asian restaurant book every night as that is 5 star. The evening entertainment was rubbish. The theatre located just outside the hotel was great... The girls gave a good show to all the heard of songs throughout any country... Then we heard rumours on the site they fired them! The only decent entertainment they had... And quite frankly the new entertainment team were nothing in comparison.. It was enjoyable and a good show to watch after dinner. Half way through our holiday. With all considered with the service I would not class this as a five star resort! Sorry but it is definitely not a 5 star. It's a shame cos it is a beautiful resort and location

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ellie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortoBelloHotels, Manager at Atlantica Porto Bello Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing the insight of your recent stay with us.

We regret your experience wasn’t typical of what the vast majority of our Guest have come to expect from our hotel over the years and sincerely apologize for letting you down.

Please accept our apology for the situations that did not enable your stay to be 100% enjoyable one. Be assured that the managers responsible for the areas in which we fell short of your expectations will be advised and situations address accordingly.

Again, thank you for sharing as it helps us to improve on the services we provide.

Yours sincerely,

The Hotel Management.
Atlantica Porto Bello Royal.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile




Just returned from our annual 2 week holiday, this being our 2nd year visit to this hotel. The staff, food, location of our room(block 600), views absolutely fantastic, a few little tweeks improved from last year but 1 major disappointment, the table tennis table moved inside the beach bar, definitely a bad move!! Not only you have to contend with trying to get your drinks outside without spilling or dropping, but also the kids and their ping pong balls!!!!

We do feel that the clientele compared to last year is below par though. We are just amazed the amount of foreign European families of 2,3,4 kids have over run this hotel making it more like a holiday camp instead of sophisticated hotel. How can they afford to come? I'm sure us Brits have been overpriced as usual. I couldn't afford to take 3 kids here for 2 weeks. Maybe hotel should reconsider what sort of clientele they really would like here, not as refined as last year.

Would so love this to be an adult only hotel, but then would still get masses of European kids coming!!

Again compliments to nicos, George, carina, rositsa and all the other members of staff who go that extra mile. You should be proud of yourselves .

One last note, more should be done to stop guests from beach hotel using facilities at royal. On our last night a group of about 7 lads were freely drinking in pool bar, with wristbands on and nothing was said!!!!! This was not the only time guests from next door visited!! More security needs to be taken!!!

Stayed: June 2014
2  Thank lockie01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortoBelloHotels, Manager at Atlantica Porto Bello Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide a feedback, and thank you for choosing our hotel for the second time.

It gives me great pleasure to know that the staff left such a great impression on you as our service is something we take great pride in.

Thank you for your suggestions, we are already working on improvements.

We are looking forward to having you with us for the third time!

Yours sincerely,

The Hotel Management.
Atlantica Porto Bello Royal.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Just back from spending a week all inclusive in this hotel and it was fantastic in every aspect. We were hesitant when booking as it seemed a bit expensive but can honestly say it was worth every penny. I had seen people posting that the food wasn't great and was repetitive but I disagree. We ate twice in the Italian buffet restaurant, twice in the main buffet restaurant and 3 times in the chinese a la carte restaurant and every one was superb (all require a booking as can be busy). The people in the hotel really couldn't do any more to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. They are very generous with the drink and on many occasions just left the full bottle of wine on the table. The range of drinks and cocktails were vast on the drinks menu. There are even bottles of champagne at breakfast to enjoy as part of the all inclusive and it was the nicest champagne I've tasted. There is also numerous bars throughout the huge hotel grounds that has 14 swimming pools including a separate kids pool and play area near the beach. On top of this they have an ice cream parlour serving numerous flavours of ice cream which is also part of the all inclusive. The place we spent most time was the beach bar as the staff in here were fantastic with a special mention going to Matthaeus who made the sandwiches, toasties and hotdogs and couldn't do enough to help you. They have their own private beach area with free use of pedalo boats, French boules, water polo in the pools, volleyball and plenty things to keep you occupied if that's what you prefer. Alternatively there are plenty of quiet pools if you prefer a relaxing holiday. There's a courtesy bus that goes to nearby Kardemena 2 or 3 times daily. Also within the grounds are a tennis court, indoor pool, several jacuzzis and wifi in main reception area. Towels are for hire daily with a refundable deposit. There's minibars in every room that are stocked daily along with clean towels and bedding. The rooms are kept immaculate by the cleaners, even lifting beds to clean underneath. We arrived late and there was a bottle of wine, bowl of fruit and sandwiches left in our room on arrival. On top of this, the main restaurant serves soup and sandwiches from 23.30pm-00.30am for a midnight snack. The hotel has also just built it's own water park within 500 yards of the hotel at a cost of €10 per visit. There's also a spa, mini market, beautician and hairdresser all within hotel. I'll also give a special mention to the CEO of the hotel, Constantinos who spent 15-20 minutes speaking to us as we were leaving and really made a fuss over us to make sure our final moments of holiday were as enjoyable as possible, fantastic gesture from a lovely man. The only thing I could've criticised about our holiday was the animation teams entertainment at night. There is a huge purpose built theatre within the hotel grounds but the actual entertainment was nothing short of rubbish. Just as we were leaving we heard that the contract of the animation team had been terminated and they were looking to get a new animation team. Just goes to show that the management at hotel listen to their guests and try to do all possible to please them. There was also a piano bar upstairs with live entertainment and drinks served to you at your table for a more laid back evening. All in all we had a superb holiday and can't really think of one single thing to criticise the hotel or staff about. We will definitely return to this hotel as it is everything you are looking for in a holiday. Highly recommend this hotel and would rate as one of the nicest I have ever stayed in.

Room Tip: We paid a bit extra to upgrade to suite. We had a stunning view over the pools and onto the sea with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank JUVEJEN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortoBelloHotels, Manager at Atlantica Porto Bello Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide a detailed review of your recent stay.

I'm pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable holiday with us.

I appreciate your kind words about the friendly and helpful nature of our Team. I will be sure to pass on your compliments especially to the one mentioned by name.

It was a real pleasure to host you at Atlantica Porto Bello Royal and we hope to have this opportunity once more in the future.

Yours sincerely,

The Hotel Management.
Atlantica Porto Bello Royal.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We were 2 middle aged couples looking for a bit of everything and between us had experienced good quality hotels.
This hotel did not disappoint!!
All the staff we encountered were excellent throughout the hotel, with special mentions to George, Eva and the beach bar staff (I think they were Karina & Mateuas).
Every member of staff I met greeted us with a sincere smile and nothing was too much trouble for them, ensuring that our holiday was special. I also got the impression that their attitudes had a positive effect on all the holidaymakers, with everyone appearing relaxed and exchanging smiles.
We had a junior suite with a sea view (657). It was lovely; ample room, all facilities in good working order and a view to die for. The beds were comfortable, both of us slept well all week and the air-conditioning in good working order.
We stayed here for 1 week between 18/06/14-25/06/14 and the chill in the pools were so welcome, as it got very hot at times. The pools were great and although the beach was quite small, it was relaxing and the beach bar brilliant (their toasted subs are to die for)
Food was great, we ate in the main restaurant 5 out of 7 nights, plenty of choice but like everything some days better than others. The squid was amazing and everything was better than most all inclusives I have previously stayed in. The fresh fruit cheesecake was amazing!
We had 1 night in the Asian restaurant, which is a set menu but waitress service (made a nice change) and the food was lovely
We went into Kardamena for one evening, eating in the Pegalus (I think that is right) and had a fantastic meal, this was the only hotel on the beach front that seemed busy and I can see why. It seems that the recent economic disaster has had a negative effect on this town, as it was not as busy as expected but still a nice evening (other than England losing to Uruguay)
The Thomson reps & entertainment team were great, always stopping to chat, appearing to genuinely wanting to know how you are. They are a credit to Thomsons.
We didn't watch the entertainment, as it was all in the Ampitheatre and there is no bar near there.
The evening entertainment within the hotel, was really poor to be honest and my only criticism but it didn't ruin our holiday, as we were two couples who got on famously and made our own entertainment, with the help of George, Eva and all the other staff within the Lounge bar.
The drinks are great and in good measures, helping us to relax every evening.
I don't usually return to the same resort, as I love to try other destinations but I am seriously considering returning.
I have holidayed in Greece on numerous occasions and always found Greek people so friendly, hospitable and genuine. This hotel & resort did nothing to change my opinion.
I cannot speak highly enough of the staff and the hotel, which all contributed to the best holiday so far.
Thank you Atlantica Porto Bello Royal!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank leezy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortoBelloHotels, Manager at Atlantica Porto Bello Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review.

It is a great pleasure to know that our guests are having such a enjoyable time while on holidays with us!

We are all looking forward to have an opportunity to host you again at Atlantica Porto Bello Royal, and thank you once more for spreading the word.

Yours sincerely,

The Hotel Management.
Atlantica Porto Bello Royal.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

My first priority in this review is to compliment the staff at this hotel, each and everyone made us feel welcome, and always had a smile. The receptionists did all they could for you, Vessa in the main restaurant, a very professional lady, but welcoming. Little Tinkerbell a waitress in main restaurant again so pleasing to see. The Greek Taverna and Fish Restaurants for lunch were absolutely out of this world, the chefs were top notch. We were welcomed there by the Captain, Mr. Nikos. And our leisurely drink time spent at the pool bar - all the staff were marvellous, thanks also to Maggie and her male colleague x.
This was a relaxing holiday, enjoyed the free bus into Kardamena, a lovely town, with lovely clothes shops!!
To finish we have to say that the hotel and room, cleanliness and perfection, and the food catered for all tastes. Thank you so much Porto Bello Royal x

Room Tip: Sorry but don't want anyone to know about room '324' just in case we want to return and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Voni8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We leave in a few days, there are positives and negatives, we chose this for our honeymoon after much research, but have been disappointed, no special little touches, i.e. petals or shaped towels on bed, other than the day after we arrived. The rooms are definitely not 5 star compared to other 5 star hotels, they are dated, with showers you now find in 3 star hotels, also if on honeymoon there is no upgrade as stated in the Thomson brochure, definately would not recommend for a honeymoon destination. There is no entertainment, other than a singer singing older tunes and a theatre shared by the beach hotel for children, good for families but not for honeymoon couples. They only have CNN, a fashion channel, BBC news amd Al jazeera to watch on TV in English, so no entertainment there either, so even though they state satellite TV in their brochure, this is mainly for German guests. Wifi intermmitent. 3rd attempt at review as it is falling out every few minutes and hanging constantly. If it was not for the lovely staff, we would be in Kardemena most days, for entertainment and food. We booked a deluxe room with tea and coffee and a mini fridge, but the fridge is only stocked once with soft drinks and then water from then on. No electric toothbrush point in bathroom (5 star hotel?). Asked at reception about upgrade and said there was no rooms available although when we arrived the hotel was not full. Please ignore Thomson saying there is an upgrade for honeymoon couples, as they would at least stock the fridge daily as if upgraded which they have not. Pools good, shame more effort not put into the rooms. Our room nice view onto pool and pool, food average, local drinks, better food and drink in Kardemena, if a choice do not go all inclusive. Overall rating 2.5 out of 5. More on our return with photos showing quality of 5 star deluxe room.

Room Tip: Deluxe Room 773, with pool outside. and seaview, which is noce but lack of privacy, no voille or she...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ann T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortoBelloHotels, Manager at Atlantica Porto Bello Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor.

We are so sorry to hear of your disappointment. To reflect on the items you shared about..

You have booked a double deluxe room and you had a beautiful room with amazing sea view and direct access to the pool. The truth is that we always do our best to upgrade the room for our honeymoon guests, but upon hotel availability, and this information is clearly written in Thomson brochures.

These days the hotel was fully booked, so we couldn't upgrade your room, but still we offered you a upper floor room with even better sea view, which you refused to accept.

We offer to all our honeymoon guests (including you of course) a sparkling wine and fruit basket, as well as the mini fridge with soft drinks and water on the day of arrival. The housekeeping is always giving a "romantic touch" to some details in the rooms (towels in the swan-shape in your case)
The mini bar in the Deluxe Double Rooms is re-stock with water, again clearly written in all the brochures.

I would like to apology again, if we didn't meet your expectations, and I'm really disappointed especially in your case, because in the light of the conversation we had during your stay, we have had an impression that you where satisfy after all.

Thank you for your kind compliments toward our working team, they are all amazing!

My warmest regards,

Yours sincerely,

The Hotel Management.
Atlantica Porto Bello Royal.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kardamena
4.9 mi away
Mitsis Blue Domes Resort & Spa
13.7 mi away
Aqua Blu Boutique Hotel + Spa
11 mi away
Astir Odysseus Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Blue Lagoon Village
Blue Lagoon Village
#1 of 13 in Kefalos
1,494 reviews
14.4 mi away
Dimitra Beach Resort Hotel
Dimitra Beach Resort Hotel
#1 of 1 in Agios Fokas
1,563 reviews
14.1 mi away
Michelangelo Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantica Porto Bello Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantica Porto Bello Royal

Address: Kardamena 85302, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos > Kardamena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Kardamena
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kardamena
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kardamena
#1 Family Hotel in Kardamena
#1 Spa Hotel in Kardamena
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kardamena
Price Range: £102 - £287 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Atlantica Porto Bello Royal 5*
Number of rooms: 313
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Travel Republic (UK) and Cancelon so you can book your Atlantica Porto Bello Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Bello Royal Hotel Kardamena
Atlantica Porto Bello Royal Kardamena
Porto Bello Beach
Kos Porto Bello Beach
Porto Bella Beach
Atlantica Porto Bello Royal Hotel
Atlantica Porto Bello Royal Kos/Kardamena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing